Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2 votes
1 answer
6 views

In Magic, are you allowed to reveal what cards you have drafted to stop others from drafting the same colors?

For example, suppose I open a [bomb Boros mythic]. I reveal it, and say "Ok guys I'm drafting Boros" (with the implication that everyone else should avoid fighting me over those colors). Is ...
user avatar
  • 11.4k
1 vote
1 answer
37 views

How does Myrkul, Lord of Bones interact with Feign Death

Myrkul, Lord of Bones says: Whenever another nontoken creature you control dies, you may exile it. If you do, create a token that's a copy of that card, except it's an enchantment and loses all other ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
39 views

How are spells and abilities with the keyword "you" affected after they are suddenly under an opponent's control while on the stack? Who's "YOU"?

Suppose I want to dump a loss from Pact of the Titan on my opponent. So I play Pact of the Titan. I then play Sudden Substitution. I envision this will allow me to take one of my opponent's creatures, ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
60 views

MTG: Transform cards & Reanimator effects

I'm building a Shirei, Shizo's Caretaker deck, and I want to include Ecstatic Awakener in it. Would an Awoken Demon (the other side of Ecstatic Awakener) hit the graveyard as Ecstatic Awakener, ...
user avatar
4 votes
0 answers
37 views

What is the most complete collection of CR versions?

To my knowledge, this is the most complete collection of versions of the Comprehensive Rules, including a diff between successive updates. However, it has been discontinued after the Ixalan update. Is ...
user avatar
  • 46.3k
2 votes
1 answer
241 views

What happens to a permanent stolen with 'Invoke the Winds' after the thief leaves the game? [duplicate]

Player A steals a permanent from player B, via an effect like Invoke the Winds. Player A leaves the game. What happens to the stolen permanent? Does it leave the game as well, and goes in exile of its ...
user avatar
  • 2,293
4 votes
1 answer
548 views

Kaya The Inexorable with Luxior, Giada's gift

Kaya the Inexorable has the following loyalty ability: +1: Put a ghostform counter on up to one target nontoken creature. It gains "When this creature dies or is put into exile, return it to its ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
389 views

Myrkul + Palisade Giant how does it work?

I was going through my cards as I worked on a Myrkul, Lord of Bones commander deck and saw my Palisade Giant. Does the giant's effect: All damage that would be dealt to you and other permanents you ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
114 views

Clergy of the Holy Nimbus VS Weakness

In the old days of Magic the Gathering, if Clergy of the Holy Nimbus was reduced to non-positive toughness by an effect such as Weakness, it would continuously Regenerate while the rest of the game ...
user avatar
  • 173
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Could I use Illusion of Choice to force a opponent to pay tribute?

Could I use Illusion of Choice to force an opponent to pay tribute? Does tribute count as voting? Like first casting Illusion of Choice and then a creature with tribute forcing an opponent to pick the ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
141 views

Which keywords (besides 'mill') have been named after Magic cards?

Core Set 2021 introduced the keyword 'mill': Mill N cards (Put the top N cards from the library into your/their graveyard.) which was named after the card Millstone with the ability {2}: Take the ...
user avatar
  • 28.4k
2 votes
1 answer
97 views

Alaundo the Seer removing multiple last time counters at the same time

Suppose that I have 2 or more spells in exile with exactly 1 time counter on each of them. I activate Alaundo the Seer's ability to "remove a time counter from each other card you own in exile&...
user avatar
  • 371
2 votes
1 answer
379 views

Is Boseiju, who Endures' channel ability blocked by protection from green?

Card in question: Boseiju, who Endures I'd normally expect Boseiju's channel ability to be colorless because it's a land with no color identity. In the same vein, to my understanding, Forests are not ...
user avatar
  • 11.4k
1 vote
1 answer
192 views

Can Augusta, Dean of Order's abilities be used twice if I have two in play?

Let's say I have two Augusta, Dean of Order and one Oreskos Sun Guide in play. One Augusta would allow Oreskos's Inspired ability Whenever Oreskos Sun Guide becomes untapped, you gain 2 life. to ...
user avatar
  • 21
-1 votes
1 answer
162 views

What blue and/or black options exist for moving +1/+1 counters?

I am making a Szadek, Lord of Secrets deck, and I am looking for cards that can move +1/+1 (or similar) counters from one of my creatures to him. For instance, if I have a bunch of +1/+1 counters on ...
user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
100 views

Martyrdom: how many instances of damage?

Martyrdom was errata’d, and its current oracle text seems to have significant functional differences compared to its printed text: it now redirects damage 1 by 1, instead of all at once. I have an ...
user avatar
  • 375
4 votes
1 answer
167 views

Intentionally Not Announcing Triggered Abilities Until Just Before They Would Be Considered Missed

In Magic the Gathering, the Infraction Procedure Guide details what it means for the announcement of a player's triggered ability to be missed, as a function of what category of effect the triggered ...
user avatar
  • 173
1 vote
2 answers
107 views

How do I calculate Mulligan probability?

I am playing a game of Commander and I have a deck of 99 cards. In this deck are 37 lands. Using a hypergeometric calculator it returned a 29.12% chance of drawing exactly 3 Lands on a 7 card draw ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
143 views

Sacrifice Garna before ETB resolves

Garna, the Bloodflame has an ETB (enter the battlefield) effect that states that I may "return to your hand all creature cards in your graveyard that were put there from anywhere this turn". ...
user avatar
  • 371
3 votes
1 answer
229 views

Do you double up with +1/+1 counters on Fungal Behemoth?

If you have a Fungal Behemoth with 2 +1/+1 counters on it and no other creature with any +1/+1 counters on it, is the fun guy a 4/4? The two counters give it a base power and toughness of 2/2 and then ...
user avatar
  • 4,778
6 votes
1 answer
496 views

Who decides the trigger if control of the permanent changes before the trigger resolves?

For example, suppose I have an Aether Vial. It's my upkeep and the Vial triggers. In response to the trigger, opponent plays Archmage's Charm, choosing the third mode to gain control of my Aether ...
user avatar
  • 11.4k
0 votes
1 answer
73 views

Color Changed on blocker [duplicate]

I attack with Whirling Dervish, which has protection from black, and it is blocked by a white creature. I use Tidal Visionary to make that creature black. Does my Dervish go around the now illegal ...
user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
153 views

If a commander is phased out, do I still controll it?

If a commander is phased out, do I still control it? For instance, do I get the extra part of Jeska's will, if my commander is in oubliette?
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
351 views

Countering a "When Cast" Ability

If an opponent casts a spell that has an "when cast" ability, e.g. the cascade from Bloodbraid Elf, can I counter that ability - I think it'd be a "triggered" ability - using a ...
user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
572 views

Can you change a target of a spell to an illegal target with misdirection?

Can you change a target of a spell to an illegal target with misdirection? One ruling for Misdirection says that This does not check if the current target is legal. It just checks if the spell has a ...
user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
122 views

Does "Seize the Spotlight" target? [duplicate]

Seize the Spotlight from the new Streets of Capenna EDH deck lets my opponents choose fame or fortune when cast. For each opponent who chose fortune I draw a card and create a treasure token. For each ...
user avatar
  • 762
3 votes
1 answer
253 views

Gala Greeters and Replacement Effect

Let's say I have both Gala Greeters and Jinnie Fay, Jetmir's Second on the battlefield. A creature comes into play that triggers Gala Greeters's Alliance ability, which should create a tapped ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
160 views

Adventure spells and Codie

I'm playing a Codie, Vociferous Codex deck and was wondering if Adventure spells synergizes with codie. Question: Does casting the adventure half of the spells count as casting a permanent spell? Or ...
user avatar
  • 195
4 votes
1 answer
301 views

Imposter Mech copying Devotion God

What happens when an Imposter Mech, which entered the battlefield as a copy of a Theros God (e.g. Nylea, Keen-Eyed), is crewed? Will it be a creature, or does the phrase on the god which checks for ...
user avatar
  • 762
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

In Mtg, can I play spells exiled with Evelyn, the Covetous if she is not on the battlefield?

If I exile cards with a collection counter on using Evelyn, the Covetous's ability, can I still play those cards if Evelyn is not on the battlefield? The wording on cards such as Gonti, Lord of Luxury ...
user avatar
  • 537
3 votes
2 answers
805 views

What's this foil dot near the foil stamp of a Magic card?

I saw this photo of a Magic card with a shiny orb next to the oval one in the center. What's that mean?
user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
735 views

When exactly do I get to return my Commander to the Command Zone after it goes to the Graveyard?

If my Commander on the field dies, and I send it to the Graveyard, its death becomes a state-based action. My question is, since a Commander has the chance to be returned to the Command Zone from the ...
user avatar
  • 33
3 votes
1 answer
388 views

How does the Pioneer Lotus Field deck win with Approach?

I bought the Lotus Field Pioneer precon. It’s billed as being able to win in a single big turn, and the apparent way to do this is Granted, Omniscience, a second Granted, Approach of the Second Sun, ...
user avatar
  • 133
1 vote
1 answer
103 views

Can I activate a creature's ability before that creature triggers and enter the battlefield effects (ETBs)?

The two cards I am concerned with: Flayer of the Hatebound: Undying (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control with a +1/+1 ...
user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Can I use Sigil of Sleep to return a creature to opponent’s hand if I’ve just taken lethal damage?

If I enchant an opponent’s creature with Sigil of Sleep, and my opponent deals me lethal combat damage with the enchanted creature, can I still return a creature to his hand, or does Sigil leave the ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
730 views

Simulacrum and trample

If I cast Simulacrum to retroactively apply damage done to me to a creature I control, but the attacking creatures have trample, does the excess damage get applied to me a second time?
user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
92 views

Import cards without knowing set in mtggoldfish

I want to use the "my price" feature in mtggoldfish, so I need to import my collection. I have my collection in a spreadsheed, but I don't have the set names for each card, and for the ...
user avatar
  • 139
11 votes
1 answer
729 views

Paying for activated abilities of newly spoiled card Halo Fountain

Halo Fountain is a newly spoiled card for New Capenna: Now say you turn Halo Fountain into a creature (there's a variety of methods to do this, say Karn, Silver Golem for example). Say you wanted to ...
user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
283 views

What cards can retrieve arbitrary cards from exile?

I know of only three: Pull From Eternity Riftsweeper Karn, the Great Creator Are there any more? (By "arbitrary" I mean the card retrieved need not be related to the card doing the ...
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
367 views

How does Death's Shadow interact with Trample?

Inspired by Does Death's Shadow grow when blocking a creature while the player is taking damage? Let's say I control a Phyrexian Dreadnought - a 12/12 Trampler. My opponent is on 12 life and has a ...
user avatar
  • 11.4k
11 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does Death's Shadow grow when blocking a creature while the player is taking damage?

The game situation: I'm at 12 life, meaning that Death's Shadow is currently a 1/1. I'm being attacked by two 2/2 Goblin Guides; I block one of them with the Death's Shadow, leaving the other ...
user avatar
  • 195
3 votes
0 answers
69 views

When something loses all abilities, does that include intrinsic mana abilities from basic land types? [duplicate]

What happens if I have an Ashaya, Soul of the Wild and a Grizzly Bears enchanted with Mystic Subdual? As I understand it, first Ashaya adds the Forest land type in layer 4, so the Bears will ...
user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
591 views

Cloning a permanent, that is not a creature by itself

Lets say, I have a noncreature artifact (Manalith for example) and something, which temporarily turns it into creature, like Karn, the Great Creator's +1 ability. So I have a 3/3 Manalith and I cast ...
user avatar
  • 367
2 votes
1 answer
247 views

Does Death Tyrant still create its zombie token if it dies in combat?

Death Tyrant card has the following ability: Negative Energy Cone — Whenever an attacking creature you control or a blocking creature an opponent controls dies, create a 2/2 black Zombie creature ...
user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
208 views

Does Ranar the Ever-Watchful's ability stack with Day of the Dragons?

Ranar the Ever-Watchful has the ability Whenever one or more cards are put into exile from your hand or a spell or ability you control exiles one or more permanents from the battlefield, create a 1/1 ...
user avatar
-2 votes
1 answer
114 views

Can a commander sent to the graveyard be brought back by a sorcery or instant card or ability without costing mana? [closed]

Can a commander sent to the graveyard be brought back by a sorcery or instant card or ability without costing mana? I know I can put it in the command-zone. But does that mean I can get it back out of ...
user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
406 views

Young Pyromancer stacking with Village Rites

So i am not too sure how to word this during a paper match. Let's say I have Young Pyromancer already on the battlefield and I cast Village Rites. Would Young Pyromancer's ability go on top of the ...
user avatar
  • 49
4 votes
1 answer
310 views

Does the Heliod / Walking Ballista combo work with a 1/1 Ballista?

I'm playing the Heliod, Sun-Crowned & Walking Ballista combo where Heliod is able to give +1/+1 to Walking Ballista when I gain life: Whenever you gain life, put a +1/+1 counter on target ...
user avatar
  • 195
0 votes
0 answers
51 views

Ideal mana ratio [duplicate]

I'm rebuilding my mono red damage deck for speed. Average mana cost is just under 1.85. I am functional at 2 and peak is 3. How much mana should I carry?
user avatar
  • 11
7 votes
1 answer
661 views

Does Winds of Abandon, overloaded, cause the player to search their library multiple times or just once?

If I cast Winds of Abandon for its overload cost which says, Exile each creature you don't control. For each creature exiled this way, its controller searches his or her library for a basic land card....
user avatar

1
2 3 4 5
94