Skip to main content

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-3 votes
2 answers
379 views

Can I play a land on my opponent's turn?

So I was playing MtG Commander with a group of 4 and I was 3rd in turn order. We were wondering about casting a land that would enter tapped on an enemies endstep or second main phase, so it could ...
chrisdagoat619's user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
86 views

Does Feywild Caretaker's 2nd ability trigger only once if you have copies of it?

I don't know if I get a Faerie Dragon from each copy of Feywild Caretaker I control if I have the initiative, or if I only get one regardless of how many I have.
7jaws7's user avatar
  • 17
2 votes
1 answer
124 views

Would Westvale Abbey be tutorable with Mausoleum Secrets?

Okay so I understand that the black color indicator makes Ormendahl, Profane Prince black and thus the color identity for commander is black, but I want to make it clear that I'm wondering ...
Timothy Mantor's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does blinking Pantlaza, Sun-Favored reset the once per turn?

I know that usually a blink will reset a once per turn effect, but Pantlaza, Sun-Favored is worded a little different than I'm used to. Here's the scenario: I cast Pantlaza, Sun-Favored , and resolve ...
ToxicGLaDOS's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
244 views

Does Tail Swipe trigger Legolas, Master Archer?

Tail Swipe says "choose target creature". Usually when there is a choice it goes around hexproof and does not target. Does Tail Swipe target creatures and trigger Legolas, Master Archer? Why ...
Euphorbium's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
162 views

Can a creature with Ninjutsu attack a different target as the creature it replaces?

Consider the following situation: It is player A's turn. Player A has 3 1/1 creatures. Player B has 1 1/1 blocker and a planeswalker at 2 loyalty. Player A has all of their creatures attack the ...
Tim C's user avatar
  • 536
4 votes
1 answer
400 views

Neheb, the Eternal and lifelink

Let's say I control a Neheb, the Eternal and attack my opponent with two 2/2 creatures. My opponent blocks one of those creatures with a 2/2 that has lifelink. When my postcombat main phase begins, ...
Ben P.'s user avatar
  • 814
4 votes
1 answer
496 views

When Kardur, Doomscourge is active, do myriad-empowered creatures create tokens and deal damage to the Kardur player upon attacking?

In an EDH game, when an opponent controls Kardur, Doomscourge with its enters-the-battlefield (ETB) ability activated, if I attack another opponent with my creatures that have myriad (courtesy of ...
Gil's user avatar
  • 155
3 votes
1 answer
152 views

Casting Benefits even if spell is countered

Playing Sauron, Lord of the Rings. When cast you amass Orc 5 and return a creature from your graveyard. Since that triggers when cast will you get the two other creatures even if the spell is counted?
Zed's user avatar
  • 31
7 votes
1 answer
409 views

Does Archon of Coronation prevent life loss in two-headed giant if my teammate is the defending player?

I'm the monarch, with an Archon of Coronation on the board. My teammate gets attacked with a Changeling Outcast. Do we lose life? Archon of Coronation says "...damage doesn't cause you to lose ...
ToxicGLaDOS's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I lose the game by flickering Platinum Angel

Suppose that I have 10 poison counters but can't lose because I have Platinum Angel in play. If I cast Cloudshift on Platinum Angel, do I lose the game, or does it return to play before state based ...
Tim C's user avatar
  • 536
3 votes
2 answers
934 views

What is the mana value of Smelt//Herd//Saw?

The card Smelt//Herd//Saw from Magic: the Gathering has the cost of R/5G/1B. What is its mana value? Possibilities I see include: 1: the mana value on the face of the card 6: the highest mana value ...
Gad D Lord's user avatar
-1 votes
2 answers
176 views

Instant theft vs activated ability [closed]

My opponent had a creature with an activated ability. He activated it to change his life total and in response I cast an instant taking control of the creature. He said the ability still resolved in ...
Billy Nelson's user avatar
4 votes
0 answers
336 views

Does the term "ramp" derive from the card "Rampant Growth?"

Many terms used in the context of Magic derive their names from individual cards. The usual example is to mill, which is derived from the effect of the card Millstone. Another common example is ...
user avatar
0 votes
2 answers
413 views

Wayta Trainer Prodigy & Non-straight forward damaging effects

Wayta, Trainer Prodigy is a pretty easy card to understand. If something being dealt damage would cause an ability to trigger it happens twice. So effects like Polyraptor would create two copies from ...
L.P.'s user avatar
  • 1,054
0 votes
1 answer
143 views

Can you blitz adventure cards? [duplicate]

This question is related to this one. If I destroyed an artifact with the sorcery part of Stormkeld Vanguard can I then blitz it with Henzie "Toolbox" Torre from exile?
Neil Meyer's user avatar
  • 5,374
0 votes
1 answer
170 views

Auras, Equipment and Eater of Virtue

Do attachments on a creature being exiled with Eater of Virtue get exiled as well and does that creature keep the abilities from the any attachments that were on the creature when it was exiled?
Domenick Jefferson's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
242 views

Trigger order Elesh Norn and Coercive Recruiter

There was card played that moved all creatures from the graveyard back to the battlefield under their owners control. In my graveyard was Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite and the opponent had Coercive ...
SirDuckduck's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
528 views

Would equipping Skullclamp cause Polyraptor to trigger?

Would adding a +1/-1 token to Polyraptor with Skullclamp count as “damage” and trigger Polyraptor? I am guessing the answer is “no”. That this is just an adjustment to toughness, not damage.
Vaccano's user avatar
  • 2,237
2 votes
1 answer
973 views

Deeproot Pilgrimage and convoke

I have a Deeproot Pilgrimage in play, and I cast a convoke spell, tapping two nontoken Merfolks. Do I get one or two Merfolk tokens? Deeproot Pilgrimage Whenever one or more nontoken Merfolk you ...
Richard's user avatar
  • 145
5 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can you tap a card whenever you want?

If I have a colorless 1/1 untapped creature that has no abilities, can I just tap this card whenever I want? Or let's say I have a artifact/enchantment/planeswalker with no abilities. Can I just tap ...
Gil's user avatar
  • 155
0 votes
1 answer
233 views

If 2 triggered abilities occur at the same time, can I play an instant before the 2nd trigger resolves?

I have a Derevi Blink deck... I had Spark Double copy Derevi and have Skyward Eye Prophets on the field. The when nothing as summoning sickness, I tap Skyward to have my draw or play a land. When I go ...
Adastreon's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
244 views

Which Magic cards have format-specific errata?

The Scryfall page for Chaos Orb has a note: If you are playing Chaos Orb in the Old School format, the card's text is “{1}, {T}: Choose a nontoken permanent on the battlefield. If Chaos Orb is on the ...
Draconis's user avatar
  • 1,047
0 votes
1 answer
140 views

Can tapping for another card, also activate that card ability? [duplicate]

If I have in play a Selesnya Evangel and tap Tolsimir Wolfblood to create a Saproling, can I create the 2/2 green/white Voja too? Thank you.
IStoleTheMuffin's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
239 views

After completing the Undercity how to order Sefris completion and enter the battlefield triggers

I am currently in the Undercity and have Sefris of the Hidden Ways on the battlefield. If I venture into the last room of the Undercity, Throne of the Dead Three, I resolve the ability by putting a ...
George's user avatar
  • 481
2 votes
1 answer
748 views

Danny Pink and "enters the battlefield with"

In this recent installment of "too specific" on EDHREC.com the author argues that Metallic Mimic wouldn't be that good with Danny Pink since creatures of the chosen type enter the ...
Erik's user avatar
  • 858
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

If I copy a clone of a double-faced card, can the copy transform?

From the rule change in MOM tokens can now transform. A clone of a double-faced card however cannot transform since it isn't doubled-faced. What happens then if I copy the clone? Will the token copy ...
programmer's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
393 views

Are these MTG cards from Cardmarket fake?

I recently bought cards from cardmarket and I suspect that some of them might be fake. The two fact that make me suspect are the unusual corners and the less rigid, more paper-like touching they have (...
Wolf1994's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
523 views

Ovika, Enigma Goliath: do free spells cause goblins?

Suppose Ovika, Enigma Goliath is on the battlefield, an opponent casts some form of targeted removal(Path to exile) at it, in response the ovika player casts Fierce Guardianship for free. question is: ...
garglblarg's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
407 views

Morritte of the Frost copying Dark Depths

Moritte of the Frost may enter the battlefield as a copy of a permanent you control. Dark Depths enters the battlefield with 10 ice counters on it. If I have Moritte enter as a copy of my Dark ...
Matt Mc's user avatar
  • 153
1 vote
1 answer
350 views

What happens with multiple Blood Moons and Magical Hack?

There are 2 Blood Moon in play and I cast Magical Hack changing the wording of one of them from mountains to swamps. What happens to my Tundra?
Tony S's user avatar
  • 163
0 votes
1 answer
191 views

Change from target all to target one

Can you change the target of a spell that would normally target all creatures to instead target one. Eg; say my opponents have been mean and found some way to get an obnoxious amount of obnoxiously ...
Naudé's user avatar
  • 21
3 votes
1 answer
344 views

land that temporarily became a land creature and the graveyard

I'm casting Wrenn and Realmbreaker. I'm using her +1 to make a land a creature until my next turn. My opponent during his turn casts Invoke Despair and so I have to sacrifice my land creature (as its ...
Kosmotaur's user avatar
  • 133
3 votes
1 answer
816 views

Does Edgar Markov's Eminence ability trigger with Maskwood Nexus?

I was playing with an Edgar Markov deck and a question came up: would using Maskwood Nexus' tap ability: 3, {T}: Create a 2/2 blue Shapeshifter creature token with changeling (It is every creature ...
Paola Nunez's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
656 views

How do instant speed effects work after blockers have been declared? [duplicate]

I attack with my Goblin Balloon Brigade and opponent blocks it with Savannah Lions. In response I pay one red mana to make my goblins flying. What happens?
Tony S's user avatar
  • 163
8 votes
2 answers
2k views

Can I choose 0 targets for Terror of the Peaks?

My Terror of the Peaks triggers when my creatures entered the battlefield. My opponent responds to the trigger with Teferi's Protection and phases out along with his board. Can I submit 0 targets ...
Barry 's user avatar
  • 83
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

How does Eye for an Eye work if my opponent casts a lethal Fireball on me

My opponent and myself are at 5 life points. He casts a Fireball of 5 targeting me and I respond with Eye for an Eye so we both take five points of damage. Does my Eye for an Eye resolve first, ...
Tony S's user avatar
  • 163
2 votes
1 answer
428 views

How does the Ozolith work with undying?

If a creature with undying and a +1/+1 counter dies when The Ozolith is on the battlefield, is the counter removed so that the undying ability makes the creature come black to the battlefield?
sinsedrix's user avatar
  • 1,121
-2 votes
1 answer
164 views

Can a mono white with the option to use green mana or life to be transformed be used in a mono white deck? [closed]

I don't know the best way to word it in the title, but I have a mono white card that has the option to use green mana or life to transform the card. Now since the card color is white is it good to use ...
Sidious Kure's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
617 views

Does Damping Sphere make Baldur's Gate not able to produce all colors of mana?

Let's say Damping Sphere is in play and so is Baldur's Gate (with 2+ other Gates). Is Plaza of Harmony still able to tap for all colors of mana? The idea is that, if there are 2+ other Gates, then ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.3k
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

Playing Leyline of the Void followed by Helm of Obedience: what happens?

Say in classic game, I play Leyline of the Void or any card with a similar effect. Say I then play Helm of Obedience, and my opponent has no cards with a relevant effect. My opponent will then proceed ...
Themoonisacheese's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

When casting a spell that lets you distribute X +1/+1 counters among creatures you control, how do you submit less than X creatures?

I cast Stolen Goodies, the adventure half of Picnic Ruiner: Distribute three +1/+1 counters among any number of target creatures you control. I controlled three creatures, but I only wanted to add ...
SloppyNick's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
87 views

Since the active player controls planes in the Planechase variant, does protection from a player protect a creature from planes too?

Alice and Bob play a game of Planechase. Bob controls a True-Name Nemesis and has chosen Alice as it entered the battlefield; the current plane is Mount Keralia with one pressure counter on it. It is ...
Sappique's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
1k views

Why are some cards out of collector number sequence in MTG:Lord of the Rings

If you sort cards by collector number for MTG: Lord of the Rings, you see that almost all the white cards have collector numbers of 1-18: https://scryfall.com/search?as=grid&order=set&q=%...
John's user avatar
  • 5,564
0 votes
1 answer
130 views

Would exiled cards from Gorex be usable after it dies? [duplicate]

I'm curious how a card like Gorex, the Tombshell works when it says "choose a card at random exiled with Gorex". Take a deck with 4 Gorex in it, does each one only pull from the creatures ...
David Starkey's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
830 views

Can an opponent respond to me sacrificing a creature with Diamond Valley?

I tap a Diamond Valley I control to sacrifice one of my creatures, and my opponent responds by removing my creature with Swords to Plowshares (or similar spell). Do I still get the increase in life ...
Tony S's user avatar
  • 163
1 vote
1 answer
222 views

Can the Treasure token from Collectors Vault be used to pay for Madness cost?

If I tap Collector's Vault and discard a Fiery Temper, can I use the mana from the treasure token that Collector's Vault produces, to pay for the madness cost of Fiery Temper?
Neil Meyer's user avatar
  • 5,374
5 votes
1 answer
818 views

If a Ring-bearer loses all abilities, does that include The Ring's abilities?

While playing Arena, I enchanted my opponent's Slimefoot, Thallid Transparent, which was their Ring-bearer, with Witness Protection. I expected that Witness Protection's ability removal would remove ...
Cain Goldhardt's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
71 views

How does Radiant Scrollwielder 2nd ability work with adventure spells? [duplicate]

Radiant Scrollwielder reads: At the beginning of your upkeep, exile an instant or sorcery card at random from your graveyard. You may cast it this turn. If a spell cast this way would be put into ...
Morgilson's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
154 views

Do sentence breaks, conjunctions, or "also" have any rules meaning?

Oracle rules texts have several suspicious variations which do not appear to correspond to any differences in rules meaning. For example, they may have any of the following forms... [Do Action A] and [...
user10478's user avatar
  • 716