Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I activate abilities in the middle of declaring blockers?

The field is set up as such: Opponent has Aerial Responder (2/3), Sun Sentinel (2/2) and Child of Night (2/1) in play. I have Ravenous Harpy(1/3, +1/+1 counter) and Doomed Dissenter (1/1) in play. ...
11
votes
2answers
5k views

Can you crew a Vehicle that is already a creature?

Let's pretend I control a Mobile Garrison and a Veteran Motorist. I crew the Garrison with my Motorists (sweet +1/+1 bonus). I attack with the Garrison, and I untap the Motorists with the triggered ...
11
votes
7answers
27k views

Two Player Draft Formats

My friend and I are buying an RTR booster box mainly in hopes of getting some chase rares, but also for some fun. What are some Draft Variants for only 2 players?
11
votes
4answers
1k views

Are there any Magic cards capable of generating loops alone?

My first reaction to this question was "of course not, there is no card which is able to generate such loops by itself". Such a card would be just too easy to abuse; generally speaking, one needs two ...
11
votes
3answers
3k views

Can I rebound a spell that exiles itself?

There's a handful of cards from the game which also exile themselves as they resolve. For a straightforward example there's Restock: Return two target cards from your graveyard to your hand. Exile ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Will multiple Exquisite Archangels give me many extra chances, or just one?

Let's say I've somehow managed to get two or more Exquisite Archangels out onto the battlefield: (Possibly more. I apologise for making you see this.) Something causes me to lose. Let's say it's ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Journey to Eternity and Thrashing Brontodon

How would this interaction work? I've got a Thrashing Brontodon out, which has the ability {1}, Sacrifice Thrashing Brontodon: Destroy target artifact or enchantment. I enchant it with Journey to ...
11
votes
3answers
5k views

Can you choose not to assign damage to a second blocker?

In a game of Magic, I attack with a 5/5, indestructible, trample. My opponent blocks with a 2/3 and a 2/2. He hopes the 2/2 will die because of an effect when that creature dies. Can I choose to ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Will I die if I lose enough life to kill me from an effect that also heals me?

What happens if I dip below 1 life from an effect that will also heal me after the damage is dealt? For example: If I bolt myself while I'm at 3 or less with a Soulfire Grand Master on the board? ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

How did Andrea Mengucci receive a game loss for incorrectly registering his card on arena?

I just received a Game Loss because I registered a wrong card from my Draft. It kinda stings because I acknowledged it in the checking process after decklists were handed. But as the Latin says: ‘Dura ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it a bad idea to to run 24 tap and shock lands in standard

I am trying to figure out a good 3 color mana base in a standard constructed deck. It seems like there is a pretty straight forward answer if your wallet agrees. 4 shock lands of each of 3 colors=12 ...
11
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I exile my opponent's Progenitus/True-Name Nemesis with Teferi, Hero of Dominaria's emblem?

Teferi, Hero of Dominaria's emblem says: You get an emblem with "Whenever you draw a card, exile target permanent an opponent controls." Progenitus and True-Name Nemesis both have protection from "...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

Does the Scythe of the Wretched + Crypt Rats combo really work, and how?

I've searched this and everywhere it says the Crypt Rats + Scythe of the Wretched combo works. But the Gatherer ruling for Scythe of the Wretched says something I found incompatible: Scythe of the ...
11
votes
3answers
22k views

Can you cast an instant damage spell between first strike and normal damage?

We had a situation occur in a game where my opponent had a creature with first strike, and I had one that didn't. They attacked and I blocked, first strike creature did it's damage which didn't kill ...
11
votes
4answers
33k views

Can I target an indestructible creature with a 'destroy target creature' spell?

Of course the spell won't resolve, but is the indestructible creature a legal target for a spell with the effect "destroy target creature"? For example, can I target Gideon, Champion of Justice, ...
11
votes
5answers
4k views

Inherited thousands of Magic Cards

I have inherited over 20,000 Magic cards. What is the best way to find out what they are worth for selling. Do I need to look up each card? How? Where?
11
votes
3answers
4k views

How should I determine whether a deck is legal in a particular format?

I have a list of cards for a deck I want to build or buy. What should I do to check whether that deck is legal in a particular format (Standard, for example)?
11
votes
3answers
4k views

Sliver abilites and when they affect the Slivers

Let's say I have two Muscle Slivers, so they're both 3/3 creatures. Now if they attack at the same time, and I kill one Muscle Sliver, would the remaining Muscle Sliver continue to stay at 3/3 for the ...
11
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens if both players misunderstand the game state until it's too late?

Let's take two players, Alice and Bob. Alice has a Tarmogoyf. She asks Bob what card types are in his graveyard. Bob fans out his graveyard, they do the math, and conclude Alice's Tarmogoyf is 5/6. ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Grave Betrayal vs. Blightsteel Colossus

My opponent has to sacrifice a creature. He sacrifices a Blightsteel Colossus. I have Grave Betrayal on the battlefield. Will my opponent get to shuffle the colossus into his deck again, or will it ...
11
votes
1answer
5k views

What exactly does “can't attack/block alone” mean?

Some cards, such as Loyal Pegasus and Mogg Flunkies feature the rules text Card name can't attack or block alone. For attacking, this is unambiguous; the creature can only attack if another ...
11
votes
2answers
9k views

Commander damage from Mimic Vat token?

I've exiled my commander using Mimic Vat. Do the tokens it creates from it deal commander damage?
11
votes
1answer
2k views

What happens if you steal an Elixir of Immortality and then use it?

In an EDH (Commander) game recently, Alice used Thada Adel, Acquisitor to steal an artifact out of Bob's deck, the Elixir of Immortality, and cast it. That artifact's ability says: {2}, {T}: You ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Does “[card name] or another [type]” require [card name] to be in the proper category?

Inspired by this other question, what happens if a card such as Ivy Lane Denizen has Nim Deathmantle equipped; so that it is not green? When you play a green creature such as a Grizzly Bears, will ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

If I change the text of a permanent while its ability is on the stack, does the ability change?

Say my opponent activates an Acorn Catapult's ability targeting me, and I respond by casting Sleight of Mind targeting the Acorn Catapult and changing the word "green" to "white". When Acorn Catapult'...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

What would happen if you made Spellskite Hexproof?

I would like to know if making Spellskite hexproof would render him useless or make him ultra effective at fizzling spells? I'm thinking about his activated ability: if he was hexproof, would I be ...
11
votes
4answers
2k views

Etiquette for the Stack in MTG

More often than not it doesn't matter, you cast a spell and it either lands in its designated spot on the field, or it resolves and heads into the graveyard. What I always wondered is, whenever there ...
11
votes
2answers
12k views

Can you play 99 relentless rats in commander?

Just a silly question, can you run 99 Relentless Rats in commander? Maybe that and Sphinx of the Chimes and some juicy commander that plays off creature types.
11
votes
1answer
14k views

Can I sacrifice a creature that is only temporarily under my control?

A creature is placed "under my control until the end of turn" through a sorcery spell. Do I have the option of sacrificing said creature if I cast a "sacrifice a creature" instant, or have a creature ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I attach Batterskull to a creature of my choice when I put it on the battlefield with Quest for the Holy Relic?

Assume my board state is as follows: Quest for the Holy Relic with 5 quest counters on it, any creature (call it Bob for now), any rest. I activate the Quest's ability, allowing me to find an ...
11
votes
1answer
298 views

Why does not being able to draw a card make you lose (in universe)

Is there an in universe explanation for why being unable to draw a card would make you lose (Rule 104.3c)? Running out of life, or losing as the result of a spell or effect, all make sense to me in ...
11
votes
2answers
12k views

After using Act of Treason and Cloudshift, does a creature re-enter the battlefield under my control?

If player A has a creature, and then on player B's turn, he/she uses Act of Treason on it, and then Cloudshift, does that card, once it has been cloudshift-ed, return to the battlefield under the ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Why play Land Grant?

When looking through recent results of Pauper daily events in Magic Online, I noticed that some of the Infect decks are using Land Grant. For the life of me, I can't figure out what this card is ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How much mana does tapping a Forest make, with Nikya of the Old Ways & Nyxbloom Ancient?

I have Nikya of the Old Ways out on the battlefield: Whenever you tap a land for mana, add one mana of any type that land produced. I play Nyxbloom Ancient: If you tap a permanent for mana, it ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens with multiple copies of Humility and Glorious Anthem on the battlefield?

What happens with multiple copies of Humility and Glorious Anthem? For example, I have 2 copies of each of them; creatures are 1/1, plus +1/+1, or +2/+2 or are they going to be just 1/1? Does the ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How would Solemnity and Dark Depths interact?

If I have Solemnity on the battlefield and someone plays Dark Depths, what happens? Dark Depths says that it enters with the ice counters, but could they even be placed on it in the first place?
11
votes
1answer
430 views

Rally The Ancestors and 3 Lilianas

I cast Rally The Ancestors and bring back 3 Liliana, Heretical Healer and 2 Jace Vryn's Prodigy and 1 Clever Impersonator from the graveyard. How many zombie tokens can I get? Am I allowed to make the ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

How Specific Does Card Naming Have to Be

My son likes to play Conundrum Sphinx because of the "mini game" its ability triggers. When naming the card on top of your library, how specific do you have to be?
11
votes
4answers
6k views

Is there something like Gatherer but with inventory management?

Gatherer is great (sort of) for building decks, but I'd like the additional filter of specifying the search specifically to the cards I own. Is this a feature I'm just not seeing or is there an app ...
11
votes
3answers
4k views

What happens when you blink a cipher-ed creature?

if I have a cipher ability encoded on a creature, and I cast a Restoration Angel, thus exiling and returning the creature to play, does the creature still have the cipher ability? How about creatures ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

If I can cast sorceries at instant speed, can I use sorcery-speed activated abilities at instant speed?

So Teferi, Time Raveler is down, and I have +1'ed him. I may now "cast sorcery spells as though they had flash". My Adorned Pouncer is in the graveyard, and can be Eternalized "only as a sorcery". ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

How many iterations of the legend rule have there been?

I remember hearing LSV talk about how back in Urza's block people would play Crop Rotation to tutor for a Tolarian Academy just so that with the old legend rule, your opponent could not play the ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

What happens if I become an illegal target of Cruel Entertainment?

Cruel Entertainment is a card from Commander 2016 that says: Choose target player and another target player. The first player controls the second player during the second player’s next turn, and ...
11
votes
5answers
9k views

What are the uses of holding priority?

I've recently learned about holding the priority after playing a spell or ability. I understand this can be used for beneficial effects affecting your own spells, for instance copying your own ...
11
votes
1answer
821 views

How do I identify the role of a singleton in a well-tuned deck?

In this instance, I'm looking at Matt Sperling's Pro Tour top 8 Boros Burn deck, and there's one thing I don't get--what's the single Eidolon of the Great Revel doing here? Creatures: 4 ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Ensnaring Bridge and Cranial Plating

Let's say that I have an Ensnaring Bridge in play, and no cards in my hand. My opponent has a 0/2 Ornithopter in play, and also a Cranial Plating (and some other artifacts to pump it up). Can he ...
11
votes
1answer
7k views

What are the ramifications of turning a planeswalker into a creature?

An answer on another question tells of a way to turn planeswalkers into creatures: Basically you start by playing the Mycosynth Lattice which turns all your permanents into artifacts, this ...
11
votes
3answers
543 views

What is the correct creature type for Lesser and Greater Werewolf?

I noticed that the text of the Lesser/Greater Werewolf card reads Lycanthrope but the oracle text at Gatherer reads the type as Werewolf. I think that the Gather errata (oracle) should be the ...
11
votes
1answer
444 views

Rishkar's Expertise and Jace, Wielder of Mysteries

I have 30 cards in my library. I control a Toothy, Imaginary Friend with 100 +1/+1 counters on it. I cast Rishkar's Expertise (RE) to draw my entire library, and I cast Jace, Wielder of Mysteries ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How do I handle a gameplay error when I have an equivalent play available in a tournament?

For example, suppose I have 3 Mountains. I play another Mountain, cast Koth of the Hammer, use the +1, and attempt to attack for four. However the Mountain I target is the one I freshly played (...

1 6 7 8 9 10 83