A message from our CEO about the future of Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange. Read now.

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5
votes
1answer
266 views

How does Golos work with cards that increase mana costs? [duplicate]

Let's say I activate Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's ability while there is a Sphere of Resistance out. Do I have to pay 1 mana for each of the cards that are spells that I play from Golos?
0
votes
0answers
42 views

MTG Sacrificing creatures [duplicate]

If I have Viscera Seer, Carrion Feeder and Spore Frog down and I decide to sac Spore Frog do I get the +1/+1 counters on Carrion Feeder and the scry 1 with Seer. Additionally if I have Jarad, Golgari ...
8
votes
2answers
891 views

Can Chandra, Acolyte of Flame cast Heartfire without the additional cost?

I was under the impression that if you used Chandra, Acolyte of Flame's -2, targeting Heartfire, you would still have to sacrifice a creature, but someone told me that was not true. What is the ruling ...
4
votes
1answer
210 views

Does a Wolf enters the battlefield and fight target creature with or without buff?

I have a Wolf on the battlefield which gives other Wolfes +1/+1 . And I cast a Wicked Wolf. Does it enter and fight target creature already with this buff or without it? And do I get a priority after ...
-3
votes
1answer
89 views

Do players have to get priority the same number of times? [duplicate]

I have a question regarding priority. Do players have to get it the same numbers of time during a step? I mean, for example, it's my turn, after declaring blockers, I get priority and decide to cast a ...
3
votes
2answers
535 views

Armory Automaton and Dowsing Dagger/Sword of the Animist

What happens if I cast Armory Automaton and equip to it Dowsing Dagger and/or Sword of the Animist that an opponent controls? When Armory Automaton attacks while equipped with Sword of the Animist, ...
2
votes
1answer
483 views

What happens to the target of Oko, Thief of Crowns' second ability when it is put in the graveyard?

An artifact or creature becomes a 3/3 green Elk creature due to Oko, Thief of Crowns' second ability. What happens to that artifact or creature when it is put into the graveyard? Does it remain a 3/3 ...
3
votes
1answer
318 views

Are Magic: The Gathering booster packs “color random”?

Are Magic: The Gathering booster packs "color random"? I've tried Googling it, but nothing tells me anything specific. Can you get booster packs by color, or are they filled with random colors?
2
votes
1answer
139 views

Does a multicolored green/blue spell count for abilities triggering on casting a blue spell?

I have a short question that relates to some effects that tell about spells' colours. When I have for instance, Gadwick, The Wizened who has a triggered ability thas says "Whenever you cast a blue ...
2
votes
1answer
537 views

Untapping a creature enchanted with Charmed Sleep

I have a question that relates to untapping a creature enchanted by Charmed Sleep. It says "Enchanted creature doesn't untap during its controller's untap step". That's clear. But when someone has an ...
5
votes
2answers
996 views

Can you take an Immortal Phoenix out of the game?

I am a fairly new player and the person I have been playing with has a card called Immortal Phoenix and I was wondering if cards that say "destroy" wouldn't activate the Phoenix's resurrection feature....
5
votes
1answer
220 views

Can anyone provide a citation for the existence of pre-alpha MTG rules about an initiative stat in combat?

I remember years ago hearing about a rule/mechanic that existed in early prototypes of Magic the Gathering, before the Alpha set was released. Basically all creatures had 3 combat stats: power, ...
0
votes
0answers
52 views

How does Bazaar of Baghdad interact with Wasteland / Strip Mine? [duplicate]

Player A has in play a Bazaar of Baghdad that has the following activated ability: {T}: Draw two cards, then discard three cards. Player B has in play a Strip Mine that has the following ...
6
votes
1answer
128 views

Can you have an aura attached to an aura that is itself attached to the first aura?

This question was inspired by this post on /r/BadMtgCombos. In the post, the user makes use of three copies of Feedback and Aura Graft to get Feedback 1 attached to Feedback 2, Feedback 2 attached ...
1
vote
1answer
119 views

What is the priority sequence during a turn?

I know that at the beginning of each step and phase the active player recieves priority, and that the active player recieves priority after a spell resolves. I want to make sure that I am right about ...
8
votes
3answers
5k views

Non-Legendary Planeswalkers

If a Planeswalker in Magic the Gathering wasn't Legendary when it was printed (before Dominaria in 2018, e.g. Liliana, Death's Majesty), would you be allowed to have two of that same Planeswalker ...
4
votes
1answer
507 views

If I “play” a card, does it count as casting it?

Fires of Invention has this line of text: You can cast spells only during your turn and you can cast no more than two spells each turn. Golos, Tireless Pilgrim has this line of text: 2WUBRG: ...
2
votes
3answers
397 views

Changing a creature's base Power and Toughness until End of Turn

I have a question regarding spells that change other creatures' base power and/or toughness (for example, 3/3). I'm asking because in a few days I will probably receive my Oko Planeswalker Deck from ...
4
votes
1answer
942 views

Are the names of guilds in Ravnica protected intellectual property?

I don't see a TM symbol anywhere and some searches of the interwebs reveals nothing but laughing cats... I'm not wanting to infringe, just not step on toes. (Very big, powerful toes)
4
votes
2answers
289 views

Getting priority after putting a spell on the stack

I have a two questions connected with priority and stack: It's my turn, during the combat phase, after the declaring blockers step. Blockers are declared. At the Combat Damage step, I get priority ...
3
votes
1answer
103 views

When casting a spell with Cascade, when do the exiled cards go on the bottom of the library?

Say I cast Bituminous Blast and with cascade I exile Angrath, the Flame-Chained then Vampiric Tutor. Can I use Vampiric Tutor to search for Angrath, or is Angrath still exiled until Vampiric Tutor ...
4
votes
2answers
812 views

Do “if you would gain life, gain that much life +1” abilities trigger once per turn, or once for every instance of you gaining life

For example, I have a Black/White deck built around life gain. If I have 2 creatures that cause me to gain 1 life with every creature summon and 1 creature with "if you would gain life, gain that much ...
1
vote
1answer
117 views

MTG: march of Multitudes and Early Harvest

If cast March of the Multitudes and use most of my lands to pay the extra X amount can I cast Early Harvest to use the lands again?
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I cast adventures from my graveyard?

Say I have a creature with Adventure in my graveyard, for example Murderous Rider, and something allowing me to cast creatures from my graveyard (for example Liliana, Untouched by Death ). Am I ...
1
vote
1answer
258 views

Is it permissible to intentionally make an illegal move in order to bluff?

Imagine this situation - Alice's board: a tapped Steel Leaf Champion, Giant Growth in hand (which Bob knows about because of an earlier discard spell) Bob's board: Charming Prince, 8 life It'...
3
votes
1answer
134 views

Does Experiment Kraj's passive ability work while he is dead?

Let's say I have Experiment Kraj in my graveyard while I have a Reassembling Skeleton on the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter. Can I pay 1B to return Kraj from the graveyard to the battlefield tapped?
4
votes
4answers
870 views

Is morphing a creature effectively a cost?

I'm teaching some of my friends magic, and morph seems to be a bit of an outlier mechanic. It's one of the few things that a player has a choice to do but 'doesn't use the stack'. It can make it a bit ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Fabled Passage generate two mana with Amulet of Vigor?

Fabled Passage has this text: [T], Sacrifice Fabled Passage: Search your library for a basic land card, put it onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle your library. Then if you control four or ...
5
votes
2answers
689 views

When Vesuvan Shapeshifter copies turn face up replacement effects, why do they work?

Vesuvan Shapeshifter says: As Vesuvan Shapeshifter (...) is turned face up, you may choose another creature on the battlefield. If you do, until Vesuvan Shapeshifter is turned face down, it becomes ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

How does Fae of Wishes / Granted work in a THG limited event?

Fae of Wishes can be cast as the adventure Granted, which has the text: You may choose a noncreature card you own from outside the game, reveal it, and put it into your hand. How does this work ...
1
vote
1answer
203 views

Why don't players draft the week before a new set releases?

I'm a new player, and I enjoy draft -- I went to my local card shop this week and draft didn't happen, though it always has before. The store owner explained it's because a new set is coming out next ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I pay some of the cost of an activated ability lots of times to get more out of the effect?

I have a goblin creature that’s ability states, tap: sacrifice a goblin: Tar Pitcher deals 2 damage to target creature or player. My question: once I tap Tar Pitcher can I sacrifice multiple goblins ...
5
votes
1answer
568 views

Can I still use Profane Memento if I have out Silent Gravestone?

Can I use abilities of Profane Memento if I have out Silent Gravestone ?
2
votes
1answer
139 views

Does Leonin Arbiter affect Karn, The Great Creator from choosing a card outside of the game?

You have Leonin Arbiter with the static effect that players cannot search their libraries unless they pay 2 to ignore it. But Karn, The Great Creator ability for -2 is "You may choose". Does sideboard ...
0
votes
3answers
180 views

MTG — Search for a sorcery — Green — EDH

I am building an EDH/Commander deck and my commander is mono green... I want a card or a combo that allows me to search my library for a sorcery card (or something similar). Do you guys know ...
-1
votes
1answer
445 views

When taking control of a creature, does it gain summoning sickness? [duplicate]

Let's say I have a creature in play that doesn't have summoning sickness anymore. My opponent then takes control of this creature (with for example Control Magic). Will this creature have summoning ...
6
votes
1answer
547 views

Can I target any number of creatures, even if the ability would have no effect?

Aurelia's Fury and other spells like it allow me to choose any number of targets. As written, it implies I can choose more than X targets. Can I, for instance, cast Aurelia's Fury where X = 5 ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I exile my opponent's Progenitus/True-Name Nemesis with Teferi, Hero of Dominaria's emblem?

Teferi, Hero of Dominaria's emblem says: You get an emblem with "Whenever you draw a card, exile target permanent an opponent controls." Progenitus and True-Name Nemesis both have protection from "...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

When Oko turns food into an Elk, is the creature still food?

When Oko, Thief of Crowns turns a Food token into a 3/3 elk, is the resulting creature still Food?
2
votes
3answers
287 views

Ability to cast for overload cost or just cast

Dreadhorde Arcanist allows you to "cast target instant or sorcery card with converted mana cost equal to or less than dreadhorde arcanists power from your graveyard without paying its mana cost" but ...
1
vote
3answers
145 views

Seedborn Muse & Sands of Time on the stack

If an opponent has Seedborn Muse out in play, I cast Sands of Time, then the opponent's turn comes back around. How would the stack resolve between these two cards on their turn? Does Sands of Time ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Does Fires of Invention allow adventure instant and sorceries to be played for free?

How does the new Fires of Invention card from Eldraine work with adventure cards such as Beanstalk Giant? Does it allow the adventure to be played for free and if so does it count the converted ...
3
votes
3answers
250 views

Do I know which card an opponent revealed?

When an opponent reveals a card in their hand, are players supposed to know when that card changes zones? My instinct says no because 400.5. The order of objects in a library, in a graveyard, or ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

When does removing Goblin Warchief affect its cost reduction ability?

If I cast Goblin Warchief, giving my Goblins a cost reduction of 1 mana, and my opponent responds with an instant removal spell, can I play more creatures with the reduced cost? I suspect the answer ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Rayami, First of the Fallen exile itself?

If Rayami, First of the Fallen dies does its ability exile itself? Relevant card text: If a nontoken creature would die, exile that card with a blood counter on it instead.
9
votes
1answer
675 views

Abilities interrupting effects on a cast card

When casting a card with multiple effects (e.g. Fated Infatuation) targeting another card with a triggered ability (e.g. Golos, Tireless Pilgrim) at which point does Golos ETB? Ideally I cast Fated ...
7
votes
2answers
242 views

Does Touch of Moonglove need another “this turn?”

So, this question is pedantic, but still I must ask. Here is the current oracle text for Touch of Moonglove: Target creature you control gets +1/+0 and gains deathtouch until end of turn. ...
9
votes
1answer
337 views

How does the ability on Urza, Lord High Artificer interact with Treasure Nabber?

Does Treasure Nabber grab artifacts tapped with Urza, Lord High Artificer?
4
votes
2answers
171 views

Can non-rule-specified items be used to mark information that is shared but closed?

There are several questions on BCG Stack Exchange that ask about information which was previously common but "vanishes", even though it can be deduced from other common information. For example, ...
6
votes
3answers
589 views

How do two copies of Irencrag Feat interact?

The recently released preview card for ELD, Irencrag Feat reads: Add seven {R}. You can only cast one more spell this turn. Would this wording allow me to play another Irencrag Feat, which would ...