Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
10
votes
4answers
4k views

How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities?

I'm becoming more and more confused as I learn about how things have changed during a break in play I had some time ago. Seems the stack has changed now, and oft times abilities use a source's last ...
26
votes
1answer
3k views

Why can't Haphazard Bombardment randomly select a permanent with Indestructible?

While reading this question, I came across a ruling for Haphazard Bombardment that dosen't quite make sense to me. Haphazard Bombardment states: When Haphazard Bombardment enters the battlefield, ...
25
votes
1answer
160k views

How many lands should I have in my sealed or draft decks?

A standard draft deck has 40 cards in it; a 4-booster sealed deck has 30 cards. How many lands should I put in each of these formats? And why do I need this ratio? The conventional wisdom that I ...
22
votes
4answers
115k views

How does regeneration work in Magic the Gathering?

How does regeneration work? I know that if my creature is destroyed then I can spend X mana then tap my creature and move it out of combat. Is it attackable in any way after that? With spells or ...
13
votes
2answers
7k views

Can I pump my blocker after the attacker has chosen their order, before damage assignment?

The answer to this question about blockers and summoning sickness, reminded me of a seldom treaded area of the combat phase, which has caused confusion in a number of games. When blockers are ...
10
votes
2answers
45k views

Do commanders “die” if they go to the command zone instead?

If my commander would die and I opt to move it to the command zone instead of the graveyard, does it cause a "when a creature dies" ability trigger? An example would be Fool's Demise. If my opponent ...
7
votes
3answers
931 views

How do Layers work?

Trying to expand my knowledge of Magic, and hopefully become a better player, I've come across several references to "layers." From what I've been able to find, they are as follows: Copy Control Text ...
26
votes
2answers
5k views

In Magic, can an ability target a permanent that is being sacrificed as part of that ability's activation cost?

Suppose my opponent has a Darksteel Colossus in play, and I have Attrition and no creatures. During my turn I cast Act of Treason to gain control of the Colossus and attack with it. So far I haven't ...
22
votes
6answers
16k views

Can poison counters be removed?

Is there some way to remove or counteract poison counters? Specifically, once you've already accumulated them, not when you are dealt them. For example, say I already have 9 poison counters. Is there ...
17
votes
2answers
42k views

Is there ANY way to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed?

With the vast richness of magic rules on all the cards and the comp rules, is there any way at all to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed? Typically, per the rules, you can only activate ...
16
votes
1answer
26k views

What do shiny ovals mean on Magic the Gathering cards?

I have just bought a set of Oath of the Gatewatch cards, and a few of them have a small shiny oval on the bottom center, like Corrupted Crossroads. What does this mean?
16
votes
4answers
28k views

Are there any non-green, non-artifact mana ramp cards?

I have looked and can't seem to find any. I have seen many green cards and some artifacts that do this, but nothing in Red, Blue, Black or White. Are there any? Note: By "Mana Ramp" I mean a card ...
16
votes
3answers
17k views

What happens when a creature with Persist AND Undying dies? ('return to battlefield' issues…)

Say I have a creature with Persist and I give it Undying until end of turn. Later this turn, it is put into the graveyard, and I choose for the Persist ability to resolve before the Undying ability. ...
13
votes
2answers
4k views

Is there a specified order for abilities on cards, specifically creatures?

I was reviewing the a spreadsheet I created of the RTR spoiler to prepare my strategy for this coming weekend. In doing so, I noticed that here and on previous sets if a creature has flying, it is ...
13
votes
3answers
15k views

How long can I wait before choosing to counter a spell?

Today, I was playing a duel, and my friend played a Wall of Reverence, which he then ended up enchanting with an Ethereal Armor. Between those two actions he asked me if I would counter it, to which I ...
12
votes
2answers
5k views

How are you supposed to fight a discard deck?

I get this is kind of a noob question, so bear with me. My friend plays a legacy discard deck, and he'll usually dark ritual or something to make me discard 3-5 cards in the first 3 turns, and by turn ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I mill my opponent into defeat with Mindcrank and Duskmantle Guildmage?

Okay the scenario I'm thinking of is as follows: I control a Mindcrank, Duskmantle Guildmage and 3 untapped lands (2 swamps, 1 Island to be perdantic). In my opponents turn he casts a burn spell to ...
11
votes
7answers
9k views

What's the most efficient way of determine individual card values for my collection?

With an extremely large variety of Magic: The Gathering Cards that exist out there from so many sets and a loose definition of utility and value in the game, it's often hard to gauge a card's ...
10
votes
1answer
997 views

Magic: Shuffle face down cards after opponent looked at one?

As I understand it, there is basically hidden and public information in Magic. Now let's suppose I have multiple face-down cards on the battlefield, and my opponent gets to look at one of them. Is ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Why does Diregraf Colossus see itself in the graveyard?

The release notes for Diregraf Colossus says: If Diregraf Colossus enters the battlefield from your graveyard, its first ability will count itself among the Zombie cards in your graveyard. ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

Does Progenitor Mimic create copies of itself even when it isn't a creature?

Progenitor Mimic can be cast as a copy of cards like Mutavault and Simic Keyrune whilst they're in their creature state. When it does so, it can become something other than a creature: a land, an ...
10
votes
4answers
9k views

Why is 20 the starting life total for Magic the Gathering? How would the game be different if this number was changed?

To my knowledge, each player starts with 20 life in nearly every MTG game ever played. But why exactly was the number 20 chosen? How would the game be different if we started with more or less life? ...
9
votes
2answers
8k views

What happens when additional costs can't ultimately be paid, but the spell is on the stack?

I have a question that bothers me after reading a part of the big book of rules :). It's about the rule 717, illegal actions. 717.1. If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an ...
8
votes
4answers
3k views

How does the wording “for each” work?

Some cards in magic has something happen for each {something}. For instance: Alive // Well makes you gain 2 life for each creature you control. Tapping Selvala adds one green mana to your mana pool, ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Exactly when does an attacking creature stop being an attacking creature?

I've been looking at the rules for the combat phase and its steps, but I can't find this. It's clear when a creature becomes an attacking creature (when it's declared as attacking, created as ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What, generally, happens to card prices when a new set is released?

Journey to Nyx is about to come out an I noticed many of the websites have already priced the cards. I'm wondering if anyone has any advise on when the optimal time to pick up new cards is? I realize ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

If Blightsteel Colossus loses its abilities through an effect like Lignify, can it be put into my graveyard?

If I cast Lignify on my opponent's Blightsteel Colossus and then deal 5 damage to it with one of my creatures, does it go to the graveyard since it has no abilities? Or is this ability regained once ...
7
votes
1answer
9k views

Is there a card that cancels the Legendary Rule?

For example, I am wanting to make token copies of a legendary creature such as Progenitus using something like Progenitor Mimic. I know this is illegal by itself, but does there exist a card that ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

Are counters (noun) physical things?

Card example: Beckon Apparition (Gatecrash) There are a lot of cards that use counter as a noun. I did some Googling but I'm just not clear on what I need to use for counters. Are they physical ...
6
votes
2answers
3k views

What may happen after a stack of spells resolves?

Within the same phase, once a stack of spells has resolved in its entirety, is priority once again given to a player so that more spells may be cast? For example: I attack with a creature. Opponent ...
6
votes
2answers
13k views

Can an indestructible creature die by a combination of damage and -X/-X effects? [duplicate]

Say I have a 5/5 indestructible creature. An opponent plays a 3 damage spell on this creature. After that spell resolves, the opponent then plays a spell which gives the creature -2/-2 until end of ...
6
votes
1answer
609 views

Can a card copying a double-sided planeswalker transform? [duplicate]

If I have a Dack's Duplicate copying Jace, Vryn's Prodigy, can it transform into Jace, Telepath Unbound? I imagine it would not — it would be similar to the rules for tokens right, it doesn'...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

If my opponent takes control of my creature, then it's exiled and later returns, is it still theirs?

I was wondering, if someone casts Kari Zev's Expertise and I cast Seal Away on it, when it returns from exile does it return under my control or theirs? For example if I Blink of an eye the Seal ...
5
votes
4answers
1k views

Is Magic: The Gathering a consistent game?

Is Magic: The Gathering a consistent game? That is, is there any possible situation where the rules contradict on what to do next, and also, can a game hypothetically go on indefinitely?
4
votes
1answer
250 views

Does Livewire Lash trigger if a spell is countered by Chalice of the Void

I have a creature equipped with Livewire Lash and my opponent has Chalice of the Void in play. I play a spell which targets the creature equipped with Livewire Lash but the spell is countered due to ...
3
votes
3answers
3k views

Does killing a creature mana source that's being tapped for mana to pay for a spell counter that spell?

If an opponent is using an Avacyn Pilgrim (and three forests) to cast a Cudgel Troll, and I Lightning Bolt the monk, does that counter the Troll being cast? Would the same be true for a Loxodon ...
2
votes
2answers
5k views

When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?

Tethmos High Priest has the heroic ability: Whenever you cast a spell that targets Tethmos, return target creature card with converted mana cost 2 or less from graveyard to battlefield. Suppose ...
43
votes
2answers
8k views

Am I technically allowed to look up cards during a Magic tournament match?

Am I allowed to look up a card during a game, if it's being played with serious Rules Enforcement? Either to read the full card from the Gatherer, or to try to find the exact card I'm vaguely thinking ...
26
votes
4answers
5k views

Can I win with a “you lose” effect on the stack?

Follow on to this question - with a similar setup, but a slightly different aim. Setup: I have a Bazaar Trader in play and without summoning sickness and an Immortal Coil in hand. Neither I nor my ...
23
votes
1answer
3k views

Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?

We are at a Competitive REL tournament. With ten minutes left on the clock in game three, my opponent is at 5000 life. I control two Elite Arcanists. Each of them have Time Stop exiled. I also control ...
20
votes
1answer
2k views

Does a card have a keyword if it has the same effect as said keyword?

I was looking at Contingency Plan and found the effect surprisingly similar to the keyword Surveil. To compare, first the wording of Contingency Plan and then the wording of the Surveil keyword: ...
19
votes
5answers
14k views

Are cards of the same “rarity level” really equally rare in MTG?

In Magic the Gathering there are 4 rarity levels: common, uncommon, rare and mythical rare. In a booster pack you usually get 10 commons, 3 uncommons and 1 rare or 1 mythical rare. In Innistrad that ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the elephant get bigger when I bring in the ballista?

Fairgrounds Trumpeter: At the beginning of each end step, if a +1/+1 counter was placed on a permanent under your control this turn, put a +1/+1 counter on Fairgrounds Trumpeter. Walking Ballista: ...
15
votes
2answers
1k views

Dark Confidant and split cards

On my upkeep controlling a Dark Confidant I trigger revealing a card and losing life to it's cmc cost. What happens if I have a split card with 2 identifiable spells? Do I get to choose which one I ...
15
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Homeward Path work with cards that enchant to steal?

How does the card Homeward Path work with cards like In Bolas's Clutches? Homeward Path would imply that you still get it back, but those types of effects continue as long as the creature is ...
14
votes
3answers
9k views

What happens when I cast a spell incorrectly?

If I cast a spell which then turns out to be un-playable, what happens to my spell? E.G.: Casting a spell on something that has Hexproof and can't be targeted in the first place. Do I simply place my ...
13
votes
2answers
9k views

Is it okay to have a multi-language deck?

I want to buy a few booster pack from a local shop that only gets them in French. Is it generally acceptable to show up to a tournament with cards in different languages?
13
votes
1answer
15k views

Fight and first strike

I was playing a game earlier and my opponent had a Drana, Liberator of Malakir that was a 4/3 and wanted to use a sorcery to fight Kozilek's Channeler that was a 4/4. We were wondering if the ...
13
votes
1answer
6k views

How to deal with damaged cards from a MTG booster pack?

I bought a Magic the Gathering display box today with cards from the new edition Innistrad. Unfortunately one of the cards in a booster pack was damaged. It is not just a simple scratch - one corner ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Trait Doctoring be used to change words like “nonblack”?

Trait Doctoring reads: Change the text of target permanent by replacing all instances of one color word with another or one basic land type with another until end of turn. Doom Blade, for ...

1 2 3
4
5
14