Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. Players take on the role of a powerful wizard and duel in a battle of wits, using cards that represent resources such as creatures, objects, spells and enchantments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
2answers
124 views

If I cast Reality Ripple with Eon Hub out, is the target Permanently phased out?

Reality Ripple reads, "Target artifact, creature, or land phases out. (While it's phased out, it's treated as though it doesn't exist. It phases in before its controller untaps during their next untap ...
0
votes
2answers
135 views

Multiplayer with Phyrexian Swarmlord

Phyrexian Swarmlord's last ability is that you create infect tokens based on the number of poison counters on your opponents. Let's say I'm playing a 1v1v1 and I have him on the battlefield with ...
0
votes
2answers
373 views

Can I activate Dawn of Hope's ability twice while only paying its mana cost once?

So, let's say that I have a Dawn of Hope out. I have 2 Healer's Hawks that attack on the same turn. I pay 2 mana to draw a card for the lifelink from the 1st healer's hawk. Do I need to spend ...
0
votes
2answers
349 views

Etali and returning casted cards questions

With our EDH group we can't completely figure out what happens in the following cases: After attacking with Etali, Primal Storm and casting some of the exiled cards, some of them for example ...
0
votes
1answer
683 views

Sacrificing Spine of Ish Sah?

Spine of Ish Sah's rulings appear to say it can't be sacrificed: Spine of Ish Sah’s last ability doesn’t allow you to sacrifice it. You must find another way to get Spine of Ish Sah into the ...
0
votes
2answers
496 views

Why Deck Building Templates are the same [closed]

I have been playing MTG since the set was known as Portal. Good times and memories...but it was always casual among friends. Now...after several very long years of playing off and on through out the ...
0
votes
2answers
462 views

Cards that restrict untapping of creatures

I have been looking for two cards that I played with the other day and I cannot find. They are both artifacts. Creatures with power 4 or more don't untap. Creatures with power 2 or more don't untap. ...
0
votes
1answer
348 views

Victimize with Noxious Ghoul and opponent's Murder

I play Victimize targeting some creature I have. Victimize resolves and returns Noxious Ghoul and some other creature with an ETB triggered ability to the battlefield at the same time. Both my ...
0
votes
1answer
904 views

Do +1/+1 counters go away with -1/-1 counters? [duplicate]

with one of the main mechanics of Amonkhet being -1/-1 counters, i am worried about how that will affect my +1/+1 counter deck, specifically Gleam of Authority. if a +1/+1 counter cancels out a -1/-1 ...
0
votes
2answers
159 views

Does Prowler's helm effect makes an unblockable creature blockable by walls? [closed]

Full question in title. Do equipment effects always override creature effects even tho the creature effects are superior?
0
votes
2answers
443 views

Fiend Binder's triggered ability

I have a question about Fiend Binder's triggered ability regarding the stack. I just want to make sure I'm understanding it correctly. It states: Whenever Fiend Binder attacks, tap target creature ...
0
votes
1answer
790 views

Mining the Howling Mine

Howling Mine At the beginning of each player's draw step, if Howling Mine is untapped, that player draws an additional card. First, there is no bent arrow tap symbol, so how would it tap to begin ...
0
votes
1answer
214 views

Does Immerwolf's bonus stay after it leaves the battlefield? [duplicate]

A little while ago I was playing two of my friends. One of my friends was playing a wolf/werewolf deck with Immerwolf and a few other creatures out on the battlefield. I was playing an enchantment ...
0
votes
2answers
961 views

What happens to Auras and/or Counters on a creature that is targeted by a Cloudshift?

If I cast Cloudshift on a creature with counters, does it retain its counters or does it loose its counters? What about Auras? Would a creature that was Cloudshifted keep its auras?
0
votes
2answers
725 views

How much damage does Acolyte of the Inferno's ability deal?

Acolyte of the Inferno has this ability: Whenever Acolyte of the Inferno becomes blocked by a creature, it deals 2 damage to that creature. Does that mean it deals 2+current power to blocking ...
0
votes
2answers
307 views

How does Donate work?

Donate is a pretty useful yet useless card. I have two questions about it. Target player gains control of target permanent you control. Does this mean the "target permanent you want your opponent ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Double Gleam of Authority interaction [duplicate]

If 2 copies of Gleam of Authority are on the board would that mean that +1/+1 counters would bounce back and fourth to infinity?
0
votes
2answers
791 views

Can I use a nonbasic land that taps and gives me either a red or white mana if I only have red mana in my deck?

Can I use a nonbasic land that taps and gives me either a red or white mana if I only have red mana in my deck?
0
votes
1answer
2k views

Why didn't whomever created EDH allow Planeswalkers to be Commanders?

I know only legendary creatures can be commanders unless stated otherwise (for example Daretti, Scrap Savant). Have the creators of EDH ever explained why Planeswalkers cannot be commanders by ...
0
votes
1answer
675 views

Will returning a creature trigger Prowess?

Pre-amble So I am currently building a Blue & White Prowess + Heroic deck in Standard. The idea that I can boost my heroic creatures with instants and auras and reap the benefit across all my ...
0
votes
1answer
1k views

Can multiple spells be activated with the same mana? [duplicate]

So first off I am fairly new to MTG and I was playing with my friend today and he corrected me on my move making. The way I thought it worked is that, for example, if I have a creature that requires 1 ...
0
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Skullcrack's damage be prevented?

Rule 608.2c. starts with "The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written.", and Skullcrack's effects read Players can't gain life this turn. Damage can't be ...
0
votes
1answer
695 views

Can I tap Sliver Hive to pay for Hive Stirrings?

I am playing a game and have no white mana to play Hive Stirrings, but I do have a Sliver Hive under my control. Am I able to tap the Sliver Hive to play Hive Stirrings (assume I have enough mana to ...
0
votes
1answer
2k views

Why is Wizards breaking the color pie (at least in Legacy)? [closed]

Mark Rosewater, Magic head designer and weekly column writer, in many different occasions wrote about R&D will of creating the fewest number of cards that break the color pie. While I think this ...
0
votes
1answer
148 views

How does Blistering Dieflyn work?

Blistering Dieflyn gains +1/+0 when you use a swamp or mountain. If you tap multiple mountains or swamps, can it be for example 5/1? Can you use multiple lands on it?
0
votes
2answers
2k views

Effect of Viper's Kiss on Heroic creatures

I was battling my brother recently. He had a purely green deck, and summoned Anthousa, Setessan Hero. I then used a Viper's Curse on Anthousa. Anthousa has a heroic effect that allows it to turn ...
0
votes
1answer
2k views

Does transforming keyrunes count towards Evolve?

Suppose I animate my Simic Keyrune into a 2/3 artifact creature. Will it evolve my 1/1 Fathom Mage?
0
votes
2answers
1k views

Relative amounts of luck in MTG limited formats?

While I haven't played very much, I've noticed there seems to be slightly more luck in sealed than in draft. In draft, skill can prevail by recognizing bombs/archetypes, observing what colors are ...
0
votes
1answer
138 views

MTG reactive play denied in MTG Arena

I played MTG Arena today and I attacked with Zulaport Duelist on which my opponent reacted with Stomp adventure of Bonecrusher Giant and instead of letting me change my Duelist for Zareth it simply ...
0
votes
2answers
177 views

Leyline of Combustion w/ two Pandemonium triggers

If player A controls two (2) Pandemonium and player B controls Leyline of Combustion, how would this resolve. Player A has a creature enter the battlefield and has it deal damage to player B twice ...
0
votes
2answers
2k views

Activating Golos during another player’s turn

Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's ability can be activated during another players turn, but does doing so allow you to still play the cards if it is not your turn? The ability text says you may play those ...
0
votes
1answer
277 views

Multiple copies of planeswalkers

I thought planeswalkers are legendary permanents and thus subject to the legend rule. While playing on Arena my opponent played three copies of Gideon Blackblade from their hand. Does this card become ...
0
votes
1answer
93 views

Hardened Scales + Champion of Lambholt + Token Generator

Champion of Lambholt: Gets a +1/+1 counter whenever a creature enters the battlefield. Hardened Scales: Whenever 1 or more counters are put on a creature, put one more of those counters on that ...
0
votes
1answer
170 views

What is the statistically favorable amount of lands for Yennett? [closed]

Recently I have been brewing up Yennett, Cryptic Sovereign, as a commander deck. The deck was going well, with only 3 cards with even mana costs, and those being Lightning Greaves, for protection, ...
0
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a creature with hexproof be targeted by spells that target all creatures? [duplicate]

examples: Blazing Volley, Fumigate, Last One Standing.
0
votes
1answer
46 views

An activated ability of a card that affects that card [duplicate]

If you have a Fleecemane Lion that is enchanted by Shielding Plax, and you pay to activate the ability Monstrosity 1, then would the creature fail to become monstorous and would not receive it's +1/+1?...
0
votes
1answer
487 views

Can Gideon, Champion of Justice be exiled the moment he becomes a creature with his 0 ability?

Here is Gideon, Champion of Justice. After using his +0 ability to become a creature, can he be removed with something like Final Reward?
0
votes
1answer
501 views

Can any spell be played as a face-down 2/2 creature for 3 colourless mana?

According to rule 707.1: 707.1. Some cards allow spells and permanents to be face down. Does this mean the fact that some cards allow this behaviour that any spell can be played in this way? This ...
0
votes
2answers
216 views

What happens when I blink a Manic Scribe multiple times?

If I have a Manic Scribe and 2 Momentary Blinks, is it possible to use Momentary Blink on Manic Scribe multiple times, and if so, does his ability trigger again?
0
votes
2answers
2k views

Tokens and how blocking works

I have a heavily token based deck. The tokens can usually become something between 5/5 and 15/15 in a few turns, but don't have trample. Is it possible for my opponent to be able to block all of my ...
0
votes
1answer
436 views

Tamiyo's Journal and the Legend Rule

The Legend Rule states: If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners' graveyards. This is ...
0
votes
1answer
810 views

Can a Counterspell basically counter more than one spell? [duplicate]

I'm on my main phase. I cast a 2/2 creature, and want to enchant it in the same phase. I cast the creature - no counterspell. I then want to cast a +3/+3 Aura enchantment on that creature, and ...
0
votes
2answers
156 views

How does 'The Stack' work? [duplicate]

If I cast Tormented Thoughts on my 3/1 creature and to counter my opponent uses Disperse to return it to my hand, is my Tormented Thoughts wasted?
0
votes
2answers
317 views

Cloudshifting Angel of Serenity in the middle of combat

I have a very specific situation in mind. My friend attacks me with some flying creatures, one of which is Angel of Serenity. Before I declare blockers, I cast a Moonmist and an Atarka's Command ...
0
votes
1answer
445 views

How does stacking and resolving work exactly?

I understand that every card that is put onto the stack is resolved in the opposite order that it is put on (meaning the first card to be put onto a stack is the last one to be resolved), but here is ...
0
votes
1answer
858 views

Which “enters the battlefield” effects happen first, cards that are entering, or cards already on the battlefield?

A couple scenarios: Cloudfin Raptor with evolve is at 0/1 Satyr Grovedancer (1/1) enters the battlefield causing Cloudfin Raptor to evolve to 1/2 Put the counter from Satyr Grovedancer on Cloudfin ...
0
votes
3answers
3k views

How many counters for each turn for Abzan?

I've just started playing mtg like a week ago and the first deck I've bought was Abzan Siege. Problem is I'm a bit confused on one thing, how many counters can you put on a creature at each turn? Is ...
0
votes
2answers
11k views

Are the odds of drawing mythics greater when purchasing individually packaged boosters over booster boxes?

From personal experience I tend to draw mythic rare cards about one in five purchases when buying individually packaged boosters at Target, Walmart, etc, like the ones in this picture: In booster ...
0
votes
1answer
2k views

Reverse the Sands and Sanguine Bond

If I have Sanguine Bond on the battlefield, and I play Reverse the Sands, will the redistribution of life trigger Sanguine Bond if I choose to distribute less life to my opponent than he originally ...
0
votes
1answer
8k views

Do triggered abilities still trigger if the creature is tapped?

For example if Falkenrath Noble was tapped and another creature dies then would his triggered ability still trigger or only if it was not tapped?

1
78 79
80
81 82
87