Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Is it possible for a board wipe to happen after first strike damage but before regular damage?

What happens if someone attacks with a bunch of 5/5 or smaller creatures and you block with Child of Alara and then cast Flaming Sword on one of the 5/5 making it a 6/5 first strike that would kill ...
10
votes
1answer
556 views

Are my opponents unable to cast spells for the rest of the game if I cast an Epic spell with Hive Mind on the battlefield?

I have a question about the interaction between cards with the "Epic" mechanic and Hive Mind. Since the Epic ability happens on resolution instead of casting, that means if the original spell is ...
16
votes
5answers
3k views

How does Magic handle “Type – Subtype” lines that don’t fit on the card when translated?

This question links to a Russian version of Peel from Reality which has “Мгновенное заклинание” as its type line—literally, “Instant spell” rather than just “Instant” (I assume there is some Russian ...
24
votes
6answers
7k views

How can I translate a Magic card printed in a language that I don't know?

I bought a bulk pack of magic cards today and one of them was in a foreign language. I don’t know which language it is. Google translate is not recognizing it, even when I take a picture of it. How ...
5
votes
2answers
863 views

Why does negative life and Platinum Angel not cause a draw?

I was looking at the Transcendence, Platinum Angel interaction. As it is explained in a few places online Transcendence has what is called a 'State Trigger'. It triggers whenever the condition ...
7
votes
1answer
383 views

Who picks a card name first for Null Chamber?

The card Null Chamber states As Null Chamber enters the battlefield, you and an opponent each choose a card name other than a basic land card name. Spells with the chosen names can’t be cast and ...
2
votes
1answer
192 views

“Repeat this process” Rulings

How does repeat this process work? If for example I cast Hoarder's Greed and win the clashes all the time until I deck myself or am out of life. Do I have priority between the repeat this process ...
2
votes
1answer
249 views

How Does Syr Konrad Interact With Living Death?

I have two scenarios in which Syr Konrad, the Grim will be involved from two different perspectives, and I'm curious to see how Living Death will interact here. Scenario 1: Syr Konrad is in play with ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Avoiding Dovescape's Effect

I’ve noticed Dovescape uses the specific word “cast” to trigger its ability, and I am curious about what effects circumvent its wording. Will the following effects skirt through Dovescape? ...
1
vote
1answer
151 views

Arena, Triumphant surge without legal target

Just playing Arena using the Workshop:Heroes of Theros - Devotion deck. I tried to cast Triumphant Surge when there was only my Transcendent Envoy on the battlefield. The Triumphant Surge just hung ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can Haphazard Bombardment destroy something with two aim counters?

Haphazard Bombardment says: When Haphazard Bombardment enters the battlefield, choose four nonenchantment permanents you don't control and put an aim counter on each of them. At the beginning of your ...
23
votes
1answer
2k views

Under what conditions can I cast Panglacial Wurm from my Library when my opponent controls an Aven Mindcensor?

My opponent controls an Aven Mindcensor. If an opponent would search a library, that player searches the top four cards of that library instead. I have a Panglacial Wurm in my deck. While you'...
0
votes
2answers
196 views

Can I kill an indestructible creature with damage and -1/-1? [duplicate]

If a indestructible creature is a 3/3 and I block that creature with a 2/2 then I give the indestructible creature a -1/-1 will the indestructible creature die?
0
votes
1answer
204 views

When will Arena's Workshop: Uncharted Paths be held?

In MTG Arena: State of the Game — February 2020, Wizards introduced a three-part workshop series: Power and Glory, Heroes of Theros, and Uncharted Paths. I see on the Arena events calendar that Power ...
6
votes
1answer
279 views

Gisela, the Broken Blade or Bruna, the Fading Light as a Commanders

Gisela, the Broken Blade is a legendary creature that melds with Bruna, the Fading Light to create Brisela, Voice of Nightmares. All three are legendary creatures and as part of the meld action are ...
4
votes
1answer
206 views

Who or what is Gaea?

What (if anything) is Gaea in the MTG universe? I can piece together that she is mainly on Dominaria. Clearly named after the real-life mythical Greek figure. But is she a powerful mage? A ...
2
votes
1answer
191 views

Sacrificing a creature you don't own but you control [duplicate]

I use a Thief of Sanity and exile a Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger from my opponent's deck. I cast Kroxa, but then of course would have to sacrifice it because it wasn't escaped. Would it go back ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a creature trigger its own ETB ability even if not explicitly stated?

I work heavily on custom magic cards, and in one of my groups there is some discussion around ETB effects. Take a card like Soul Warden, it explicitly says 'another creature' in its ETB. If we ...
11
votes
1answer
485 views

Rishkar's Expertise and Jace, Wielder of Mysteries

I have 30 cards in my library. I control a Toothy, Imaginary Friend with 100 +1/+1 counters on it. I cast Rishkar's Expertise (RE) to draw my entire library, and I cast Jace, Wielder of Mysteries ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Nyxbloom Ancient replace the entire mana ability or just the part that produces mana?

Nyxbloom Ancient has the following replacement effect: If you tap a permanent for mana, it produces three times as much of that mana instead. I'm wondering whether the replacement effect ("instead"...
1
vote
1answer
113 views

Mentor trigger ordering

Let's say my board is Blade Instructor, Boros Challenger, and Goblin Cratermaker. Can I: Attack with all three; Two mentor triggers go on stack; Stack triggers such that Blade Instructor's trigger ...
3
votes
1answer
230 views

Can I prevent a “You lose the game” event by countering the ability that creates it?

If I cast Chance for Glory, can I use Stifle, Tale's End, Disallow, or Voidslime to counter the game loss at the end of said extra turn?
4
votes
2answers
319 views

What does “starting life total” mean, and why do cards say that instead of saying a number?

At the end of Happily Ever After, it refers to your “starting life total” (emphasis added): At the beginning of your upkeep, if there are five colors among permanents you control, there are six or ...
2
votes
2answers
364 views

What is the difference between Kunoros, Hound of Athreos' graveyard abilities?

Kunoros, Hound of Athreos has the following two static abilities. Creature cards in graveyards can't enter the battlefield.    Players can't cast spells from graveyards. Why does he have these two ...
3
votes
1answer
114 views

Kaya's ghostform and hanged executioner

So on MTG Arena today, I enchanted my Hanged Executioner with Kaya's Ghostform. Hanged Executioner reads in part: "{3}{W}, Exile Hanged Executioner: Exile target creature." I activated this ...
1
vote
1answer
114 views

Feather and spells turning permanents in to Creatures

If I have Feather, the Redeemed and I cast an Instant or Sorcery that turns a target permanent into a creature (Say Siege of Towers for example) Will that trigger Feather's ability to return that to ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Are “Gods” indestructible even when they are not yet creatures?

As long as the card Nylea, Keen-Eyed - (or the parallel red card, or Purphoros, Bronze-Blooded, or Athreos, Shroud-Veiled, or other specular cards, often with the subtype "God") - is not yet a ...
3
votes
2answers
251 views

How does Golos, Tireless Pilgrim interact with double-faced cards?

From the Ixalan set, we received double faced cards with lands on the back. I believe they count as all types on both sides while not on the field. Therefore: When Golos, Tireless Pilgrim activates ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Do Marchesa the Black Rose and Nightmare Shepherd work together?

I heard recently about Nightmare Shepherd and thought it might work great in my Marchesa, the Black Rose deck. If I have a creature with a +1/+1 counter on it and the creature dies, both triggers ...
5
votes
1answer
716 views

How do Sphinx of Foresight and a discard effect on the first turn interact?

My question revolves around Sphinx of Foresight and any discard effect targeting the Sphinx on Turn 1. I'll take Thoughtseize as an example. Sphinx of Foresight has the following effect: You may ...
9
votes
1answer
970 views

Is there a way to make Splice effects cheaper?

Is there a way to make the Splice costs cheaper? For example, if I am splicing Splicer's Skill onto a spell, is there a way I can reduce the cost that I must pay?
4
votes
1answer
302 views

Can I reorder the abilities of Hydra's Growth and Simic Ascendancy?

Suppose I control Simic Ascendancy and Hydra's Growth. Each of these has an ability that triggers at the beginning of my upkeep. Since I'm the controller of both of these abilities, can I choose ...
6
votes
1answer
229 views

How does a Channel ability work with my commander?

How does Channel (the Kamigawa mechanic, not the card) work when your commander has such an ability, such as Arashi, the Sky Asunder? Can I use it from the command zone? Do I pay the tax when I use ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

In what situation is Last Word really relevant?

Last Word reads This spell can’t be countered. Counter target spell. But if I were to be using another counterspell in any situation, couldn't I just choose to target the original spell again? There'...
0
votes
0answers
49 views

Does trample ability have any effect during a fight between two creatures out of combat? [duplicate]

Does trample ability have any effect during a fight between two creatures out of combat? I'll explain better. When any card or effect allows two creatures to fight each other - for example, when a ...
3
votes
1answer
514 views

Why can a manifested creature be turned face up if it loses all it's abilities but a morphed card can't? [duplicate]

This question is dedicated to a better understanding of a card: Wildcall. The Gather entry has the following ruling. "Unlike a face-down creature that was cast using the morph ability, a ...
2
votes
1answer
175 views

Can I use creature tokens to win with Mortal Combat?

I have 20 1/1 Saproling tokens in play and Mortal Combat triggers at the beginning of my upkeep. Can I play Echoing Ruin to win the game? I.e., will the Saproling tokens exist in my graveyard until ...
0
votes
2answers
231 views

What are “other” ways you can prevent your opponent from winning in magic the gathering, given the “right” decks?

In a game, if you can prevent your opponent from winning, there are only two possible outcomes: 1) You will win or 2) Your opponent can also force a draw. This question outlined how you can prevent ...
-1
votes
2answers
303 views

Death triggers and the stack

Now upon exiling a creature with a coin counter from Athreos, Shroud-Veiled with Flicker of Fate, does the triggered ability of Athreos, Shroud-Veiled take over and and stop the rest of the Flicker of ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

How did Andrea Mengucci receive a game loss for incorrectly registering his card on arena?

I just received a Game Loss because I registered a wrong card from my Draft. It kinda stings because I acknowledged it in the checking process after decklists were handed. But as the Latin says: ‘Dura ...
1
vote
1answer
153 views

Possible to use mana ability in response?

Mana abilities don't go onto the stack and are resolved immediately. If my opponent tried to play Shock (deal 2 damage) to Maraleaf Pixie, would I be able to use its mana ability in response? (Tap: ...
3
votes
1answer
196 views

Can I look up the text of my foreign cards on my phone in MTG tournaments? [duplicate]

Hey guys I have a question. I play commander and most of my cards are in foreign language. I use google drive to have a picture of the actual card in English. If I go to a tournament am I allowed to ...
6
votes
1answer
951 views

How does Dredge work with drawing more than one card?

How does dredge work with drawing multiple cards at once? For example, let's say I cast Windfall and discard three cards, a Golgari Grave-Troll, and a Stinkweed Imp. With the at least five cards I am ...
5
votes
1answer
269 views

What happens to my cards exiled by an opponent's Oblivion Ring when they lose the game? [duplicate]

My opponent in a multiplayer game had exiled 2 cards I controlled during a recent game with an Oblivion Ring like ability. On my next turn I hit him for lethal. What happens when he loses the game? ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Does showing my opponent I have an effective win condition qualify as improperly determining a winner?

This question is focused on the tournament rule, IPG 4.3 Unsporting Conduct — Improperly Determining a Winner. Two players playing the Bant Nexus of Fate combo deck meet each other in a round. This ...
5
votes
3answers
350 views

What happens if opponent has infinite turns, but cannot kill me because I have infinite life?

Let's say I have the Heliod, Sun-Crowned + Spike Feeder combo in play, which allows me to gain an arbitrary amount of life at instant speed. Meanwhile, opponent has the Nexus of Fate combo running, ...
6
votes
1answer
156 views

Reordering Static Effects with Dependencies on a Changing Board State

All of the discussion about Dryad of the Ilysian Grove's Layer 4 confusion and other discussions about continuous effects got me thinking about an unintuitive situation that can result from ...
5
votes
1answer
119 views

In what order are continuous effects applied across multiple objects?

In the Magic Comprehensive Rules, rule 613.1 says The values of an object’s characteristics are determined by starting with the actual object. For a card, that means the values of the ...
0
votes
0answers
69 views

Is 27 lands good in a Commander deck? [duplicate]

My deck is a ramp deck. It has a lot of creatures under 3 Mana. It is a mono green deck with elves and hydras.
0
votes
1answer
134 views

Buffing an Unblockable? [duplicate]

I have a card that basically says any creature with power or toughness = one is Unblockable, is it possible to buff them after declaring blockers? Thanks ahead of time for the info

1 2 3
4
5
86