The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
14
votes
1answer
200 views

Soul Sculptor and creatures with cast triggers

Suppose Soul Sculptor has turned a Ramos, Dragon Engine into an enchantment, and the Ramos player casts a (colored) creature spell. Will they get the +1/+1 counters for it? More generally, if Soul ...
13
votes
4answers
3k views

Why do cards use the “(ability) / Other creatures you control have (ability)” wording?

The card Bellowing Tanglewurm has the following two clauses... Intimidate Other green creatures you control have intimidate ...and Felhide Petrifier has these two clauses... Deathtouch ...
13
votes
4answers
4k views

What happens if a creature has no toughness defined?

Dominaria introduced Merfolk Trickster, which causes a creature to lose all abilities, without setting a power and toughness. What happens if a card such as Tarmogoyf loses all abilities? Would ...
13
votes
3answers
1k views

Question about targeting a Hexproof creature

I was at an official tournament held by Star City Games. It was a draft. My opponent had a Geist of Saint Traft. Having become a little frustrated with it, I had a momentary lapse in memory and I ...
13
votes
3answers
26k views

Destroying a Planewalker before its ability is used

Say my opponent plays a planeswalker during their first main phase. I have a Hero's Downfall or some other effect that will kill it after it is already in play, but before they use any of its ...
13
votes
14answers
47k views

What is an efficient way to organize my magic collection?

Currently, I have a rare binder with all of my rares, and the rest of my cards are broken into several boxes by color, gold/multi color, and land. The problem with this methodology is that if I have ...
13
votes
3answers
3k views

Interaction between Leyline of Anticipation and Teferi, Time Raveler

With the reprint of LeyLine of Anticipation in Core Set 2020, the interaction with Teferi, Time Raveler came to mind and I couldn't figure out what is right. If I have the Leyline and my opponent has ...
13
votes
2answers
4k views

Can you tap your Mox Amber for colorless mana with only a colorless legendary in play?

If I have one of the Karn planeswalkers in play as my only legendary permanent can I then tap my Mox Amber for a colourless mana?
13
votes
4answers
6k views

In Magic, is the player going first advantaged?

It seems to me that the player going first has a considerable advantage in the game. How does the game balance that out for the player going second? I'm new to the game, there might be something I'm ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

Would Pillar of Flames get rid of a Blightsteel Colossus?

Blightsteel Colossus is indestructible. The rules for indestructable says: 700.4. If a permanent is indestructible, rules and effects can’t destroy it. (See rule 701.6, “Destroy.”) Such permanents ...
13
votes
4answers
59k views

If I lose control of an equipped creature, does the equipment stay attached to it?

If I have an equipped creature and my opponent Mind Controls it, does my equipment remain attached to it? Can I re-equip that equipment to one of my creatures on my turn? I assume since I control the ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Does Deflecting Palm cause Furnace of Rath to activate twice?

My opponent is at 12 life. There is a Furnace of Rath in play. He casts Lightning Bolt to my face and I play Deflecting Palm in response, aiming it back at his face. Does my opponent take 12 damage ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

How do you handle fast players in a casual setting that skip priority?

This really isn't a problem in a tournament setting, because players are expected to know the rules, and will usually ask their opponent if they wish to take any actions before allowing a spell to ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

Are creatures destroyed if their destruction happens at the same instant they lose “indestructible”?

Scenario: I play Timber Protector which makes all other Treefolk indestructible (I only have Treefolk in play). My opponent plays a Day of Judgment. Does this only destroy the not-...
13
votes
6answers
3k views

Pros and Cons of running a deck with no 1-mana spells?

Sometimes I've noticed myself building decks that have no spells that cost 0 or 1 mana, and instead have extra spells that cost 2 mana to make sure I don't get crushed in the early game. 1-drops only ...
13
votes
3answers
7k views

What happens when I copy Precursor Golem with Rite of Replication?

I came across this issue with my friend a while ago and came up with many possible answers: How many golems will you get if you copy Precursor Golem with a kicked Rite of Replication?
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Why do cards like Isochron Scepter have more than one “may” clause?

Isochron Scepter reads, in part, You may copy the exiled card. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost. There are a number of other cards that give you the option of copying ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

How do I handle casting a spell with a cost of X when the casting cost is reduced?

If I play a spell with {X} in the mana cost, and I have a card out that reduces the casting cost by 2 generic mana, what happens to the X? Does it start at -2? For example: I have Arcane Melee in ...
13
votes
1answer
40k views

Can I tap a creature with summoning sickness to pay “tap an untapped creature you control” costs? [duplicate]

I have a Chosen of Markov on the battlefield and I played a vampire earlier this turn. Can I tap both to transform Chosen of Markov even though I just played the vampire? Extra Example: I play Battle ...
13
votes
1answer
587 views

Expansion//Explosion and Siren Stormtamer

I've had this situation come up several times in Magic Arena. I cast the Explosion half of Expansion // Explosion targeting my opponent's Siren Stormtamer. Opponent sacrifices the targeted Siren ...
13
votes
2answers
985 views

Angel of Condemnation - Exile creature with second ability

I was looking at Angel of Condemnation's second ability and couldn't figure out what would happen if you exiled a creature an opponent controls but is owned by you? The first ability explicitly ...
13
votes
4answers
2k views

Is there a term for: “Doesn't untap during next untap step”?

There are a lot of cards that have the effect Target permanent does not untap during next untap step For example:Kashi-Tribe Elite and Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger. Is there a term for this? ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

How do cards with multiple Xs in their mana cost work with cards that reduce their costs?

For example, if I have Astral Cornucopia in play along with Jhoira's Familiar, what happens? Can I cast it for X = 1 without paying any mana? I know that there is a question here regarding to X ...
13
votes
4answers
3k views

What can I do about uncounterable spells?

I cast Fling, sacrificing my only creature to kill my opponent. My opponent responds with Last Word, which will win the game the other way. Last Word says "This spell can't be countered." What else ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Can the card disintegrate destroy creatures with indestructible?

I was playing magic the gathering with my friend, and I was using the card Zetalpa, Primal Dawn, which has indestructible. He wanted to play the card Disintegrate on the Zetalpa to destroy it, but we ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Can Trait Doctoring be used to change words like “nonblack”?

Trait Doctoring reads: Change the text of target permanent by replacing all instances of one color word with another or one basic land type with another until end of turn. Doom Blade, for ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

How does Underrealm Lich interact with Sylvan Library during your draw step?

In the new Guilds of Ravnica set Underrealm Lich is a creature that changes how you draw cards. If you would draw a card, instead look at the top three cards of your library, then put one into your ...
13
votes
1answer
4k views

Deathtouch vs an indestructible creature, which then loses indestructible

I think I know how this works, but would like to confirm. Suppose my Hill Giant is equipped with Darksteel Plate, and then is dealt damage by a Deadly Recluse. That's one point of deathtouch damage. ...
13
votes
1answer
15k views

Do Pack Rat copies give devotion?

If I make a copy of Pack Rat using its ability, does that copy retain the mana cost, and thus increase my devotion to black by one? ie. I have nothing on the battlefield but one Pack Rat and some ...
13
votes
3answers
14k views

How long can I wait before choosing to counter a spell?

Today, I was playing a duel, and my friend played a Wall of Reverence, which he then ended up enchanting with an Ethereal Armor. Between those two actions he asked me if I would counter it, to which I ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Why were the rules for Proliferate changed?

With the release of War of the Spark, the rules for Proliferate changed. Previously, they allowed you to add 1 counter to the chosen permanents and players, of a type it already had. Now, it adds an ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I kill an opponent in response to lethal activated abilities, and not take the damage?

Here's the situation. Life totals: Not relevant Player 1: Activates Borborygmos Enraged (Discard a land card: Deal 3 damage to any target) enough times for lethal, aims damage at Player 2. Passes ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Why do double-faced planeswalkers from Origins get exiled before being transformed?

In Magic the Gathering Origins set, there is a cycle of 5 creatures, each that are double-sided and have a planeswalker on the back side. Previously when double-sided cards were used, the cards had a ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Do I draw a card if I enchant an opponent's Eidolon of Blossoms with Hypnotic Siren?

The situation is just as stated in the title: my opponent controls Eidolon of Blossoms: Whenever Eidolon of Blossoms or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, draw a card. ...
13
votes
2answers
48k views

Where can I get custom Magic: the Gathering cards printed?

I have made up some custom MtG cards, and I am trying to get physical copies made (to mess with my friends, and for casual use). Does anyone know where I can get them made? Disclamer: These cards ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

If my opponent Confiscates my permanent and I can cast my own Confiscate, should I target my permanent or their Confiscate?

There exist a number of auras that allow a player to take control of a permanent on the board. The earliest of these to my knowledge is Confiscate, but my question applies to any of these effects ...
13
votes
1answer
451 views

Two Experiment Kraj are on the battlefield, what are their abilities?

Through the use of e.g. Sakashima the Impostor, Mirror Gallery, or Helm of the Host, there are two Experiment Kraj on the battlefield, each with a +1/+1 counter on it. How many additional copies of ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Dimir Keyrune receive a Cipher, and does the encoded spell stay?

Here's the scenario (I hope I get this right by the rules): last turn, I summoned my Dimir Keyrune onto the battlefield. This turn, if I transform it into that "2/2 blue and black Horror artifact ...
13
votes
2answers
7k views

Are copied spells cast from the graveyard?

If you copy Increasing Confusion or any other "cast from the graveyard" spell with Increasing Vengeance, does the copy act like it was cast from the graveyard? Or, since the copy technically was not ...
13
votes
1answer
650 views

What is wrong with Escaped Shapeshifter's original wording?

Escaped Shapeshifter has an interesting functional erratum. The oracle text reads: As long as an opponent controls a creature with flying not named Escaped Shapeshifter, Escaped Shapeshifter has ...
13
votes
3answers
867 views

When casting a spell, how can a mana ability be paid with another mana ability?

A situation was presented with Skyshroud Elf and Ashnod's Altar: apparently, you could generate WW or RR by: Activate the Elf's filter ability ({1}: Add {R} or {W}) Activate the Elf's filter ability ...
13
votes
1answer
4k views

Can I flicker Aurelia to get more than two attack phases?

Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase. If I attack with Aurelia once, then ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

In what order are replacement effects chosen with respect to damage prevention?

How are replacement effects handled in multiplayer? Here's a concrete example. Player A, B, and C are seated around the table. It is Player A's turn. Player A has a Furnace Of Rath (double all damage)...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

If Progenitus “dies” to the command zone, can I shuffle my deck?

This is related to another question about using Progenitus as a Commander, but focuses on a more specific interaction. In the Commander format, there is a rule that lets a Commander go to the command ...
13
votes
2answers
6k views

Can I pump my blocker after the attacker has chosen their order, before damage assignment?

The answer to this question about blockers and summoning sickness, reminded me of a seldom treaded area of the combat phase, which has caused confusion in a number of games. When blockers are ...
13
votes
2answers
410 views

Becoming better at sideboarding

One of the keys to tournament performance in Magic is proper sideboarding. This seems to be a point of failure with many Magic players that want to move up from casual play and compete in tournaments ...
13
votes
3answers
12k views

How can I mana ramp in a Commander game without helping my opponents?

I'm working on a Commander deck and I'm looking at ways to ramp my mana that won't aid my opponents. I may eventually use all the listed ramp cards, but, I'd like to keep the restriction for the ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

does gaining control of an aura gaining control of a permanent give me the permanent?

If my opponent steals a creature from me with Control Magic, I could steal it back by casting another Control Magic on it and (I think due to timing?) I would control the creature. If instead I cast ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Can Thraben Heretic be used on creatures with undying?

Thraben Heretic says: {T}: Exile target creature card from a graveyard. Undying says: Undying (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under ...
13
votes
3answers
477 views

What do I do if mandatory actions will inherently take a very long time to resolve? (Splinter Twin + Tyrant of Discord example)

Basically, if a game is already out of time, and we're within the resolution of a stack, yet the resolution will take an obnoxiously long time, what would the ruling be in a competitive environment ...