Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
19
votes
6answers
63k views

What happens when I sacrifice a blocking creature?

In Magic:The Gathering it is possible to trigger abilities of creatures at the same time you can play instants? I play it that I can block with a creature and sacrifice it at the same time. The ...
44
votes
15answers
116k views

How much would it cost to get started with Magic: The Gathering?

I've heard a lot (of good things) about this game and I'm interested in exploring it; however, I'm slightly worried about the initial cash investment involved. About how much would it cost to get ...
18
votes
3answers
10k views

Is Mana Weaving ok if it's followed by a thorough shuffle?

My friends and I are relatively new to MtG. At some point, one of them introduced us to the idea of mana weaving, and we'd do this to declump our decks prior to a very thorough shuffling. However, at ...
13
votes
4answers
4k views

What can I do about uncounterable spells?

I cast Fling, sacrificing my only creature to kill my opponent. My opponent responds with Last Word, which will win the game the other way. Last Word says "This spell can't be countered." What else ...
2
votes
4answers
19k views

Can Cancel counter a creature on the battlefield?

Say, I have Cancel, which is an Instant, on my hand. It can counter any spells. The opponent has had a creature, for example Ajani's Pridemate, on the battlefield for several turns attacking and ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I use both of Grindclock's abilities at the same time? [duplicate]

I'm starting on mono blue mill deck and I saw Grindclock. I'm not sure about its ability. {tap}: put a charge counter on Grindclock {tap}: target player puts the top X cards of his or her ...
2
votes
1answer
14k views

How do I know what cards or sets are legal to play with? [duplicate]

Can I mix older Magic the Gathering cards with cards from Magic 2015? If I have mainly Magic 2015 cards can I play my friends who mainly have older decks?
53
votes
7answers
3k views

What happens if both players have the ability to pump their creature an unlimited number of times?

Say that both players each had 2 Leaden Myr, 2 Myr Galvanizer, and a Nantuko Shade. (Or any other way to get unlimited mana, and a Nantuko Shade). Player 1 attacks with his Nantuko Shade, and player ...
25
votes
5answers
54k views

Does Wrath of God really destroy creatures with shroud? [duplicate]

I heard - (from an official MtG judge) - that Wrath of God ("Destroy all creatures") destroys creatures with the Shroud ability, because it doesn't target a single creature, it targets all creatures. ...
19
votes
1answer
28k views

Kill a blocker with an instant - is it still blocking? [duplicate]

We are in the combat phase: I declared my attackers My opponent declared his blockers, stating which attackers he was blocking I cast an instant, which automatically kills his blocker. There is ...
18
votes
5answers
16k views

Does “Going Infinite” necessarily end the game?

I've seen a variety of combinations that will allow a player to "go infinite"* in life, power, toughness or simply create an endless loop**. In the case of the endless loop, I understand why it ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

How do you handle fast players in a casual setting that skip priority?

This really isn't a problem in a tournament setting, because players are expected to know the rules, and will usually ask their opponent if they wish to take any actions before allowing a spell to ...
13
votes
2answers
29k views

Does untapping an attacker stop its attack?

If someone declares an attacker and that creature does not have vigilance, if I untap that creature, for example with Burst of Energy, does it stop the creature from attacking?
12
votes
1answer
45k views

When is “end of turn” in Magic?

I've been casually playing Magic with a friend, about twice a month, for the last 3 months, and the phrase "until end of turn" has always puzzled me, particularly on effects that give +1/+1 (for ...
11
votes
1answer
10k views

Can I block with my Llanowar elves and then tap it for mana immediately afterward?

My opponent attacks with a 3/3. I block with my 1/1 Llanowar Elves, and have all of my land tapped from my last turn. Can I now tap my Llanowar Elves after it has been declared as a blocker to play ...
11
votes
2answers
5k views

What happens when creature has two mutually exclusive restrictions on what can block them?

What happens if I equip my Juggernaut Juggernaut can't be blocked by Walls. with a Prowler's Helm Equipped creature can't be blocked except by Walls. or if I enchant my Charging Rhino ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Can you stop casting a spell?

Ok, I was playing an EDH game with my friend and I had 8 mana available to me. In order for me to win the game, I had to destroy one of his permanents with a Spine of Ish Sah (7 mana). Now I planned ...
8
votes
4answers
6k views

When is a creature's toughness calculated

At what point is a creature's toughness calculated? If I have Korozda Guildmage where I can sacrifice a creature and put X 1/1 token creatures onto the battlefield, where X is the sacrificed creature'...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature's sacrifice benefit be taken when it is sacrificed to Eldrazi Monument?

I asked a general question about double sacrifice bonus, but thought it better to ask a specific question. If a creature has a "Sacrifice this creature for X" ability, can you sacrifice it for that ...
33
votes
4answers
6k views

Why do mana abilities not go on the stack?

Why this special treatment for mana-abilities? What are the design implications if they didn't go on the stack?
18
votes
2answers
19k views

In EDH/Commander, what is the 'color identity' of a double-faced card?

The official deck construction rules for Commander (nee EDH) at http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php say that 'A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Identical creatures entering the battlefield [duplicate]

If I have two cards called Sin Collector in hand and I play my first, Sin Collector (A). I use its triggered ability. "When Sin Collector enters the battlefield, target opponent reveals his or her ...
11
votes
1answer
96k views

In Magic free-for-all multiplayer, what happens when someone dies? [duplicate]

In a free-for-all multiplayer Magic game, what happens when someone dies? Specifically: What happens to spells they've cast that are on the stack? What happens to enchantments they have cast onto ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

Is drawing multiple cards an atomic action?

Is drawing multiple cards an atomic action, or do effects triggered by drawing a card trigger for each card drawn instead? Consider Spiteful Visions, which reads: Whenever a player draws a card, ...
10
votes
3answers
5k views

Can multiple Thorncaster Slivers grant multiple copies of the same ability?

If I have two Thorncaster Slivers, does their effect stack? That is, do the other slivers I have get the "1 damage" ability twice? If not, why? What rule makes it so they can't have the ability twice?...
10
votes
1answer
57k views

What happens if a blocking creature is killed with Double Strike before all the damage is dealt?

With an attacking creature with Double Strike, if the first strike deals lethal damage to a normal blocking creature, does the normal damage go to the defending player?
9
votes
1answer
5k views

Changing control of an attacking or blocking creature mid-combat

I've happened upon a new scenario I didn't realise was possible: I attack or block with Jackal Pup, and after blockers are declared, I use Zedruu the Greathearted or Bazaar Trader to give the Jackal ...
6
votes
1answer
4k views

How long does mana from Burning-Tree Emissary stay around?

Does mana added to your pool from Burning-Tree Emissary get destroyed when the card that added it is destroyed?
5
votes
4answers
22k views

How does the four card limit work?

I'm new to the game and trying to make my first constructed deck. My understanding of the card rule is I can only have four cards of one kind. What does this precisely mean? For instance, does this ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Do Thorncaster Sliver's triggered abilities go on the stack?

I was guessing, since you actually target things instead of just dealing damage (similar to Hellrider), Thorncaster Sliver's triggered abilities would actually go on the stack. This came up in a ...
5
votes
3answers
10k views

Can the “Sacrifice (this card):” activated ability be placed back on the stack?

This is a broad question so for simplicity I will use Seal of Fire and Naturalize. Scenario 1: Common exchange- creating a baseline. Player A uses Naturalize on Seal of Fire Player B Sacrifices SoF ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Granting Indestructible and the Stack

If I play an instant that grants target creature "indestructible," can an opponent use an instant in response to destroy said creature? Would the stack resolve their ability first? If so, would I be ...
4
votes
2answers
13k views

What happens to cards cast from exile?

There are a few cards that allow you to exile cards and then cast them later (Narset, Enlightened Master for example). After a spell cast this way resolves, does it go back into exile, or does it ...
4
votes
1answer
9k views

Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic? [duplicate]

Would something like Satyr Grovedancer or something that has "When ~ enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on target creature" trigger Heroic? It has the keyword target, but does it count as an ...
3
votes
1answer
722 views

Do Triggered effects stack?

Lets say I have a Suture Priest creature that says "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may gain 1 life." and I currently have all 4 of them in the battlefield. ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Does “When enter on the battlefield” trigger heroic?

When a Satyr Grovedancer enters on the battlefield and I choose a creature with heroic to recieve the a +1/+1 counter, does it trigger the heroic? I don't think so because the heroic says explicitly ...
2
votes
1answer
594 views

Who controls negative enchantments?

If a player casts e.g. Waterknot on enemy creature, who is the controller of the Waterknot? And in case the enchantment on enemy creature has activated abilities, who can activate them? The ...
37
votes
3answers
12k views

How can I tell when to take a mulligan in Magic?

Determining when to mulligan is a very important skill in magic. But how can I hone my abilities in that skill? Obviously if I had no/all land I'd probably want to mulligan as the opportunity to ...
29
votes
1answer
3k views

Why does Dryad of the Ilysian Grove grant all basic land types even if it loses all abilities?

I got my Dryad of the Ilysian Grove turned into a fish on an Arena draft. It's supposed to "lose all abilities", but I could see that the Dryad was still allowing me to get mana from any color. Isn't ...
19
votes
7answers
34k views

How do I find out a fair price for my Magic the Gathering cards?

Back in the day, I would check Scrye magazine to figure out how much my Magic cards should sell for, but they folded two years ago. Where's a good place to price my collection these days?
11
votes
4answers
35k views

Can I target an indestructible creature with a 'destroy target creature' spell?

Of course the spell won't resolve, but is the indestructible creature a legal target for a spell with the effect "destroy target creature"? For example, can I target Gideon, Champion of Justice, ...
14
votes
5answers
40k views

Learning to build multi-color decks in Magic

I'm a MTG noob, and currently I've only built single-color decks. However, I want to explore the art of building decks that use cards of multiple colors. What are the advantages of a multicolor deck?...
51
votes
3answers
30k views

In Magic, when can I tap my opponent's creatures to prevent them from attacking?

Whilst I haven't played Magic in a while, use of the stack was something that I always found a little confusing. When I first started out, our group could tap an opponents attacking creature after ...
13
votes
1answer
43k views

Can I tap a creature with summoning sickness to pay “tap an untapped creature you control” costs? [duplicate]

I have a Chosen of Markov on the battlefield and I played a vampire earlier this turn. Can I tap both to transform Chosen of Markov even though I just played the vampire? Extra Example: I play Battle ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Why do double-faced planeswalkers from Origins get exiled before being transformed?

In Magic the Gathering Origins set, there is a cycle of 5 creatures, each that are double-sided and have a planeswalker on the back side. Previously when double-sided cards were used, the cards had a ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Will I die if I lose enough life to kill me from an effect that also heals me?

What happens if I dip below 1 life from an effect that will also heal me after the damage is dealt? For example: If I bolt myself while I'm at 3 or less with a Soulfire Grand Master on the board? ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card transforms?

We are getting Metamorphic Alteration in M19. What if I enchant my Delver of Secrets, copying my opponents Nicol Bolas, the Ravager. Then I pay the cost on my Bolas (previously a Delver) to activate ...
7
votes
2answers
12k views

How do dual lands and their mana work? [duplicate]

Certain lands, such as Coastal Tower, state that they can add two types of land, but when does that happen? When I cast it, it enters the battlefield as just one land, right? So does it add the ...
41
votes
3answers
4k views

Does newer card text on a Magic: The Gathering card override the old wording?

While going through the Gatherer database I noticed that the Alpha version of Icy Manipulator says, {1}: You may tap any land, creature, or artifact in play on either side. whereas the Tenth ...
21
votes
1answer
41k views

What is the resolution of tapping a blocking creature?

Let's say I have declared a blocker during the correct phase and during the activate abilities step I choose to tap the blocker to use its ability. All the abilities resolve and now we move to the ...

1
2
3 4 5
14