Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Can Dive Down protect a creature against Pacifism?

If my opponent casts Pacifism on my creature and in response I cast Dive Down, what happens?
12
votes
10answers
29k views

What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?

Many spells or abilities cause one or more creatures to join the battlefield (i.e. 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens, 3/3 green Beast creature tokens, etc.). These token cards are not included with ...
12
votes
2answers
10k views

Can a creature with 0 power attack?

If I have a creature with 0 power, can I still attack with it? I am asking in regards to Silent Skimmer but also in general.
12
votes
4answers
5k views

When should I play my land for my turn?

Does it really matter when I play my land for my turn? Some people get extremely annoyed/agitated when I play a land before spells and I don't actually need the land right away for casting my spells. ...
12
votes
3answers
27k views

How does one defeat an enemy's True-Name Nemesis?

In Magic the Gathering, there is a card called True-Name Nemesis. This card, when entering the battlefield, allows the caster to select an opponent. Once selected, True-Name Nemesis gets protection ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Can a well-timed Twisted Image kill a player using Tree of Redemption?

What happens if my opponent activates Tree of Redemption and I cast Twisted Image with the life-exchange ability on the stack? Looking at the comp rules, these seem most relevant: 701.8a A spell ...
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Why does Renegade Freighter not just have trample?

The artifact vehicle Renegade Freighter has the ability Whenever Renegade Freighter attacks, it gets +1/+1 and gains trample until end of turn. Given that trample is only generally relevant when ...
12
votes
3answers
10k views

How do Isochron Scepter and the Fuse mechanic interact?

The split cards in the expansion set Dragon's Maze contain a new mechanic "Fuse". This mechanic allows you to cast both sides of the spell, a new option for cards of this type. Isochron Scepter ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Does Evolution Sage proliferate Blast Zone when played?

When Evolution Sage is in play, it proliferates my board every time a land is dropped. When I drop Blast Zone, it enters with 1 counter on it and then triggers the Sage. So after that the Blast Zone ...
12
votes
2answers
22k views

Does a creature that has both double strike and first strike deal damage three times or only twice?

In the new Dark Ascension expansion, the card Markov Blademaster has double strike. Stormkirk Captain gives all other Vampires first strike and +1/+1. This means that the Blademaster has double and ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Identical creatures entering the battlefield [duplicate]

If I have two cards called Sin Collector in hand and I play my first, Sin Collector (A). I use its triggered ability. "When Sin Collector enters the battlefield, target opponent reveals his or her ...
12
votes
1answer
40k views

If a sorcery card gives -X/-X to a 1/1 creature till end of turn does the creature die?

I use Urge to Feed (-3/-3 until end of turn) against a 1/1 creature, does that creature die? If I use Zealous Persecution in a multiple player game, would it destroy all 1/1 creatures on the ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

Would “destroying” Wurmcoil Engine prevent its tokens from being created?

I attacked with Wurmcoil Engine and my friend blocked with Stinkweed Imp which has the ability "Whenever Stinkweed Imp deals combat damage to a creature, destroy that creature." My friend argues that ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

If the only attacker is removed from combat, is a creature still counted as having attacked this turn?

I'm querying an effect which specifically removes creatures from combat altogether such as Reconnaissance or Spires of Orazca. If the only attacking creature is removed from combat by an effect like ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

What are those magic symbols?

Having found a nice vector graphics for magic symbols, I wonder what the symbols on the second-to-last row are: I recognize tap, untap, infinite and half, and the last one as the earlier white, but ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

How many scry ones equal infinite scry 1 shortcut?

Can infinite scry 1 be shortcut by searching through your deck? It appears that with a scry 1 ability and some infinite repeat mechanism, one can cut to the card one desires, keeping the deck in ...
12
votes
1answer
22k views

Does trample damage hurt players even if the creature dies?

I'm playing myself with two Avacyn Restored decks from a 6-booster sealed prerelease tournament, and wonder whether a 6/4 creature with trample blocked by a 4/1 creature would still allow damage ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

Can an opponent make me discard a Miracle card before I cast it, after it is revealed?

For example, if my hand is empty and I draw and reveal Temporal Mastery, can an opponent cast Funeral Charm and make me discard it before I have a chance to cast it for its Miracle Cost?
12
votes
3answers
40k views

How does trample interact with damage prevention effects and indestructible blockers?

Say I have a 4/4 creature with trample. I attack, and my opponent blocks with a... 0/1 creature that is indestructible: Does my 4/4 trampler's extra 3 damage carry over even though the blocking ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

What is the reason for cards stating “Until end of turn, you don't lose this mana as steps and phases end”?

There are creature cards that allow for adding extra mana during a turn, such as Savage Ventmaw and Grand Warlord Radha. They state, respectively: Whenever Savage Ventmaw attacks, add {R}{R}{R}{G}{...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens if both players misunderstand the game state until it's too late?

Let's take two players, Alice and Bob. Alice has a Tarmogoyf. She asks Bob what card types are in his graveyard. Bob fans out his graveyard, they do the math, and conclude Alice's Tarmogoyf is 5/6. ...
12
votes
2answers
14k views

How do two Notion Thieves interact with each other?

Notion Thief's text reads: If an opponent would draw a card except the first one he or she draws in each of his or her draw steps, instead that player skips that draw and you draw a card. When ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

When is Darksteel Juggernaut's power and toughness determined? Can they change?

The relevant part of Darksteel Juggernaut's rules text states: Darksteel Juggernaut's power and toughness are each equal to the number of artifacts you control. When is Darksteel Juggernaut's ...
12
votes
4answers
887 views

Is there any way to get an instant or sorcery on the field as a permanent? What would happen if this occurred?

Is there any process or series of plays/cards that would allow an instant to be put onto the battlefield as a permanent, instead of resolving? Would it resolve anyway, even if not cast? Not including ...
12
votes
2answers
3k views

If I can't win, but can stop my opponent from winning, is the game drawn? [duplicate]

Here's an article published on Hipsters of the Coast about a 107-minute MTG Arena game. The core idea is, one player was playing a deck that had no win condition except 4 Teferi, Hero of Dominaria. ...
12
votes
2answers
7k views

Can Conjurer's Closet be used to keep a stolen Commander?

We had this situation come up in a game last night, and we think we stumbled upon the right answer, but we're not sure. So, Player A's Commander (Sliver Overlord) was stolen by Player B using a ...
12
votes
1answer
4k views

Karn, the Great Creator - what defines a 'card from outside the game' in sealed?

In the upcoming set 'War of the Spark' there is the Planeswalker Karn, the Great Creator. His -2 ability reads as: -2: You may choose an artifact card you own from outside the game or in exile, ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I mill my opponent into defeat with Mindcrank and Duskmantle Guildmage?

Okay the scenario I'm thinking of is as follows: I control a Mindcrank, Duskmantle Guildmage and 3 untapped lands (2 swamps, 1 Island to be perdantic). In my opponents turn he casts a burn spell to ...
12
votes
1answer
551 views

Clarification of creature's subtype for card effects

The wife and I are new players to this particular card game, though not card games in general. We have only dueled twice with MtG so far. We had something come up we were curious about. She used the ...
12
votes
2answers
6k views

Are there any cards that turn creatures into land?

There are dozens of cards that turn land into creatures, but are there any cards that turn creatures into land ?
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I counter a land-creature?

Say my opponent plays Dryad Arbor. Can I counter it with a Cancel from my hand? I know that lands can't be countered because they don't go on the stack, but what about land-creatures?
12
votes
2answers
988 views

“You may cast” and timing rules

Some effects that say “you may cast” let you ignore timing rules. For example, Descendants' Path lets you cast creature spells during your upkeep. It doesn’t explicitly say that you can ignore timing ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Is the number of cards in my opponent's library public knowledge in Magic: The Gathering?

The number of cards in players' hands is public knowledge, as is the number of exiled cards and cards in anyone's graveyard. But is the number of cards in your library public knowledge at all times as ...
12
votes
3answers
2k views

What is a quick way to test or simulate card strategies for deck building games?

Dominion is the specific example I would like to play with but this certainly applies to any game that involves decks of cards being shuffled and drawn. I often see references to various simulations ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Mutate count as an alternative cost?

I have Jodah, Archmage Eternal on the battlefield: You may pay {W}{U}{B}{R}{G} rather than pay the mana cost for spells that you cast. I want to Mutate Nethroi, Apex of Death onto, let's say, a ...
12
votes
1answer
13k views

How do Companion cards from Ikoria work in Commander?

Today the Ikoria previews revealed a new mechanic: companion. From Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths Mechanics, you can choose up to one companion card in your sideboard (or in your collection outside the ...
12
votes
1answer
923 views

How can I reorder triggered abilities in Arena?

Suppose I have Goreclaw, Terror of Qal Sisma and Bishop of Binding in play. When my creatures attack, I want the Bishop's ability to resolve first (targetting himself), so that he's big enough to get ...
12
votes
1answer
7k views

What happens when I equip Helm of the Host on Gideon?

Say I activate Gideon of the Trials' second ability, and have him become a creature. I then equip him with a Helm of the Host and enter combat. What do I get? Do I get a 4/4 indestructible token, ...
12
votes
4answers
3k views

What are effective strategies for playing control against aggro-control?

In Magic, there's a style of deck known as "aggro-control", which plays a mixture of cheap threats and disruption (especially counterspells). Against a pure control deck, aggro-control seeks to set up ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a player sacrifice a creature after declaring that creature as blocker while taking lethal damage?

I'm asking specifically about the lovely Magus of the Balance if that'll help. So for example, If I were to attack with a theoretical 20/20 Savageborn Hydra, and then my opponent declares block with ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Blood Moon and Arixmethes

Spoilers for Commander 2018 have begun, and one card in particular has caught my attention: This card is like no other I know. What may be truly interesting is how it interacts with the enchantment ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I give a creature First Strike in order to prevent it dealing any damage that combat?

This is getting into some nitpicky corners of the rulebook. First Strike damage and normal combat damage are dealt at separate times, and I believe there is a chance between the two resolving to play ...
12
votes
1answer
45k views

When is “end of turn” in Magic?

I've been casually playing Magic with a friend, about twice a month, for the last 3 months, and the phrase "until end of turn" has always puzzled me, particularly on effects that give +1/+1 (for ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

In MTG, what happens when Sakashima the Imposter copies Halcyon Glaze?

If I cast Sakashima the Imposter, copying Halcyon Glaze, what happens? My guess is that Sakashima becomes a 4/4 Enchantment Creature - Illusion until the end of the turn (that's the current state of ...
12
votes
1answer
41k views

Can you play older versions of cards in standard?

Say, for example, you have a card that is still legal in standard but the version you have of it comes from a set that has since been rotated out. Can you still play the version from your older set?
12
votes
1answer
1k views

“Creature does not untap” on Mutavault

I have a Mutavault on the battlefield, which has been animated so it is temporarily a 2/2 creature. My opponent has a Shipbreaker Kraken, which has the following monstrous ability: When Shipbreaker ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

If there are two Lighthouse Chronologist with three players, will one player be pereptually skipped?

If you would play a game with 3 people (let's call them A, B, and C) and A and B have a Lighthouse chronologist, will this make A get a turn after B, and make B get a turn after A without C getting a ...
12
votes
1answer
997 views

Can you use one creature for both convoke and delve for Hogaak?

Hogaak, Arisen Necropolis has both Convoke and Delve, meaning that its cost can be paid for by tapping creatures, and by exiling cards from your graveyard. Can I tap a creature for convoke, sacrifice ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

What exactly “triggers an additional time” in the interaction between Afterlife and Teysa Karlov?

I'm pretty new to MTG and just have built my first commander deck around Teysa Karlov. One of her passive abilities is: If a creature dying causes a triggered ability of a permanent you control to ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Is Haphazard Bombardment legal with fewer than 4 nonenchantment permanents under my opponent's control?

Haphazard Bombardment is worded slightly, so I assume intentionally, different from cards I can find that seem similar. Particularly in that it doesn't target the chosen cards. Granted this is ...

1
5 6
7
8 9
85