Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
2answers
872 views

Does Diffusion Sliver protect from boardwipe spells and sacrifice spells? [duplicate]

If I have a Diffusion Sliver out, are my Slivers protected from Wrath of God? What about Chainer's Edict?
1
vote
2answers
549 views

Magic The Gathering: Where To Begin

I've played TCGs before, most notably Yu-Gi-Oh and Hearthstone (aka Magic Lite), and now I'm looking to get into MTG with a few friends that already started. In the past I've always preferred ...
1
vote
1answer
313 views

MTG Does “Emerging” cause summoning sickness? [duplicate]

If I emerge a card like Mockery of Nature, does it get summoning sickness?
1
vote
1answer
136 views

How can I make a creature a Horror?

I was wondering whether there is a card that can make a creature a horror in addition to its other types. The card type does not matter. Is there a card like this?
1
vote
1answer
288 views

Can I run Loyal Cathar in my green-white Commander deck? [duplicate]

I'm running a green white Commander deck and wanted to know if I could.
1
vote
3answers
197 views

Can Astral Slide plus Viridian Shamen kill Glimmervoid living off of Blinkmoth Nexus?

I'm slightly uncertain about the finer points of the rules and how they might play out in a match-up between the 2004 world championship decks of Julien Nuijten (slide) and Aeo Paquette (affinity). ...
1
vote
1answer
337 views

Can I stack Miracle and other “at the beginning of of your draw step” triggers however I want?

I control Howling Mine. At the beginning of my draw step, I draw Temporal Mastery. Can I stack the Miracle trigger and then the Howling Mine trigger, such that I draw my second card before the Miracle ...
1
vote
1answer
690 views

Multiplayer Rules Considering Enchantments

Rule 810.5 about the Two-Headed Giant game variant says: 810.5. With the exception of life total and poison counters, a team’s resources (cards in hand, mana, and so on) are not shared in the ...
1
vote
1answer
761 views

Can you choose how to sacrifice a creature if you are forced to? [duplicate]

If an opponent, or anything else, makes me sacrifice a creature, and I have a Blood Host or something similar, can I choose to sacrifice the creature with the Blood Host?
1
vote
1answer
365 views

Do the draw abilities of Kor Spiritdancer and Mesa Enchantress stack? [duplicate]

Suppose I have both Kor Spiritdancer and Mesa Enchantress under my control. They have two similar abilities: Kor Spiritdancer: Whenever you cast an Aura spell, you may draw a card. Mesa ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Does 'Other creatures you control have intimidate' affect new creatures brought out?

Bellowing Tanglewurm and Dwynen, Gilt-Leaf Daen have abilities like Other green creatures you control [...] and Other Elf creatures you control [...] Do abilities like these only affect ...
1
vote
2answers
824 views

Order of triggered abilties

I control an Illusory Gains. My opponent casts Torch Slinger. Does my opponent get to do his kicker and damage my creature, or do I gain control of the card prior to the kicker ability and I do the ...
1
vote
3answers
373 views

Can Bloodrush satisfy a forced discard? [duplicate]

If my opponent makes me discard a card and I choose a creature card with the Bloodrush ability, can I pay the cost during the forced discard in order to activate the ability?
1
vote
1answer
671 views

In MTG when can I tap land [duplicate]

If I tap a land, end my turn, and then play an instant allowing me to untap it again, can I tap that land for more mana, and when does that mana get used up. Basically, if I tap mana on my opponents ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Phyrexian Unlife and Necropotence

So I have a 5 color deck and I was wondering how Necropotence and Phyrexian Unlife interact in certain circumstances. I understand that once my life becomes 0 or less I cannot pay life to draw cards, ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Can I turn a manifested card face up during the declare blockers step?

If I attack with a manifested (face down) card and my opponent declares blockers, is priority then passed to me so I can turn it face up for its mana cost, or must I turn it up after declaring ...
1
vote
1answer
189 views

Enchantment and other continuous effects priority [duplicate]

I have read a lot of questions about the priority in the stack and the triggered abilities. However, I would like to validate my understanding of the continuous effects priority rule. 613.6. ...
1
vote
1answer
674 views

What happens when more than one creature dies causing a trigger

Overseer of the Damned is a creature with the ability "Whenever a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield tapped" Now, lets say 3 of my ...
1
vote
1answer
8k views

Cards changing mana color

What cards across all sets allow the utilization of mana, either colorless or otherwise, as colored mana of another color? One early example with an unlimited 1:1 ratio: Sunglasses of Urza ...
1
vote
2answers
285 views

Polymorphous Rush targeting Young Pyromancer and X Tokens

If I cast Polymorphous Rush targeting X tokens, turning them all into copies of a Young Pyromancer, do I get an elemental token from each copy, similar to Scapeshift with Valakut on the battlefield?
1
vote
2answers
2k views

Can you untap an attacking creature to use its ability at the end of declare blockers?

Looking at this question and this question, it seems like I can activate abilities after blockers are declared (and before damage is assigned). So if I'm attacking with Scourge of Skola Vale, can I ...
1
vote
2answers
758 views

Multiple stack abilities and casting spells in that time

My question is as follows: If I have multiple "At the beginning of your upkeep..." abilities, and I want to cast an instant spell or activate an ability during that time, can I cast the spell between ...
1
vote
1answer
496 views

Does Prophet of Kruphix apply to Planeswalker abilities that create creatures?

The Prophet of Kruphix has the ability You may cast creature cards as if they had flash. Does this apply to the Loyalty ability Put three 1/1 white soldier creature tokens onto the battlefield ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Are there 5/5 Beast Token cards?

There are at least two cards that I know of that make 5/5 Beast tokens (Spawning Ground and One Dozen Eyes). Yet I can't seem to find an actual token card that is a 5/5 Beast. Does such a card exist?...
1
vote
1answer
426 views

How do multiple copies of Merrow Commerce interact?

If I have more than one copy of Merrow Commerce in play, they both trigger during my end step. Can I take actions after the first one resolves, but before the second one does? I'm thinking of ...
1
vote
2answers
156 views

What would Resolve first?

If my opponent has one Timberwatch Elf tapped, and I use Yamabushi Flame on it, can my opponent respond with a Wirewood Lodge and then use Timberwatch Elf to protect it?
1
vote
1answer
423 views

What strategies are effective against a spot destruction deck?

In Standard (Return to Ravnica, M14, and the first Theros set), a friend of mine is currently working with a tri-color RGB deck heavy on control via spot destruction: Abrupt Decay, Dreadbore, Ultimate ...
1
vote
2answers
5k views

Resetting Soulbound

Say I have a creature with the Soulbound ability, Stonewright, which is currently bound to my Llanowar Elves. If I play a Birds of Paradise, can I switch my Stonewright to be bound to the Birds ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

How should I change my usual draft strategy in a Two-Headed-Giant draft?

I have done several drafts with my drafting group, but we recently elected to try the next one as Two-Headed-Giant instead of a 'normal' matches. How should my drafting strategy change to reflect this?...
1
vote
2answers
983 views

How to replace Leatherback Baloth in the post-Zendikar environment in a deck of this type?

Artifacts 2x Birthing Pod Creatures 2x Thrun, the Last Troll 4x Acidic Slime 4x Cudgel Troll 3x Dungrove Elder 2x Elvish Archdruid 2x Garruk's Companion 4x Llanowar Elves 2x Primeval Titan Land ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

What computer games based on Magic: The Gathering are there? [closed]

I've had a ton of fun playing an old version of Shandalar on my PC. The computer opponents are great and I love the card antes and everything, but there's only around 600 cards and the rules are ...
1
vote
2answers
147 views

What happens when Teysa Karlov is equipped with Helm of the Host?

What happens when you equip Helm of the Host to Teysa Karlov? do the Teysas trigger each other making infinite copies of the death trigger? Because my thinking is that it says when a triggered ability ...
1
vote
1answer
203 views

Why don't players draft the week before a new set releases?

I'm a new player, and I enjoy draft -- I went to my local card shop this week and draft didn't happen, though it always has before. The store owner explained it's because a new set is coming out next ...
1
vote
1answer
164 views

Massacre Girl when several creatures die at once

Massacre Girl and 7 creatures all get hit for lethal damage from the same effect. Does her triggered ability happen? Assume that there are multiple opponents each with at least one creature.
1
vote
4answers
429 views

Is there efficient token generation in Black or White?

Is there any black or white cards that whenever opponent loses a life (or when I gain life) create a creature token? I'm planning a combo with Corpse Knight and Impassioned Orator. If so can you ...
1
vote
2answers
154 views

Can “loss of life” abilities be triggered by combat and/or direct damage? [duplicate]

When taking combat or direct damage, this is not the same as loss of life, right? Yes, your life total goes down. But some cards have activated abilities when "loss of life" happens. For example, if I ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

In Magic: The Gathering, how does Ugin, the Ineffable's static ability interact with colorless spells that have X in their cost? [duplicate]

If I have Ugin, the Ineffable in play and I want to cast Ugin's Conjurant, how does Ugin, the Ineffable's static ability interact with paying the cost? Can I announce I want to cast Ugin's ...
1
vote
1answer
104 views

Psychic Battle and Rayne, Academy Chancellor

Will changing targets with Psychic Battle cause Rayne, Academy Chancellor to trigger? What about Dismiss into Dream? If an opponent casts a spell targeting you, and you win the "clash", can you ...
1
vote
1answer
137 views

Black card ability - all players exile a creature - does it work on the one with protection from black [duplicate]

Let's assume I have black card with "player must exile a creature" and one of mine opponents have only one creature on the battlefield, but it has "protection from black". Does mine card affect his?
1
vote
1answer
170 views

Rebound affecting Return to Dust (second main phase)

The way Return to Dust is phrased is a bit confusing, does it see a difference between pre-combat and post combat main phases? If I cast return to dust post combat and Taigam, Ojutai Master is under ...
1
vote
2answers
276 views

Card that deals damage and adds a +1/+1 counter

Simple question: Is there a permanent that has "Pay 1 Mana: Target creature takes 1 damage and gains a +1/+1 counter" or "Tap: Target creature takes 1 damage and gains a +1/+1 counter"?
1
vote
2answers
352 views

Begginer question about lifelink and Evra

I have Evra, Halcyon Witness on my deck, she has lifelink and I know that I gain hp from the amount of damage she deals. Generalizing lifelink I have 3 simple yes or no questions: If I attack with ...
1
vote
1answer
107 views

Legion's Initiative vs Day of Judgment

Can I save my creatures from Day of Judgment with a Legion's Initiative ability of exile? Day of Judgment is on top of the stack for this example (I don't know if that will matter).
1
vote
1answer
158 views

which has precedence when they conflict

On a creature card is says when creature dies return it to the owners hand and the enchantment says when a creature you do not control dies return it to the battlefield under your control and put a +1/...
1
vote
2answers
170 views

Is there an efficient use for a surplus of Insects in Standard, Kaladesh to Ixalan?

Assuming the opponent has creatures in play, consider the following interaction: Hour of Devastation + Soul-Scar Mage + Nest of Scarabs This will generate 5 x (number of opponents creatures) insects....
1
vote
2answers
103 views

Copying Allies with Shapeshifter [duplicate]

If I control a Renegade Doppelganger and I play Umara Raptor and choose for Renegade Doppleganger to copy it, would the Renegade Doppleganger get the +1/+1 counter?
1
vote
1answer
3k views

Can I look up a large list of cards on MagicCardMarket.eu?

MagicCardMarket.eu is apparently the go-to store for buying Magic cards in Europe, and I'm using it for the first time. I've a list of cards I'd like to buy to finalise a deck, and I can't find any ...
1
vote
1answer
256 views

Does a Myr Welder token created with Mimic Vat retain abilities added to the original?

Suppose I play Myr Welder, then later I play Grindclock (or any artifact) and it gets countered or destroyed. Next turn I exile grindclock from my graveyard with Myr Welder's activated ability and ...
1
vote
1answer
316 views

Recurring nightmare-Pia's Revolution [closed]

If I have a Recurring nightmare and a Pia's Revolution in play, can I sacrifice an artifact creature and then return it to my hand along with the Recurring Nightmare and an additional creature ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

How do sorcery spells resolve?

I read somewhere that Permanents and sorcery spells can only be cast during your own main phase when the stack is empty. So a) Do sorcery spells I cast resolve immediately after as I cast them ...