Skip to main content

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0 votes
1 answer
85 views

Can I use Ulalek's ability multiple times after casting a single spell?

So my friends and I were talking about Ulalek, Fused Atrocity, the new Commander for the Eldrazi pre-con deck, and I wanted to know if the ability can be paid for more than once on just any instance. ...
shadow 6195's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
183 views

If I ask "What is your Oblivion Ring targeting?", am I letting the spell resolve?

My opponent casts Oblivion Ring while I have a Grizzly Bears and a Hill Giant on board, and a Counterspell in hand. I don't mind if my opponent removes the Hill Giant, but for whatever reason the ...
amalloy's user avatar
  • 405
0 votes
2 answers
61 views

If I have Ashaya out and return Quirion Ranger with itself, can it target itself?

If I have Lotus Cobra, Ashaya, Soul of the Wild, Nadu, Winged Wisdom, and Quirion Ranger out, can I target Quirion Ranger with its own ability while returning Qurion Ranger to my hand?
Christian's user avatar
  • 1,301
3 votes
1 answer
478 views

When do I pay the cost in Ulalek's triggered ability?

I’m looking at the ability of one of the upcoming Eldrazi releases, and was wondering when payment happens and when the ability goes on the stack. Ulalek, Fused Atrocity has the ability Whenever you ...
Littleinhuman's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
322 views

Alternative costs stacking (flashback+spectacle)

I cast Slickshot Lockpicker, which says: When Slickshot Lockpicker enters the battlefield, target instant or sorcery card in your graveyard gains flashback until end of turn. The flashback cost is ...
Guillaume's user avatar
  • 133
2 votes
4 answers
225 views

Are there strategies to counter politics, as defined by Richard Garfield?

In Characteristics of Games by Richard Garfield et al., a dynamic which emerges within a large number of multisided games is explicated... Imagine a game, which we’ll call the “chip-taking game,” ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 718
8 votes
4 answers
2k views

How can my blue and black deck return enchantments from the graveyard?

I’ve created a blue and black deck, the concept is to create damage with enchantments, like Dark Tutelage or Stab Wound and to neutralize creatures or spells with essence scatter and other neutralize ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
1 vote
1 answer
117 views

Does tapping already tapped creature counts as "committing a crime"?

The Sterling Keykeeper is on the table and a player activates its ability (2, Tap: Tap target non-Mount creature), targeting opponent's tapped non-Mount creature. Does "commit a crime" ...
Denis Gladkiy's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
61 views

Mtg: Electrostatic Field return to hand [duplicate]

Situation: The Electrostatic Field is a creature. In my turn I play the Artful Maneuver. My opponent plays the Compelling Deterrence and returns the electrostatic field in my hand. I know that his ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
-1 votes
1 answer
79 views

When Genju of the Fens dies, does the swamp go in the graveyard?

When I play Genju of the Fens, I enchant a swamp, and I pay the mana to transform the swamp to a 2/2 black spirit creature, but it’s still a land and it dies because of blocking or spells. Then the ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
4 votes
1 answer
354 views

Is a creature spell already a permanent?

I have a question, is a creature spell already a permanent? The situation: I played against a friend of mine, he played a creature, so I played Essence Scatter to counter it. After that he played Turn ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
5 votes
1 answer
791 views

Mtg: attacking effect, but the creature dies

Neck Breaker (the transformed side of Breakneck Rider) gives attacking creatures +1/+0. If I attack and then a spell kills the Neck Breaker after I declared my attackers, does the effect remain on the ...
Steve's user avatar
  • 179
3 votes
1 answer
511 views

What happens to cards exiled face-down at the end of a game?

I know that face-down spells and permanents must be revealed to my opponent at the end of a game, generally to prove that it was legal to play them face down. Likewise if such an object changes zones, ...
amalloy's user avatar
  • 405
0 votes
1 answer
119 views

How to classify specific instructions as double one-shot effects versus continuous effects?

According to CR 610.3... Some one-shot effects cause an object to change zones “until” a specified event occurs. A second one-shot effect is created immediately after the specified event. This second ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 718
0 votes
1 answer
122 views

Why does Spy Kit + Eradicate work?

To set the stage: I play Spy Kit and equip it to my opponent's creature, for example with Magnetic Theft. I then play Eradicate. Judge rulings generally seem to agree that this does, in fact, remove ...
Themoonisacheese's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
509 views

How is the channel ability word actually implemented in the rules?

Clause 207.2c of the comprehensive rules point out that "channel" is an ability word (among many others), in that it marks a particular family of behaviors but has no rules meaning (and the ...
Keeley Hoek's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
334 views

Can Lost Isle Calling's activated ability be copied effectively?

I would love some clarification on how exactly Lost Isle Calling's activated ability works. First off, since the cost of the ability involves sacrificing LIC itself, how can the ability count how many ...
Timothy Womble's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
2k views

How many lands in total can be put into play with Map the Frontier?

The card Map the Frontier has the text: Search your library for up to two basic land cards and/or Desert cards, put them onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle. Does this mean 2 total lands can ...
Kristopher Ives's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
646 views

Can a player cast an instant at anytime during an opponent's turn?

So I had the following situation in a very casual MtG match: I've played Chandra, Flamecaller, a 4-loyalty planeswalker; Then my opponent cast Boros Charm "in response to" that spell, ...
alecov's user avatar
  • 141
20 votes
4 answers
4k views

Can running 4 copies of a Magic card with different art have an advantage/disadvantage over cards with identical art?

Can having marks or different art on the front of cards make any difference to gameplay? (I'm not looking for Un-set abilities like Art Rampage or cards like "Drawn Together".)
nena's user avatar
  • 303
4 votes
1 answer
195 views

Must the infinite loop rule be triggered on a Grindstone and 4 Progenitus [duplicate]

Suppose that my deck contains a Grindstone and 4 copies of Progenitus, and that every other card in my deck shares a color. I use Grindstone's ability, targeting myself. Because every card in my deck ...
Tim C's user avatar
  • 536
2 votes
4 answers
474 views

Haste creature under The Akroan War chapter 2 ability

My opponent plays The Akroan War, then on his next turn the chapter 2 ability triggers. If I play a creature with haste, does the effect created by the chapter 2 ability apply to that creature? i.e. ...
thesilican's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Cheapest unstoppable, mandatory infinite loops in Magic the Gathering

Like expanded on in the Cheapest mandatory loop answers, there exist game states induced by combos where card effects trigger off each other indefinitely without any further action required by the ...
2080's user avatar
  • 259
8 votes
2 answers
3k views

Cheapest mandatory loop in Magic the Gathering

What is the cheapest combination of cards (in terms of total mana value of cards used for the combo), that, when played, result in an infinite loop with only mandatory actions - resulting in a draw?
2080's user avatar
  • 259
2 votes
2 answers
669 views

Perplexing Chimera leaves battlefield

How works Perplexing Chimera when its ability is on the stack but, before it's resolved, Chimera leaves battlefield? For example. Perplexing Chimera is already in control of my opponent. Then I cast ...
Wolf1994's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I tap a permanent for mana multiple times with multiple copies of an untap spell on the stack?

Let's say I have Thousand-Year Storm with a few triggers (or some other copy ability), then I cast Dramatic Reversal (or similar) can I tap my mana rocks between each resolve of Dramatic Reversal? Say ...
NotDead's user avatar
  • 61
5 votes
1 answer
504 views

Can a triggered ability of a permanent with shroud be targeted? [duplicate]

suppose Karlach, Fury of Avernus (with Lightning Greaves), triggers: untap all attacking creatures. They gain first strike until end of turn. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase in ...
garglblarg's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
372 views

Multiple End step events

Let’s say I have Promise of Tomorrow and a couple creatures exiled with it. I cast Eerie Interlude during my main phase and exile all my creatures. Now, what I want to know is if Promise of Tomorrow’s ...
Bytogram's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
112 views

How to Tell Apart Transforming from Modal Double Faced Cards

Transforming and modal double faced cards function quite differently; only the front side of TDCFs can be played, and MDCFs can't transform. Usually it's pretty obvious whether a DFC is transforming ...
Matthew Jensen's user avatar
5 votes
2 answers
1k views

Magic: The Gathering - Akawalli and Menace

Akawalli, the Seething Tower has Descend 8 - As long as there are eight or more permanent cards in your graveyard, Akawalli gets an additional +2/+2 and can't be blocked by more than one creature. ...
Urdungo's user avatar
  • 236
1 vote
1 answer
152 views

Myrkul, Lord of Bones and Kaya the Inexorable - legendary rule across card types

So with Myrkul, Lord of Bones, I can exile my non-token creatures when they die, creating token enchantments that are a copy of them with no other card types. Kaya the Inexorable's <-7> ability ...
N Cz's user avatar
  • 25
1 vote
1 answer
163 views

Myrkul, Lord of Bones interaction with exile

Myrkul, Lord of Bones says "whenever another non-token creature you control dies, you may exile it. If you do, create a token that's a copy of that card, except it's an enchantment and loses all ...
N Cz's user avatar
  • 25
2 votes
1 answer
187 views

How does "must be blocked if able" work with banding?

I control Maarika, Brutal Gladiator, Holga, Relentless Rager (both of which have the text "must be blocked if able"), and Adventurers' Guildhouse. Then, in my declare attackers step, I ...
James Jackson's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
141 views

Has there ever been a Kicker mechanic for activated abilities?

I am looking to write a homebrew creature that, for a steep price, gives indestructible until End of Turn to itself, then destroys all creatures, but also destroys all enchantments (at the same time ...
Zachiel's user avatar
  • 111
1 vote
1 answer
84 views

Removing Copied Mutate Targets

When using mutate, I'm aware that removing a Mutate Target results in the Mutate-Spell to enter as a creature. I've reviewed what happens when you use Cloning Effects. However I'm still a little hazy ...
L.P.'s user avatar
  • 1,054
1 vote
1 answer
834 views

Does the game check how many creatures you have before a boardwide effect changes those creatures toughness? (MTG)

Say I have Kaervek, the Spiteful and Endrek Sahr, Master Breeder on the battlefield and I cast Sibsig Muckdraggers, creating 9 1/1 thrulls that immediately die to Kaervek's effect. Would the game ...
MewUwU's user avatar
  • 21
2 votes
3 answers
674 views

What are budget options for decks competitive in local standard tournaments? [closed]

With Wizards of the Coast pushing the format again, building budget-friendly decks to compete in the local scene becomes relevant. How can one approach the construction of budget decks for competitive ...
pietro_molina's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
2k views

How is Riddlemaster Sphinx's identifier greater than the number of cards in the set?

I was indexing my Magic: The Gathering inventory recently and I found a card from M19 that's identifier is 287/280. As far as I know, the second number is the amount of cards in a set, and the first ...
Blue Herring's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
116 views

Copying object and continuous type-changing effects

Have a question about how cards like Mirage Mirror interact with continuous type-changing effects like that of ex. Enraging Licid. Want to make sure I understand layers correctly. Let's say I activate ...
programmer's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
229 views

What happens if you cast a modal spell but choose illegal modes?

For example, Izzet Charm is a spell with three modes, one of which is "counter target noncreature spell unless opponent pays {2}". Suppose I cast Grizzly Bears and opponent responds with ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.3k
0 votes
1 answer
136 views

Will Righteous Cause trigger with tapped and attacking tokens [duplicate]

Will i gain life if someone is attacking and they create a tapped and attack token
KneelBe4Zodd's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
274 views

How does Persist and Finality interact with each other?

A player in my pod played Admiral Brass, Unsinkable which puts a finality counter on his pirate when they enter the battlefield from their graveyard during combat. I had a Cauldron of Souls which lets ...
John Odom's user avatar
  • 233
1 vote
2 answers
298 views

What's the smallest starting library you can have in commander?

My understanding is, your commander deck is 100 cards. And you take commander/companions etc. out of your deck before you start and put them in the command zone. The smallest library I can come up ...
John's user avatar
  • 5,564
0 votes
2 answers
160 views

Does trample damage trigger the ingest ability?

I have an Eldrazi deck that has creatures with the ingest ability: Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of their library Would trample damage ...
m0nst3r's user avatar
  • 21
3 votes
2 answers
2k views

Paying mana cost, Targeting, Sacrifice, and Ward

My opponent has Kykar, Wind's Fury, a 1/1 Spirit Token, and 5 lands (that produce any mana.) The only creature I control is a 6/6 Trample, Ward {1}. Opponent has a Switcheroo in hand and their ...
L.P.'s user avatar
  • 1,054
2 votes
1 answer
160 views

Copying Éomer, Marshal of Rohan trigger on the stack

I somehow managed to trigger Éomer, Marshal of Rohan's ability and copied it 10x on the stack. Do I get 10 combat phases? Does the triggers resolve one after another or does it empty the stack ...
Pboy's user avatar
  • 21
9 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can a creature with hexproof be targeted in a graveyard?

I am constructing a commander deck with Meren of Clan Nel Toth. Can it target creature in graveyard that has hexproof or shroud to return to hand/battlefield? The specific card in my hand is one I ...
James's user avatar
  • 99
4 votes
1 answer
689 views

What cards discount Ninjutsu?

Thinking about making a Satoru Umezawa deck, wondering what are some good discount options for ninjutsu ability. I know about Silver-Fur Master, but I was wondering if Cloud Key will work too?
Glenn G.'s user avatar
  • 149
0 votes
1 answer
134 views

What is the best way to ship cards? [closed]

I have about 25 cards I want to sell on Star City Games buy list. What would be the best way to ship them? I need them to arrive in the same order I sent them.
Neil Meyer's user avatar
  • 5,384
4 votes
1 answer
152 views

Path of Mettle and Aragorn, Hornburg Hero

I was wondering, if Path of Mettle transformed into the "Tower-side" if I controlled Aragorn, Hornburg Hero and attacked with at least two creatures. Walking this through step by step is ...
Erik's user avatar
  • 858

1
2 3 4 5
101