We changed our privacy policy. Read more.

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Do permanents controlled by a player with hexproof also have hexproof?

If I have a Witchbane Orb, then I (the player) have hexproof. Are permanents I control also hexproof? Or am I only hexproof from abilities that target me specifically? Can a card like Wrath of God ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a continuous effect that gives haste wear off?

For example, let's say I have a Thopter Engineer which has the ability: Artifact creatures you control have haste. I then cast an Artifact Creature. If my opponent were to cast Lightning Strike ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Fuse work?

If you have a card like Profit and Loss you get the Fuse special rule I'm a little unclear how it works? Do you have to cast both sides in the same turn? If you don't can you cast one of the spells ...
3
votes
1answer
383 views

How does this Interaction between Lifeline and Lethal Vapors work?

In Magic: The Gathering, Lethal Vapors will Destroy a creature when it enters the battlefield. And Lifeline reads: Whenever a creature dies, if another creature is on the battlefield, return the ...
3
votes
1answer
760 views

Rayami Mutated has a different name

How do abilities that refer to their cards' names work when the name is changed, or the ability is "stolen" by a card with a different name? Rayami, First of the Fallen has two abilities: If a ...
3
votes
1answer
526 views

What happens if you are unable to scry because your library is empty?

What happens to a player if they have to scry (for whatever reason), but are unable to scry a card because their library is empty? Does scrying an empty library trigger a loss? Related to What ...
2
votes
6answers
542 views

How to own the most cards possible?

What's the most cards I can own at once in a game, presumably with the cooperation of all players? I think it's something like Graveyard Busybody with an Abyssal Persecutor, so the opponent(s) can ...
2
votes
2answers
3k views

Do Bolas's Citadel and Experimental Frenzy take reduced mana cost into account?

I am wondering how reduction in converted mana cost affects Bolas's Citadel or Experimental Frenzy, which have the following abilities: Bolas's Citadel: You may look at the top card of your ...
2
votes
2answers
4k views

Exotic Orchard and Command Tower

What colors of mana can Exotic Orchard produce in Commander if my opponent has a Command Tower?
2
votes
1answer
351 views

Can I disable Sliver Overlord's abilities with Pithing Needle?

I was looking through different cards to try and find something to counteract my dad's Sliver Overlord aside from directly killing or exiling it, and when I initially saw Pithing Needle I got really ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

If a commander becomes a colorless forest, is it still a commander? [duplicate]

In Magic the Gathering, I cast Song of the Dryads on an opponent's commander. It is now a colorless forest land. My opponent has an Angelic Field Marshal on the field which gains power if you control ...
2
votes
2answers
6k views

Can I use tokens and basic lands from outside my format?

This may sound like a noob question but I cannot find answer anywhere and I still learning all new stuff since I last played so I will ask here. What does the rules say about using non-format tokens ...
2
votes
1answer
676 views

Can I survive every enchantment, creature, and artifact in the game entering the battlefield at the same time?

This question is inspired by Frank Karsten's (pretty ridiculous) article What If Every Enchantment in Magic Entered the Battlefield at the Same Time? His conclusion at the end of the article, where he ...
2
votes
1answer
8k views

Can I activate a Legendary creature's abilities before the Legend rule kicks in?

Say I have a Krenko, Mob Boss on the field. I use Krenko's ability to create X tokens. Then, I play a Progenitor Mimic choosing Krenko. When the Legend Rule takes effect, I sacrifice the original ...
2
votes
3answers
2k views

When you "sacrifice 3 creatures" as a cost, are they sacrificed one at a time?

If you want to activate the activated ability of Teysa, Orzhov Scion, does "sacrifice 3 creatures" count as 1 cost, or 3 separate costs? And, does it matter which it is at all? 601.2g says The player ...
2
votes
3answers
859 views

Can I respond to a draw from Gitaxan probe?

If I resolve a Gitaxian Probe, can I crack a Lion Eye Diamond before I draw?
2
votes
3answers
5k views

Do -1/-1 counters count as damage?

I am wondering if -1/-1 counters are considered damage? On creatures with the wither ability is says that the creature deals damage in the form of -1/-1 counters. As such I would like to know if a ...
2
votes
1answer
454 views

Paying a Cost and Communicating

I have four Burning-Tree Emissary and one Firefist Striker on the field. My opponent is in his Precombat Main Phase. We are under Competitive Rules Enforcement Level (REL). The following actions occur ...
2
votes
2answers
6k views

What pauper cards are legal in paper but not MTGO

Note: This is exactly the opposite question of: What pauper cards are legal in MTGO but not paper? I am trying to collect most cards relevant to pauper. Because MTGO pauper is more popular than ...
2
votes
2answers
23k views

Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player?

Are you allowed to attack creatures instead of a player during the combat phase? Because it seems to me it's much more easier to block (because you can actually choose what you attack) than to just ...
2
votes
2answers
549 views

Do multiple instances of Arcbond stack?

For example, someone deals 10 damage to one of my creature, and I have enough mana to cast two Arcbond. Choose target creature. Whenever that creature is dealt damage this turn, it deals that much ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Equipment cards and the timing of their activated ability

702.6a: Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. “Equip [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a ...
2
votes
1answer
291 views

If two things say "You may pay (cost)" and I pay that cost once, do both things happen?

If I own two Flameshadow Conjurings and play a Spawn Of Thraxes, both Flameshadow Conjurings would go on the stack. Once I choose to pay 1 red mana, do I get two copies or one? Since the rules text ...
2
votes
1answer
10k views

When a Creature dies, does the Enchantment Creature attached to that Creature go in the graveyard?

Or can you place that Enchantment Creature as a Creature on the battlefield after the Creature it was attached to dies?
2
votes
1answer
5k views

How does Valakut trigger with a card like Harrow or Scapeshift putting multiple mountains into play? [duplicate]

Valakut, The Molten Pinnacle has an effect that triggers when mountains enter the battlefield. When a mountain enters the battlefield, if you control 5 or more other mountains, Valakut deals 3 ...
2
votes
2answers
871 views

Hypergenesis and Triggered abilities

If an opponent casts (or cascades into) Hypergenesis, starting with the caster each player takes it in turns to put a Creature, Artifact, Land or Enchantment onto the Battlefield. This can be repeated ...
2
votes
1answer
122 views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card that is part of a melded creature tries to meld?

We already have a similar question about double faced cards transforming, however, this covers a single card transforming. Meld exiles a pair of cards and returns them "transformed" into a single card....
2
votes
2answers
453 views

Should a judge fix a solution agreed to by players?

Alice and Nathan are playing in a Competitive REL tournament. Alice mulligans to six cards but accidentally draws seven cards. Alice and Nathan agree to not to call a judge, and instead apply their ...
2
votes
1answer
614 views

Aligned Hedron Network and Ulamog's Despoiler

If I was to use Aligned Hedron Network against an Eldrazi deck to exile big creatures, am I then able to send these creatures to the graveyard with the likes of Ulamog Despoiler to give him the 4 +1/+...
2
votes
1answer
4k views

Can I use Hibernation Sliver to return slivers from my graveyard?

I have a Hibernation Sliver in play which states that all slivers have "Pay 2 life: Return this permanent to its owner's hand." I have slivers in my graveyard. Can I pay 2 life and return a sliver ...
2
votes
2answers
388 views

Toughness and the Stack

If a creature's toughness were to reach 0 before the stack is finished resolving, does it die, or does the stack finish. For example, if a Llanowar Elf had Gigantic growth cast on it and the growth ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Is "Player" interchangeable with "Planeswalker"? [duplicate]

Cards the say target player, but say nothing about Planeswalkers such as those printed before Planeswalkers were a thing. Can i target a planeswalker in place of a player?
2
votes
3answers
903 views

Can I mill an opponent who has Emrakul, the Aeons Torn by comboing until opponent's deck is stacked in an exact way?

Let's say I'm running a mill deck. I have some kind of infinite mill combo ready and available (e.g. Semblance Anvil imprinting a creature, Myr Retriever and Grinding Station - this lets me sacrifice ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens when a miracle trigger is copied?

One of the newly spoiled cards in Magic 2014, Strionic Resonator, allows you to copy a triggered ability you control. This allows you to copy any of a number of things that previously would happen ...
2
votes
1answer
644 views

MTG: What set is Seelenruhe (Tranquility in German) from?

I recently picked Magic: The Gathering back up after a 15 year lapse. Currently making my way through what seems like a thousand cards from my childhood and entering them into a card database at ...
2
votes
2answers
4k views

When do copied abilities on a creature go away?

If I have a Phantasmal Image that enters the battlefield copying the abilities of another creature, when does that creature stop having the abilities of the copy? When it enters the graveyard, do "...
2
votes
1answer
409 views

Immortal Coil & State Based Actions

I don't think I understand State Based Actions (SBA) and how they work with Immortal Coil. I understand that at ANY time I have Immortal Coil on the battlefield with no graveyard, I lose. I ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does an enchantment curse go to grave if the cursed player loses? [duplicate]

In a multiplayer game, I enchanted someone else with Fraying Sanity. They milled out. Does Fraying Sanity go to the graveyard when that player loses, or does it still stay attached?
2
votes
1answer
728 views

Can I activate abilities in response to spells?

If my opponent plays Kill! Destroy! on my Caldera Kavu, can I activate its ability to turn it black?
2
votes
1answer
625 views

Can I cast Killing Glare with X=0 while no creatures with zero power are on the battlefield?

I wonder if I am able to cast Killing Glare if there are no powerless creatures on the board? For example to Extort after casting.
1
vote
1answer
506 views

Warkite Marauder and the timing for its effect

Whenever Warkite Marauder attacks, target creature defending player controls loses all abilities and becomes a 0/1 creature until end of turn. What is the timing for this ability? Is it during assign ...
1
vote
1answer
837 views

Return a creature with an adventure to hand, can i cast the instant/sorcery again?

Will returning Brazen Borrower from the battlefield to my hand using the -3 ability of Teferi, Time Raveler enable me to cast Petty Theft again? The rulings say nothing against it but I have the ...
1
vote
2answers
6k views

Is a tapped creature an illegal target?

I was playing the Magic 2015 game on my xbox 360 (I know it has a lot of problems but its midly entertaining, I much prefer the card game though but this brought something to my attention and made me ...
1
vote
1answer
278 views

Does Heroic trigger on a static effect? [duplicate]

War-wing Siren has the Heroic ability: Whenever you cast a spell that targets War-Wing Siren, put a +1/+1 counter on War-Wing Siren. Captain Of the Watch states: "Other Soldier creatures you ...
1
vote
2answers
598 views

Magic The Gathering: Where To Begin

I've played TCGs before, most notably Yu-Gi-Oh and Hearthstone (aka Magic Lite), and now I'm looking to get into MTG with a few friends that already started. In the past I've always preferred ...
1
vote
2answers
751 views

Sacrificing as part of a command, to fulfill other costs? [duplicate]

It is covered well in other questions that sacrificing one creature cannot fulfill the requirements for two abilities that are both activated abilities (have 'Sacrifice a creature: do something', like ...
1
vote
2answers
4k views

How does multikicker work?

I don't understand Strength of the Tajuru. What does multikicker mean, and how would I use it in a game?
1
vote
0answers
98 views

Can I Sacrifice a blocker and still prevent damage from getting though to me? [duplicate]

Can you block an attacking creature with a creature with a sacrifice ability in order to prevent the attacking creature from getting through to do damage?
1
vote
1answer
129 views

Playing a creature with devotion

Short question about devotion. If my devotion to red is less than five, and I play Purphoros, Bronze-Blooded, does it enter the battlefield as a creature and stops being it immediately or enters the ...
1
vote
3answers
5k views

Can a creature with deathtouch be killed by a creature that it is killing?

If I attack with a Gifted Aetherborn (2/3 deathtouch and lifelink) and my opponent blocks with a creature that's a 3/3 (no abilities), does my Gifted Aetherborn die? Without deathtouch it would, but ...