Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
7
votes
2answers
12k views

How do dual lands and their mana work? [duplicate]

Certain lands, such as Coastal Tower, state that they can add two types of land, but when does that happen? When I cast it, it enters the battlefield as just one land, right? So does it add the ...
41
votes
3answers
5k views

Does newer card text on a Magic: The Gathering card override the old wording?

While going through the Gatherer database I noticed that the Alpha version of Icy Manipulator says, {1}: You may tap any land, creature, or artifact in play on either side. whereas the Tenth ...
24
votes
5answers
6k views

In multiplayer, can a player concede abusively?

Arnold, Beth, and Chuck are playing a multiplayer game (e.g. Commander or Free-for-All). Arnold has Maralen of the Mornsong: Players can't draw cards. At the beginning of each player's draw step, ...
21
votes
1answer
42k views

What is the resolution of tapping a blocking creature?

Let's say I have declared a blocker during the correct phase and during the activate abilities step I choose to tap the blocker to use its ability. All the abilities resolve and now we move to the ...
20
votes
8answers
5k views

Is there any way to rehabilitate the “junk rare” Lost In The Woods?

I've really been enjoying the incredible Innistrad set, and advance previews of Dark Ascension (on the Wizards official site and elsewhere) have been living up to it so far. However, I had to do a ...
19
votes
1answer
2k views

Enchantment Legal only because of it's Effect. Remains on target?

This happened this weekend, and we were unsure how to resolve it. Opponent casts Progenitus. On my turn, I cast Polymorphist Jest. Then I cast, Darksteel Mutation targeting the Progenitus. ...
14
votes
2answers
5k views

Finding places to play Magic the Gathering games

A friend of mine recently got MTG for the XBox and is talking us into getting real cards. I'm all up for starting but I dread the idea of playing the same two people over and over with no change ...
13
votes
3answers
5k views

Interaction between Leyline of Anticipation and Teferi, Time Raveler

With the reprint of LeyLine of Anticipation in Core Set 2020, the interaction with Teferi, Time Raveler came to mind and I couldn't figure out what is right. If I have the Leyline and my opponent has ...
13
votes
1answer
716 views

When two card texts confict, which takes priority?

Let's suppose there are creatures in play and someone plays Humility. It's clear that all the creatures lose their abilities. How is this situation changed if True Conviction were in play? Is the ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

How does the Commander interact with Banishing Light or Oblivion Ring?

What happens if a commander is sent to the command zone via Banishing Light and then enchantment is destroyed? Can the commander return to the battlefield from the command zone?. I think that ...
12
votes
1answer
23k views

Does trample damage hurt players even if the creature dies?

I'm playing myself with two Avacyn Restored decks from a 6-booster sealed prerelease tournament, and wonder whether a 6/4 creature with trample blocked by a 4/1 creature would still allow damage ...
12
votes
3answers
41k views

How does trample interact with damage prevention effects and indestructible blockers?

Say I have a 4/4 creature with trample. I attack, and my opponent blocks with a... 0/1 creature that is indestructible: Does my 4/4 trampler's extra 3 damage carry over even though the blocking ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

If a creature loses flying after blockers are declared, is the block still legal?

My opponent declared attack with a flying creature, after that I declared a blocker with my own flying creature. He then cast Turn to Frog, targeting my blocker. My creature was a 6/6 flying, my ...
10
votes
1answer
9k views

Can I defeat an opponent with their own commander?

I know that if I gain control of my opponent's commander, it won't lose the status of commander. How is the commander damage calculated in this case? Can I do the 21 commander damage with the stolen ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

How should the “and/or” text of a card be interpreted?

How should the "and/or" text of a card be interpreted? For example on a card like Nahiri's Wrath the text reads: Nahiri's Wrath deals damage equal to the total converted mana cost of the ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Full explanation of how multi-phrase cards work

So, consider Snap or Subtle Strike and generally other spells that do multiple things, whether as 1 sentence, 1 sentence with commas, 2 sentences, 2 separated sentences, etc. etc. I struggle with ...
8
votes
2answers
4k views

Ordeal of Heliod and changing creature control

Here is the situation that came up: Player 1 controls a creature enchanted with Ordeal of Heliod and two +1/+1 counters. On Player 2's turn, they cast Portent of Betrayal to take control of the ...
8
votes
3answers
19k views

Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?

Many older cards refer to players or opponents, e.g. "deal 3 damage to target player". Can any of these be used on planeswalkers, beyond the fact that you can simply attack them with creatures? For ...
8
votes
3answers
20k views

Will infinite loops still force a draw if I have a way to end them?

The comprehensive rules of MTG state: 104.4b If a game that’s not using the limited range of influence option (including a two-player game) somehow enters a “loop” of mandatory actions, repeating a ...
7
votes
1answer
7k views

Do you have to choose a target for a spell, or can you just cast it with no target and let it fizzle?

Let's say I have Lightning Bolt and my one opponent has a Leyline of Sanctity and no creatures in play. I might still want to cast Lightning Bolt to delve it later or to buff up my Tarmogoyf or ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Why is Morph not considered an ability?

Reading FAQs concerning Muraganda Petroglyphs and morph cards, a face down morph creature will get the +2/+2 bonus from Muraganda Petroglyphs. What I don't understand is why. Since the face down ...
7
votes
3answers
19k views

Are (un)tapped permanents still legal targets for “(un)tap target permanent” effects?

So I noticed that many cards with tap-effects ship with a clause specifying that they can only be used on untapped permanents, such as Earthcraft and Crackleburr. So here's my question: Doesn't ...
7
votes
3answers
12k views

Do effects that reduce a spell's casting cost also reduce its converted mana cost?

If I have Grand Arbiter Augustin IV in play, can Zur the Enchanter's triggered ability pull a card like Æther Storm from my library, which would originally have a converted cost of 4, but which ...
7
votes
1answer
16k views

Does lifelink apply before life loss during combat damage?

Let's say for example I'm at 1 life. My opponent attacks with two creatures and I'm about to block one, but my blocker has lifelink that would make me gain more life than I lose. Do I still die due ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

Do I lose control of a creature if the aura which granted me control of it is destroyed?

I gain control over a creature with e.g. Hypnotic Siren. Do I lose control over that creature if the enchantment is destroyed?
6
votes
3answers
3k views

Is there any way to stop someone from sacrificing a Golden Urn?

My friend had a Golden Urn on the board with 10 counters on it. If I destroy it and he sacs it in response to gain the life, is there anything that can be done about that? Like, can I put another ...
6
votes
1answer
17k views

Does exiling a creature after it has been destroyed or dealt lethal damage still count as if it “died”?

I'm actually working on an alternative card set. While designing tribal mechanics, I have encountered a problem with a single thing: does a creature exiled after being destroyed (instead of being put ...
5
votes
1answer
823 views

Do I choose my Annihilator sacrifices during resolution?

It was suggested to me recently that Annihilator sacrifices (such as Emrakul, the Aeons Torn's) are only chosen during resolution, rather than while they're going on the stack. Do I choose those ...
5
votes
2answers
6k views

What color are Nissa, Worldwaker's lands?

Nissa, Worldwaker turns lands into 4/4 Elemental creatures. My question is... what color are these tokens? Are they green, the color that the land in question produces, or are they colorless since ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Why do creatures go back to a previous controller instead of their owner?

Say player A has a creature they own, then player B gains control of it with Blatant Thievery, then player C gains control of it with Control Magic. If the Control Magic is then destroyed, the ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I cast spells in the middle of another spell resolving? [duplicate]

Say I had Vedalken Orrery and I used Cloudshift on something, could I respond to Cloudshift bringing the creature back into play with Day of Judgement or something similar?
5
votes
1answer
19k views

Can you sacrifice a creature that's in the middle of an attack?

Earlier tonight, I was playing magic. My opponent had a card out that allowed him to place a 2/2 goblin token on the board for every creature that made an attack. He also had one out that allowed him ...
3
votes
4answers
5k views

When a permanent is being made to copy another, does it count as entering the battlefield? [duplicate]

I want to cast Polymorphous Rush on a strong creature on my battlefield so that my Hamletback Goliath's ability will trigger. The creature that will become the copy is already on the battlefield, but ...
3
votes
3answers
418 views

What counts as a counter?

Does Chief of the Edge's ability count as a +1/+0 counter? I want want to use it for other cards such as Ainok Bond-Kin's ability ("each creature you control with a +1/+1 counter gets first strike"). ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

Does the 2nd ability of Teysa, Orzhov Scion trigger with mass destruction? [duplicate]

Let's say Teysa, Orzhov Scion and my ten other black creatures are wiped out with "Wrath of God". Do then 10 white 1/1 Spirits appear on the battlefield even though Teysa has just been destroyed? ...
2
votes
2answers
6k views

When does Heroic trigger?

Suppose Player 1 controls a Favored Hoplite and casts Ordeal of Heliod targeting it. In response, player 2 casts Magma Jet on the Favored Hoplite. Does the Heroic trigger from Ordeal of Heliod happen ...
2
votes
2answers
28k views

Can a tapped creature attack or block?

If I tap a creature to use its activated ability before combat, can I use the same creature to block or attack on the same turn? My guess: you cannot block and/or attack with a tapped creature on the ...
133
votes
7answers
1.2m views

What are the names for Magic's different colour combinations?

For example, Esper refers to decks made up of White, Blue and Black cards. What are the names of the other colour combinations? In particular, how do we refer to a Red-White-Black deck?
20
votes
5answers
54k views

Where can I find a database with a list of all magic cards? [duplicate]

I am going to write a program to manage my library of Magic cards and I am looking for a database file or list of all of the cards that have been released. I know that the Gathering site is useful, ...
28
votes
6answers
29k views

What are good strategies against counterspell decks?

I'm currently honing a white-green tokens deck for Standard tournament play. I feel like I have a good handle on my game-plan for most of the other common archetypes, but I'm really stymied playing ...
24
votes
2answers
8k views

Is refusing to concede in the face of an unstoppable Nexus combo punishable?

Alice's board: 10 lands, Teferi, Hero of Dominaria, Teferi emblem, Tamiyo, Collector of Tales, 2 Wilderness Reclamation, 15 cards left in deck, 15 life, 4 Nexus of Fate in deck Bob's board: nothing (...
24
votes
6answers
22k views

Why would you want to play with a deck that had 3 or more colors in it in Magic? (limited and constructed)

Background: I'm currently writing a strategy guide for magic as my pet project, and I'm trying to explain decks with multiple colors. Here's what I have so far: Dual color decks are useful because ...
17
votes
12answers
116k views

What is the fastest MTG Mill deck that can be made? [closed]

I have been working on putting together a Mill deck and it occurred to me that there are likely much faster Milling decks out there. So, what is the fastest Milling win condition that can be achieved? ...
6
votes
3answers
25k views

What are the most popular formats for Magic The Gathering?

I have been playing Standard Constructed (Type 2) games so far but it seems that there are a lot of formats which are gaining popularity. I'm looking for the most popular ones which are recognized ...
3
votes
2answers
11k views

Magic card database for websites [closed]

How is it that websites like SCG or CFB created their card database inventory. How would i be able to do this myself now? I want to create a similar website where a user can search and find any card ...
41
votes
4answers
36k views

Can I cast a spell after a certain part of the stack is resolved in MTG?

Let's say my opponent plays a spell like Fireball. It is put on the stack. I cast a Snapcaster Mage in response. My opponent does nothing in return. The Snapcaster Mage resolves first and it seems ...
31
votes
1answer
8k views

Why doesn't Undying trigger if a creature with +1/+1 counters dies from -1/-1 counters?

From the Dark Ascension FAQ: If a creature with undying that has a +1/+1 counter on it receives enough -1/-1 counters to cause it to be destroyed by lethal damage or put into its owner's graveyard ...
30
votes
3answers
178k views

How many lands do I need for a Commander deck?

A Commander deck consists of 100 unique cards, of which one is designated as the Commander and must be either a Legendary Creature or an allowed Planeswalker. I'm still very unfamiliar with this ...
29
votes
4answers
25k views

Can someone explain the Damage on the Stack rule change?

I played Magic: The Gathering when Unlimited first came out, and quit shortly after Antiquities were released. About a month ago I started playing again. I was trying to find what the biggest ...
18
votes
4answers
4k views

If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?

The rules for the Unearth ability are as follows: 702.82a Unearth is an activated ability that functions while the card with unearth is in a graveyard. Unearth [cost] means [Cost]: Return this card ...

1 2
3
4 5
14