Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
0answers
11 views

How do I tune my arena deck for 3 lands in my opening hand under the new mulligan rule and selection algorithm?

Is it 22 lands? Did I understand the algorithm correctly and did I draw the correct conclusions, or am I get it wrong? From what I have read, the algorithm creates and shuffles 2 decks and then ...
4
votes
1answer
15 views

Interaction between Leonin Warleader and Divine Visitation

I have Divine Visitation on the battlefield: If one or more creature tokens would be created under your control, that many 4/4 white Angel creature tokens with flying and vigilance are created ...
3
votes
2answers
65 views

Which rule(s) govern the difference between {T} activated abilities and activated abilities that require tapping?

There seems to be a difference in Magic between activated abilities with the tap symbol, and activated abilities with a cost that requires you to tap permanents, and I'm unsure which rules ...
4
votes
2answers
76 views

How does the ability of Bloodthirsty Aerialist resolve with other life link creatures?

Scenario: I have Bloodthirsty Aerialist and a Blood Burglar on the board. I attack with both and both get a blocker assigned to them. Does Bloodthirsty Aerialist's ability trigger before damage ...
9
votes
3answers
500 views

Can Aquamoeba beat Glory Seeker with discards?

Can Aquamoeba beat Glory Seeker if the Aquamoeba owner discards one or more cards during the fight? Discard a card from your hand: switch Aquamoeba's power and toughness until end of turn. 1/3 ...
1
vote
0answers
89 views

Why did Simic become the preferred Nexus colors in M20? [on hold]

In War of the Spark, Bant Nexus was a legitimate deck. That's not to say Simic Nexus was not a competitive deck, and in fact Mattias Leveratto won Mythic Championship III with it, but Bant was a real ...
-1
votes
1answer
65 views

Meaning of and/or in Magic The Gathering [duplicate]

Mass Manipulation says: Gain control of X target creatures and/or planeswalkers. If I choose X = 1, can I target one creature and one planeswalker (having two targets in total)? Or does it mean ...
1
vote
1answer
90 views

What happens if Saheeli, Sublime Artificer's target is removed?

Suppose my opponent has Saheeli, Sublime Artificer, a Servo token, and another creature in play, and uses her ability to make the Servo a copy of the creature. In response to the ability going on the ...
2
votes
1answer
174 views

Is there a tier list of all precon Commander deck?

C19 is currently being spoiled and I am thinking about buying it. The idea is to buy a group of deck to play with friends. Here is the idea. Lets consider that we are 5 people sitting at a table. This ...
9
votes
1answer
291 views

Is a vehicle still a vehicle if it's no longer an artifact?

Let's pretend I have a vehicle (say, Smuggler's Copter) enchanted with a Siege Modification. This vehicle creature has not been crewed this turn. I also control a Neurok Transmuter and activate ...
6
votes
2answers
326 views

Who is the controller of a Pacifism enchanting my creature?

My opponent played Pacifism on a creature on my side of the battlefield. Later, I wanted to exile the enchantment with Conclave Tribunal. My opponent had the opinion that I was now the controller of ...
-1
votes
0answers
121 views

Help determining MTG card authenticity [on hold]

I found this black lotus for sale at 2500USD from a guy that claims it is genuine. Does it look genuine to you?
7
votes
2answers
617 views

Would Mirko Vosk, Mind Drinker trigger Waste Not?

I play Mirko Vosk, Mind Drinker as a commander and his ability states that an opponent needs to put cards in their graveyard. Waste Not says when a player discards a card then one of three things ...
4
votes
1answer
115 views

How do multiple death triggers work with a board wipe?

So, question, I have a hooded Hydra face up and a Vastwood Hydra out. They both have 4 (+1+1) counters on them. Someone goes to boardwipe, since they both have death triggers can I then move the ...
8
votes
1answer
416 views

Does Nightpack Ambusher's second ability trigger if I cast spells during the end step?

Nightpack Ambusher has this second ability: At the beginning of your end step, if you didn't cast a spell this turn, create a 2/2 green Wolf creature token. Let's say it's now the end step. ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

When does Tiana, Ship's Caretaker check card type?

At what point does Tiana, Ship's Caretaker's last ability check if a card that went to the graveyard is an aura or equipment? Is that determination made when the card is on the battlefield and ...
23
votes
5answers
5k views

In multiplayer, can a player concede abusively?

Arnold, Beth, and Chuck are playing a multiplayer game (e.g. Commander or Free-for-All). Arnold has Maralen of the Mornsong: Players can't draw cards. At the beginning of each player's draw step, ...
8
votes
1answer
859 views

Lethal damage while controlling Sower of Discord?

I recently played a game of commander with a single opponent. When I played Sower of Discord, I selected my opponent and myself. I then swung with Serra Avatar. If damage is taken and the amount is ...
0
votes
1answer
152 views

Can another instant be used to buff an attacking creature, after another instant was cast that would kill the creature?

Specific example: Attacking player sends a 3/2. Defending player plays Shock to deal 2 damage to the creature. Attacking player then attempts to cast another Instant which would lend the attacking ...
6
votes
1answer
540 views

What happen if I gain the control of aura that enchants an opponent's creature? Would the aura stay attached?

Imagine I'm playing vs Boggles Auras. Her Boggle has a Rancor and a Daybreak Coronet. I cast Archmage's Charm on the Rancor. Does the Rancor stay enchanting the Boggle?
8
votes
1answer
455 views

Casting Goblin Matron with Plague Engineer on the battlefield

If my opponent has Plague Engineer on the battlefield, with Goblin as the chosen creature type and I cast a Goblin Matron (1/1, when enters the battlefield search for a Goblin card), I know that I ...
22
votes
7answers
8k views

In MTG, was there ever a five-color deck that worked well?

The first pre-con I ever bought was the five-color one from I believe planeshift. I liked that deck when I was learning the game, but it didn't hold up when I actually started going to tournaments, ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Responding to Plague Engineer

If I have a lot of 1/1 Goblins on the battlefield and my opponent casts Plague Engineer can I save them all by responding with Fatal Push on the Plague Engineer or does the -1/-1 effect occur before I ...
6
votes
2answers
236 views

Ral Zareks first Ability: Magic The Gathering

Can I activate Ral Zarek's first ability (Tap target permanent, then untap another permanent) if my opponent has no "untapped" permanents? If so, will I get a loyalty counter, and be able to untap ...
8
votes
3answers
870 views

Can commander tax be proliferated?

Can you proliferate someone's commander tax? For example, after you send your opponent's commander to his/her zone you proliferate the commander tax and make sure it cant be cast again by making it ...
3
votes
4answers
251 views

What are similar black and/or white permanents to Divine Visitation?

For my Commander deck I'm looking for black and/or white permanents that have similar mechanics to Divine Visitation and Teysa Karlov, respectively: If one or more creature tokens would be created ...
3
votes
1answer
265 views

Can I make Vitu-Ghazi Indestructible with Nissa's Emblem?

If I used a Nissa, Who Shakes the World -8 Emblem in conjunction with an Awakening of Vitu-Ghazi, could I make Vitu-Ghazi indestructible in a sense that a creature is indestructible?
5
votes
1answer
156 views

How can I collect information on all the MTG decks that have ever been played in standard/type 2?

I personally played mainly during the Onslaught block (Judgement came out around the time I started, and I quit during Mirrodin due to ravager affinity, then came back briefly during Kamigawa). Of ...
-2
votes
1answer
201 views

What is the result of a combat between creatures of 3/1 and 2/2?

I don't know which one would win a 3/1 creature or a 2/2 creature, or would they both tie. I always thought they would tie.
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Golden Guardian removed before death related trigger

Golden Guardian says: (2): Golden Guardian fights another target creature you control. When Golden Guardian dies this turn, return it to the Battlefield transformed under your control If an ...
2
votes
1answer
154 views

Does Teferi, Time Raveler prevent casting spells for their madness cost? [duplicate]

Teferi, Time Raveler's static ability reads: "Each opponent can cast spells only any time they could cast a sorcery." Madness rules state (emphasis added): 502.24. Madness 502.24a Madness ...
3
votes
1answer
151 views

Narset, Parter of Veils interaction with Matter Reshaper

If I have Narset, Parter of Veils on the battlefield and I block Matter Reshaper with Snapcaster Mage when it attacks, both creatures die. But does the opponent get to reveal a card and put it on the ...
5
votes
4answers
15k views

Are there cards which turn life gain into damage instead?

I was playing Hearthstone the other day and was intrigued by a card that causes healing spells to do damage instead. I was curious if there was ever anything printed in MTG that would have a similar ...
8
votes
3answers
9k views

Does devoid make a card's color identity colorless in Commander?

Certain Battle for Zendikar Eldrazi cards have: Devoid (This card has no color.) According to a video by Mark Rosewater, that means regardless of the colored mana required to cast the card, the ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

What is the reason for cards stating “Until end of turn, you don't lose this mana as steps and phases end”?

There are creature cards that allow for adding extra mana during a turn, such as Savage Ventmaw and Grand Warlord Radha. They state, respectively: Whenever Savage Ventmaw attacks, add {R}{R}{R}{G}{...
7
votes
2answers
508 views

Narset, Parter of Veils interaction with Aria of Flame

If I have Narset, Parter of Veils on the battlefield on one loyalty counter and my opponent has an Aria of Flame on the battlefield, what happens if the opponent plays Faithless Looting? I know the ...
3
votes
1answer
134 views

MTG - Unsettled Mariner: When is the targeting checked?

Unsettled Mariner counters spells and abilities targeting you or permanents you control unless the controller pays an additional 1 mana. When is that targeting checked? As in if my opponent casts a ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Karn, the Great Creator - what defines a 'card from outside the game' in sealed?

In the upcoming set 'War of the Spark' there is the Planeswalker Karn, the Great Creator. His -2 ability reads as: -2: You may choose an artifact card you own from outside the game or in exile, ...
8
votes
2answers
266 views

When a card modifies how many copies of that card a deck can have, does that affect the sideboard?

I'm using MTG Cardsmith to design custom cards for a casual tournament with friends. My goal is to design some cards that make sense within the current rules of the game, while still being flavorful ...
9
votes
2answers
27k views

What happens if you are unable to draw because your library is empty?

In Magic the Gathering, what happens to a player if they get their draw phase, but are unable to draw a card because their library is empty?
1
vote
0answers
67 views

Moving +1/+1's via Combine Guildmage [duplicate]

So if I have Kumena's Speaker on the battlefield with a +1/+1 due to his ability and a Combine Guildmage that can move +1/+1 from one creature to another. Does CG duplicate the +1/+1, and does KS ...
4
votes
2answers
260 views

Timing/Stack question about abilities triggered during combat

Helm of the Host states: at the beginning of combat create a creature token. Is there a stack to put this on and resolve, or is there no way for your opponents to respond to this triggered ability, ...
5
votes
1answer
619 views

How does manifesting work?

If I play Soul Summons, and manifest a card from the top of my library, 1) Do I get to see the front of the card? 2) Does my opponent get to see the front of the card? 3) If I am not allowed to see ...
2
votes
2answers
156 views

Can I return a card from the graveyard that is active?

Say that I have a Salvager of Ruin and Deliver Unto Evil and then I activated Deliver Unto Evil then use Salvager of Ruin to return it before it fully activates and if yes can I use this to return a ...
7
votes
1answer
292 views

Why doesn't Djinn of Wishes let me play a land on my opponent's turn?

Djinn of Wishes has an activated ability with the effect: Reveal the top card of your library. You may play that card without paying its mana cost. If you don't, exile it. The rulings state that ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Which creatures count as green creatures?

This question works with the other colors too, but for now I'm mostly interested in which creatures are valid for benefiting from Rhonas's Monument: Green creature spells you cast cost {1} less ...
5
votes
1answer
310 views

Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons and “enters the battlefield” triggers

Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons's second ability reads: Whenever you put one or more -1/-1 counters on a creature, create a 1/1 green Snake creature token with deathtouch. Additionally, there are some ...
-1
votes
2answers
185 views

I've got too many cards in my MTG deck. Which cards should I remove and how can I make a better deck? [closed]

Here's a picture of all of the cards in my deck (Azorius): https://i.imgur.com/MAFLXC5.jpg In my experience, all of my cards play really well so I don't know what to do. If I'm asking this question ...
1
vote
3answers
134 views

If I resurrect a previously enchanted creature, does it get its old auras back?

If my enchanted creature dies, and I then bring the creature back to the battlefield does said creature come back with the same enchantment on it?
4
votes
2answers
723 views

Could I play forever with this loop combination? [duplicate]

Let it be my main phase: I got Omniscience on the field and one Clear the Mind in my graveyard and another one in my hand. Could I then play forever? Because I would never run out of cards, so these ...