Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
2answers
4k views

Why did deathtouch not work against a double strike or first strike creature?

I am new to mtg, but I come across a lot of technical things that don’t make sense to me. One major thing that has infuriated me is why deathtouch doesn’t work when I block with it. I had Orzhov ...
1
vote
1answer
134 views

Responding to a Triggered Ability, multiple times

My opponent is at 3 life and has a Dread on board. I have a Fungal Plots, and a Slimefoot, the Stowaway, a 1/1 green Saproling token, and 8 mana open. I attack with my token, and he blocks. My token ...
9
votes
2answers
17k views

How many artifact lands can I play a turn?

I bought the 5 artifact lands from Mirrodin to add to my artifact deck; it works with the artifact theme (having all of my cards be artifacts) and goes well with my Darksteel Juggernauts. The thing ...
3
votes
3answers
466 views

Are you required to search your deck when playing a search card?

I had a miss click while playing arena and played a search card and it automatically showed me my deck. In the paper magic could you play a search card and choose not to look at your deck if you had ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Card advantage: scry v. surveil

I've heard it said that Scry 1 is equivalent to 0.5-0.75 of a drawn card; is there a similar number of card draw that Surveil 1 represents? Edit: this link has a reddit discussion that attempts to put ...
0
votes
1answer
160 views

What happens if a creature has 'cant be blocked' and 'must be blocked'

Lets say i have a creature that says it can't be blocked, like a Slither Blade, and then you cast Bloodscent targeting it. Would one override the other or would it be unblockable?
1
vote
2answers
181 views

MTG Arena: Enter battlefield ability denied by killing the creature causing it?

I played Acquisitions Expert in MTG Arena. My opponent reacted with Stomp adventure of Bonecrusher Giant and killed the Acquisitions Expert. Even though I saw my Acquisitions Expert's ability still ...
-2
votes
1answer
603 views

MTG Arena: Current shuffler (and matchmaker) functionality and rules [closed]

Bit on a rant intro, not necessary to understand the question. There is a heated debate between Arena players if (not) is the card shuffler (and matchmaker) rigged. I myself experienced very strange ...
5
votes
1answer
484 views

MTG: Yorion, Sky Nomad played into Yorion, Sky Nomad

I've been playing MTG Arena and played a game where my opponent played Yorion, Sky Nomad when another copy was already in game. If I'm correct, he chose to keep the copy which was already in the play ...
1
vote
1answer
81 views

Will Recoil still have creatures controller discard card?

I play recoil on a creature of my opponent. He responds by playing a vapor snag on this target. Will recoil still have him discard a card or will it fizzle completely?
3
votes
1answer
394 views

What are the correct official abbreviations for Commander's Anthology & Arsenal?

In Magic: the Gathering both Commander's Anthlogy and Commander's Arsenal are listed as having CMA as three letter abbreviation: COMMANDER'S ARSENAL, Commander Anthology. In the Wikipedia article ...
1
vote
1answer
112 views

Prismatic Piper card availability in Commander Draft

I've been planning to organize a Commander Legends draft with a few people at work. I've been looking into just how the drafting works with this format (it has a few oddities to account for the ...
3
votes
1answer
115 views

Can X be 0 when casting Avacyn's Judgment with madness?

If I discard Avacyn's Judgment, can I choose to cast it with madness with X = 0? My goal is to be able to cast it just to increase my storm count; I expect the spell itself to do nothing in this ...
4
votes
2answers
9k views

How does Sundial of the Infinite help you avoid losing turns to Eater of Days?

This article on Wizards of the Coast website claims that Eater of Days "lose your next two turns" can be avoided by use of Sundial of the Infinite. I can't figure that out. There are no rulings on ...
-2
votes
1answer
206 views

What happens if the card to be copied and bounced by Sublime Epiphany is the same?

If I play Sublime Epiphany and both bounce my Frilled Mystic and copy it, what happens. Given that the bouncing is listed first on the card, does the copying ability still see the Frilled Mystic in a ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

What happens when you cast a spell with multiple copies of Krark, the thumbless

Using the partner commanders Krark, the Thumbless and Sakashima of a Thousand Faces. Krark has the ability: Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, flip a coin. If you lose the flip, return ...
5
votes
2answers
11k views

Full written card lists for sets MTG

Is there anywhere where I can get a full card list just names for sets without all the mana costing and text or pictures. for example in the form: Card one card two card three and so forth.
2
votes
3answers
314 views

Need help with keeping track of +1/+1 counters on a large amount of creatures

I have a problem keeping track of counters on my cards. For example, I have too many things to keep counters on and would prefer not to use dice. I tried using paper but there is too much to keep ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

Snow-Covered Lands and Blood Moon interaction

How do Blood Moon and e.g. a Snow-Covered Plains interact? When I think of Field of the Dead it already seems quite counterintuitive to me that snow-covered lands increase the "distinct land ...
-2
votes
2answers
229 views

What does the Kaladesh Remastered (KLR) symbol represent?

Please advise: what does the set symbol for Kaladesh Remastered (KLR) represent? https://mtg.fandom.com/wiki/Kaladesh_Remastered https://scryfall.com/sets/klr
8
votes
2answers
185 views

Does Abandoned Sarcophagus exile Rebuild if I cast it?

I have recently built a cycling commander deck and have a question about an interaction between Abandoned Sarcophagus and Rebuild. If I have Abandoned Sarcophagus on the battlefield and cast Rebuild, ...
26
votes
6answers
24k views

Why would you want to play with a deck that had 3 or more colors in it in Magic? (limited and constructed)

Background: I'm currently writing a strategy guide for magic as my pet project, and I'm trying to explain decks with multiple colors. Here's what I have so far: Dual color decks are useful because ...
2
votes
3answers
476 views

Inspiring unicorn vs shock

I’m fairly new to Magic and still learning but got the basics. My problem is as follows. My friend person A : white deck (basic starter) Me person B : red deck (basic starter) Scenario Person A ...
13
votes
1answer
15k views

Can I sacrifice a creature that is only temporarily under my control?

A creature is placed "under my control until the end of turn" through a sorcery spell. Do I have the option of sacrificing said creature if I cast a "sacrifice a creature" instant, or have a creature ...
10
votes
1answer
573 views

Adventure cards and Feather, the Redeemed?

Short Version: If I cast an adventure card targeting one of my creatures, while I have Feather, the Redeemed on the battlefield, am I required to return the card to my hand? Or can I leave it in ...
0
votes
4answers
250 views

How can I play Mystic Sanctuary and not auto-lose to Boil?

Mystic Sanctuary is one of the best cards from Throne of Eldraine in eternal formats, because it can be fetched with fetchlands and guarantee a strong draw step. The cost is that it requires islands, ...
0
votes
1answer
122 views

Giving a 2/1 creature -2/-2 [duplicate]

The card Disfigure reads: Target creature gets -2/-2 until end of turn. If I used that on Highland Game, a 2/1 creature, would Highland Game still die?
6
votes
1answer
520 views

Why don't I get an chance to respond to the Extinction Event choice?

Extinction Event reads Choose odd or even. Exile each creature with converted mana cost of the chosen value. Why can't I respond to my opponent's choice of odd/even, for example by activating my ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

If my commander's mana cost is colorless, but it has an ability that includes another mana type, what cards can be in my deck?

Morophon, the Boundless has a mana cost is 7 colorless mana, but he has an ability that includes all mana types. If he is my commander, what cards can be in my deck?
8
votes
1answer
436 views

Is Ashaya still a land while enchanted with Kenrith's Transformation?

Ashaya, Soul of the Wild has a static ability that turns all of your creatures into Forest lands. Kenrith's Transformation turns enchanted creature into a 3/3 Elk creature with no abilities. My ...
18
votes
3answers
4k views

Can I equip Skullclamp on a creature I am sacrificing?

I have a "self-sacrificing" creature, such as Diligent Farmhand or Dawntreader Elk, and Skullclamp on the field. Can I pay to sacrifice the creature and then in response equip Skullclamp, Or vice ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Why didn't Crawling Barrens grow larger when mutated with my Gemrazer?

My turn on M:tG Arena. I've got my Crawling Barrens as a 12/12 creature due to twelve 1/1 counters. Then I mutated a Gemrazer over it (aka "above"). The Crawling Barrens stayed 12/12. After ...
5
votes
2answers
259 views

What happens if I take damage with Worship out while at negative life?

Let's say I'm at -10 life but Phyrexian Unlife is keeping me alive. I have a random creature in play as well as Worship when opponent hits me for 5 damage. Does my life total go back up to 1? -10 life ...
1
vote
3answers
371 views

MTG reacting instant speed on creature entering game [duplicate]

When I play MTG, sometimes I can't kill creature which entered the battlefield under opponent's control right away. To give example Lurrus of the Dream-Den entered the battlefield but I could not kill ...
10
votes
1answer
4k views

When a creature is exiled with Nightmare Shepherd, does Teysa Karlov create two copies of the creature when dying?

Example I have Teysa Karlov and Nightmare Shepherd in play. They mention, respectively: If a creature dying causes a triggered ability of a permanent you control to trigger, that ability triggers ...
4
votes
1answer
813 views

Which, if any, colored cards can be made colorless after being cast?

Which, if any, colored cards can be made colorless after being cast? I'm not interested in cards that use some factor to determine color at moment of casting (such as Devoid).
0
votes
1answer
171 views

MTG reactive play denied in MTG Arena

I played MTG Arena today and I attacked with Zulaport Duelist on which my opponent reacted with Stomp adventure of Bonecrusher Giant and instead of letting me change my Duelist for Zareth it simply ...
13
votes
1answer
1k views

Gifts ungiven vs. hexproof

What happens when my opponent cast Gifts Ungiven while I have hexproof (like from Veil of Summer)? Does it fizzle or give them all four of the cards?
7
votes
2answers
568 views

Can I select zero colors for Prismatic Lace?

I noticed that Prismatic Lace explicitly states "color or colors" in it's rules text: Target permanent becomes the color or colors of your choice. I realise "colorless" is not ...
5
votes
2answers
679 views

What happens with Jared and a dying monarch?

Assume I'm the active player and I've cast Jared Carthalion, True Heir (alternate link before CMR releases) this turn. Part of his ETB trigger is "You can't become the monarch this turn." I ...
1
vote
1answer
489 views

Would Averna, the Chaos Bloom allow you to get out all of your lands if you cascade and don't have a lower CMC spell in your deck?

If you fail to find a lower CMC spell in your deck while cascading, would Averna, the Chaos Bloom drop all of the land in your deck into play on one turn? The wording on the card is: As you cascade, ...
4
votes
1answer
567 views

Can a single card have multiple activations on a stack?

For further context, it has to do with Ghost Town in my landfall deck. It has the ability "0: Return Ghost Town to owner's hand." If I activate it during an opponent's upkeep and they ...
6
votes
3answers
764 views

Is there a way to save a X = 0 Stonecoil Serpent?

If I cast Stonecoil Serpent with X = 0, it starts with 0/0, and immediately resolves so it dies? Is there a way to save it?
13
votes
1answer
22k views

How do Companion cards from Ikoria work in Commander?

Today the Ikoria previews revealed a new mechanic: companion. From Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths Mechanics, you can choose up to one companion card in your sideboard (or in your collection outside the ...
4
votes
3answers
999 views

What's the cheapest way to buy a large number of Magic: the Gathering cards on Cardmarket?

I need cards for my new EDH decks and I want to buy them on cardmarket.com. They have this neat feature called the Shopping Wizard, which does all of the work for you. Last time I needed around 60 ...
1
vote
1answer
134 views

How does Proliferate interact with Exalted and other temporary +1/+1 buffs? [duplicate]

I understood Proliferate to be an ability that allows you to, given any number of permanents and players of your choosing, add another counter of each existing counter type that is already on there. ...
3
votes
1answer
366 views

MTG Returning lands at upkeep

I have a card that says: "At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice this card unless you return a land you control to its owner's hand." If I have two of these on the battlefield, do I ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

“Sacrifice a Creature” cost on as an ability: is there a limitation to how many times you can use it each turn?

Say I have a zombie knight on the field, as well as a Carrion Feeder(sacrifice a creature: put a +1/+1 counter on Carrion Feeder), Haakon, Stromgald Scourge (as long as Haakon in in play, you may play ...
8
votes
1answer
522 views

Stonecoil Serpent with X = 0 + The Great Henge

If I cast Stonecoil Serpent with X = 0, but I have The Great Henge in battlefield, does the Serpent die, or get the +1/+1 counter and stills alive? And also, if it dies, I still draw a card, or not?
10
votes
2answers
5k views

Why does a blocking 1/1 creature with double strike kill a 3/2 creature?

I was playing MTG Arena and had a 3/2 creature get blocked by a 1/1 creature with double strike. What I thought would happen: First strike: Attacker down to 3/1 (but still alive) Normal combat: ...

1
3 4
5
6 7
90