Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
2answers
380 views

Is it possible to respond to a “part” of a triggered ability? (with multiple sentences)

Here is the scenario that came up multiple times when playing Brudiclad, Telchor Engineer, which says: At the beginning of combat on your turn, create a 2/1 blue Myr artifact creature token. Then you ...
29
votes
7answers
30k views

What are good strategies against counterspell decks?

I'm currently honing a white-green tokens deck for Standard tournament play. I feel like I have a good handle on my game-plan for most of the other common archetypes, but I'm really stymied playing ...
0
votes
1answer
266 views

Can Fragmentize destroy artifacts with converted mana cost greater than 4?

Fragmentize, a white sorcery, has this wording: Destroy target artifact or enchantment with converted mana cost 4 or less. The wording seems clear enough, but I see a potential loophole in the ...
0
votes
0answers
60 views

Can Heliod's Intervention destroy X artifacts AND X enchantments? [duplicate]

Heliod's Intervention is a white instance for {XWW} with this wording: Choose one — Destroy X target artifacts and/or enchantments. Target player gains twice X life. How should this be ...
2
votes
2answers
559 views

Should trample damage get through a creature with protection from the attacker? [duplicate]

I had the below scenario happen while playing MTG Arena. I have a 1/1 soldier token. I have given it protection from Red, by sacrificing an Alseid of Life's Bounty. My opponent has a Rimrock ...
29
votes
6answers
32k views

Why is Skullclamp banned?

The following card is banned in current tournament formats: Equipped creature gets +1/-1. When equipped creature is put into a graveyard, draw two cards. Cast 1, equip 1 (artifact). http://...
4
votes
1answer
620 views

If Conclave Mentor & Spike Feeder enter the battlefield at the same time, does the Spike Feeder get three +1/+1 counters?

Conclave Mentor: If one or more +1/+1 counters would be put on a creature you control, that many plus one +1/+1 counters are put on that creature instead. Spike Feeder: Spike Feeder enters the ...
5
votes
2answers
706 views

An exiled planeswalker returned with loyalty higher than printed in Arena

In Arena, I exiled enemy's Teferi, Hero of Dominaria using Banishing Light. Some time later Banishing Light was destroyed and Teferi returned to play. It had immediately 8 loyalty. What allows this? I ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

Can cards that say “deal damage to any target” deal damage to a planeswalker?

I have a card that says "whenever Karplusan Hound attacks, attacks, if you control a Chandra planeswalker, this creature deals 2 damage to any target." Does this mean I can target a planeswalker?
7
votes
3answers
794 views

How does Jandor's Ring work with modern Magic rules?

A 2004 Oracle ruling for Jandor Ring, above, states: If you do not have the card still in your hand, you can't pay the cost. There is currently no way to prove that it was the card you drew except ...
16
votes
4answers
5k views

What was the first Infinite Combo in Magic: The Gathering?

I started wondering when the first time an infinite combo was possible in Magic: The Gathering. I went through Alpha and, as far as I could tell, there wasn't an infinite combo available among the ...
0
votes
1answer
103 views

Flickerform - are returning auras being attached once they enter the battlefield?

I activate Flickerform and the ability resolves. Once the game moves to the next end step, the removed creature comes back, and then all auras which where attached to it (as per ruling in the Gatherer)...
8
votes
1answer
868 views

What happens when a vehicle dies with Hofri Ghostforge in play? (STX Spoilers)

What happens when a vehicle dies with the Hofri Ghostforge in play (from the upcoming Strixhaven set)? Whenever another nontoken creature you control dies, exile it. If you do, create a token that’s ...
5
votes
1answer
238 views

Controlling an Artifact Creature - Aura with Equip, can the permanent equip itself?

For clarity's sake, I'll start by explaining the process in which you get such a permanent. I control Mairsil, the Pretender with an Gliding Licid, Lightning Greaves (can be any Equipment), and ...
6
votes
1answer
562 views

Temporary gain control effects, what happens if I give the permanent to another opponent before the effect ends?

Let's say that I temporarily gain control of an opponents permanent through some means, and then, before the temporary effect ends, I give it to another opponent (though let's say Harmless Offering). ...
3
votes
1answer
194 views

Does the Ward keyword trigger Baral's card draw clause?

Ward, the new keyword introduced in Strixhaven, counters spells and abilities that target that creature unless you pay a cost. Ward {2} (Whenever this creature becomes the target of a spell or ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

How can we interrupt the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo? (STX spoilers)

A friend of mine was discussing the Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog combo (pictured below). I was wondering if it would be easy to interrupt the combo easily, since Chain of Smog is a sorcery....
3
votes
1answer
148 views

Does Emrakul, the Promised End trigger if the player casting it is being controlled?

Say I cast Emrakul, the Promised End and am now controlling my opponent during their turn. As it turns out, they also have an Emarkul, the Promised End. If I cast their Emrakul (while controlling them)...
0
votes
2answers
240 views

How many Planeswalkers appear in Core Set Displays

I'm a bit confused regarding the MTG sets. Currently I'm looking at several options to buy for a draft: Core Set 2021 Display (36 Core Set boosters) Expansion Set Display (36 Expansion Set boosters) ...
21
votes
2answers
52k views

Does Doubling Season affect planeswalkers?

According to 306.5b, A planeswalker is treated as if its text box included, "This permanent enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to its printed loyalty number." This ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Kasmina, Enigma Sage replace planeswalker abilities?

Kasmina, Enigma Sage has recently been spoiled. Her static ability reads: Each other planeswalker you control has the loyalty abilities of Kasmina, Enigma Sage. I assume the intention is to give ...
4
votes
4answers
2k views

Why is Bind The Monster useful?

I have Bind the Monster. I really don't see a use for it. Is it useful, and how? It's an Aura Enchantment for {U} with Enchant creature When Bind the Monster enters the battlefield, tap enchanted ...
16
votes
4answers
5k views

How to build a budget-friendly manabase for a 5-color deck?

I am a commander player who operates on a very tight budget. I recently started brewing for a 5-color Jodah chaos deck, but am having trouble building an affordable manabase. I can't afford shocklands,...
6
votes
2answers
946 views

How does Psychic Surgery work with Scheming Symmetry?

If I have the card Psychic Surgery out and I cast Scheming Symmetry, when exactly do I get to exile? Does the Psychic Surgery trigger resolve before or after the card tutored with Scheming Symmetry (...
2
votes
2answers
185 views

If a creature has both hexproof and shroud, is it functionally the same as just having Shroud?

If a creature has both hexproof and shroud, is it functionally the same as just having Shroud? What happens when a creature has both shroud and hexproof?
2
votes
3answers
599 views

Using Commander Abilities from the Command Zone

So I have Horde of Notions and I am wondering if I can use it's mana cost ability from the commander zone. The ability which by paying one of each color, I can bring a Elemental from the graveyard to ...
5
votes
1answer
258 views

If Scourge of Fleets returns creatures with toughness 3 or less, do my vampires at (4/4) get returned to my hand when Thirsting Bloodlord return?

I played Savage Gorger a few turns ago making it a (3/3) before I played Thirsting Bloodlord (3/3) which gives other vampires I control +1/+1, making my Savager Gorger (4/4). If my friend had 3 ...
3
votes
3answers
753 views

Can Ghired, Conclave Exile and Helm of the Host go infinite?

So in a Commander match a buddy threw down Helm of the Host and Ghired, Conclave Exile. He attached the equipment to his Commander and swung out. Given the cards' rules texts, what goes onto/off of ...
0
votes
0answers
51 views

What is my color combination name? [duplicate]

I have a magic-the-gathering deck that is three colors, and they are white, black, and green. I was wondering what thew color combination name would be for it?
6
votes
3answers
6k views

How are holographic trading cards printed in an industrial setting?

Are printing techniques trade secrets? I'm wondering what type of printer, foil, cardboard, etc., is required to print holographic cards of the sort you might see in Magic or Yu-Gi-Oh. I can find ...
2
votes
2answers
194 views

Etymology of Borborygmos?

Recently found out that the word "borborygmus" exists (a rumbling or gurgling noise made by the movement of fluid and gas in the intestines), and my immediate thought was of Borborygmos, the ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

MTG - Does this do an infinite combo? Devil's play + Sevinne Chronoclasm + Geistblast from graveyard + Twinning Staff

The situation: I cast Devil's Play for x = 3. I cast Geistblast for its copy effect from my graveyard. Sevinne, the Chronoclasm triggers on the 1st cast from graveyard instant/sorcery - I get 1 ...
16
votes
3answers
4k views

Does your Death's Shadow become bigger if you are at negative life?

Is your Death's Shadow a 16/16 if you are at minus 3 life and not dead due to something like a Platinum Angel.
3
votes
2answers
388 views

Can I activate Multani, Yavimaya's Avatar on the battlefield?

Multani, Yavimaya's Avatar's activated ability doesn't require having to declare any targets, and it only cost {1}{G} and returning two lands to hand. The ability doesn't say Multani has to be in ...
1
vote
2answers
158 views

How do mulligans in a multiplayer game work exactly?

According to the Comprehensive Rules, 103.4c In a multiplayer game and in any Brawl game, the first mulligan a player takes doesn’t count toward the number of cards that player will put on the bottom ...
5
votes
1answer
920 views

Is the scry mulligan rule implemented in the rules at large yet?

On Friday, my local store said the mulligan rule being tested at PTORI (Before starting the game, any player who mulligans to less than 7 gets to scry 1) had been implemented into the game proper. But ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Drawing an Extra Card During Mulligan

Errors prior to the beginning of the game have a less disruptive option—a forced mulligan—that is not available at any other point during the game. ... If more than one excess card was drawn (...
29
votes
12answers
8k views

Why Does Magic Use The “Paris Mulligan” Rule?

In the early days, Magic had crazy, subpar mulligan rules: you could shuffle up and draw a new 7 if your hand had no lands or all lands, otherwise you were out of luck. A long time ago the Paris ...
0
votes
0answers
62 views

How do multiple copies of creatures with activated abilities interact? [duplicate]

Anointed Chorister has the activated ability: {4}{W}: Anointed Chorister gets +3/+3 until end of turn. If I have two or more copies of this creature in play on the battlefield and pay the cost to ...
1
vote
1answer
264 views

Instants in response to your own abilities

If an ability I control is on top of the stack, can I cast an instant before it resolves? For example, I have Sarkhan the Masterless and a dragon on the board. An opponent attacks, triggering 1 damage ...
0
votes
3answers
196 views

If you give Ochran Assassin trample, does it destroy all creatures my opponent controls?

If I give an Ochran Assassin trample and attack with it, does it destroy all of the opposing creatures, which are forced to block it?
10
votes
4answers
38k views

How can creatures with indestructible end up in the graveyard?

How does a creature with indestructible end up in the graveyard? I have been trying to figure this out for a little while.
17
votes
6answers
21k views

Software to search for MTG decks based on a list of cards

I haven't played MTG for a while, but I still own about 500 cards. Some of them were from pre-built decks, but now the cards are all randomized. I have the full inventory (quantity and name) on a ...
3
votes
2answers
390 views

Can you stop all attacks with Pramikon and Helm of the host?

If I have Pramikon, Sky Rampart out and attach a Helm of the Host to it, would it allow a new copy to enter, allowing me to choose the opposite direction from my original Pramikon? If so would that ...
28
votes
5answers
11k views

What is offensive about the card “Stone-Throwing Devils”?

In 2020 Magic: The Gathering banned seven cards due to racist or offensive content. But I don't understand the inclusion of the card Stone-Throwing Devils on that list. It just shows a bunch of demons ...
-2
votes
3answers
276 views

What's the most cards I can control at once?

What's the most cards I can control at once in a game, allowing the cooperation of all players, but best if not? A.k.a as many cards that can be affected by "X you control" effects like ...
2
votes
1answer
137 views

Can I get multiple effects from Alhammarrett, High Arbiter when using Brago, King Eternal's ability?

I'm playing a commander deck with Brago, King Eternal as commander. I also have this card called Alhammarret, High Arbiter I'm considering adding to the deck. If I cast the arbiter, chose a spell (let'...
9
votes
2answers
6k views

Which dual lands count as having the name of their respective basic land types for certain effects?

For example, let's take a look at Arbor Elf, which has the ability "T: Untap target Forest" Which types of dual lands count as a Forest and thus can be untapped by Arbor Elf? Is there a ...
2
votes
2answers
355 views

Isn't Wall of Runes a Rune card?

I played Runed Crown on MTG Arena, and tried to select Wall of Runes, but wasn't able. Isn't it a Rune card? So which cards are?
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Is there any way to turn a token into a nontoken?

Is there anything in Magic that can turn a token permanent into a nontoken permanent?

1 2
3
4 5
90