Questions tagged [magic-the-gathering]

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game for 2 or more players, set in a variety of fantastical realms. The cards represent the player's resources and available spells and their interactions lead to an often high paced battle of wits.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
11
votes
1answer
12k views

What does, “It can't be regenerated” mean?

I destroyed my opponent's permanent with Putrefy, an Instant that reads: Destroy target artifact or creature. It can't be regenerated. He returned it to the top of his library with Golgari ...
11
votes
2answers
21k views

How many of the same artifact can be on the battlefield at once?

How many of the same artifact can be on the battlefield at once? For example, could I play more than one Dragon's Claw or Angel's Feather?
11
votes
3answers
625 views

Mimic Vat and Misthollow Griffin

Given that Misthollow Griffin can be cast from exile, if you somehow use Mimic Vat to imprint the Misthollow Griffin and then cast Misthollow Griffin and remove it from exile, can you still make ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Spark Double copying my planeswalker - do I have to sacrifice?

So when I play Spark Double and copy one of my own planeswalkers, do I have to sacrifice one of them because they are the same planeswalkers or do I keep both because it says the copy is not legendary?...
11
votes
2answers
803 views

When does Myr Superion check the source?

Myr Superion is a 2 mana 5/6 that comes with the following casting restriction: Spend only mana produced by creatures to cast Myr Superion. Under most circumstances this wouldn't be ambiguous, but ...
11
votes
1answer
866 views

Destroying a permanent with ability “as long as this card is on the battlefield”

Example scenario is: P1 plays a creature like Skilled Animator that says: When Skilled Animator enters the battlefield, target artifact you control becomes an artifact creature with base power ...
11
votes
1answer
7k views

What happens when I equip Helm of the Host on Gideon?

Say I activate Gideon of the Trials' second ability, and have him become a creature. I then equip him with a Helm of the Host and enter combat. What do I get? Do I get a 4/4 indestructible token, ...
11
votes
1answer
40k views

Can you play older versions of cards in standard?

Say, for example, you have a card that is still legal in standard but the version you have of it comes from a set that has since been rotated out. Can you still play the version from your older set?
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I use Extort in a deck that isn't both white & black?

One of the creatures I have is color black and has the skill Extort which could be paid in white or black mana. Can I use this card in a commander deck with a mono black commander?
11
votes
1answer
10k views

Can I block with my Llanowar elves and then tap it for mana immediately afterward?

My opponent attacks with a 3/3. I block with my 1/1 Llanowar Elves, and have all of my land tapped from my last turn. Can I now tap my Llanowar Elves after it has been declared as a blocker to play ...
11
votes
1answer
955 views

What decides whether a card is exiled or returned as a player loses?

I came across this problem when writing this answer, and it's not addressed in this question, so I am left wondering here. In the Comprehensive rules, 800.4a there are a few examples of what happens ...
11
votes
2answers
853 views

How many cards can I hold? (How do conflicting effects work?)

How many cards can I hold? Normally, I'd have 7, but card text trumps rules. On my field, I have Null Profusion and Kruphix, God of Horizons:
11
votes
1answer
91k views

In Magic free-for-all multiplayer, what happens when someone dies? [duplicate]

In a free-for-all multiplayer Magic game, what happens when someone dies? Specifically: What happens to spells they've cast that are on the stack? What happens to enchantments they have cast onto ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How does Inquisitor's Flail interact with Trample?

Lets say I am attacking with a Runeclaw Bear with an Inquisitor's Flail equipped. My opponent uses a Runeclaw Bear of his own to block. I then use Kessig Wolf Run to give my creature +3/+0 and ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

If a creature loses flying after blockers are declared, is the block still legal?

My opponent declared attack with a flying creature, after that I declared a blocker with my own flying creature. He then cast Turn to Frog, targeting my blocker. My creature was a 6/6 flying, my ...
11
votes
1answer
4k views

Can Meddling Mage Be Used as a Counter?

If a player activated an Æther Vial with two counters on it to drop in a Meddling Mage and named a spell already on the stack, would the named spell resolve?
11
votes
3answers
4k views

Where can I find Magic: the Gathering puzzles?

The Duelist used to publish MTG puzzles by Mark Rosewater in which you were placed in the last turn of a game and had to figure out the correct play to win. I remember these puzzles being extremely ...
11
votes
1answer
474 views

Hadana's Climb / Winged Temple of Orazca - how to apply The Layer System?

A friend and I were trying to work out how to apply the Winged Temple of Orazca's ability: "Target creature you control gains flying and gets +X/+X until end of turn, where X is its power." We're ...
11
votes
2answers
5k views

What rules explain Xantcha's behavior when its controller leaves the game?

Xantcha, Sleeper Agent has the ability: As Xantcha, Sleeper Agent enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice gains control of it. The release notes for Commander 2018 describe what ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I use a Planeswalker's ability when I took over its control this turn?

My opponent controls a Planeswalker and uses its ability. End of turn. I play In Bolas's Clutches and target that Planeswalker. It comes under my control (right?). Can I now use this Planeswalker's ...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

Do I have to shuffle with Settle The Wreckage?

Settle The Wreckage says: Exile all attacking creatures target player controls. That player may search his or her library for that many basic land cards, put those cards onto the battlefield tapped,...
11
votes
2answers
544 views

What happens when a non-creature receives “+1/+1 until end of turn” effects, then later becomes a creature?

A recent question, Can Disallow prevent me from crewing a vehicle?, brought up the following scenario: Veteran Motorist is tapped to crew a vehicle, but the crew ability is countered by Disallow. The ...
11
votes
1answer
614 views

Timings of Mana Costs vs Mana Payments

If I have 7 lands and a Wild Cantor (or another creature that sacrifices to produce mana, e.g. an Eldrazi Spawn token) in play, and there are no other creatures on the battlefield, can I cast ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the proper way to split uneven draft pods?

The optimal number for a draft pod is 8 people, but it can be often hard to get a even multiple of 8. If there are an odd number of drafters how should the pods be split? Also if there is any ...
11
votes
1answer
37k views

Does Courser of the Kruphix's ability play multiple land cards?

Courser of Kruphix says: Play with the top card of your library revealed. You may play the top card of your library if it's a land card. Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your ...
11
votes
7answers
8k views

What's the most efficient way of determine individual card values for my collection?

With an extremely large variety of Magic: The Gathering Cards that exist out there from so many sets and a loose definition of utility and value in the game, it's often hard to gauge a card's ...
11
votes
1answer
13k views

Do you die instantaneously if your life total hits 0?

Way back when, the first combo I built a deck around was Force of Nature with a Spirit Link on it. If, at the beginning of my upkeep, I have less than 8 life and I don't pay the upkeep, will I lose ...
11
votes
2answers
658 views

If Emrakul, the Aeons Torn somehow loses all abilities, and then dies, does it shuffle back into the deck?

This is a follow-up question to Will a God Eternal enchanted with Deep Freeze shuffle back into the deck if it dies? Emrakul, the Aeons Torn has this line of text: When Emrakul, the Aeons Torn is ...
11
votes
5answers
34k views

How to store and organize cards for Magic the Gathering?

I know there exist people who collect more than play, but I want to know how people organize cards who frequently build new decks and therefore want to be able to find cards quickly. After a few ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

What does it take to play a Battle of Wits deck successfully at a tournament?

Magic tournament rules specify that players must be able to randomize their decks in an appropriate amount of time (three minutes for pre-game procedures). As Matt Sperling points out, this may be ...
10
votes
3answers
2k views

What is the converted mana cost of land cards?

What is the converted mana cost (CMC) of land cards? Is it zero? For example, if I have lands in the graveyard, would Sun Titan be able to bring them to the battlefield?
10
votes
4answers
9k views

Why is 20 the starting life total for Magic the Gathering? How would the game be different if this number was changed?

To my knowledge, each player starts with 20 life in nearly every MTG game ever played. But why exactly was the number 20 chosen? How would the game be different if we started with more or less life? ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

In MTG, can you counter a spell that requires cards to be revealed after they are revealed?

My friend and I had a very long (and incredibly close) Commander duel last night which I barely won, and one of many crucial moments hinged on a counterspell I used. My friend and I both are ...
10
votes
2answers
3k views

If a creature takes lethal damage and would also get a +1/+1 counter, does it die?

I have an attacking 4/4 creature blocked by an Ajani's Pridemate and a Bishop's Soldier. Is the attacking order relevant? I.e., does it make a difference to the outcome of the fight whether I ...
10
votes
3answers
5k views

Are white bordered cards allowed in DCI sanctioned tournaments?

Everywhere I look has specific ban lists for Magic. I have heard that "all white border cards are banned in DCI sanctioned tournaments" But my 'Stream of Life' is white bordered and not listed on the ...
10
votes
4answers
12k views

How can I get rid of indestructible creatures with a Red and White deck?

I am creating a Red-White commander deck using Gisela as my commander. I noticed that my deck is incredibly weak against a deck with any sort of indestructible creature. I know of the board sweeper ...
10
votes
2answers
584 views

Can I use a Corpse Cur to get a Vector Asp back from the graveyard?

I attack with a Vector Asp and use his activated ability to give him infect until the end of the turn. It's blocked by a 2/2 creature and goes to the graveyard. If I cast Corpse Cur next, can I ...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Do we still track damage on indestructible creatures?

So if lethal damage can't kill an indestructible creature, what do we do about the damage itself? Is it acknowledged? Say you have an effect that doesnt let a creature block if it has taken damage ...
10
votes
4answers
4k views

How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities?

I'm becoming more and more confused as I learn about how things have changed during a break in play I had some time ago. Seems the stack has changed now, and oft times abilities use a source's last ...
10
votes
3answers
12k views

Does devoid make a card's color identity colorless in Commander?

Certain Battle for Zendikar Eldrazi cards have: Devoid (This card has no color.) According to a video by Mark Rosewater, that means regardless of the colored mana required to cast the card, the ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I make a planeswalker harder to attack by making it a creature with flying?

So a weird combo popped into my head. If I use Memnarch to turn Nicol Bolas, the Arisen into an artifact, then use March of the Machines to turn him into Artifact Creature Planeswalker and tap Dragon ...
10
votes
3answers
4k views

How do I put a double-faced card in my deck?

I was reading recently about double-faced cards. Basically, they are cards that are otherwise typical creature cards, but some condition allows you to flip them over so that they become a new card. ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Can Fabled Passage generate two mana with Amulet of Vigor?

Fabled Passage has this text: [T], Sacrifice Fabled Passage: Search your library for a basic land card, put it onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle your library. Then if you control four or ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

How does Sundering Titan handle snow lands?

My doubt is about Sundering Titan; what happens when it enters and leaves the battlefield if there are snow lands in play? Does it destroy basic lands and snow basic lands and how much of each of them?...
10
votes
3answers
3k views

Why/how was Ajani's Pridemate ability made mandatory?

I just viewed this question where Ajani's Pridemate was mentioned. I noticed a small but significant difference; on all printings, including the recent Core 2019 set, its card text says ...
10
votes
4answers
8k views

Blocking One Attacker with Multiple Creatures

In what situation would I want to have multiple creatures block one attacker? If one creature can absorb all of the damage, why subject more creatures to the excess damage? Other than trample, is ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Why doesn't Rishkar, Peema Renegade have Support 2?

This bugs me. Rishkar, Peema Renegade's Enter the Battlefield ability: When Rishkar, Peema Renegade enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on each of up to two target creatures. Lead by ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

MTG Cards that interact with each other by name

So I know that Bogbrew Witch, Festering Newt and Bubbling Cauldron all name each other in their rules text and I was wondering if there are any other cards that do this as well. How can I find more ...
10
votes
4answers
55k views

Can Guttersnipe hit Planeswalkers?

Guttersnipe's ability states: Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, Guttersnipe deals 2 damage to each opponent. Now, Planeswalkers are classed as "Players". I found this ruling that ...
10
votes
2answers
31k views

What happens if you are unable to draw because your library is empty?

In Magic the Gathering, what happens to a player if they get their draw phase, but are unable to draw a card because their library is empty?

1 7 8 9 10 11 82