Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
5answers
6k views

Can a creature token represent a different creature token?

I have quite a few cards that have the ability to create creature tokens when they're played or their ability is activated. The only problem is I don't have the specific token for each one, but I ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I sacrifice an enchantment when it is going to be destroyed?

My opponent had an Elvish Lyrist and activated its sacrifice to destroy my Seal of Fire. I sacrificed Seal of Fire after that. Would my Seal still do its 2 points of damage?
6
votes
2answers
11k views

Can an untapped creature "become untapped?"

If an untapped creature is targeted with an "untap target creature" spell or ability, will it be considered becoming untapped?
6
votes
5answers
9k views

MTG Gatecrash Simic Strategies for a Prerelease event

I am going to be playing this weekend at the prerelease of Gatecrash, with the chosen guild of Simic. Now the core strategy of Simic is to grow relentlessly, using the Evolve mechanic (whenever a ...
6
votes
4answers
2k views

Is it possible to build a wide variety of decks at low cost? If so, how?

I was pretty reluctant to get into magic because I knew that: Our game-centric family would want to build a wide variety of decks We are not interested in spending hundreds of dollars on a single ...
6
votes
1answer
9k views

Enchant artifact used to enchant Artifact creature

I'm somewhat new to Magic the Gathering and my friend is slightly more experienced than me, so I gave him this one, but am questioning it: He has a card called Ensoul Artifact which says Enchant ...
5
votes
1answer
460 views

How do Moldgraf Monstrosity and Feldon of the Third Path interact?

Say I'm discarding to hand size and I discard a Moldgraf Monstrosity. When I create a token copy of it with Feldon of the Third Path and I sacrifice it at the end of the turn, would I be able to ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens to Death Cloud when there aren't enough legal targets

Probably a really easy one but if I play Death Cloud where X=5 and my opponent only has 4 creatures does Death Cloud get countered because there aren't enough legal targets or does it just force him ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

How does a Loyal Cathar react to Undying Evil?

Loyal Cathar states: When Loyal Cathar dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control at the beginning of the next end step. Undying Evil states: Target creature gains ...
5
votes
1answer
863 views

How does drawing then discarding work with a full hand?

If my opponent has a full hand of 7 cards and I cast wistful thinking, what happens? Do they discard the two cards they draw and then discard four more for a total of six cards discarded?
5
votes
1answer
822 views

Can I "hide" a Vesuvan Shapeshifter?

Suppose I control a Vesuvan Shapeshifter and a face-down morph creature, and I then choose to turn the Vesuvan Shapeshifter face-down. My opponent definitely should still be able to tell which of the ...
5
votes
3answers
877 views

How does Armed // Dangerous interact with trample?

I have a Ghor-Clan Rampager on the battlefield and I fuse Armed/Dangerous on it. It is going to be a 5/5 with trample and double strike, and all of my opponents creatures are going to be forced to ...
5
votes
3answers
18k views

Can a flashed creature block?

If I summon a creature with the flash rule in my opponent's turn as a response to their attack is it able to block? Or is it suffering from summoning sickness and can't do anything?
5
votes
2answers
4k views

Does my Dryad Arbor stop being a creature with a Blood Moon in play?

Does my Dryad Arbor stop being a creature with Blood Moon in play?
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Does "an attacking creature" count as "a creature that attacked"?

Say I have Hypersonic Dragon in play and go to combat phase. Dring the declare attackers step I tap and declare Hypersonic Dragon as attacking. After I have declared Hypersonic Dragon as attacking I ...
5
votes
2answers
14k views

Is "Fighting" considered "attacking"?

When it comes to creatures under the influence of "Target creature you control fights target creature you don't control", are they, or the initiating creature, considered "attacking"? In my specific ...
5
votes
3answers
424 views

What happens if opponent has infinite turns, but cannot kill me because I have infinite life?

Let's say I have the Heliod, Sun-Crowned + Spike Feeder combo in play, which allows me to gain an arbitrary amount of life at instant speed. Meanwhile, opponent has the Nexus of Fate combo running, ...
5
votes
1answer
393 views

Snakeform and buff ineractions

This came up in a game. I controlled Prossh who has an ability that gives him +1/+0 whenever I sacrifice a creature. After I sacrified 6 creatures to Prossh's ability (+6/+0), my opponent cast ...
5
votes
2answers
13k views

What happens to a creature enchanted with totem armor if both are destroyed at the same time?

If a player controls a Boon Satyr enchanted with Hyena Umbra providing totem armor, and an opponent plays Fracturing Gust to destroy all artifacts and more importantly enchantments. What happens? An ...
5
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens if I play Cloudshift during combat?

Would playing cards like Cloudshift end my combat phase? And if not could I attack then Cloudshift then attack again with the same card that was Cloudshifted? Also would cards like Amulet of Vigor ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

If I "play" a card, does it count as casting it?

Fires of Invention has this line of text: You can cast spells only during your turn and you can cast no more than two spells each turn. Golos, Tireless Pilgrim has this line of text: 2WUBRG: ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can # Colorless pay Colorless Mana?

Looking at the notes for Inspiring Statuary, I noticed: Is this accurate? Is it specific to the Improvise ability or does it go for any # colorless cards (for example Cloudpost)?
5
votes
1answer
297 views

Platinum Emperion and Smash to Smithereens

If player A is at 3 life and has a Platinum Emperion in play, does player A lose if the big robot gets targeted by a Smash to Smithereens?
5
votes
1answer
700 views

what does "you control enchanted creature" mean

I'm confused. Corrupted Conscience has an ability where it says you control enchanted creature. Does that mean you can put it on an opponent's creature and use that creature to attack the other player?...
5
votes
2answers
613 views

Progenitor Mimic copying a creature with counters

When Progenitor Mimic creates a copy of a creature like Nimbus Swimmer, will Progenitor Mimic copy the counter that creature has on it?
5
votes
1answer
616 views

Does Blood Sun keep me from turning my Zoetic Cavern face up?

Does Zoetic Cavern lose its morph ability when face-down keeping it from being able to turn face-up when there is a Blood Sun in play?
5
votes
1answer
185 views

The effect of wither

If Olivia Voldaren is enchanted with Fists of the Demigod and you activate the ability to deal damage to a target creature, does this damage come in the form of -1/-1 counters? If it does, and the ...
5
votes
1answer
776 views

If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?

If I were to target a ton of creatures with Living Inferno's ability and then all those creatures were to die (or be sacrificed, per Dismiss Into Dream) in response to Living Inferno's ability going ...
5
votes
1answer
4k views

Can a creature with Hexproof be affected by a spell like Sleep? [duplicate]

Let's suppose I have Emrakul, the Promised End in play, equipped with Swiftfoot Boots. My opponent plays Sleep. Does Emrakul, the Promised End get tapped or does Hexproof prevent that?
5
votes
5answers
4k views

Why so many people use "house rules" in EDH/Commander?

Since I'm an Eternal player (Legacy and sometimes Modern) that has played just few times EDH/Commander I found difficult to understand why often players use a more strict banned list in their matches; ...
5
votes
3answers
9k views

Terminus as an instant?

If my opponent has Sensei's Divining Top in play on my turn, can he activate it in response to my attack phase in order to play Terminus for its miracle cost?
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Dictate of Erebos and Undercity Informer stack question

Situation: My opponent has Dictate of Erebos out ("Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature."). He then attacks me with one of his creatures; I defend, killing his ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Token copies with Scarab God

If I control The Scarab God and I activate his second ability and target Consuming Aberration is the token copy a 4/4 or is it still equal to the number of cards in my opponents' graveyard?
5
votes
3answers
4k views

Does doubling counters trigger Hardened Scales?

I have a Hardened Scales and Setessan Oathsworn with no counters on the battlefield. I cast Solidarity of Heroes on the Oathsworn, it gets three counters from it's heroic trigger which happens while ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

If an opponent unsummons my Goblin, does it spoil my Goblin Grenade? [duplicate]

If I'm launching a Goblin Grenade (that requires the sacrifice a Goblin) and my opponent uses an Unsummon on the Goblin (or similar effects like the ability of a Time Elemental) does this effectively ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Magic The Gathering: probability of casting a 3 drop on turn 3

So, I have a probability related question. In MTG, which is the probability of landing a 3-drop on turn 3, but using the correct combination. For example, I want to cast a Geist of Saint Traft on ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

Does casting a copy of a spell count count for "whenever you cast a spell" triggers?

Do effects that instruct me to cast a copy of a spell (e.g. Spelltwine, Isochron Scepter, Elite Arcanist) trigger "whenever you cast a spell" abilities, as found in Prowess, Charmbreaker Devils, etc? ...
5
votes
4answers
4k views

What is the difference between an artifact and a creature?

My opponent (we're both beginner players) casts a Renegade Freighter, which is an Artifact — Vehicle. Can he attack me with it on his next turn? They are attacking me with it like it is a creature, ...
5
votes
1answer
3k views

Crewing vehicles with dead crews

During the first main phase: I have a 1/2 Thraben Inspector out. My opponent casts Harnessed Lightning targeting the inspector to kill it. I then tap, in response, the Inspector to crew my Smuggler&#...
5
votes
2answers
12k views

Full written card lists for sets MTG

Is there anywhere where I can get a full card list just names for sets without all the mana costing and text or pictures. for example in the form: Card one card two card three and so forth.
5
votes
5answers
3k views

Is there a way to beat Standstill?

If your opponent has a standstill on an otherwise empty board, is there a way to remove it without your opponent drawing cards? krosan grip doesn't work because split-second doesn't apply to ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Golden Guardian removed before death related trigger

Golden Guardian says: (2): Golden Guardian fights another target creature you control. When Golden Guardian dies this turn, return it to the Battlefield transformed under your control If an ...
4
votes
1answer
261 views

Mairsil, the Pretender Out of Battlefield abilities

Does Mairsil, the Pretender ability work on activated abilities that are not reliant on being on the battlefield? Or is his second ability only in effect while he-himself is on the field? For ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Wording on Volrath's Shapeshifter

I was surprised to see that the wording on Volrath Shapeshifter is not just old card text, but the actual oracle wording. I am curious, why does it not simply copy the the other creature, and have ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Where do Delayed Triggered Abilities live?

From the rules I gather that Delayed Triggered Abilities are objects on the stack, 112.1b. An ability can be an activated or triggered ability on the stack. This kind of ability is an object. (See ...
4
votes
3answers
4k views

End-of-the-turn casting in Magic Arena

I'm playing Magic Arena after quite a long time away from Magic. I still remember how to play but there's something that's keeping me confused about the priority system. When I'm passing the turn, ...
4
votes
1answer
604 views

can wishes let you get 5x of a card?

So normally in tournaments you're restricted to a max of four identical cards per deck but can you, with wishes, get, into your hand, a fifth Force of Will, or a second Yawgmoth's Will or something?
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder's cascading reoccur with cascaded spells?

The new Commander 2016 set comes with a deck commanded by Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder, who can apply cascade to cards his player casts. My friend has been playing with Yidris, and it seems insanely ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Dealing Damage to Creature soulbonded to Deadeye Navigator

A scenario played out last night that at the time I felt was correct, but the more I think about it, the more I feel uncomfortable about it. I had on the field: Goblin Bombardment Furnace of Rath ...
4
votes
2answers
952 views

How does Phyrexian Dreadnought and Volrath's Shapeshifter interact?

If I have a Phyrexian Dreadnought on top of my graveyard, and I put a Volrath Shapeshifter onto the battlefield, will I have to sacrifice other creatures with the total power of 12 or not? The same ...