Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 174 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

5
votes
2answers
1k views

Does my Dryad Arbor stop being a creature with a Blood Moon in play?

Does my Dryad Arbor stop being a creature with Blood Moon in play?
3
votes
1answer
139 views

MTG: Legion's initiative rulings?

Card: Legion's Initiative What does "at the beggining of the next combat" means. I used LI in my turn, the creatures do they return for my combat or my opponents combat? Also if my creatures are ...
2
votes
2answers
201 views

Can Sarkhan, Fireblood pay for Mirror Image if it copies a dragon?

Sarkhan, Fireblood has a +1 loyalty ability that reads: Add two mana in any combination of colors. Spend this mana only to cast Dragon spells. Mirror Image is not a dragon but reads: You may ...
2
votes
2answers
291 views

The Scarab god and commanders

If I use The Scarab gods activated ability on a commander (regardless of whose commander it is), if the owner of the legendary creature in question sends their commander back to the command zone will ...
24
votes
1answer
2k views

Why can't Haphazard Bombardment randomly select a permanent with Indestructible?

While reading this question, I came across a ruling for Haphazard Bombardment that dosen't quite make sense to me. Haphazard Bombardment states: When Haphazard Bombardment enters the battlefield, ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Is Haphazard Bombardment legal with fewer than 4 nonenchantment permanents under my opponent's control?

Haphazard Bombardment is worded slightly, so I assume intentionally, different from cards I can find that seem similar. Particularly in that it doesn't target the chosen cards. Granted this is ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Does protection from a specific color help against an ability that cost a different color to activate?

Player A has a Zacama, Primal Calamity, and player B has a creature with protection from green, such as Vodalian Zombie. Player A uses Zacama's red ability deal 3 to that creature, is he able to do ...
9
votes
1answer
639 views

Precursor Golem + Saheeli's Artistry + non artifact golem

Suppose I have a Precursor Golem and a non-artifact Golem, (let's say Moonglove Changeling) on the battlefield, and I target Precursor Golem with both modes of Saheeli's Artistry. What happens? ...
41
votes
2answers
9k views

In Magic: The Gathering, can I include a card in my deck that I can't play based on my land setup?

I have a plan to build a deck that can get Progenitus on to the battlefield on turn 3 (it's an ongoing joke between my friends and I on who could get Progenitus out quickest with the cards we ...
1
vote
2answers
217 views

Card that deals damage and adds a +1/+1 counter

Simple question: Is there a permanent that has "Pay 1 Mana: Target creature takes 1 damage and gains a +1/+1 counter" or "Tap: Target creature takes 1 damage and gains a +1/+1 counter"?
2
votes
1answer
331 views

Which creature deals damage with the Ninjutsu mechanic, and can I block the creature that comes in?

Ninjutsu allows you to return an unblocked creature to your hand and put a creature card from your hand into play tapped and attacking. Does this mean if I didn't block, my opponnent could attack me ...
1
vote
1answer
644 views

Mirage mirror what happens when copying a creature

If you use it to copy a creature and attack with it does it become tapped until next upkeep mirage mirror itself or revert back to to untapped artifact
5
votes
2answers
281 views

Do I draw cards from playing Lich at negative life?

I have negative 10 life, such as due to Platinum Angel and I play Lich. Lich says: As Lich enters the battlefield, you lose life equal to your life total. If you would gain life, draw that ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card transforms?

We are getting Metamorphic Alteration in M19. What if I enchant my Delver of Secrets, copying my opponents Nicol Bolas, the Ravager. Then I pay the cost on my Bolas (previously a Delver) to activate ...
1
vote
1answer
214 views

Can 0 or negative power creatures deal direct damage?

If I have a creature that has 0 or negative power and it has a Viridian Longbow attached to it, does it still deal 1 damage because of the effect the equipment gives it, or does it not because of the ...
5
votes
1answer
529 views

Can a planeswalker ability be activated in response to another spell or ability?

If I cast a Lightning Helix targeting my opponent's Gideon, Ally of Zendikar on his upkeep with it having 3 Loyalty, can he in response use Gideon's plus 1 ability to put it out of Lightning Helix's ...
6
votes
1answer
351 views

Can a card copying a double-sided planeswalker transform? [duplicate]

If I have a Dack's Duplicate copying Jace, Vryn's Prodigy, can it transform into Jace, Telepath Unbound? I imagine it would not — it would be similar to the rules for tokens right, it doesn'...
1
vote
0answers
41 views

Can I play an instant mid attack/block [duplicate]

I attacked with 4/4 creature with first strike and life link. My hubby blocked with his only card, a 2/2 with “when this creature is dealt damage, it deals 5 damage to target creature an opponent ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

To kill or remove an Indestructible

Will the following cards kill something with "indestructible"?: Swords to plowshares Terror Wrath of God
9
votes
1answer
457 views

Can I transform a token copy of a double-faced card?

If I activate my The Scarab God on Jace, Vryn's Prodigy and then flip the token of Jace, do I still get a Jace, Telepath Unbound? And if so, what zone does Jace, Telepath Unbound go to when he ...
2
votes
2answers
238 views

How does Spine of Ish Sah interact with It That Betrays?

...or anything else which tries to take over spines after destroying them. So assume player A has an It That Betrays on the board, and player B has a Spine of Ish Sah on their side of the board. ...
2
votes
3answers
222 views

Does the ability from Sorcerer's Wand deal combat damage?

If I were to equip Virtus the Veiled with Sorcerer's Wand and used the Sorcerers Wand's ability, would that be considered combat damage allowing Virtus's ability to trigger?
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I use a Planeswalker's ability when I took over its control this turn?

My opponent controls a Planeswalker and uses its ability. End of turn. I play In Bolas's Clutches and target that Planeswalker. It comes under my control (right?). Can I now use this Planeswalker's ...
9
votes
2answers
672 views

Seal Away and Permanent control [duplicate]

Most spells that exile a permanent temporarily, like Oblivion Ring or Fiend Hunter specify they return the permanent to the owner when the effect ends. Some of the newer ones like Seal Away do not say ...
6
votes
1answer
390 views

If my opponent takes control of my creature, then it's exiled and later returns, is it still theirs?

I was wondering, if someone casts Kari Zev's Expertise and I cast Seal Away on it, when it returns from exile does it return under my control or theirs? For example if I Blink of an eye the Seal ...
9
votes
3answers
260 views

Interaction between Nivmagus Elemental and Rune Snag

Recently the following situation popped up in a casual game and it was a bit confusing. I was wondering if someone here could help out. Player T has 4 mana open and plays a 2 mana spell in his main ...
4
votes
3answers
396 views

Can you sacrifice a creature to pay the cost of its ability?

Whisper, Blood Liturgist has the ability to sacrifice 2 creatures, and then return something from the graveyard. Since abilities stay on the stack even if the permanent is removed, can you sacrifice ...
8
votes
1answer
374 views

Can Improvise pay for “twobrid” costs?

A recent question had some confusion about what costs can be paid using Improvise, mainly stemming from the confusing differences in representation between "colorless" and "generic" mana. However, the ...
5
votes
2answers
503 views

Can # Colorless pay Colorless Mana?

Looking at the notes for Inspiring Statuary, I noticed: Is this accurate? Is it specific to the Improvise ability or does it go for any # colorless cards (for example Cloudpost)?
6
votes
1answer
183 views

Is a vehicle still a vehicle if it's no longer an artifact?

Let's pretend I have a vehicle (say, Smuggler's Copter) enchanted with a Siege Modification. This vehicle creature has not been crewed this turn. I also control a Neurok Transmuter and activate ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you tap artifacts to an improvise cost to help pay for kicker costs?

If you have an Inspiring Statuary on the field can you pay UU and tap two artifacts to play a kicked Into the Roil?
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I assign only some creatures to block Gorm the Great?

I played Battlebond with my friends yesterday. I attacked with Gorm the Great and his partner Virtus the Veiled. The opponents had three untapped creatures. They blocked Gorm using two creatures and ...
7
votes
1answer
312 views

Why can cards like Frost Breath tap creatures that are already tapped, but Teferi, Hero of Dominaria can’t untap lands that are already untapped?

609.3. If an effect attempts to do something impossible, it does only as much as possible. Because of this rule, I would expect Frost Breath to not work on creatures that are tapped. Why is it ...
8
votes
1answer
170 views

What happens at the end of a players turn to a buffed creature that took more than its unbuffed base health?

Let's say I have Blood Bairn and 3, 1/1 token creatures. An opponent attacks me with a 6/6 creature. If I use Blood Bairn's ability and sack all 3, 1/1 creatures and then block with Blood Bairn, after ...
5
votes
1answer
221 views

What happens if someone Doomblades a creature in response to you trying to give it Indestructible? [duplicate]

I got a bit confused about what would happen in this situation since the stack resolves in reverse order. So, the situation: I have a creature, and then I cast Adamant Will on it causing it to be ...
2
votes
3answers
266 views

Does drawing a card in the draw phase use the stack, and related Laboratory Maniac shenanigans

Situations we had tonight: Opponent has a Laboratory Maniac and an Abundance on the battle field. I hold a terror in my hand with enough mana in untapped lands to cast it. S1) Opponent moves to ...
4
votes
1answer
120 views

Do you lose the counters on Azor's Elocutors if it's returned to your hand?

If Azor's Elocutors is returned to your hand do you lose your filibuster counters you had on it? I have tried to get this question answered before but no one is sure.
19
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you change your mind about how a multi-target burn spell assigns damage after casting it?

So, my brother and i are playing mtg for fun. I have down a Nezahal, Primal Tide, a 7/7. He plays a Fight with Fire and kicks it, distributing 7 damage to Nezahal and 3 to other creatures. In ...
12
votes
1answer
6k views

Can I have two of the same planeswalkers on the field

Can I have two versions of Huatli out at the same time even though they are the same planeswalker, just with different names?
3
votes
1answer
154 views

Indomitable Creativity + Sacrifice Outlet

Indomitable Creativity says: Destroy X target artifacts and/or creatures. For each permanent destroyed this way, its controller reveals cards from the top of their library until an artifact or ...
7
votes
1answer
734 views

Searching a library for something, failing to find it, the later discovering it was there

If an effect would have you search your library for a specific card, say Elvish Aberration's forestcycle has you search for a forest, and you can't find it in your library, but it turns out later that ...
5
votes
2answers
808 views

Do Token Creatures go to the graveyard?

Does a token creature when it dies satisfy the criteria of Fresh Meat? Text of card as follows: Create a 3/3 green Beast creature token for each creature put into your graveyard from the ...
3
votes
2answers
235 views

Do you have to pay the mana cost for cards exiled with Muse Vessel?

Muse Vessel reads as follows: {3}, {T}: Target player exiles a card from their hand. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery. {1}: Choose a card exiled with Muse Vessel. ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does token creation count as successfully casting a summon spell?

My opponent wants to spam/create 500 goblin tokens while Soul Barrier is in play, does he take 1000 damage from Soul Barrier or do tokens when created not count as a creature summoning when generated.
4
votes
2answers
1k views

MTG can you destroy a chosen sacrificed creature twice [duplicate]

Me and my friends were playing and I chose to destroy his creature but in response he used its ability to sacrifice it but in response I chose to use another instant of destroy target creature so my ...
4
votes
1answer
137 views

Can you sacrifice Corpse Hauler to its own ability and return it to the battlefield?

The cost for Corpse Hauler's ability is to sacrifice it and pay 3 mana and then you can return target creature card from graveyard. Does that mean you can sacrifice the Corpse Hauler and then return ...
5
votes
1answer
165 views

Living Weapon and Hammer of Nazahn

If I have Hammer of Nazahn out (which allows me to attach any equipment to a creature as it enters the battlefield), will it work with a living weapon such as Batterskull? Would Batterskull's "living ...
4
votes
2answers
227 views

Demonic pact and Harmless Offering

If I play Demonic Pact and then before my fourth upkeep, then just before I pass the turn I use Harmless Offering to give it to an opponent, what would happen?
4
votes
2answers
323 views

Removal in response to the Helm of the Host's triggered ability

What happens if my enemy removes a creature equipped with Helm of the Host in response to the helm's triggered ability? Does the rule 112.7a apply? (the copy is generated normally). I am confused ...
4
votes
3answers
487 views

How does Double-Strike work, is it comparable to Windfury in Hearthstone?

I am transitioning from Hearthstone to Magic. Some abilities sound the same but might not do the same thing. Is double-strike equal to Windfury (Hearthsone)? Or does it only double strike a creature? ...