Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
13
votes
2answers
4k views

Are creatures destroyed if their destruction happens at the same instant they lose “indestructible”?

Scenario: I play Timber Protector which makes all other Treefolk indestructible (I only have Treefolk in play). My opponent plays a Day of Judgment. Does this only destroy the not-...
13
votes
2answers
9k views

Are copied spells cast from the graveyard?

If you copy Increasing Confusion or any other "cast from the graveyard" spell with Increasing Vengeance, does the copy act like it was cast from the graveyard? Or, since the copy technically was not ...
13
votes
2answers
4k views

In what order are replacement effects chosen with respect to damage prevention?

How are replacement effects handled in multiplayer? Here's a concrete example. Player A, B, and C are seated around the table. It is Player A's turn. Player A has a Furnace Of Rath (double all damage)...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

If there are two Lighthouse Chronologist with three players, will one player be pereptually skipped?

If you would play a game with 3 people (let's call them A, B, and C) and A and B have a Lighthouse chronologist, will this make A get a turn after B, and make B get a turn after A without C getting a ...
12
votes
1answer
5k views

Karn, the Great Creator - what defines a 'card from outside the game' in sealed?

In the upcoming set 'War of the Spark' there is the Planeswalker Karn, the Great Creator. His -2 ability reads as: -2: You may choose an artifact card you own from outside the game or in exile, ...
12
votes
10answers
29k views

What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?

Many spells or abilities cause one or more creatures to join the battlefield (i.e. 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens, 3/3 green Beast creature tokens, etc.). These token cards are not included with ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a well-timed Twisted Image kill a player using Tree of Redemption?

What happens if my opponent activates Tree of Redemption and I cast Twisted Image with the life-exchange ability on the stack? Looking at the comp rules, these seem most relevant: 701.8a A spell ...
12
votes
4answers
3k views

Can I use two different cards with the same name in Commander?

I have two cards with the same name but different art and the card descriptions on the bottom. The card in question is Forsaken Sanctuary. It's a white/black land and I'm not sure if I can use both of ...
11
votes
1answer
826 views

How do I identify the role of a singleton in a well-tuned deck?

In this instance, I'm looking at Matt Sperling's Pro Tour top 8 Boros Burn deck, and there's one thing I don't get--what's the single Eidolon of the Great Revel doing here? Creatures: 4 ...
11
votes
1answer
19k views

How does Fist of Suns work with my Commander?

I am working on a deck that features Progenitus as my Commander and started looking at Fist of Suns. Besides just being good because of the large number of high cost spells in the deck, I was curious ...
11
votes
1answer
7k views

Flickering a Commander

What happens when a Commander is hit with an effect such as Flicker or Otherworldly Journey, and that Commander's owner chooses to send the Commander to the Command zone instead of exile? Will the ...
10
votes
1answer
9k views

What happens if you use a Clone Effect on a Double Faced Card that's Transformed?

Say someone has Ludevic's Test Subject, which is a 0/3 Defender, and after some mechanics, transforms into a 13/13 Lizard Horror with Trample. Say this someone managed to transform said card into its ...
10
votes
3answers
23k views

When can lands be tapped?

I'm completely new to Magic the Gathering. I've read the basic rulebook pretty thoroughly and have a pretty good grasp of the basic rules, but it's unclear to me as to when you can tap lands to ...
10
votes
1answer
3k views

Triggered abilities from multiple players. Whose resolves first? [duplicate]

If triggered abilities from sources controlled by multiple players all trigger at the same time, in what order do they resolve? For example, if I control Obzedat, Ghost Council and at least two other ...
10
votes
2answers
36k views

What happens if you are unable to draw because your library is empty?

In Magic the Gathering, what happens to a player if they get their draw phase, but are unable to draw a card because their library is empty?
10
votes
1answer
769 views

Does Humility prevent Manifested creatures from being turned face-up?

Related to Does Humility stop all creatures from being able to morph?: The question specifies morphs, but I wondered if this was true for Manifest as well? As Manifest is not an ability on the card, ...
10
votes
3answers
15k views

Is it valid to exploit infinite loopholes in Magic: The Gathering?

Today at work, I played my first game in almost 10 years using a deck from another player. He was playing a deck made of creatures that facilitate life points regain. At one point, using 3 different ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Why does Cryptbreaker need to specify “untapped” Zombies?

The card Cryptbreaker has the following ability: Tap three untapped Zombies you control: You draw a card and you lose 1 life. Why is it necessary to specify that the three Zombies must be untapped?...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

After lethal first strike damage to an indestructible creature, will it still do damage?

If I were to attack with a 4/4 indestructible creature and it's blocked by a 4/2 creature with first strike, would my indestructible creature still attack during the second combat damage step, or ...
9
votes
1answer
686 views

What are the legal tournament formats for MtG?

What are the current legal tournament formats for Magic: The Gathering? What are the differences/definitions of each format? At what point do sets rotate in/out of a format?
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Can King Macar the Gold-Cursed be tapped without attacking?

So a buddy and I were playing a game of Magic that turned out to be a really quick game because he got King Macar, the Gold-Cursed out on the battlefield early. He was tapping it without attacking ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

How do continuous effects interact with “enters the battlefield” triggers?

At what point do creatures entering the battlefield begin to be affected by enchantments and abilities of creatures already on the battlefield? For example, Mentor of the Meek's ability triggers when ...
8
votes
1answer
6k views

Can non basic lands be tapped for colorless mana?

For example, Evolving Wilds has a mana fixing ability, but it doesn't say you can tap it for mana. Other non-basic lands have a mana ability listed on the card. Should I assume that Evolving Winds ...
8
votes
1answer
33k views

Are gods treated as creatures before they enter the battlefield?

Gods, such as Purphoros or Mogis, are not creatures if your devotion is not high enough. Does this count when casting them? If, for example, an opponent tries to counter with Essence Scatter when the ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a clone of a double-sided planeswalker transform?

Suppose my opponent has Nicol Bolas, the Ravager on the battlefield, and has not yet transformed it into a Planewalker. I cast Clone, making my own copy of Nicol Bolas. What happens if I activate my ...
8
votes
1answer
7k views

Can I have two similarly-named legendary creatures on the field?

If I have two different Ulamogs, can they both be on the field? They both share Ulamog as part of their name, but their entire names are different. One is Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger, while the ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

Does first strike damage occur before normal damage?

When I attack with a first strike creature, does it deal combat damage before normal combat damage is dealt? Specifically, if I attack with Drana, Liberator of Malakir (has first strike and "Whenever ...
7
votes
3answers
4k views

How can I play around targeted discard?

Many decks in competitive Magic have access to targeted discard spells, like Duress and Thoughtseize. Against counterspells, you can rely on a variety of tricks like baiting counters, bottlenecking ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

In multiplayer, what happens if a player you're attacking dies before combat damage is dealt?

I can't work this one out. For example: I declare a creature attacking one of my opponents (who's on 5 life). Before he/she declares blockers another player casts Beacon of Destruction (or similar), ...
7
votes
1answer
18k views

Can I get an enters-the-battlefield effect out of a second legendary before I must sacrifice it?

If I have a legendary creature out, and I make a copy of it (such as by enchanting it with Splinter Twin or making a Clone), do I get enters-the-battlefield effects from the creature before I have to ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What would happen if I used regeneration on a creature that was the target of Annihilating Fire?

For example, what would happen if a freshly cast Lotleth Troll were to be regenerated in response to Annihilating Fire? My hypothesis is that it depends on whose turn it is. The regeneration being ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Painter's Servant vs Emrakul

What happens in the following situation? My opponents got the Painter's Servant and Grindstone lock going on but I have a Emrakul, the Aeons Torn in my deck that keeps me shuffling my graveyard ...
7
votes
2answers
2k views

Do the Elf creatures put into the battlefield by Planeswalker Nissa Revane suffer from summoning sickness? [duplicate]

The 3rd ability of Nissa Revane Planeswalker is -7: Search your library for any number of Elf creature cards and put them onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library. So the question is do the ...
7
votes
3answers
4k views

Hypersonic dragon => instant scavenge?

The rule text of Hypersonic Dragon says You may cast sorcery spells as though they had flash. (You may cast them any time you could cast an instant.) Can I cast scavenge as an instant now? ...
7
votes
2answers
12k views

Do deathtouch and deathtouch-like effects stop trample damage? [duplicate]

My friend has a trample deck, and I have a Stinkweed Imp that says "Whenever Stinkweed Imp deals combat damage to a creature, destroy that creature." Can a creature destroyed this way still deal ...
7
votes
1answer
873 views

Searching a library for something, failing to find it, the later discovering it was there

If an effect would have you search your library for a specific card, say Elvish Aberration's forestcycle has you search for a forest, and you can't find it in your library, but it turns out later that ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Sacrificing a creature I control that my opponent owns

If I were to cast Hijack on one of my opponent's creatures then, while that creature is under my control for the turn, I cast Blood Divination choosing to sacrifice the creature I took from him/her, ...
7
votes
2answers
5k views

How can a Morph ability counter split second spells?

Voidmage Apprentice is a creature with Morph that counters target spell when it is turned face up. I've read that it can counter spells with split second. How does it do this? Is it that the ...
6
votes
1answer
446 views

What are the characteristics of a flip card in my library?

Are the characteristics of a flip card in my library determined by both faces or just the front face? For example, can I use an Enlightened Tutor to fetch Sasaya, Orochi Ascendant? Enlightened Tutor ...
6
votes
5answers
6k views

Why would I want to use the activated ability of “Scalding Tarn”?

I think I'm missing something here. I thought that land cards that have two colors at the bottom mean that they can be used as land for either of the colors. Take for example Scalding Tarn: It ...
6
votes
2answers
4k views

Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?

I'm looking at the card Cremate: Cremate - {B} Instant - common RTR Exile target card from a graveyard. Draw a card. Now, can I use this to respond to a flashback or scavenge? ...
6
votes
1answer
6k views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down? [duplicate]

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
6
votes
1answer
8k views

What happens if a blocking creature with flying loses flying?

Lets say that both my opponent and I both have a 1/1 white flying spirit. Now lets say I declare my spirit as an attacker, and my opponent declares their spirit as a blocker. After they declare ...
6
votes
1answer
379 views

Is Argothian Elder a Druid?

Argothian Elder is listed on a lot of websites with the Druid creature type, but the card only lists "Elf". Is Argothian Elder a Druid too?
6
votes
3answers
564 views

Hierarchy of dying - Is this Venn Diagram accuarate/complete

UPDATE Latest version of diagram, based on feedback in Answers below. Original Question Considering a creature card that is currently on the battlefield, is the following diagram accurate? "...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can I attempt to activate an equipment's equip ability without a valid target?

Say I have a Mycosynth Wellspring on the field and a Piston Sledge. The equip cost for piston sledge is "sacrifice an artifact". If I control no creatures, can I sacrifice the Mycosynth Wellspring to ...
6
votes
2answers
5k views

Multiple Replacement Effects for “Next Time”

So I recognize that replacement effects are chosen in order by the affected object/player's controller per 616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the ...
6
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you re-equip equipment to the same creature?

Murderer's Axe has an equip cost: discard a card, and since madness runs off discarding, this can be rather useful. Can an equipment card be re-equipped to the same creature that already has it ...
6
votes
3answers
380 views

How can I tell what has changed in a Comprehensive Rules update?

As an example, the Comp Rules were updated February 1, 2012. I know that a reference to "Fateful Hour" was added to 207.2c since I know to search for fateful hour, but how do I know what else changed?...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

If an effect would prevent a spell from doing damage, does it continue to prevent that damage after the spell changes zones?

Anthony casts Searing Blood, targeting Nathan's Elvish Mystic. Nathan casts and resolves Dromoka's Command, choosing to 1) prevent all damage that would be dealt by Searing Blood this turn and 2) put ...

1
3 4
5
6 7
14