Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
1
vote
1answer
11k views

Do counters go away when the creature that gave them dies

When a creature card gives another creature counters does the counters go away when the creature that gave them dies.(the card does NOT say It gives is a +1 +1 counter as long as it is on the field)
1
vote
2answers
2k views

For Goblin Grenade can you sacrifice a creature that attacked?

My boyfriend plays a Goblin deck that absolutely destroys. But he has a combo that he does where he will attack with all of his creatures, and then sac one off after it has dealt damage to the player, ...
1
vote
1answer
428 views

Can Ink Treader Nephilim's Electrolyze copies target players?

I am curious if the Electrolyze copies created by targeting Ink-Treader Nephilim can be aimed at players for 1 point of damage or if all the damage must go to the creatures that Inky specifies the ...
1
vote
1answer
863 views

Can I use Plaxcaster Frogling to temporarily shut off Species Gorger's ability?

I'm currently working on a deck which is built around Species Gorger and its ability to return creatures I control to my hand. In order to make my deck work as intended, I need a way to "turn off" or ...
1
vote
1answer
3k views

Will Aegis of the Gods negate my opponent's Erebos, God of the Dead for me?

I am playing a life gain deck and I find that if an opponent plays Erebos, God of the Dead my deck is ruined because of its effect "your opponents can't gain life." If I run Aegis of the Gods, whose ...
1
vote
1answer
306 views

Wall of Frost vs a cyphered Hidden Strings

My mate just attacked with 2 creatures. One is unblockable and has Hidden Strings as a cypher on it. The other has been blocked by Wall of Frost, which now doesn't untap next untap step. Can hidden ...
1
vote
1answer
831 views

How does Humility affect Bestowable creatures?

Humility says each creature loses it's abilities. So how does that work with bestowable creatures? Normally, for auras, as I understand it, it depends on the timestamp that the aura vs. the humility ...
1
vote
1answer
322 views

Resolution of two buffs that affect attacking creatures

I have a creature, Wild Beastmaster, that increases all other creatures I control whenever it attacks (I assume that means the attack triggers this). However, since a card like Trumpet Blast only ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

How long does a creature returned by the Whip of Erebos remain on the battlefield?

Whip of Erebos says Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step. If it would leave the battlefield, exile it ...
1
vote
1answer
468 views

Voracious Wurm and Wall of Reverence: which trigger happens first?

Suppose Wall of Reverence is already in play. I play my Voracious Wurm, which has the following ability: Voracious Wurm enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it, where X is the amount of ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

How should I group rare Magic cards when selling them online? [closed]

[Background: this was previously part of a longer question which has been edited into multiple smaller questions. I’ve already researched selling Magic cards, including reading through How do I find ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

Does Leyline of Singularity works on tokens?

If Leyline of Singularity is in play, will my opponent be able to have multiple "2/2 zombie tokens" in play?
1
vote
1answer
859 views

Crystalline Sliver and targets

Text on card says: Slivers cannot be the target of spells or abilities. Does it mean that other slivers cannot affect each other, while Crystalline Sliver is in play. For example, Fury Sliver ...
1
vote
1answer
570 views

Do i have to have a spell target to tap a wizard creature with Patron Wizard?

Patron Wizard says I have to tap an untapped wizard. That is before the ":", which means that is the cost. However, does there have to be a spell to target to use this ability, or can I just tap an ...
1
vote
3answers
651 views

How to play Ring of Valkas?

My understanding is that artifacts and equipment are permanents. When playing the Ring of Valkas, it states that at the beginning of every upkeep you can add a +1/+1 counter to equipped creature. My ...
1
vote
2answers
151 views

Do I have to pay commander tax when casting my commander using Geode Golem's ability?

Hey guys I have a question regarding Geode Golem. Its text says "Whenever Geode Golem deals combat damage to a player, you may cast your commander from the command zone without paying its mana ...
1
vote
1answer
134 views

Casual playing of Magic the Gathering MTG [closed]

me and my GF started playing casual MTG together. I used to play so I know alot about the game and i taught her already so we know about playing. I had alot of cards from past but now we bought "...
1
vote
1answer
138 views

What amount of color overlap does intimidate require?

I would like to make sure I understand intimidate well. If I have a green and blue creature, I can block a green creature with intimidate, because my creature shares a colour with it, right? And ...
1
vote
1answer
254 views

Does Spark Double on Muldrotha allow for additional plays from the graveyard?

Muldrotha, the Gravetide is on the battlefield: During each of your turns, you may play up to one permanent card of each permanent type from your graveyard. I play Spark Double: You may have ...
1
vote
2answers
211 views

MTG: creature and enchantment triggered to opposite effects

The situation is my Mortus Strider has been enchanted with Unholy Indenture. The creature has when it dies, return it to his owner’s hand The enchantment says When enchanted creature dies, ...
1
vote
1answer
114 views

Mentor trigger ordering

Let's say my board is Blade Instructor, Boros Challenger, and Goblin Cratermaker. Can I: Attack with all three; Two mentor triggers go on stack; Stack triggers such that Blade Instructor's trigger ...
1
vote
2answers
206 views

Can creatures with Defender be unmorphed while attacking?

I have a face down Monastery Flock card on the battlefield. I begin my attack phase, and declare the face down Monastery Flock as an attacker. The defending player blocks with Llanowar Elves, then ...
1
vote
1answer
84 views

Does Adarkar Valkyrie's ability target cards in graveyard?

Adarkar Valkyrie's third ability targets a creature and creates a delayed triggered ability that returns that creature to the battlefield when it dies this turn. It clearly targets the creature on the ...
1
vote
2answers
70 views

Interaction with Grismold and Adarkar Valkyrie

Setup Player A controls Adarkar Valkyrie, Grismold, the Dreadsower and a bunch of creature tokens. Player B casts Akroma's Vengeance. Question If Player A responds with Adarkar Valkyrie's tap ...
1
vote
1answer
387 views

When must you resolve spells cast with Diluvian Primordial?

Yesterday I have cast Diluvian Primordial, and my playgroup was trying to convince me, that I can cast one of their spells during the entire turn I had cast it, and that I could cast a spell from one ...
1
vote
2answers
482 views

Can I use an instant speed Act of Treason effect to take a Seedborn Muse and use its ability?

Can I trigger an instant speed “Act of Treason” type effect (like with a Vedalken Orrery or Jeering Instigator, for example) to grab a Seedborn Muse before an opponent’s untap and untap all my ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Card advantage: scry v. surveil

I've heard it said that Scry 1 is equivalent to 0.5-0.75 of a drawn card; is there a similar number of card draw that Surveil 1 represents? Edit: this link has a reddit discussion that attempts to ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

How do dash costs work with commander tax? [duplicate]

If I have the card Zurgo Bellstriker as my commander, and I cast it for its Dash cost, do I have to add commander tax to it? Or does the Dash cost override it? My gut tells me I would still have to ...
1
vote
1answer
138 views

Adaptive automaton effects

I know that when a card like Elvish Archdruid leaves the battlefield the +1/+1 effect is lost. Is this also true for Adaptive Automaton? Or does the power/toughness remain on the chosen creature type?...
1
vote
1answer
248 views

(MTG) Can Trespasser’s Curse revive a player?

After I died, one of my opponents that I previously enchanted played a creature which supposedly heals me by one. Does that cause me to come back to life with one hp? If not, why not?
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Mirage mirror what happens when copying a creature

If you use it to copy a creature and attack with it does it become tapped until next upkeep mirage mirror itself or revert back to to untapped artifact
1
vote
1answer
223 views

Can you do a field of ruin and kefnet the mindfull combo

Can I use a land with a sacrifice ability, like Field of Ruin, where you have to sacrifice the card for the ability to activate, then whilst the ability is on the stack, use Kefnet the Mindful's ...
1
vote
2answers
331 views

Can you use an ability as you put the card on the stack?

If I play Elixir Of Immortality for example, or any card with an ability, when it goes on the stack, can I activate its abilities before my opponent can respond? And if so, if he counters the card ...
1
vote
2answers
133 views

Does a permanent with multiple types count in all cases as all types

Spell is cast which says choose one of each ' Creature, Artifact, Enchantment' sacrifice the rest. If you have a creature which is also an artifact, or creature who turns into an enchantment as a ...
1
vote
3answers
594 views

With Life and Limb do my forest's suffer from summoning sickness [duplicate]

So from what I understand Life and Limb makes your forests into creature. So are you're forests then affected by summoning sickness, and therefore you are unable to be tapped for mana the turn you ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Can an enchantment creature with hexproof be targeted by destroy target enchantment card?

Can an enchantment creature with hexproof be targeted by a spell that destroys enchantments. For example, can Archetype of Endurance be targeted by Naturalize?
1
vote
1answer
344 views

Can I use Improvise to pay for activated abilities?

The card Inspiring Statuary states: Nonartifact spells you cast have improvise. From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017)) 702.125a Improvise is a static ability that functions ...
1
vote
1answer
4k views

Does a card with “put into play” trigger an “enters the battlefield” effect?

Say I have a card which says: when a horse enters the battlefield give it +1/+1 and a card that says: put two horse tokens into play Do my horse tokens get +1/+1 even though it says they are ...
1
vote
2answers
1k views

What exactly does it mean to “cast” a spell?

For example, Door of Destinies reads "Whenever you cast a spell of the chosen type-" what triggers this effect? If I have Door of Destinies out and play Akroan Crusader, I know that would count, as ...
1
vote
1answer
160 views

What happens when you stack “unblockable” and “unblockable except by”? [duplicate]

During a recent game meetup I used Teleportal to give all my creatures unblockable. Another player responded by targeting one of my creatures with Shriek of Dread to give it "can't be blocked except ...
1
vote
2answers
363 views

What the value of a misprinted Graverobber Spider?

Could anyone give me an idea on on how much a misprint Magic card could sell for? It's a Graverobber Spider, rarity is uncommon.
1
vote
2answers
206 views

Magic card has clear deformity, options? [duplicate]

I recently pulled a Padeem, Consul of Innovation from a Kaladesh booster box, and placed it into a deck I was working on. When playtesting the deck with some friends, I noticed a card with a clear ...
1
vote
1answer
336 views

Does Rally the Righteous affect heroic?

I found Rally the Righteous, and I'm wondering: are the creatures (after the first) being targeted to untap and does that affect heroic creatures? And if I untap a multicoloured creature, like Anax ...
1
vote
1answer
358 views

Hive Mind and Counterspell

Let say I have Hive Mind in game: The opponent casts Counterspell on my creature spell. Can I counter the Counterspell with the clone of Counterspell I get from Hive Mind?
1
vote
2answers
532 views

Can I deal damage to Hornet Nest multiple times before it dies?

If I have a Hornet Nest on the battlefield, can I cast 2x Lightning Axe on it to get 10 tokens? Or does the creature die between the first Lightning Axe and the space that the opponent has to respond? ...
1
vote
1answer
228 views

Is an Awakened land an OK target for Ruins of Oran-Rief?

I have an Awaken deck and I want to use Ruins of Oran-Rief. If I awaken a land that I placed on the battlefield earlier on the same turn, does it count as a legal target?
1
vote
1answer
633 views

How do pump spells interact with damage at end of turn? [duplicate]

My friends recently got into a heated argument over a rules interaction. One player had a 2/2 creature, and responded to the opponent's Lightning Bolt targeting it with a Mutagenic Growth. The player ...
1
vote
1answer
540 views

How is Ondu Cleric's Rally ability resolved when more than one ally enters the battlefield at once? [duplicate]

If I start with an Ondu Cleric on the battlefield and cast Allied Reinforcements, how much health would I gain? I know it is somewhere between 4 and 6. Posible options in my mind: a. The tokens enter ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

How does casting a Storm spell on Zada, Hedron Grinder work?

Related Question: How does each copy of a spell cast to Zada, Hedron Grinder count towards Storm abilities? If I cast a storm spell that targets only Zada, Hedron Grinder (like Astral Steel) then I ...
1
vote
1answer
353 views

How does Paranoid Delusions work with Ingest

Lets say I've ciphered Paranoid Delusions on a Mist Intruder and successfully deal combat damage to a player, which card would get exiled and which go to the graveyard? Does the first card on the ...

1
70 71
72
73 74
87