Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
3answers
3k views

Will using Nephalia Smuggler save a creature targeted by a destruction spell?

If an opponent targets one of my creatures with a destroy spell, and in response I tap Nephalia Smuggler to exile that creature and return it to the battlefield, does the destroy spell fizzle due to ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Is Master of Arms pointless under new blocking rules?

Master of Arms 2W, Summon Soldier 2/2, Weatherlight Uncommon First strike 1W: Tap target creature blocking Master of Arms. I used to use this in my deck as powerful creature which ...
13
votes
4answers
3k views

Would Pillar of Flames get rid of a Blightsteel Colossus?

Blightsteel Colossus is indestructible. The rules for indestructable says: 700.4. If a permanent is indestructible, rules and effects can’t destroy it. (See rule 701.6, “Destroy.”) Such permanents ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I sacrifice a permanent to pay an ability cost while the permanent's spell is still on the stack?

At what point does a creature/artifact/whatever become a legal candidate for being sacrificed to pay an activation cost? For example, suppose I cast an artifact creature spell, and my opponent ...
6
votes
1answer
905 views

Does Goblin Arsonist's ability deal 2 damage when there are two in play? [duplicate]

Does having two Goblin Arsonist on the battlefield cause their ability to deal 2 damage when one dies?
3
votes
1answer
17k views

When someone dies who controls a permanent but does not own it, what happens? [duplicate]

In a multiplayer game, if I were to give someone a permanent with Donate and they were to die while controlling that permanent, then would I get that permanent back? Or would the permanent get put ...
1
vote
2answers
778 views

Does Mogg Sentry gain +2/+2 for each spell?

I was playing with a friend who has Mogg Sentry on the field I then play Champion of the Parish and Vexing Devil. Does Mogg Sentry become a 5/5 creature until end of turn or is it just a 3/3?
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Types of EDH mana base

After looking at a number of EDH deck lists I have seen two distinct types of mana bases used by various decks. Some decks use a large number of basic lands, dual lands and utility lands. Other ...
4
votes
2answers
516 views

Is it better to start with M13 and splash in RtR and GTC when building a deck?

I've been doing some reading on deck building and I'm getting the feeling that using the RtR and GC expansions are better mixed in with a solid M13 deck. However, I can't really confirm this anywhere,...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Does 'shuffle your library' mandate that the cards actually change order?

According to the comprehensive rules, the definition of shuffling is thus: 701.16a To shuffle a library or a face-down pile of cards, randomize the cards within it so that no player knows their ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Merciless Eviction, how far does all go?

Got Merciless Eviction from a booster, and it states that you can choose one and then exile all artifacts, creatures, enchantments or planeswalkers. Does this mean that all instances in graveyards and ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

How big is a Consuming Aberration after it is stolen with Act of Treason?

Suppose I take a Consuming Aberration with an Act of Treason. Consuming Aberration says: Consuming Aberration's power and toughness are each equal to the number of cards in your opponents' graveyards. ...
1
vote
1answer
232 views

Do my creatures get a boon from previously played spells?

Suppose I am playing modern BW tokens and have a Hero of Bladehold on the field. I cast Zealous Persecution in my main phase. Do the tokens created my my Hero also get the +1/+1 bonus from the ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I save my spark trooper with a delayed flicker?

What exactly defines the beginning and end of a specific step? Because I'm wondering if my logic seems solid enough. I'm thinking of trying to avoid the sac requirement on my Spark Trooper by using ...
1
vote
3answers
2k views

what is a storage counter on a land card and how do you use it?

I have a card called Calciform Pools. It uses something called a storage counter. What is it and how do you use it? Card Text: Tap: Add {1} to your mana pool. {1}, Tap: Put a storage counter ...
2
votes
3answers
405 views

Does gaining +x/+x trigger "when counters are added" abilities?

If I had a Fathom Mage and played Giant Growth onto it would the "gain +3/+3" activate the ability to draw a card when a counter is added, or are stat improvements and counters completely separate?
6
votes
2answers
12k views

If a +1/+1 counter is removed after a creature takes damage, does it die?

I have two creatures out. Creature One gives Creature Two +1/+1. Creature One is a 2/2 and Creature Two is a 4/4 after adding the +1/+1 from Creature Two. My opponent casts a spell doing 3 damage ...
4
votes
3answers
886 views

Do Gather The Townsfolk's (or cards like it) tokens go on the stack separately?

A friend of mine was playing a deck that uses Cathars' Crusade and Gather the Townsfolk (and cards like it) to pump his creatures. Another guy was watching and said that all the tokens went on the ...
5
votes
3answers
7k views

How much money would I have to spend to play in tournaments?

In posing this question, I realize that it may be out of scope for boardgames.SE; this question could be subjective and the monetary costs vary quite a bit between cheapest and most expensive decks. ...
8
votes
4answers
7k views

When is a creature's toughness calculated

At what point is a creature's toughness calculated? If I have Korozda Guildmage where I can sacrifice a creature and put X 1/1 token creatures onto the battlefield, where X is the sacrificed creature'...
2
votes
1answer
625 views

Can I cast Killing Glare with X=0 while no creatures with zero power are on the battlefield?

I wonder if I am able to cast Killing Glare if there are no powerless creatures on the board? For example to Extort after casting.
5
votes
3answers
4k views

How does priority work in these cases?

I understand the ruling that when a Planeswalker resolves the player controlling the walker can activate its ability without their opponent getting priority in between. Are there any other rules ...
8
votes
1answer
4k views

Is the ability cost of the commander part of the color identity?

Consider the card Rhys the Exiled. Are you allowed to play black (and green) cards in your deck with this commander? Or are you only allowed to play cards that are the same color as the commander's ...
5
votes
2answers
6k views

Can a sacrifice be used to pay for more than one effect? [duplicate]

Someone tried to play the following combo in a game I was in. I think it is an illegal play, so I wanted some help to clarify the rules. The cards were: 1) Launch Party - "As an additional cost to ...
6
votes
1answer
4k views

How long does mana from Burning-Tree Emissary stay around?

Does mana added to your pool from Burning-Tree Emissary get destroyed when the card that added it is destroyed?
9
votes
1answer
5k views

Do I own a token that I create under somebody else's control?

I was reading somewhere a few days ago that when a player creates a token using a spell like Rapid Hybridization they own the token, even though they never had control of it. I can't seem to find the ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Do things on the stack or state-based effects resolve between first strike and normal combat damage?

I have two examples of different scenarios that are confusing to me. First, if I have a 1/1 creature with first strike and deathtouch, and my opponent blocks it with a 2/2 creature, will my creature ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How can I tell if a card is likely to have "functional errata"?

Apparently there was a period in Magic's history when cards received significant "errata" between printings — not just templating updates or clarifications, but straight-up changes to what the ...
7
votes
1answer
6k views

What is the meaning of OMP, GWP, OGP?

I am using mtgarena for my tournament organization. What do OMP, GWP and OGP mean? Does anyone know what they stand for? Example: Player Points OMP GWP OGP 1 9 33.33 100 ...
3
votes
2answers
506 views

Does the wording "each land" also include Basic Lands?

I have a Bountiful Harvest. It's a Sorcery that reads "You gain l life for each land you control." Does this refer to only cards that say Land and not Basic Land, or does it count for both?
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Can the Mask of Avacyn be targeted by spells after being equipped to a creature?

Can the Mask of Avacyn be targeted by spells after it's been equipped to a creature? This is an odd question, because the mask gives the equipped creature a +1/+2 and has hexproof and says it "can't ...
4
votes
1answer
6k views

If Realmwright is removed from the battlefield, do the changed lands remain dual colored?

I just came by Realmwright and it didn't give any discussion on whether the changed lands are permanently changed or not if the creature leaves the battlefield. Does anyone have any info on this?
6
votes
3answers
38k views

Can I activate a bloodrush ability at instant speed?

Can I use a card with bloodrush in response to something? For example: If an evil opponent wants to kill my attacking Skarrg Guildmage with an Izzet Charm can I discard Scorchwalker and use it's ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Can ciphers be countered?

Can a cipher copy be countered by a counter spell? Or, since the card has been encoded to a creature, does it act more like an ability, and can only be countered by cards like Stifle and others like ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

What are the different rarities of tokens in Magic: The Gathering?

Anyone who has opened a decent amount of MTG boosters will notice that they get much more of some tokens than of others. I understand that this comes from varying needs for them, because far fewer ...
7
votes
2answers
374 views

Does Fateful Hour apply in this combat?

My opponent is at 7 life and has a Grizzly Bears (2/2) and a Gavony Ironwright (Fateful hour — As long as you have 5 or less life, other creatures you control get +1/+4.). I attack with 2 2/2s and my ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I give a creature First Strike in order to prevent it dealing any damage that combat?

This is getting into some nitpicky corners of the rulebook. First Strike damage and normal combat damage are dealt at separate times, and I believe there is a chance between the two resolving to play ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

What may happen after a stack of spells resolves?

Within the same phase, once a stack of spells has resolved in its entirety, is priority once again given to a player so that more spells may be cast? For example: I attack with a creature. Opponent ...
2
votes
2answers
292 views

Is this card worded correctly and balanced?

I created this card recently and just want to make sure that it's balanced and that its ability is worded correctly/functionally: Wojek Lionheart (1)RW Creature - Human Soldier [Uncommon] First ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Does the fact that my deck is aggro mean I should add or remove land?

Say I have a deck where the only win condition I'm trying to win the first few turns. Would I want this deck to have a different number of lands than a control deck that is looking to win later in the ...
13
votes
1answer
48k views

Can I tap a creature with summoning sickness to pay "tap an untapped creature you control" costs? [duplicate]

I have a Chosen of Markov on the battlefield and I played a vampire earlier this turn. Can I tap both to transform Chosen of Markov even though I just played the vampire? Extra Example: I play Battle ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I use Act of Aggression to steal their attacking creature and block with it?

My opponent declares two creatures as attackers. I want to play Act of Aggression to gain control of one of their creatures and so I can have it block their other creature. Is this possible? Is so, ...
5
votes
3answers
5k views

Attacking with Zero Creatures

Two questions about attacking: 1) If I have creatures in play, can I declare an attack and then declare zero of the creatures as attackers? 2) If I have no creatures in play, can I declare an attack?...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

How do Snapcaster Mage and Cipher cards interact?

Let's say I cast a card with Cipher from my graveyard with the help of Flashback (provided by Snapcaster Mage). Will I be encoding it on a creature instead of exiling it from the effect of Flashback?
15
votes
2answers
3k views

Infinite loop where where both players choose to continue the loop

Yesterday, I was playing a casual game and I had a Stasis, Kismet, and Chronatog, causing my opponent to have to keep drawing, while I kept skipping my turn, with the intent of decking him. My ...
5
votes
3answers
5k views

What are the odds of drawing a given card after discarding my initial hand?

Let's say that I have 4 of a card in my 60 card deck. What are my odds of drawing at least 1 of that card in my initial 7 card hand? If I discard those 7, what are the odds of drawing 1 of the 4 in ...
5
votes
1answer
238 views

Could I turn Mistform Dreamer into a Shrine?

Mistform Dreamer says I can turn it into any creature type until the end of turn, could I turn it into a shrine for use with any of the Hondens?
2
votes
1answer
279 views

Is it possible to get old Vanguard cards?

If you start Magic Online today, is there a way to acquire Vanguard cards that do not come with the client but have been released in the past? Can they be bought or traded?
14
votes
3answers
3k views

Does a card that affects 'each' creature affect creatures that enter the battlefield after it resolves?

My opponent casts Predatory Rampage, which resolves, then he attacks with his creatures. In my hand, I have a creature card with Flash. If I summon this creature before the declare blockers step, ...
10
votes
4answers
2k views

Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?

Suppose I attack with a creature with infect, and then my opponent tells me he won't block. My intent is to use Giant Growth on my infect creature regardless of whether or not my opponent blocks. ...

1
85 86
87
88 89
91