The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
1answer
2k views

What does “menace” mean?

I've got a Weldfast Monitor, an Artifact Creature — Lizard. For one mana, it "gains menace". What does "gains menace" mean?
0
votes
1answer
539 views

Until end of turn effects and Doubling Season [duplicate]

Alright so I'm pretty sure doubling season and like cards don't affect actions related to +X/X until end of turn or -x/X until end of turn because it doesn't physically say counters. My friend on the ...
0
votes
1answer
842 views

MTG Lifelink Before Death? [duplicate]

I'm the farthest thing from a magic know it all, so I have a question for you. If my opponent has a 40/40 with trample and I have a 20/20 with lifelink that is blocking it. and I have 20 life left. Do ...
0
votes
2answers
340 views

Can I use Smite the Monstrous on creatures given increased power/toughness? [closed]

Please clarify this situation. My opponent has a 3/3 creature and in his turn plays an enchantment that adds +1/+1 to his creature. I react to this with an instant, Smite The Monstrous, which states:...
0
votes
1answer
235 views

Instantaneous creature death and checking conditions

I have a Night of Souls' Betrayal, and so does my opponent. Creatures get -2/-2. I have a Marchesa, the Black Rose, relevant text: Whenever a creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it ...
0
votes
1answer
612 views

Can you bring cards with altered art to FNM? [duplicate]

If I brought a card with altered art, but nothing else changed on it such as this one: to Friday Night Magic would I be allowed to use it?
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Does removing a creature from the battlefield during the blockers declaration phase affect the damage the player will take? [duplicate]

First example: When a creature is going to attack me alone and I use Vapor Snag to return it to the other player's hand, is the combat damage prevented? Second example: If three 1/1 Soldier creatures ...
0
votes
1answer
897 views

Reveillark death trigger [duplicate]

If I control a Reveillark and a few other creatures of power 2 or less and my opponent uses Wrath of God, can I get back creatures that are dying to the wrath or do they have to have been in the ...
0
votes
1answer
154 views

How to deal with Enchantments outside of G/W?

I have done gatherer searches for "destroy" and "exile" target enchantment with White and Green excluded. Are there any options, save counterspells, for dealing with them?
0
votes
2answers
2k views

What cards transfer mana from colorless to any color? [duplicate]

So all I need to know is if there are any known MTG cards that say "pay one colorless mana: produce one mana of any color."
0
votes
1answer
162 views

Will Shipbreaker Kraken cause creatures to stay on the battlefield when hit by Scourge of Fleets?

If I use Shipbreaker Kraken on my opponent and tap four creatures. The next turn I use Scourge of Fleets. Do all cards go back to their hand or do the cards I picked stay on the battlefield when I ...
0
votes
1answer
733 views

Does attacking creature take damage when playing instant “Ride Down” before combat damage but after blockers declared

If I attack with a 4/4 and am blocked with a 4/4 Can I play an instant before combat damage, Im pretty sure I can so If I play Ride Down to destroy their blocker Does my attacking creature still take ...
0
votes
1answer
766 views

Does Lighting Shriekers ability activate if it dies or was exiled?

So if anyone noticed I've been asking a few random unrelated questions since last night Im new to magic and I bought a box of bulk common cards to get started (Theres been a few I added to my main ...
0
votes
1answer
450 views

Who gets the tokens from Chasm Skulker? [duplicate]

If a player takes control of your Chasm Skulker, then it dies while they control it, do they also get the tokens it creates?
0
votes
1answer
4k views

How do poison counters work and how would a player get them?

How do poison counters work? What are the scenarios a player would receive a poison counter?
0
votes
1answer
3k views

Is an artifact paid ability considered a spell?

I happen to be one lucky man who managed to get Erebos God of the Dead, Demon's Horn, and Staff of the Death Magus. All three were in play, but Erebus was not a creature yet as i didn't have enough ...
0
votes
1answer
178 views

Can I activate an ability after part of a spell has resolved? (please read example) [duplicate]

I made a Phelddagrif group hug deck with Windfall as my win condition (obviously I would only use it in an emergency) and Elixir of Immortality. So, I cast Windfall with, say, 40 cards in my hand, ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Which cards are “bombs” in draft? [closed]

I use the BREAD strategy for drafting, but am unsure what exactly makes a "Bomb". For example, in a Kahns of Tarkir draft I'm normally quite happy to pick a Mystic of the Hidden Way as a first pick, ...
0
votes
1answer
282 views

Why am I unable to draw cards in Magic 2014?

I play Magic 2014 - Duels of the Planeswalkers (DotP) on Steam. I understand all of the basics except for one thing! In a recent battle, my turn started and I did not draw a card. The game went ...
0
votes
1answer
195 views

Can you use Haunted Plate Mail as a Spirit ONLY when it hangs around all alone on the battlefield?

The card Haunted Plate Mail tells "Activate this ability only if you control no creatures." I want to make sure I understood it right: Only if you control no Creatures on the Battlefield?
0
votes
1answer
458 views

What happens when a card with undying dies that has a +1/+1 counter put on it by something other that undying?

For example, I have a Howlgeist that I enchanted with Oath of Ancient Wood so it has a +1/+1 counter on it, when it dies does it not come back because of the +1/+1 counter even though it wasn't put ...
0
votes
1answer
219 views

Mimic Vat and Exiling

If I used Mimic Vat on a Licid, created a copy of that Licid, and attached it to a creature, would I still have to exile it during my end step even though it's now an enchantment?
0
votes
2answers
568 views

Are there any resources available for building custom battle decks?

I work with a group of people who frequently like to play table top games and the like during lunch hour, and I've been wanting to play some M:TG. The problem though, is that Only myself and one ...
0
votes
1answer
554 views

Can players use cards from a core set in a Block Constructed tournament?

What are the rules regarding playing DCI sanctioned Block Constructed formats with cards from a core set such as M15? (I'm thinking of Innistrad-Avacyn Restored block). Do all players in a game have ...
0
votes
1answer
720 views

Is it worthwhile to build a competive Standard M15 deck when a block is about to rotate out? [closed]

So I want to start playing competitive magic again, in the standard format (just started up again after about 6 years of not playing). Is it worth it for me to build a competitive standard deck right ...
0
votes
1answer
442 views

MTG Increasing Vengence and swerve infinite combo?

Okay, so say you play an instant or sorcery spell and then play Increasing Vengeance targeting it could you then play Swerve changing the target of Increasing Vengeance from the random instant or ...
0
votes
2answers
1k views

Are there more cards like Boseiju, Who Shelters All for non-mana costs? [closed]

Mana gained from Boseiju, Who Shelters All and Hall of the Bandit Lord grant an ability to various spell types if it's used to pay for them. Are there similar, ability-granting effects for non-mana ...
0
votes
1answer
661 views

End of abilities given off by creatures [closed]

If I'm attacking with creatures that give off abilities and the other person blocks and kills the creature does its ability die off with the creature at that same moment leaving the others creatures ...
0
votes
1answer
2k views

Clarifying combat damage to player with abilities like Bloodthirst and Cipher

For cards like Vampire Outcasts or Shadow Slice, does Bloodthirst/Cipher only activate when combat damage is dealt directly to a player? For example, if an opponent blocks my attacking creature then ...
0
votes
1answer
97 views

trigger priority and response to said triggers mtg [duplicate]

if there are two voltaic servant triggers, can i respond to the second trigger after the first trigger resolves? For example; I tap steel overseer during my turn. At the end of my turn my two voltaic ...
0
votes
1answer
110 views

Can I have more than four non-basic lands with the same name in my deck? [duplicate]

Am I allowed to have 5 Bottomless Vaults in my deck?
0
votes
1answer
300 views

MTG: Indestructible creature with both damage and -1/-1 counters [duplicate]

If let's say a 3/3 indestructible creature takes 2 combat damage and then 2nd main gets a -1/-1, does the creature die? Am assuming no since its still technically a 2/2 indestructible with 2 damage ...
0
votes
1answer
68 views

Legality in Standard of Standard-legal cards from previous printings [duplicate]

Say I have a copy of Llanowar Elves from the 2017 Core Set. Can I put it in a current Standard deck, or do I need to have a version from currently Standard-legal set?
0
votes
1answer
314 views

How would Progenitus affect the game as a commander?

I recently purchased Progenitus with the intent to use it as a commander. However, it has been long enough since I’ve played the commander format that I do not remember how commanders and their ...
0
votes
1answer
86 views

New Player and Returning Player New Card Recommendations [closed]

I'm a new player learning the game with my spouse's old decks from 1994-2001. We plan on just enjoying MTG at home. We have no plans to play competitively. I'd like invest in some of the new cards ...
0
votes
1answer
325 views

Rules of Instants. MTG [duplicate]

If I were to attack with my creatures, 5 1/1's for say, and my opponent chooses not to block, could I then boost those creatures with an instant to make them more powerful?
0
votes
1answer
109 views

MTG: Can I use the ability of my Five-Alarm Fire before it getting destroyed? How does priority works here? [duplicate]

Say for instance my opponent uses Demystify against my Five-Alarm Fire ... can I use the counters on it to deal damage before it getting destroyed? Also can I use those counters to deal damage at ...
0
votes
1answer
127 views

What the difference between +x/+x on some Cards, and how does it effect the ability “Undying” [duplicate]

What is the difference between cards that say Card A: "Put a +1/+1 "Counter" on each Creature you control." Card B: that say "Each creature you control gets +1/+1 and gains Flying" Does card B also ...
0
votes
1answer
75 views

Koth of the Hammer (-2 ability) [duplicate]

Will the mana that has been added to your mana pool by Koth of the Hammer's -2 ability empty as your turn ends, or is the mana from the -2 ability added for the rest of the game?
0
votes
1answer
110 views

Are there any cards that can boost my gate deck

I'm currently making a gate land-based deck. I was wondering if there are any cards that would be able to either duplicate or copy any of the lands. Also if there were any cards that could possibly ...
0
votes
1answer
178 views

Using Supernatural Stamina on a Zombie Creature with Diregraf Colossus on the board [duplicate]

So let's say for instance I am attacking with a Festering Mummy and it's blocked so I use Supernatural Stamina on it because I know it will be destroyed. If I have Diregraf Colossus in play does the ...
0
votes
1answer
414 views

Are the 2 planeswalker sets from Amonkhet balanced?

New player here, looking to play very casually with my wife. We bought the 2 Amonkhet planeswalker decks (Liliana, death wielder and Gideon, martial paragon). Are these 2 decks designed specifically ...
0
votes
1answer
323 views

Does lifelink still trigger if I concede before damage? [duplicate]

In a multiplayer game one of my opponents has a felidar sovereign and is at 39 life and I am at 2 life. He attacks me with a 2/2 lifelink creature, but before damage is dealt I concede. Does the ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

If you allow your opponent to draw cards can they have more than 7 cards in their hand until their next clean up stage [duplicate]

I'm thinking specifically about Lost Legacy. If I get them to exile 4 cards ie. Saheeli Rai, and allow them to draw 4 on my turn does that mean they can draw on their turn and do not have to discard ...
0
votes
1answer
176 views

Acrobatic manuever and blocking [duplicate]

If I block a 5/5 attacked with a 2/3 during my blocking step, could I then bounce my blocker with Acrobatic Maneuver and prevent it from being killed, while also having the 5/5 blocked? If so, why?
0
votes
1answer
211 views

Donate Combo Needed [closed]

Looking for a really superb and evil combo to DONATE a 'gift' to my opponent. So far I have Glacial Chasm and Thought Lash. I want something that is not easily gotten rid of once the 'gift' is ...
0
votes
1answer
400 views

Order of resolution of creatures abilities triggered by combat damage [duplicate]

If multiple creatures that have an ability that gets triggered when the creature deals damage to an opponent, in what order should those abilities be resolved? For example, if I attack with an ...
0
votes
1answer
258 views

Landfall, land creature enter effect

If I have a creature like Embodiment of Fury and I play a land and use its landfall effect on the land that just entered will it trigger entry effects, for example Elemental Bond? Is it seen as ...
0
votes
1answer
249 views

From which expansion is this magic the gathering card? [duplicate]

From which expansion is this magic the gathering card?
0
votes
1answer
261 views

When can protection from creatures be played

The other day I was in a situation where my opponent had 3 creatures on the board (4/4, 3/3, 1/1) and I had one creature on the board (6/6). My opponent attacked with all three creatures and I chose ...