Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
135 views

Gargos, Vicious Watcher Ruling - M20

Gargos, Vicious Watcher (GVW) has the ability, "Whenever a creature you control becomes the target of a spell, Gargos, Vicious Watcher fights up to one target creature you don't control." Next, an ...
0
votes
0answers
48 views

What item should I use to keep track of my creature’s Power and Toughness? [duplicate]

I’m a new player to MTG and I was wondering what item I should use to keep track of the Power and Toughness in my creatures. Like if I would enchant one of my creatures with a +1/+1 I would need to be ...
1
vote
1answer
122 views

Kess, Dissident Mage and adventure cards

I have a question about Kess, Dissident Mage and interaction with adventures cards like Brazen Borrower. Example: When I have my Brazen Borrower in Graveyard and Kess on the battlefield, can I cast ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

How does Shield Dancer's ability work with a creature that has Trample?

I have a Shield Dancer, 1/3, whose activated ability states: The next time target attacking creature would deal combat damage to Shield Dancer this turn, that creature deals that damage to itself ...
13
votes
2answers
4k views

How does your opponent verify you have not more than 4 of a particular card in your deck?

Inspired by How does your opponent verify that you're able to cast a Companion card? As of time of writing the top-voted answer basically says you don't verify that the opponent can cast a Companion ...
15
votes
3answers
2k views

How does your opponent verify that you're able to cast a Companion card?

Normally, in Magic the Gathering, your library is a hidden zone; neither you nor your opponent are allowed to look at the cards in it during a game of Magic: the Gathering unless an effect says that ...
5
votes
2answers
206 views

How does shuffling work when your library is empty?

Say there are no cards in someone's library. Can they shuffle their graveyard and hand into their library with an effect that instructs them to do so, if there is technically no library to shuffle ...
1
vote
1answer
230 views

Is it allowed to use Keruga as a Companion when using a split card with CMC >= 3?

The situation: I am playing MTGO and I have a deck with Keruga, the Macrosage in my sideboard and Response // Resurgence in my main deck. Keruga, the Macrosage states the following, emphases mine: ...
6
votes
2answers
4k views

How does Companion work after sideboarding?

I've asked around among friends and also Reddit but we've not reached a consensus: How does Companion work after sideboarding? I can find the following relevant rule snippets. Your companion's ...
4
votes
1answer
271 views

How does Cairn Wanderer work outside the battlefield?

I'm a little unclear on how the wording of Cairn Wanderer applies when it is not on the battlefield (e.g. when it's in exile or in the graveyard itself). The wording is: As long as a creature card ...
7
votes
1answer
135 views

Can Sacred Ground mitigate Annihilator?

My understanding is that being attacked by a creature with Annihilator N, which would force me to choose and sacrifice N permanents while have a Sacred Ground on the battlefield means that if I ...
0
votes
2answers
312 views

How do Yarok, the Desecrated and Doubling Season interact?

If you control Doubling Season and Yarok, the Desecrated, how do the triggers work for +1/+1 counters from ETB effects and loyalty counters from planeswalkers? Counters in general?
2
votes
1answer
113 views

Unbound Flourishing and Alternative costs

The rulings for Unbound Flourishing state Spells with additional costs that include X won't be affected by Unbound Flourishing. X must be in the mana cost. Avacyn's Judgement has a cost of {1}{...
1
vote
1answer
101 views

Can I deal damage to the opponent’s health after I kill their creature trying to block my attack?

I’m a new player to Magic the Gathering and I was confused about this particular situation. Can I deal damage to my opponent’s health after I kill their creature trying to block me? For example, I ...
0
votes
2answers
119 views

How many booster each players should crack for a 60 cards booster draft?

I plan to create a 60 cards booster format. How many booster each players should crack for a 60 cards booster draft? I think that 4 or 5 should works. Is there any existing format or math about this? ...
3
votes
1answer
121 views

Order of the stack with conspire?

The ability "Conspire" found on some instants/sorceries, reads As you cast this spell, you may tap two untapped creatures you control that share a color with it. When you do, copy it and you ...
2
votes
1answer
462 views

Kalamax and Conspire

Kalamax, the Stormsire reads Whenever you cast your first instant spell each turn, if Kalamax, the Stormsire is tapped, copy that spell. You may choose new targets for the copy. The ...
5
votes
2answers
743 views

Hexproof counter on noncreature permanents

I was wondering if a hexproof counter (from cards from Ikoria) on a noncreature permanent would give it hexproof. I would think it works like that, but when I read the mechanics article, I saw: ...
1
vote
1answer
117 views

Double strike and trample, dealt lethal damage during first damage step. Does the rest go through?

I have a 6/6 double strike, trample dealing damage to a 6/6 first strike, indestructible. As the double striker dies during the first damage, does the rest of the remaining 6 damage go through, or ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

How to remove Broken Fall Enchantment from play

I was playing Commander with a couple of buddies the other day. One of them had a 10/10 creature and Broken Fall enchantment in play to regenerate said creature. One of the other players cast a ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Mutate count as an alternative cost?

I have Jodah, Archmage Eternal on the battlefield: You may pay {W}{U}{B}{R}{G} rather than pay the mana cost for spells that you cast. I want to Mutate Nethroi, Apex of Death onto, let's say, a ...
0
votes
1answer
135 views

Ikora mutate game objects

If I mutate and place the mutate creature on top of a card that was tracking state will this be a new game object and forget whatever state it was tracking. For example, if I mutate and place the ...
2
votes
3answers
345 views

Where to find MTG statistics: Starting player winrate, average turns, polarity?

A question about MTG statistics: There are several MTG statistics websites (e.g. AetherHub, MTGArenaPro), which do a great job to provide specific statistics about how good individual cards and decks ...
2
votes
1answer
3k views

Mutate and Commander status

So, the new mutate abilty reads : As a mutating creature spell resolves, instead of entering the battlefield, it merges with its target into one creature. Its controller chooses to put the ...
1
vote
2answers
945 views

Status of non-top mutated creature cards

Ikoria's new Mutate ability allows two or more creature cards to be fused into a single creature, with the creature on top gaining the abilities of the creature cards below it. From a rules ...
3
votes
1answer
457 views

Rayami Mutated has a different name

How do abilities that refer to their cards' names work when the name is changed, or the ability is "stolen" by a card with a different name? Rayami, First of the Fallen has two abilities: If a ...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Cloning Mutated Creatures

Mutate is a new mechanic in Ikoria. A lot has been said about how it works, but cloning is something I can't find mentioned on the net. Not sure if the comp rules have been updated yet, but my ...
13
votes
1answer
14k views

How do Companion cards from Ikoria work in Commander?

Today the Ikoria previews revealed a new mechanic: companion. From Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths Mechanics, you can choose up to one companion card in your sideboard (or in your collection outside the ...
2
votes
1answer
147 views

Does Commander Tax reset?

Example: I cast my commander from my command zone, paying no tax. Commander dies Goes to command zone Summon from command zone, paying tax (2) I bounce my Commander to my hand, play him from hand He ...
1
vote
1answer
218 views

Does Spark Double on Muldrotha allow for additional plays from the graveyard?

Muldrotha, the Gravetide is on the battlefield: During each of your turns, you may play up to one permanent card of each permanent type from your graveyard. I play Spark Double: You may have ...
1
vote
3answers
172 views

MTG Mirage Mirror copying Medomai the Ageless

Hey guys just a quick question. Last night I played an EDH game and I have a Medomai the Ageless onto the battlefield. It's my opponent's turn and he uses Mirage Mirror to copy Medomai. He used ...
5
votes
1answer
136 views

Does Curator's Ward trigger when a creature it enchants and Curator's Ward get removed at (seemingly) the same time?

Let's say you've got Curator's Ward enchanting a historic creature you control, and you target that creature with Portal of Sanctuary. Does the creature and Curator's Ward get returned at the same ...
2
votes
2answers
473 views

Does Giant Killer get destroyed with Warstorm Surge? or is it able to destroy my creature with it's instant ability?

My friend has Giant Killer out on his battlefield. I have Warstorm Surge and I bring out Gisela, Blade of Goldnight. Does Giant Killer get destroyed first as a creature before my friend can cast it's ...
5
votes
3answers
720 views

Could I still play cards from the activated ability of Golos while the Epic effect is active?

Spells cast with the keyword Epic, like Eternal Dominion prevent the player from casting other spells for the rest of the game. However, Golos, Tireless Pilgrim says: Exile the top three cards of ...
1
vote
2answers
203 views

MTG: creature and enchantment triggered to opposite effects

The situation is my Mortus Strider has been enchanted with Unholy Indenture. The creature has when it dies, return it to his owner’s hand The enchantment says When enchanted creature dies, ...
0
votes
0answers
37 views

Does tapping a creature for convoke activate its ability with a tap cost as well? [duplicate]

For example if I'm casting another creature with convoke and I want to tap a Lanowar Elves or a Law Rune Enforcer to help pay for it, would the abilities on these cards activate when I tap them as ...
3
votes
1answer
326 views

Which of Magic's 1v1 tournament constructed formats is most popular?

The formats I'm interested in are: Vintage Legacy Modern Pioneer Standard (I'm not interested in Archenemy, Commander, 2HG, etc) Is there some way to rank these five formats in terms of popularity? ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens if someone builds a MtG Turing Machine in a tournament setting?

In this paper, the authors prove that it's possible to construct a Legacy-legal combo deck where the comboing player constructs a Turing Machine through mandatory actions, which begins to execute a ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Why is there no ruling to offset Mandatory Loops?

Why is there no ruling to offset Mandatory Loops? As pointed out in a recent question: Marauding Raptor and Polyraptor - what happens when a loop has no exit? Which states this ruling 721.4. If a ...
4
votes
2answers
422 views

How to value old MTG cards in foreign languages when none are for sale?

I used to play MtG when I was younger, around '95-98(?), and found an old box at my parents with a lot of cards that I'd be more than willing to part with. I know some at least are from edition IV. ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

Marauding Raptor and Polyraptor - what happens when a loop has no exit?

Marauding Raptor has: Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, Marauding Raptor deals 2 damage to it. If a Dinosaur is dealt damage this way, Marauding Raptor gets +2/+...
8
votes
5answers
1k views

MtG multiple “first time each turn” effects question

So I've been trying to word an emblem for a custom planeswalker so it gives the first card played each turn Flash, but so multiple emblems stack, giving each subsequent spell flash. I've been trying ...
1
vote
1answer
113 views

Can I freeze a tapped creature? [duplicate]

Suppose I have a Sharktocrab and my opponent has a Cavalier of Thorns in play. They attack with the Cavalier, and it becomes tapped. On my turn, I Adapt my Sharktocrab, putting a +1/+1 counter on it ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

My opponent used Huatli's ability with a creature that had died. Was that allowed?

Recently, I played a match where a player used a card that killed off everyone’s creatures above a certain power, including one of his own. Immediately after that card, when no other card was played ...
2
votes
1answer
172 views

How does Amass interact with Essence of the Wild?

If I have an Essence of the Wild, and I play anything that will Amass, what happens? Do I make one Essence of the Wild token, or does Amass keep triggering after failing to find an army, giving me ...
4
votes
2answers
230 views

Resolving spell terminology

I've seen a lot of cards use the key phrase "When you cast a spell..." but are there any cards or abilities that rely on spells being successfully cast and Resolve? For instance the creature ability ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I use counterspells to make my Decree of Silence last longer?

Decree of Silence says: Whenever an opponent casts a spell, counter that spell and put a depletion counter on Decree of Silence. If there are three or more depletion counters on Decree of Silence, ...
12
votes
3answers
3k views

What happens when I try to exile more cards from my library than there is in my library?

If I use Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's activated ability, which starts: Exile the top three cards of your library... when my library has 2 or fewer cards, must I draw all 3 cards (and hence lose the ...
5
votes
1answer
601 views

If a creature takes non-lethal damage, turns into a non-creature, and then back into a creature, does the damage remain?

Sort of a follow-up to Can Hour of Devastation kill Heliod, Sun-Crowned? Let's say my opponent has two Benalish Marshal and Heliod, Sun-Crowned. I cast Hour of Devastation. Per murgatroid99's answer, ...
0
votes
1answer
221 views

Does the first strike damage step happen even if no first strike damage is going to be dealt?

Inspired by this question Lets suppose that I attack with multiple creatures, and one of them has first strike but not trample. That creature gets blocked, but the blocker gets bounced/killed before ...

1 2
3
4 5
86