Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Steel Hellkite destroy cards in my opponent's library and hand?

The rules for Steel Hellkite say any nonland permanent with converted mana cost X gets destroyed if I deal combat damage this turn. The second ruling states "It doesn't matter who controlled ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a creature with protection from all colors be targetted with a damage spell when it is still on the stack?

A friend of mine casts a card that has protection from all colors. I know that I can counter it, but can I simply kill it by dealing damage to it while it is on the stack?
7
votes
1answer
2k views

How does Hypnotic Specter work in Two-Headed Giant?

If I attack with Hypnotic Specter and the defending team does not declare a blocker, should I "target" who is going to discard a card randomly? Or do they decide?
6
votes
2answers
28k views

If a weak creature with death touch attacks a tougher creature, does my own creature die as well?

If a weak creature with death touch attacks a tougher creature, does my own creature die as well? If I have a 2/2 with death touch that attacks a 4/4, the 4/4 will die but what will happen to my 2/2?
6
votes
3answers
2k views

MtG: making makeshift cards for home play

A friend and I got into Magic and get together to play a few games once a week. Each of us has ~110 cards, the bulk of them being a Magic 2012 intro pack, the rest boosters. We thought we'd mix ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

How does metalcraft work in Two-Headed-Giant?

I'm playing Two-Headed-Giant and have a creature with metalcraft. I control 1 artifact and my teammate controls 2. Does my creature's metalcraft ability 'trigger'? I know metalcraft says "if you ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Ponder: to shuffle or not to shuffle

You know the situation. You need something specific: a land, say, or a removal spell, so you play Ponder. You find the thing you're looking for. Hooray! Unfortunately, the other two cards that Ponder ...
6
votes
1answer
7k views

When does a token have the same name as another token?

I'm playing a Selesnya tokens deck, and my opponent casts Detention Sphere, which exiles all creatures with the "same name", on one of my tokens. Does he get to exile All of my tokens? All of the ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

What happens if I cast Green Sun's Zenith while Grafdigger's Cage is on the battlefield?

Grafdigger's Cage doesn't prevent me from casting Green Sun's Zenith from my hand, but what happens if I do?
6
votes
1answer
14k views

What happens if one of a spell's targets goes away before the spell resolves?

During the prerelease my opponent casts Rites of Reaping to give his creature +3/+3 and my creature -3/-3. In response I sacrifice my creature with the Golgari Guildmage. From my understanding the ...
11
votes
1answer
5k views

Can Meddling Mage Be Used as a Counter?

If a player activated an Æther Vial with two counters on it to drop in a Meddling Mage and named a spell already on the stack, would the named spell resolve?
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Can items be added to the stack after it has started resolving?

I've been working on streamlining the rules for the abandoned TvTropes TCG project, but the description of the "Stack" system confused me greatly since the stack so rarely sees actual use in Magic (...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

If my opponent casts a spell that exiles a card with flashback from my graveyard, can I play it in response to their spell?

Say my opponent casts Purify the Grave on my Rally The Peasants in my graveyard. If I have enough mana available, can I cast the Rally the Peasants in response to their trying to exile it?
2
votes
2answers
18k views

Can a creature be tapped to prevent its activated ability? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities? If I have a creature with a tap to activate ability, can my opponent use an ability to tap it in response ...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I Birthing Pod a token to get a creature with a CMC of 1?

From my understanding, the CMC (converted mana cost) of a token is 0. When you sacrifice a creature with Birthing Pod it adds 1 to the CMC. So, if I sacrifice a token (any token) to Birthing Pod, ...
2
votes
1answer
297 views

Who gets to use a reanimated Gamekeeper's ability?

I was playing a clunky Gamekeeper build of mine against a Legacy Reanimator deck when the following situation occurred: I had a Leyline of the Void in play (don't know if it's relevant). I had a ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Havengul Lich on Reassembling Skeleton - can the Lich cast itself for 1B this turn?

Havengul Lich says 1: You may cast target creature card in a graveyard this turn. When you cast that card this turn, Havengul Lich gains all activated abilities of that card until end of turn. ...
7
votes
3answers
4k views

Hypersonic dragon => instant scavenge?

The rule text of Hypersonic Dragon says You may cast sorcery spells as though they had flash. (You may cast them any time you could cast an instant.) Can I cast scavenge as an instant now? ...
4
votes
0answers
230 views

What does protection mean? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: What does protection from [quality] do? I was playing a match with a friend where I had Elite Inquisitor on the field against his 3 zombies. Is he able to declare his zombies ...
-1
votes
1answer
10k views

Does Day of Judgment remove hexproof / shrouded creatures? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: Does Wrath of God really destroy creatures with shroud? Does this: or other similar cards remove any hexproof / shrouded creatures?
6
votes
2answers
3k views

Another aspect of regeneration in Magic the Gathering?

I read most of the articles about regeneration in MTG, but my question albeit being somewhat basic, still finds no answer. Here's the scenario: I attack with a creature that has the ability to ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I attempt to activate an equipment's equip ability without a valid target?

Say I have a Mycosynth Wellspring on the field and a Piston Sledge. The equip cost for piston sledge is "sacrifice an artifact". If I control no creatures, can I sacrifice the Mycosynth Wellspring to ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens when I Radiate a Time Stretch with Timesifter in play?

The question is based on the following situation: In a five person game, there has a been a Timesifter in play and the turn order has already been varied for a few turns. A player plays a Time ...
1
vote
3answers
747 views

What happens if I use Sudden Disappearance? [duplicate]

I just saw this card: Sudden Disappearance. Suppose I use it in my first main step. I attack while my opponent has his cards exiled. At the end step he gets them back. My question: Will those cards ...
2
votes
2answers
3k views

How to counter an aggro deck with massive +1/+1 counter packing

I recently played with a guy who had a deck full of vampires and whenever one of his vampire attacks/deals combat damage/etc that vampire or all of his vampires get +1/+1 counters. How can I ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

What is a good strategy for selecting commons and uncommons for trade folders?

I recently came into several large collections of Magic cards that I am looking through for trade stock, obviously cards such as Counterspell tend to be good trade stock even though they are common; ...
6
votes
1answer
6k views

Is a spell with split mana in its cost a multicolored spell?

Say I play a Noggle Bandit (or any card with split mana in its cost). Does its color depend on what mana I use to play it, or is it always both red and blue? It seems a little weird that this card ...
2
votes
2answers
384 views

How can I learn about and keep track of major Magic tournaments in my local area?

I've been interested in going to a large Magic tournament for a while now, though whether I can go and how far I could travel varies week by week. I know how to look up the Grand Prix schedule and ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can Kaalia of the Vast put Slumbering Dragon into play tapped and attacking?

I was looking at Slumbering dragon on Gatherer and ran across this quote in the discussion forum: Finally a dragon that doesn't mesh well with Kaalia of the Vast As I pondered this possibility, it ...
11
votes
3answers
650 views

Mimic Vat and Misthollow Griffin

Given that Misthollow Griffin can be cast from exile, if you somehow use Mimic Vat to imprint the Misthollow Griffin and then cast Misthollow Griffin and remove it from exile, can you still make ...
4
votes
2answers
4k views

How many of each land do I need to support a draft tournament?

I am planning on running some booster draft tournaments, and want to make sure I am well supplied. The best case scenario is that each player takes 8 of one color and 8 of another color (assuming a ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Pillar of Flame, Blood Artist and Goblin Arsonist Trigger Ability

Quick Question on these Spells Pillar of Flame, Blood Artist and Goblin Arsonist Lets say I cast pillar of flame on Goblin Arsonist or Blood Artist, would it still trigger their ability? From my ...
6
votes
4answers
2k views

What first turn kill in multiplayer FFA provides the best ratios?

People love to figure out first turn kills in Magic: the Gathering, and have been around since the beginning, when someone threw together a deck with Channel, Black Lotus, Fireball, Mountain. Pulling ...
10
votes
3answers
10k views

How can I beat green Tron with a control deck?

I've been building a Modern control deck based around the Gifts reanimator engine. The general gameplan is to slow your opponent using counters and removal until you can reanimate a big creature for ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Lifelink and fatal damage question

My life is down to 1 and my opponent 4. I attack with a 4/4 lifelink creature, and my opponent answered with a Shock to deal two damage to me, will I lose or will lifelink save me first?
8
votes
3answers
6k views

Can nonbasic dual lands such as "Azorius Chancery" be destroyed by the card text "destroy target land"?

My cousin and I play MtG together sometimes. He has many years of experience, and I just started playing recently and we have had an argument when I tried to destroy his nonbasic dual lands such as ...
4
votes
3answers
3k views

How do Phenomenon cards work in the Eternities Map variant?

In the Eternities Map variant of Planechase, players lay out Plane cards in a grid and get to choose a direction when they planeswalk: Players see not only the current plane, but also adjacent planes ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Sheltering Word remove an existing enchantment?

If a creature has an enchantment, like Defang, and I cast Sheltering Word on that creature, would the other enchantment be removed? Or does it need to be cast in response to the enchantment being ...
11
votes
1answer
11k views

Can I block with my Llanowar elves and then tap it for mana immediately afterward?

My opponent attacks with a 3/3. I block with my 1/1 Llanowar Elves, and have all of my land tapped from my last turn. Can I now tap my Llanowar Elves after it has been declared as a blocker to play ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I activate Nim Deathmantle's creature saving ability more than once in a turn?

My opponent attacks with two 4/4 creatures. I block each of them with one 2/2 creature, but have Nim Deathmantle on the field, currently not equipped to anything. When my two 2/2 creatures are put ...
6
votes
1answer
788 views

Trample + Deathtouch

If I attack with a Primeval Titan (6/6 Trample) that has Necrobite (Deathtouch), what happens if my opponent blocks with another Primeval Titan?
4
votes
1answer
611 views

Does casting a card and paying for it work like this?

Let's say that I have two cards in my hand, Lion's Eye Diamond and Shock. According to the rules, the steps to casting a spell are as follows: Announcing the spell (put the spell on the stack) ...
4
votes
2answers
716 views

Killing with Divine Deflection

I am at 2 life, and my opponent is at 3 life. It is my opponent's turn. He attacks me with a Kindercatch. After blockers are declared (none) but before the combat damage step, I cast Divine ...
5
votes
1answer
865 views

Gaining and losing life at the same time

I have a question about a specific scenario involving life loss and gain. Say I have 3 life left, the creature Soulcage Fiend on the battlefield, and also the enchantment Exquisite Blood on the ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

Prateor's Grasp - Can Opponent Determine Taken Card Before Shuffle

I had a ruling on this by a L2 Judge at a TCG event in San Diego 2 weeks ago. I believe his ruling was wrong. I played Praetor's Grasp Mana Cost: 1BB Types: Sorcery Card Text: Search target ...
6
votes
2answers
688 views

Goldnight Redeemer and Angel's Tomb

I was playing a casual game with a friend the other day testing out a new angels deck I built and came accross this situation.... I had an Angel's Tomb, which has this artifact may become a 3/3 ...
7
votes
3answers
8k views

How does Infect resolve in M:TG?

I'm making a poison deck and want to check the Infect rules. If a 2/2 creature with Infect is blocked by a vanilla 3/3 creature, what happens? I know the 3/3 gets two -1/-1 counters instead of ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Choosing new targets for a spell with a variable number of targets

Rolling Thunder can have any number of targets. I play the Rolling Thunder choosing three target creatures. I copy the Rolling Thunder with Reverberate and can choose new targets for the copy. Can I ...
5
votes
3answers
904 views

Can Dismember kill my Gloryscale Viashino after I cast Armadillo Cloak?

I have a Gloryscale Viashino creature on the board. I cast the spell Armadillo Cloak to enchant this creature. My opponent responds playing Dismember. His intention is to kill my creature before it ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

If an opponent unsummons my Goblin, does it spoil my Goblin Grenade? [duplicate]

If I'm launching a Goblin Grenade (that requires the sacrifice a Goblin) and my opponent uses an Unsummon on the Goblin (or similar effects like the ability of a Time Elemental) does this effectively ...