Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
2answers
474 views

Can I use pump spells with Fighting?

In a "fight," can "pump" spells be used? As an example, I have my 2/2 fight my opponent's 4/4, then I add a +3/3 pump to my 2/2. Would his 4/4 die to my now 5/5?
1
vote
1answer
986 views

Is Leyline of Combustion triggered by attacks?

If my opponent attacks me, does that trigger Leyline of Combustion to do damage to them? I'm new and need help with this rule. Thanks
1
vote
2answers
426 views

Can you use an ability as you put the card on the stack?

If I play Elixir Of Immortality for example, or any card with an ability, when it goes on the stack, can I activate its abilities before my opponent can respond? And if so, if he counters the card ...
1
vote
3answers
4k views

Can a creature with deathtouch be killed by a creature that it is killing?

If I attack with a Gifted Aetherborn (2/3 deathtouch and lifelink) and my opponent blocks with a creature that's a 3/3 (no abilities), does my Gifted Aetherborn die? Without deathtouch it would, but ...
1
vote
2answers
4k views

How does multikicker work?

I don't understand Strength of the Tajuru. What does multikicker mean, and how would I use it in a game?
1
vote
0answers
98 views

Can I Sacrifice a blocker and still prevent damage from getting though to me? [duplicate]

Can you block an attacking creature with a creature with a sacrifice ability in order to prevent the attacking creature from getting through to do damage?
1
vote
1answer
503 views

Warkite Marauder and the timing for its effect

Whenever Warkite Marauder attacks, target creature defending player controls loses all abilities and becomes a 0/1 creature until end of turn. What is the timing for this ability? Is it during assign ...
1
vote
2answers
371 views

Buffs During Combat

If an opponent plays a card like Elvish Archdruid that gives other elf creatures they controls +1/+1 and they declare the Elvish Archdruid and another Elf creature as attackers, when I go to block ...
1
vote
2answers
829 views

If Soulflayer is returned to play from your graveyard, does it retain abilities it was granted?

The abilities for Soulflayer are... Delve (Each card you exile from your graveyard while casting this spell pays for 1.) If a creature card with flying was exiled with Soulflayer's delve ...
1
vote
1answer
4k views

When Turn to Frog changes a creature's base power/toughness to 1/1 do any affects that change creature's power and toughness still apply?

Turn to Frog changes a creature's base power and toughness to 1/1. Does that mean if target creature has a +1/+1 counter when Turn to Frog is cast, it becomes 2/2? If it has -1/-1 counter on it, would ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

How does “casting without paying mana cost” work with additional costs?

Cards with cascade like Maelstrom Wanderer say "...You may cast it without paying it's mana cost." Does this include mana costs added from sources like Sphere of Resistance, or would it always be cast ...
0
votes
1answer
431 views

Can Aminatou, the Fateshifter target herself with her -1 ability?

Can Aminatou, the Fateshifter target herself with her -1 ability? If this is the case, does it mean that she can create an infinite loop of "ETB" by herself?
0
votes
1answer
406 views

How would Progenitus affect the game as a commander?

I recently purchased Progenitus with the intent to use it as a commander. However, it has been long enough since I’ve played the commander format that I do not remember how commanders and their ...
0
votes
1answer
115 views

Appetite for the Unnatural and Clone Legion vs. hexproof creatures [duplicate]

Clone Legion For each creature target player controls, create a token that's a copy of that creature. Appetite for the Unnatural Destroy target artifact or enchantment. You gain 2 life. Will ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Can you pay more life than you have? [closed]

If I have 35 life, and I have Lich's Mirror, which If you would lose the game, instead shuffle your hand, your graveyard, and all permanents you own into your library, then draw seven cards and ...
0
votes
0answers
97 views

Using Multiple Gleam of Authority [duplicate]

Following up on a recent post, "I am looking for some clarification on the card Gleam of Authority. The wording on the card is Enchantment - Aura Enchant Creature Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 ...
0
votes
2answers
516 views

Why Deck Building Templates are the same [closed]

I have been playing MTG since the set was known as Portal. Good times and memories...but it was always casual among friends. Now...after several very long years of playing off and on through out the ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Double Gleam of Authority interaction [duplicate]

If 2 copies of Gleam of Authority are on the board would that mean that +1/+1 counters would bounce back and fourth to infinity?
0
votes
2answers
2k views

What does “each other player” mean on Unwinding Clock?

If I am playing a four man free for all, when do my artifacts untap using Unwinding Clock's ability? I'm having trouble understanding. The card says "each other player". If I am player one, are ...
0
votes
2answers
3k views

Which, and how many, dual lands?

Pretty new to playing magic, even newer to building my own decks. When playing multicolored, which and how many dual lands should be played? Also, if putting let's say 4 dual lands into a deck. Do I ...
0
votes
2answers
3k views

Blocking with First Strike + Deathtouch

Rule 509.3 says: Third, for each blocking creature, the defending player announces that creature's damage assignment order, which consists of the creatures it's blocking in an order of that player'...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Can multiple spells be activated with the same mana? [duplicate]

So first off I am fairly new to MTG and I was playing with my friend today and he corrected me on my move making. The way I thought it worked is that, for example, if I have a creature that requires 1 ...
0
votes
1answer
289 views

What happens when two global enchantments affect the same type of permanent (e.g.lands)

At some point in the game, a player puts Blanket of Night on the battlefield. Then,some turns later,another player puts Blood Moon into play. If a non-basic land capable of producing mana comes into ...
-1
votes
1answer
420 views

Hexproof and reflector mage [duplicate]

My Longtusk Cub is on the battlefield. On my opponent's turn he brings in Reflector Mage, targeting my cub to return my cub to my hand. I respond with Blossoming Defense to make my cub hexproof. Does ...
-1
votes
1answer
105 views

Can No Escape counter planeswalker Sarkhan?

Can No Escape counter the planeswalker Sarkhan the Masterless's ability that created a 4/4 red dragon creature?
-2
votes
1answer
400 views

Is it possible, controlling Vesuvan Doppelganger, to have two legends with the same name in play at the same time?

According to the Legend rule, Legendary Creatures - or simply Legends - can be summoned only if a Legend with the same name as the one a player would like to summon is not already in play. This ...
-2
votes
3answers
218 views

Q:Who is to activate Singing Bell Strike's ability? Who controls this Aura? [duplicate]

Singing Bell Strike is, in my opinion, a really peculiar Aura, from the point of view of ruling's exceptions. While the controller of the Aura remains the one who cast it, it is also true that the ...
-2
votes
2answers
2k views

Do instants active before combat damage is dealt? [closed]

I activated Ætherize do I still receive the combat damage from the monsters
-2
votes
3answers
276 views

What's the most cards I can control at once?

What's the most cards I can control at once in a game, allowing the cooperation of all players, but best if not? A.k.a as many cards that can be affected by "X you control" effects like ...
-3
votes
2answers
915 views

Why does rule 608.2b counter Last Word, when Last Word can't be countered? [duplicate]

After reading Can uncounterable spells still be countered somehow?, I am confused by a conflict between two of Magic's rules. At risk of being labelled a duplicate, I want to cover this edge case in ...
-6
votes
2answers
331 views

Suggestions about certain ambiguous card text (Abzan Battle Priest) [closed]

Abzan Battle Priest text says: "Every creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it gets lifelink". It is expressively written as "a" +1/+1 counter. As some other white creature with Outcast ...

1
11 12 13 14
15