Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
13
votes
2answers
3k views

Is there a specified order for abilities on cards, specifically creatures?

I was reviewing the a spreadsheet I created of the RTR spoiler to prepare my strategy for this coming weekend. In doing so, I noticed that here and on previous sets if a creature has flying, it is ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Why do double-faced planeswalkers from Origins get exiled before being transformed?

In Magic the Gathering Origins set, there is a cycle of 5 creatures, each that are double-sided and have a planeswalker on the back side. Previously when double-sided cards were used, the cards had a ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Do I draw a card if I enchant an opponent's Eidolon of Blossoms with Hypnotic Siren?

The situation is just as stated in the title: my opponent controls Eidolon of Blossoms: Whenever Eidolon of Blossoms or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, draw a card. ...
13
votes
2answers
51k views

Where can I get custom Magic: the Gathering cards printed?

I have made up some custom MtG cards, and I am trying to get physical copies made (to mess with my friends, and for casual use). Does anyone know where I can get them made? Disclamer: These cards ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

If my opponent Confiscates my permanent and I can cast my own Confiscate, should I target my permanent or their Confiscate?

There exist a number of auras that allow a player to take control of a permanent on the board. The earliest of these to my knowledge is Confiscate, but my question applies to any of these effects ...
13
votes
1answer
458 views

Two Experiment Kraj are on the battlefield, what are their abilities?

Through the use of e.g. Sakashima the Impostor, Mirror Gallery, or Helm of the Host, there are two Experiment Kraj on the battlefield, each with a +1/+1 counter on it. How many additional copies of ...
13
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a Dimir Keyrune receive a Cipher, and does the encoded spell stay?

Here's the scenario (I hope I get this right by the rules): last turn, I summoned my Dimir Keyrune onto the battlefield. This turn, if I transform it into that "2/2 blue and black Horror artifact ...
13
votes
2answers
8k views

Are copied spells cast from the graveyard?

If you copy Increasing Confusion or any other "cast from the graveyard" spell with Increasing Vengeance, does the copy act like it was cast from the graveyard? Or, since the copy technically was not ...
13
votes
1answer
682 views

What is wrong with Escaped Shapeshifter's original wording?

Escaped Shapeshifter has an interesting functional erratum. The oracle text reads: As long as an opponent controls a creature with flying not named Escaped Shapeshifter, Escaped Shapeshifter has ...
13
votes
3answers
941 views

When casting a spell, how can a mana ability be paid with another mana ability?

A situation was presented with Skyshroud Elf and Ashnod's Altar: apparently, you could generate WW or RR by: Activate the Elf's filter ability ({1}: Add {R} or {W}) Activate the Elf's filter ability ...
13
votes
1answer
4k views

Can I flicker Aurelia to get more than two attack phases?

Whenever Aurelia, the Warleader attacks for the first time each turn, untap all creatures you control. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase. If I attack with Aurelia once, then ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

In what order are replacement effects chosen with respect to damage prevention?

How are replacement effects handled in multiplayer? Here's a concrete example. Player A, B, and C are seated around the table. It is Player A's turn. Player A has a Furnace Of Rath (double all damage)...
13
votes
2answers
6k views

Can I pump my blocker after the attacker has chosen their order, before damage assignment?

The answer to this question about blockers and summoning sickness, reminded me of a seldom treaded area of the combat phase, which has caused confusion in a number of games. When blockers are ...
13
votes
2answers
414 views

Becoming better at sideboarding

One of the keys to tournament performance in Magic is proper sideboarding. This seems to be a point of failure with many Magic players that want to move up from casual play and compete in tournaments ...
13
votes
3answers
12k views

How can I mana ramp in a Commander game without helping my opponents?

I'm working on a Commander deck and I'm looking at ways to ramp my mana that won't aid my opponents. I may eventually use all the listed ramp cards, but, I'd like to keep the restriction for the ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

If Progenitus “dies” to the command zone, can I shuffle my deck?

This is related to another question about using Progenitus as a Commander, but focuses on a more specific interaction. In the Commander format, there is a rule that lets a Commander go to the command ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

does gaining control of an aura gaining control of a permanent give me the permanent?

If my opponent steals a creature from me with Control Magic, I could steal it back by casting another Control Magic on it and (I think due to timing?) I would control the creature. If instead I cast ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Can Thraben Heretic be used on creatures with undying?

Thraben Heretic says: {T}: Exile target creature card from a graveyard. Undying says: Undying (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under ...
13
votes
2answers
15k views

What caused “Liliana of the Veil” to double its price during a single week?

When Innistrad came out in the beginning of September 2011, the most expensive card was "Liliana of the Veil", selling for a little over $25. This card kept this price for almost a month. On ...
13
votes
3answers
490 views

What do I do if mandatory actions will inherently take a very long time to resolve? (Splinter Twin + Tyrant of Discord example)

Basically, if a game is already out of time, and we're within the resolution of a stack, yet the resolution will take an obnoxiously long time, what would the ruling be in a competitive environment ...
13
votes
2answers
30k views

What are the differences between combat damage, direct damage, and loss of life?

From reading the rules it would appear there are two kinds of damage and then straight loss of life: 118.3 If an effect causes a player to gain or lose life, that player's life total is adjusted ...
13
votes
1answer
670 views

Can Sakashima change its name to Lazav?

Sakashima the Impostor has the following text (and more, but this is the relevant part): You may have Sakashima, the Impostor enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, ...
13
votes
1answer
849 views

Can I make decisions while searching my library based on what order it is in?

Let's say I have 3 Millikin and 4 Selvala, Explorer Returned on the battlefield (via Mirror Gallery), and a Panglacial Wurm in my library. I start searching my library, without shuffling. (because of ...
13
votes
1answer
709 views

When two card texts confict, which takes priority?

Let's suppose there are creatures in play and someone plays Humility. It's clear that all the creatures lose their abilities. How is this situation changed if True Conviction were in play? Is the ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

Is “this way” defined in the rules?

I was looking at Etali, Primal Storm, and one of the rulings listed surprised me; the card didn't work the way I thought it would based on the wording. The ability: Whenever Etali, Primal Storm ...
13
votes
3answers
825 views

Why do effects that exile a card from the graveyard use the characteristics the card had in the graveyard?

Dread Defiler has the ability {3}{C}, Exile a creature card from your graveyard: Target opponent loses life equal to the exiled card's power. with the ruling Use the card’s power as it last ...
12
votes
5answers
19k views

What is the most effective creature that can be resurrected from the graveyard in MTG?

I am currently designing a legacy deck around the new graveyard focused cards from Innistrad. My goal is to get cards in my own graveyard quickly and utilize those as best as I can. Innistrad offers a ...
12
votes
5answers
7k views

Is there a card that lets you put a card from outside of the game into play?

I played a commander game a while ago where one of my 5 opponents cast a card that let him grab a card that was outside of the game (not even in exile) and put it either in his hand or on the ...
12
votes
3answers
4k views

Use Mana twice for the same spell by untapping?

If your commander has an ability to untap card and you use it for untapping Mana, can you use it to pay for 6 Mana while there is only five in your pool.it was Estrid, the Masked untapping an ...
12
votes
5answers
5k views

Is it impossible to pay off-color mana costs in EDH?

In Commander, there is a rule that states: During the game, if mana would be added to your mana pool that isn't a color in your commander's color identity, that much colorless mana is added to ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Countering an uncounterable spell, triggers, and state-based actions

So I just played a game in Arena where my opponent was at 4 life, I had 1 card left in my deck (after drawing my card for the turn), and they had two copies of Drowned Secrets on the battlefield. I ...
12
votes
4answers
3k views

Can I use two different cards with the same name in Commander?

I have two cards with the same name but different art and the card descriptions on the bottom. The card in question is Forsaken Sanctuary. It's a white/black land and I'm not sure if I can use both of ...
12
votes
2answers
23k views

Is there a limit to the number of special lands I can put in my deck, like the Temples?

I'm constructing a Deck and I want to make all the mana Temple Cards. More Specifically I want them to be Temple of Silence, Temple of Plenty, and Temple of Malady. Are these mana cards limited to ...
12
votes
4answers
1k views

When can opponents react to the lifegain from the mana ability of Pristine Talisman?

I have a Pristine Talisman on the board, alongside a Well of Lost Dreams. I activate the Talisman to add 1 mana and gain 1 life. Gatherer says 01.06.2011 Pristine Talisman has a mana ability. ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Do Goblin tokens count as Goblins?

I have a typically mono red Goblins deck. My question, are tokens considered Goblins too? For example, I have 10 1/1 Goblin tokens put onto the battlefield by Krenko, Mob Boss. Can I use those ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Can Dive Down protect a creature against Pacifism?

If my opponent casts Pacifism on my creature and in response I cast Dive Down, what happens?
12
votes
10answers
28k views

What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?

Many spells or abilities cause one or more creatures to join the battlefield (i.e. 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens, 3/3 green Beast creature tokens, etc.). These token cards are not included with ...
12
votes
2answers
10k views

Can a creature with 0 power attack?

If I have a creature with 0 power, can I still attack with it? I am asking in regards to Silent Skimmer but also in general.
12
votes
4answers
5k views

When should I play my land for my turn?

Does it really matter when I play my land for my turn? Some people get extremely annoyed/agitated when I play a land before spells and I don't actually need the land right away for casting my spells. ...
12
votes
3answers
26k views

How does one defeat an enemy's True-Name Nemesis?

In Magic the Gathering, there is a card called True-Name Nemesis. This card, when entering the battlefield, allows the caster to select an opponent. Once selected, True-Name Nemesis gets protection ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a well-timed Twisted Image kill a player using Tree of Redemption?

What happens if my opponent activates Tree of Redemption and I cast Twisted Image with the life-exchange ability on the stack? Looking at the comp rules, these seem most relevant: 701.8a A spell ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Why does Renegade Freighter not just have trample?

The artifact vehicle Renegade Freighter has the ability Whenever Renegade Freighter attacks, it gets +1/+1 and gains trample until end of turn. Given that trample is only generally relevant when ...
12
votes
3answers
10k views

How do Isochron Scepter and the Fuse mechanic interact?

The split cards in the expansion set Dragon's Maze contain a new mechanic "Fuse". This mechanic allows you to cast both sides of the spell, a new option for cards of this type. Isochron Scepter ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Evolution Sage proliferate Blast Zone when played?

When Evolution Sage is in play, it proliferates my board every time a land is dropped. When I drop Blast Zone, it enters with 1 counter on it and then triggers the Sage. So after that the Blast Zone ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Identical creatures entering the battlefield [duplicate]

If I have two cards called Sin Collector in hand and I play my first, Sin Collector (A). I use its triggered ability. "When Sin Collector enters the battlefield, target opponent reveals his or her ...
12
votes
1answer
39k views

If a sorcery card gives -X/-X to a 1/1 creature till end of turn does the creature die?

I use Urge to Feed (-3/-3 until end of turn) against a 1/1 creature, does that creature die? If I use Zealous Persecution in a multiple player game, would it destroy all 1/1 creatures on the ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

Would “destroying” Wurmcoil Engine prevent its tokens from being created?

I attacked with Wurmcoil Engine and my friend blocked with Stinkweed Imp which has the ability "Whenever Stinkweed Imp deals combat damage to a creature, destroy that creature." My friend argues that ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

If the only attacker is removed from combat, is a creature still counted as having attacked this turn?

I'm querying an effect which specifically removes creatures from combat altogether such as Reconnaissance or Spires of Orazca. If the only attacking creature is removed from combat by an effect like ...
12
votes
2answers
22k views

Does a creature that has both double strike and first strike deal damage three times or only twice?

In the new Dark Ascension expansion, the card Markov Blademaster has double strike. Stormkirk Captain gives all other Vampires first strike and +1/+1. This means that the Blademaster has double and ...
12
votes
2answers
28k views

Does untapping an attacker stop its attack?

If someone declares an attacker and that creature does not have vigilance, if I untap that creature, for example with Burst of Energy, does it stop the creature from attacking?

1 4 5 6 7 8 82