Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
22
votes
5answers
11k views

Running a MTG draft without actually having to buy new boosters for each player every single time?

MTG drafting sounds like a really awesome way to play the game. I'd love to try it with some of my friends, but having to spent >5$ for each player every single time you want to play seems ...
1
vote
2answers
81 views

What is the correct timing to play removal in order to stop a Niv-Mizzet + Curiosity combo?

We were playing a game of commander the other day. Player 1 already controlled Niv-Mizzet, Parun going into their turn. On their turn, they cast Curiosity, targeting Niv-Mizzet. I warn the table that ...
1
vote
0answers
26 views

Is there an online archive of the art for every draft booster pack ever printed?

I'm looking for an archive of high quality photos or scans of all artwork ever printed on a draft booster pack. For example, the Mirage set had five (or more?) different booster packs printed. Recent ...
0
votes
1answer
31 views

Do I need to pay more mana to activate Outlast for other Sliver creatures in the card Enduring Sliver?

As shown in the card, you need to pay 2 additional generic mana to activate Outlast for this creature. but I was wondering about the second part that is referring to other Sliver creatures have ...
17
votes
8answers
3k views

How do I address the power creep in my pod when I can't afford to keep up? (MTG)

About a year ago, a friend introduced me to MTG Arena. I played very often over the course of the pandemic and as a result have gotten pretty into Magic. My friend has been playing for three or four ...
3
votes
2answers
138 views

Can I cast spells while Teferi's Protection is in effect?

Teferi's Protection says: Until your next turn, your life total can’t change and you gain protection from everything. All permanents you control phase out. I am not phased out, and the cards in ...
-1
votes
1answer
83 views

MTG Perilous Reasearch and Improbable alliance, resolution of spell and triggered ability timing?

Perilous Research has a comma and "then" in the text description. I am unclear whether this allows triggered abilities to be considered in the middle of the spell resolution. Specifically, ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Why did a triggered ability trigger after the creature holding it died?

In Arena, I had Fynn, the Fangbearer and another creature with deathtouch in play. My opponent had one creature with at least 3 power. I attacked with both creatures; my opponent blocked Fynn with ...
2
votes
1answer
694 views

If a sorcery causes a creature of mine to deal damage to target creature or player, do I have to then tap my creature?

If I were to cast a sorcery like Rabid Bite, does that tap my creature after the damage is dealt or can I use it in my attack phase too? Can I still use it to defend? What about the sorcery Prey Upon?
1
vote
1answer
424 views

If a monstrous creature is destroyed does it lose monstrous?

If I have a creature that became monstrous, it gets destroyed, and I pull it from my graveyard, will I have to reapply monstrous or does it last until the end of the game?
9
votes
5answers
1k views

What is the minimal number of permanents which, in a finite number of turns, can create a copy of each of themselves?

Consider the following (unlikely) scenario in a game of Magic the Gathering: You have X permanents on the battlefield, none of which have any counters on them (initially). There are no static effects ...
1
vote
1answer
93 views

What happens if a spliced spell leaves the stack mid-resolution?

Some spells remove themselves from the stack. For example Glittering Wish exiles itself or Unexpected Results sometimes returns itself to your hand. If you splice Everdream onto such a card, what ...
0
votes
1answer
99 views

Compost and Plumb the Forbidden

What happens with copies of Plumb the Forbidden and Compost? Do the copies count as cards that hit the graveyard?
1
vote
2answers
102 views

How likely is Yusri to get me an omniscience effect, if I have Krark's Thumb out?

The new card Yusri, Fortune's Flame has the clause, that if you win 5 flips off it's attack trigger ability, you can cast any card in your hand, for free!. Whenever Yusri, Fortune’s Flame attacks,...
3
votes
1answer
170 views

Is it possible to activate mana abities during the resolution of Transmute Artifact?

If I play Transmute Artifact, do I have to put mana into my mana pool before Transmute Artifact resolves, or can I tap my lands during Transmute artifact resolving?
3
votes
2answers
636 views

Madness and Conspiracy Theorist

Strixhaven introduces Conspiracy Theorist, with the triggered ability: Whenever you discard one or more nonland cards, you may exile one of them from your graveyard. If you do, you may cast it this ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a creature be killed by damage from two different instants?

During a game, an opponent cast two instants, one after another. One did two damage to a creature, while the second instant did two damage and if that killed my creature, did 3 damage to me. My ...
2
votes
1answer
375 views

What are the rules for triggering abilities that cost mana?

I like the Seedcradle Witch card: 2GW: Target creature gets +3/+3 until end of turn. Untap that creature. Two questions: Given that I have the mana, can I use that ability during the turn I cast ...
2
votes
1answer
110 views

If a player forgets to create a token creature during upkeep, do they get to do it during their opponent's turn? [duplicate]

For instance, Player 1 has Dragonmaster Outcast on their battlefield, which has the ability: At the beginning of your upkeep, if you control six or more lands, create a 5/5 red Dragon creature token ...
3
votes
2answers
664 views

How does Myr Welder interact with Prototype Portal?

Lets say I have a Myr Welder on the battlefield. Within graveyards, there happens to be aPrototype Portal and a Sol Ring. Across the next few turns, I Imprint both Prototype Portal and Sol Ring onto ...
3
votes
1answer
227 views

Does Wandering Archaic trigger if the spell is countered?

If Wandering Archaic is in play, a spell is played and countered while the Wandering Archaic's ability is still on the stack, what happens when the Wandering Arachic trigger resolves? Does it fizzle ...
0
votes
1answer
114 views

Magic The Gathering: Indestructible vs damage and -1/-1 effect [duplicate]

If I give my 1/1 creatures +3/+3 in response to my opponent getting Demon of Dark Schemes out, then my opponent cast Blasphemous Act and I give my creatures indestructible. Will my creatures live or ...
1
vote
1answer
91 views

Dina Soul Steeper & Lifelink Combo

I recently pulled a Dina, Soul Steeper from a Strixhaven, School of Mages pack. I realized that Dina's activated ability, when given lifelink, could instantly win you the game. The ability reads "...
7
votes
3answers
278 views

How did a player survive 24 commander damage?

I'm referring to this clip from streamer CovertGoBlue. He had pumped his commander (Illuna, Apex of Wishes mutated on top of a 2/2 Zombie token created by Field of the Dead) to 24/24 and then damaged ...
4
votes
1answer
750 views

Can Asmoranomardicadaistinaculdacar be cast by Aluren or by Cascade effects? (Modern Horizons 2 Spoilers)

Asmoranomardicadaistinaculdacar is a card recently spoiled for Modern Horizons 2. Notable on the card is a lack of an actual mana cost. The card's first line is clearly intended for how to properly ...
4
votes
1answer
804 views

“Repeat this process” infinite loop rulings

I am theory crafting a deck for the new legendary planeswalkers/commander Grist, the Hunger Tide and I was wondering how his first ability works in an infinite loop. The scenario occurs when I force ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if I mutate on top of a creature that I control until the end of a turn?

This constellation actually happened when I (PLAYER A) drafted Ikoria on MTG:Arena yesterday, but I was unsure whether it would work in my favor. And therefore I didn't try. PLAYER B has a Cavern ...
0
votes
2answers
93 views

How does flicker relate to a card like Ulamog's dispoiler

I was wondering how a card like Flicker and a card like Ulamog's Despoiler would work together. Since Ulamog's Despoiler returns a card from exile and flicker exiles a card snd then returns it ...
-2
votes
1answer
1k views

When a card says “you may choose new targets for the copy”, do you have to choose new targets?

For example, can you use Pyromancer's Goggles' ability to use a spell twice on a single target creature or player? Like, can my opponent cast Chandra's Fury on me twice for 8 damage?
3
votes
3answers
399 views

What happens if you control two Krark's Thumb and you have to flip a coin?

If I have Sakashima of a Thousand Faces out, a Krark's Thumb and a Copy Artifact that copies Krark's Thumb what happens when I have to flip a coin? Does it go infinite and result in a draw? Do I ...
10
votes
1answer
727 views

Will a God Eternal enchanted with Deep Freeze shuffle back into the deck if it dies?

God Eternals such as God-Eternal Oketra have an effect which says: When God-Eternal Oketra dies or is put into exile from the battlefield, you may put it into its owner's library third from the top....
4
votes
1answer
192 views

Does Sproutback Trudge's cost reduction get applied when we cast it from the graveyard?

Sproutback Trudge is a 9-mana costing card that costs 1 less for each life you gained that turn. It can also be cast (at the beginning of the end step) from the graveyard when the owner gained life ...
2
votes
1answer
167 views

Jadzi, Oracle of Arcavios and Spells with X mana cost

Let's say that I have Jadzi, Oracle of Arcavios on the battlefield. What happens if I cast some instant or sorcery spell, reveal the top card of my library and it happens to be Ingenious Mastery? ...
1
vote
1answer
182 views

What's the golgari stance on an “earth god” like Gaia?

From my understanding of Golgari philosophy Gaia would at least not be a problem/conflict. But in fact be a great symbol for what they believe in in the first place. Reasoning: Things living and dying ...
2
votes
1answer
169 views

Activating Charnel Troll's ability during upkeep

In MTG Arena, I'm having some trouble with Charnel Troll. You are supposed to be able to activate it's ability to discard a creature in response to its triggered ability that makes you exile a ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Silence stop working in the Cleanup step, allowing more spells to cast in the same turn when discard triggers effects?

In a recent CEDH game of Playing With Power MTG, one player played Silence during the turn of a The Gitrog Monster player. The Gitrog player then uses the Dredgmooor combo in his endstep and ...
14
votes
2answers
8k views

Are there any cards that turn creatures into land?

There are dozens of cards that turn land into creatures, but are there any cards that turn creatures into land ?
1
vote
3answers
203 views

Permanent to let a creature tap for two mana?

I know there are cards like Gemhide Sliver which let slivers tap for mana. Convoke lets all creatures do this once. Paradise mantle gives a creature this ability. But these examples only let the ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

What does “play this ability only if you could play a sorcery” mean?

This is a stretch and in no way am I trying to dull the game. However, I recently ran across this potential issue. Many cards have an ability that may read, '...Play this ability only any time you ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Is the Arena default deck “Line of Fire” bad or is it just me?

I'm new to Magic. One of the default decks you can unlock when you start playing Arena is called "Line of Fire". It consists of: 1 Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger 1 Liliana's ...
-1
votes
3answers
192 views

To whom does Spellshock apply?

Spellshock is an enchantment that says: Whenever a player casts a spell, Spellshock deals 2 damage to that player. If I play this, do I then have to pay two life for every spell I cast? Does it not ...
143
votes
8answers
1.3m views

What are the names for Magic's different colour combinations?

For example, Esper refers to decks made up of White, Blue and Black cards. What are the names of the other colour combinations? In particular, how do we refer to a Red-White-Black deck?
0
votes
1answer
134 views

MTG: Modal cards and graveyard targeted effects

In regards to modal double-faced cards there are many effects which allow you to "Cheat" in one side or another. If an effect allows you to play a land or cast a spell from among a group of ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Golden Guardian removed before death related trigger

Golden Guardian says: (2): Golden Guardian fights another target creature you control. When Golden Guardian dies this turn, return it to the Battlefield transformed under your control If an ...
77
votes
12answers
96k views

Why would you want to play with a deck bigger than 60 cards in MTG?

In Magic the Gathering, the decks are required to be no less than 60 cards, but can be larger. Since you can only have 4 of each card (except for basic lands), it seems you would want the limit size ...
31
votes
3answers
194k views

How many lands do I need for a Commander deck?

A Commander deck consists of 100 unique cards, of which one is designated as the Commander and must be either a Legendary Creature or an allowed Planeswalker. I'm still very unfamiliar with this ...
2
votes
1answer
168 views

Does Ranar the Ever-Watchful's last ability trigger if he is exiled?

I have bought a commander deck for Kaldheim (Ranar the Ever-Watchful). I'm confused about Ranar's ability: Whenever a spell or ability you control exiles one or more cards from your hand and/or ...
6
votes
1answer
716 views

Does Valakut do damage if Dryad of the Ilysian Grove is in play, but dies before the trigger resolves?

Let's say my board is 5 Mountains, Dryad of the Ilysian Grove, and Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle. Now I play a Plains. Because of the Dryad, the Plains is also a Mountain, so Valakut triggers. While ...
22
votes
1answer
5k views

How does Exquisite Archangel work with different ways of losing?

The card Exquisite Archangel from Aether Revolt has the following ability: If you would lose the game, instead exile Equisite Archangel and your life total becomes equal to your starting life total....
36
votes
7answers
23k views

What happens if the legend rule doesn't apply to only one of a pair of legendary creatures with the same name?

Brothers Yamazaki has the ability If there are exactly two permanents named Brothers Yamazaki on the battlefield, the "legend rule" doesn't apply to them. So, say I control two Brothers Yamazaki (...

1
2 3 4 5
90