Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Maximum number of parties in MTG

Apologies if this has been answered, but How many parties can you have in MTG? I’m aware that a party consists of 0-4 so cleric, rogue, wizard and warrior. But if I have a full party and say another 4 ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when both players run out of cards with Gideon of the Trials and an emblem in play?

Gideon of the Trials is a planeswalker card from Amonkhet with the following abilities: +1: Until your next turn, prevent all damage target permanent would deal. 0: Until end of turn, Gideon ...
3
votes
1answer
327 views

Does Complete Disregard check a creature's power or base power?

I've been playing Magic with my boyfriend and I wanted to cast Complete Disregard (CD) targeting one of his creatures, but my question is, does CD work with base power or with power after alterations? ...
0
votes
1answer
123 views

Does Increasing Devotion create 10 tokens if cast from the graveyard without flashback?

Increasing Devotion creates 5 tokens, or 10 tokens if it is cast from the graveyard. While the "normal" way to cast this from the graveyard is with its own flashback ability, do I still get ...
7
votes
2answers
460 views

interaction between Fiery Emancipation and trample

I had Fiery Emancipation (which triples damage) on the battlefield, and attacked my opponent with a 4/1 creature with trample. My opponent had 6 life and blocked with a 5/6 creature. I believed that ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Do I need to sacrifice again if I copy Goblin Grenade?

Let's say that I cast Goblin Grenade, sacrificing a goblin to pay it's additional cost. Then, before it resolves I cast Increasing Vengeance, which allows me to copy the Goblin Grenade. Since I've ...
0
votes
1answer
125 views

Can one choose a card with Bestow when searching for an Aura?

Sovereigns of Lost Alara says "you may search your library for an Aura card that could enchant that creature". Could it find a card with Bestow (that can be cast as an Aura), e.g. Ghostblade ...
0
votes
2answers
787 views

Does Weathered Runestone make Emergent Ultimatum ineffective?

Does Weathered Runestone make Emergent Ultimatum ineffective? In other words, does having Weathered Runestone on the battlefield prevent cards fetched with the ultimatum being cast?
0
votes
2answers
234 views

“Whenever you draw a card” trigger w/ an empty library

In Magic: The Gathering, let's say you have out Ormos, Archive Keeper as well as Psychosis Crawler and you're down to an empty library. Something allows you to attempt to draw a card from the empty ...
8
votes
3answers
599 views

Does Welcome Decks 2016 contain cards that aren't reprints?

There's a new Magic: the Gathering product called Welcome Deck 2016. This consists of five 30 card preconstructed decks, and has its own expansion symbol. The webpage "Magic Welcome Decks" on ...
-1
votes
1answer
147 views

Can a creature with flash be killed before it can block?

Let's say my opponent attacks me with a Marit Lage from Dark Depths. I have a Scryb Ranger in hand and they have a Doom Blade in hand. For lack of the Doom Blade, I could chump-block with Scryb ...
27
votes
3answers
5k views

Does priority matter in Magic?

When does priority actually matter in magic? I have been playing Magic since Time Spiral and have never once seen the rules for priority matter. I've never heard a question from a player about a ...
0
votes
1answer
119 views

Why Valki returns stolen card even after the transformation?

Why Valki returns stolen cards even after the transformation? It is obvious, why Valki returns the stolen cards without the usage of its activated ability. But after becoming a copy of one of the ...
10
votes
1answer
6k views

Playing Desertion on a commander

I'm not sure how playing Desertion on a commander works. I did a quick search and got even more confused, do the EDH rules overwrite it? Commander Ruling: If Commander would be put into a library, ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

What exactly does the “If you do […]” clause on Mimic Vat check for?

Mimic Vat has two abilities. The one I am concerned with is: Imprint — Whenever a nontoken creature dies, you may exile that card. If you do, return each other card exiled with Mimic Vat to its ...
18
votes
2answers
26k views

In EDH/Commander, what is the 'color identity' of a double-faced card?

The official deck construction rules for Commander (nee EDH) at http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php say that 'A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's ...
17
votes
3answers
7k views

Is Basalt Monolith a 1-card infinite combo with no payoff?

Can't Basalt Monolith go infinite with itself? No payoff or practical use, but it's a one card infinite?
4
votes
2answers
8k views

Which commanders benefit from being in the Command Zone other than Oloro?

Oloro, Ageless Ascetic, gains its controller 2 life every turn it's in the command zone. Are there ANY other possible commanders that have abilities or benefits of being in the command zone or is he ...
10
votes
3answers
6k views

Do we still track damage on indestructible creatures?

So if lethal damage can't kill an indestructible creature, what do we do about the damage itself? Is it acknowledged? Say you have an effect that doesnt let a creature block if it has taken damage ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

How does your opponent verify that you're able to cast a Companion card?

Normally, in Magic the Gathering, your library is a hidden zone; neither you nor your opponent are allowed to look at the cards in it during a game of Magic: the Gathering unless an effect says that ...
1
vote
3answers
204 views

Do cards like Cranial Extraction, Slaughter Games, and Memoricide get around protection?

Let's just use Memoricide as an example since all 3 cards have the same effect. The card's oracle text reads: Choose a nonland card name. Search target player's graveyard, hand, and library for any ...
3
votes
2answers
559 views

Clarification on Provoke the Trolls

I'm not sure if I understand what Provoke the Trolls spell does correctly. If I cast this spell on Knight of Obligation and it resolves, does it basically mean that it becomes a 7/1 creature until end ...
0
votes
2answers
193 views

Clarification on How Basri, Devoted Paladin Works

I wonder how abilities on Basri, Devoted Paladin from MtG Core Set 2021 work. Regarding the -1 ability -- am I right that every creature that attacks this turn gets +1/+1 counter? Regarding the -6 ...
26
votes
10answers
5k views

Ways to handicap in Magic the Gathering?

I play Magic the Gathering with my kids a bit. But, the games are often very one sided (in my favor) as they haven't mastered all the rules, and intricacies of game play. For most board games, I can ...
0
votes
3answers
661 views

Clarification on how the emblem gained by Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor works

I have two questions regarding the exact rulings of the emblem gained by Tibalt, Cosmic Impostor. Question 1 The emblem gained by Tibalt mentions the card (Tibalt) by name. Looking at rule 201.4a ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

MTG protection from color in multiple card multicolored scenario

I just played a game of MTG Arena where Questing Beast attacked while I declared my Linden, the Steadfast Queen as a blocker. I sacrificed my Alseid of Life's Bounty and gave Linden, the Steadfast ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

How does color identity work in Commander?

I recently began playing commander, and have run into a few questions, mainly about color compatibility with a commander. I think I can lump them all together into this one question: What exactly ...
1
vote
1answer
131 views

Can I use “Divinity of Pride” in my mono black commander deck? If not, then what card is/similar to Divinity of Pride but is a mono black? [duplicate]

Can I use the MTG card Divinity of Pride in my mono black commander deck? It's a multi-colored card - black/white - but it pays for either four swamps (black mana) or four plains (white mana). I know ...
10
votes
3answers
48k views

Do commanders “die” if they go to the command zone instead?

If my commander would die and I opt to move it to the command zone instead of the graveyard, does it cause a "when a creature dies" ability trigger? An example would be Fool's Demise. If my opponent ...
0
votes
1answer
232 views

Do Lands count as permanents? Did I find a bug in Magic Arena?

I played a match with Chromatic Orrery on the battlefield. I had no creatures, no enchantments or anything else on the field but around 10 Lands of 7 different types. 7 mixed and 2 single colors and ...
1
vote
2answers
144 views

Where can I find in-depth analysis of different digital card games?

(Not sure if this is on topic) I quit Magic: the Gathering some time ago, and am thinking of finding another digital card game to play. Where can I find in depth reviews of the various card games on ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

If you have infinite life, can your life total be set to a specific number?

Earlier in the game an Infinity Elemental was given Lifelink and dealt damage, giving me infinite life. I have a Form of the Dragon in play, so that at my end step my life total becomes 5. Rule 119.5 ...
7
votes
3answers
744 views

Shouldn't Mana be a Copied Attribute?

One of the new Kaldheim cards, Blessing of Frost, has the text: Distribute X +1/+1 counters among any number of creatures you control, where X is the amount of {S} spent to cast this spell. Then draw ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Commander status as hidden information

Inspired by Ivo Beckers' comment on the answer to Is your commander still a "commander" if it gets turned face down? If Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and is returned to your hand, ...
17
votes
9answers
29k views

Are there any non-green, non-artifact mana ramp cards?

I have looked and can't seem to find any. I have seen many green cards and some artifacts that do this, but nothing in Red, Blue, Black or White. Are there any? Note: By "Mana Ramp" I mean a card ...
0
votes
3answers
171 views

Can Jinxed Idol be activated many times in a turn?

Irecently played a game with my group and I used Jinxed Idol at the beginning of my end step so I sacrificed a small 1/1 token to pass to 1 of my 3 opponents (next in turn after me) but then a game of ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Are there any EDH commanders whose colour identity is not solely determined by their mana cost?

Colour identity is not only the colours in the casting cost, but any mana symbols that appear in the rules text (but not the reminder text!). Are there any legendary creatures that have a different ...
2
votes
2answers
490 views

Heliod, Sun-crowned combo with Walking Ballista

I've recently picked up the Heliod Collected Company deck and I'm not sure how the opponent can interact with the combo. Obviously counter spells will prevent me from playing the cards and hand ...
3
votes
3answers
659 views

Deflecting Swat and Lich's Mastery

A EDH deck I am wanting to build revolves around Lich's Mastery. I'm aware of the removal that may occur to it and that I can Stifle the ability of When Lich's Mastery leaves the battlefield you ...
0
votes
1answer
88 views

Thunder Drake second spell of the turn

If I play Thunder Drake as my first spell of the turn, then cast another spell, will it get a +1/+1 counter?
-6
votes
4answers
137 views

Nadir Kraken and Solemnity

Say Solemnity and a Nadir Kraken are play. Obviously you won't get the counter. But will get the token. Basic FOL would suggest: P = "put a +1/+1 counter on Nadir" Q = create a 1/1 blue ...
4
votes
1answer
119 views

What card types can't appear in your library?

From the new Kaldheim release notes on [Alrund, God of the Cosmos]: You may choose any card type, but the ones that may appear in your library are artifact, creature, enchantment, instant, land, ...
6
votes
3answers
786 views

Soul-Scar Mage and Nin, the Pain Artist with lifelink

I control a Nin, the Pain Artist (without summoning sickness) equipped with a Basilisk Collar (or anything else which gives her lifelink) and a Soul-Scar Mage. When I activate Nin's ability and deal e....
0
votes
0answers
41 views

Can I target a tapped creature for “tap target creature, target creature doesn’t untap during its controller’s untap step.” [duplicate]

I have two cards that I’ve had disputes with. 1: Shipbreaker Kraken 2: Archipelagore The Kraken says “When Shipbreaker Kraken becomes monstrous, tap up to four target creatures. Those creatures don’t ...
1
vote
1answer
75 views

Are these the right search terms, to find all cards that have their costs reduced by Embalming Tools?

I'm using Embalmer's Tools, and want to find all (monoblue) cards that have their cost reduced by it. I have this search term (fo:/{[cwubrg1-9]}.*: .*(this|~) .* from your graveyard/ or fo:/{[cwubrg1-...
4
votes
2answers
508 views

How do Panglacial Wurm and Imoti interact?

Let's say I control Imoti, Celebrant of Bounty. I then cast Panglacial Wurm while searching my library. Panglacial Wurm will have cascade. Since the library is kept in the same order while searching, ...
1
vote
1answer
146 views

If my creature is temporarily under my opponents control, and it dies, do they get the ‘when this creature dies’ effect or do I?

If my opponent takes control of my creature with Act of Treason, or a similar spell, and the creature they take control dies, do I control the when this creature dies effects, or does my opponent? For ...
8
votes
4answers
3k views

Is there any reason to use basic lands instead of basic snow-covered lands?

Ever since cards like Arcum's Astrolabe and Ice-Fang Coatl were printed, there've been payoffs for having snow covered lands instead of basics, with an entirely new archetype being spawned (Snowko)...
4
votes
2answers
421 views

When planeswalkers become creatures, are they no longer planeswalkers?

Sarkhan the Masterless has the ability: +1: Until end of turn, each planeswalker you control becomes a 4/4 red Dragon creature and gains flying. There is a ruling associated with this Sarkhan that ...
0
votes
1answer
114 views

What happens to permanents modified by effects like Chance for Glory that change their card type?

For instance, Chance for Glory grants creatures indefinite indestructibility. What if said creature was a temporarily animated artifact, land, or enchantment that then loses the creature card type at ...

1 2 3
4
5
90