Questions tagged [mansions-of-madness]

Mansions of Madness is a boardgame from Fantasy Flight Games set in the same Cthulhu Mythos universe as Arkham Horror.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
1answer
50 views

Mansion of Madness scenario game time

I've played a handful of scenarios now for Mansions of Madness 2nd edition, but they all seem to take far longer than the "recommended" time in the app. And quite frankly, while I love the game, it ...
4
votes
2answers
154 views

Do all players interact with the Mansions of Madness app, or does one player act as GM?

I've seen a few board or card games that use an app as part of gameplay, and they fall into two categories: ones where all players must interact with the app (for example, everybody has to touch the ...
1
vote
1answer
38 views

Adjacency of non-corner connecting spaces in Escape from Innsmouth

We had an argument about an adjacency question in the board game Mansions of Madness. In the "Escape from Innsmouth" scenario the upper left corner of the map looks like this: The question is whether ...
1
vote
1answer
324 views

Order of players actions in Mansion of Madness 2nd edition

When player begins his turn, can he pause after first action to allow doing something to other players? Example: Player 1: open door Player 2: walk into new room Player 1: do some other action Is ...
4
votes
1answer
388 views

Do you announce when you have lost due to Insanity?

I was playing mansions of madness 2nd edition and I got the 'selfish motives' insanity card. The next turn I became wounded, meaning I lost. When this happens, do you announce that you have lost? Do ...
0
votes
2answers
102 views

Mansion Of Madness- Discarded combat cards specific type of combat(sharp,melee)

When entering combat and flipping the correct combat decks for the creature type, we have already flipped all of the "sharp melee weapon" cards. I want to attack with the Axe again. When we reach the ...
2
votes
1answer
419 views

Does Forbidden Words affect the character or player or both?

In mansions of madness 2nd edition, there is an insanity card called 'Forbidden Words'. The text specifies "You cannot speak. You win or lose the game as normal." There was some confusion as to if '...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

Our copy of Mansion of Madness, second edition doesn't contain the original 8 investigators cards, is this correct?

we had Mansion of Madness, second edition (core game) for Christmas (don't have the original) but the game doesn't have the original 8 investigators. Is this correct? We have 16 other investigators ...
0
votes
1answer
647 views

Can I use expansions with the second edition without owning the first edition?

I'm looking to pick of Mansions of Madness now that the second edition has been released. I know that the first edition had a several expansions released, and I know that the MoM second edition ...
0
votes
1answer
181 views

mansions of madness using a non-action equipment requires evade?

In Mansions of Madness, the rules say that "an investigator must make an evade test before moving or performing non-attack actions." What if the investigator uses an equipment card which does not have ...
6
votes
1answer
477 views

How to prepare for a Mansions of Madness session efficiently?

I own the core game, and the Forgotten Alchemy and the Call of the Wild expansions. That means a lot of cards. That also means that before every session, there is a lot of preparation. The worst part ...
4
votes
1answer
94 views

Can a trauma card meet the requirements for victory

There is a winning condition for the keeper that states that a Mi Go monster must kill an investigator. If the Mi Go monster did damage to an investigator and then I trigger a Trauma card that kills ...
3
votes
1answer
315 views

The Inner Sanctum Sealed Door and Objective 1C

Yesterday, we played the Mansions of Madness core scenario, The Inner Sanctum I can't remember the exact options that I selected, but the final objective was 1C, where the investigators we're being ...
2
votes
1answer
449 views

Are diagonal corners concidered adjacent?

For purposes of movement and weapon range, are diagonally connected corners concidered adjacent?
3
votes
1answer
173 views

Mansions of Madness - Loss of Vision

With the "Loss of Vision" mythos card, can the keeper play additional mythos cards that require the investigator to be in a room with darkness for any room that investigator is in? I interpreted as ...
5
votes
1answer
286 views

Can Harvey Walters solve the final rune puzzle with his special ability?

Harvey Walters has a special ability that allows him to solve any rune puzzle once per game for a certain cost (can't remember exactly). One of the scenarios requires the investigators to solve a ...
2
votes
2answers
807 views

Does attempting a puzzle require a movement point or an action point?

In our last (and first) game, an investigator attempted to move through a room that had an obstacle which revealed a puzzle. He was unable to resolve the puzzle on his turn. We only counted the ...
0
votes
1answer
552 views

Can fire spread to rooms that are connected via a ladder?

In the Blood Ties scenario (1C), there are two map tiles that are connected via a ladder token. Using the Pyromaniac keeper action, can I spread fire to the room that is connected via the ladder?
-2
votes
1answer
247 views

Can an Investigator use a skill token when attempting a luck check?

Skill tokens allow you to add your luck to the attribute you are testing. In the case where you need to check your luck, can you use a skill token to effectively double your attribute score? e.g. a ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Mansions of Madness, Custom Scenarios: where to start?

My gaming group has finished all of the official MoM scenarios a couple of times, and have been looking for some good custom fan-made ones to try out. However, I'm not even sure where to start looking,...
3
votes
1answer
248 views

Is there a limit to how many characters can be placed on a room space?

Is there a limit to how many characters (specially monsters) can be placed on room space? I just played a session where the keeper placed 4 cultists, a shogoth, and two more monsters on the same space ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

Evasion checks for investigator attacking a monster in a space with another monster

If an investigator is in a space with two monsters (A, B) and attacks one (A) of them, does he have to make an evasion check for the one (B) which he is not attacking? The rules don't explicitly ...
8
votes
1answer
335 views

Do Status Effects End In Mansions of Madness?

We played Mansions of Madness for the first time this weekend and I was surprised that fire was so devastating. When a status effect is placed in a room, like fire, does it ever end without an '...
2
votes
2answers
412 views

Rolling for Horror Between Rooms with No Door

The setup for Story 2 contains adjacent rooms with no wall or door. The rules say that you must roll for horror when entering a room with a monster or when a monster enters the room. My assumption ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

Confused About Stunned Investigators

When an investigator is stunned I understand that it limits the moves from 2 to 1. Optionally, the investigator can spend their action to remove the stun. If I spend the action first, is the move ...
3
votes
2answers
691 views

Can an investigator carry more than one weapon?

The rule book doesn't say anything specifically about this (or I'm just missing it). Does anyone know if an investigator can carry more than one weapon and if so, do you choose which weapon you're ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Does the investigator have to evade after combat?

I've been through the rule book several times and we've only played the game twice so it could be I'm missing something. The scenario is this: The keeper moves a monster into an investigator's space. ...
5
votes
1answer
645 views

Where does the Shoggoth come from in story 1B?

Am I missing something in the rules? One of the objectives references a Shoggoth, but there is no mention of one on any clue, mythos, or Keeper action card. I've read references to taking samples ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

What's the relation between Mansions of Madness, Elder Sign and Arkham Horror?

What's the relation between Mansions of Madness, Elder Sign and Arkham Horror? All of them are published by Fantasy Flight Games and they are based of Cthulhu Mythos. So my question is, is it ...
4
votes
1answer
508 views

If I Find the “Objective Clue” with Gloria's Psychic Sensitivity, Does That Reveal the Objective

I used Gloria Goldberg's Psychic Sensitivity to reveal the cards in the Ceremony Room, which contained Clue 1, which also says "Reveal Objective". As I have to return the cards face down, does that ...
5
votes
2answers
339 views

Line of sight dots on “chasm” map tile

In Mansions of Madness: On the map room "chasm" there are two spaces (The Chasm room is the lowest left tile). But only one of them has "line of sight dots". Does this mean that the other half (the ...
8
votes
1answer
560 views

How is a positive horror rating handled?

What does a positive horror rating mean? For example, when a monster has -1 horror rating and my character's willpower is 7, it is reduced to 6. In the positive rating, when the monster has 1 for ...
5
votes
1answer
949 views

Horror Tests with Multiple Monsters and Multiple Investigators

Can't find this clearly in the rules. Do I need to take a second horror test when a new monster enters the room, even if the investigators have already taken a horror test? I can see this leading to ...
5
votes
1answer
580 views

Room Boundaries in Blood Ties

In Blood Ties, what counts as a room boundary for the purpose of Horror Tests and Item Abilities? (e.g. Elder Sign) For example, my girlfriend raises a zombie in the graveyard. Do all my ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

What are “attack” Spells?

In the rules, it says Attacking a monster does not require making an evade test. This attack may be unarmed, with a weapon, or with an “attack” Spell card. This attack does not need to target ...
3
votes
2answers
849 views

Can a Monster carry more than one Sample at a time?

The Take Sample keeper action does not seem to have a restriction around having more than one sample, other than it would require multiple turns. Action: One per turn, choose a monster in an ...
5
votes
1answer
237 views

Can 'Eyes in the Dark' be played on an Investigator with a Torch?

Torch Investigators may Ignore Darkness in your room. Eyes in the Dark: Requirement Basement or any room in darkness. We took the ruling that the mythos card could not target the investigator as he ...
2
votes
1answer
985 views

What happens to Mythos, Trauma, Keeper Action cards that have been used once?

What happens to Mythos, Trauma, and Keeper Action cards that have been used by a Keeper? Are they discarded to a discard pile, and can these discards later return back to the game when they run out?
5
votes
1answer
1k views

How many Mythos cards can be played during the investigator's turns?

I am wondering how playing Mythos cards works. I read that the Keeper can play 1 Mythos card in the investigators' turn. Does that mean: 1) when playing against 4 investigators, the Keeper can play 4 ...
3
votes
2answers
434 views

Is an early escape normal in encounter 1C?

In First Scenario 1C Scenario objectives : Win : Kill 2 investigators Lose : Investigators escape from Foyer During my game session investigators revealed objective very quickly, and most of them ...
13
votes
1answer
676 views

Can Joe Diamond attempt to solve a puzzle twice with his magnifying glass?

In our latest session of Mansions of Madness, we allowed Joe Diamond to use his magnifying glass to make two attempts at a rune puzzle. However, at the time and shortly after the completion of the ...
6
votes
1answer
287 views

Do I take one card in a room or take all?

When I investigate a room, do I take one card per action turn at a time or do I take them all on that action turn?
3
votes
2answers
282 views

After failing the test on Dhol Chants, does the card stay in the room or get discarded?

Cards like Dhol Chants state that if you pass the test, you discard the card and receive another one. It doesn't say what to do if you fail the test. Do I discard it also, or do I leave it in that ...
2
votes
2answers
203 views

Can I change the order of cards stacked in each room?

The first few times I played the game I've placed the cards in the rooms in the order that the Seed Cards reference tells me to, but I find that some cards at the bottom of each pile are supposed to ...
3
votes
1answer
778 views

When can the Keeper use Trauma cards?

I understand I need to pick up a Mythos card during the Keeper's turn, but when do I pick up and use Trauma cards?
4
votes
1answer
389 views

Can I use the Axe weapon more than once?

Once I find the Axe card, can I continue using it to "solve" all locked puzzles I find or is this a one time use then discard card?
3
votes
1answer
168 views

If the room is dark, can I still move to a closet or explore?

When I enter a room that is "dark", can I still move to a closet or continue exploring or do I need to complete a puzzle first?
3
votes
1answer
445 views

Can I solve a puzzle I originally failed if there is a monster in the same room?

In Mansion of Madness, my wife was in the laboratory. She then could not complete the puzzle in that room and the lights could not work. Then I had a cultist come in the room with her. Can she try to ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Keeper Action Card Reuse in Mansions of Madness

Some Keeper Action cards in MoM specifically state "This card can be used only once per Keeper turn." Other specifically state that a card may be used a number of times - once per monster on the board,...
1
vote
1answer
301 views

Torches and altars

I was so sure during today's game that the torch could destroy an altar but when I looked through the rules I couldn't find it anywhere. Have I only dreamed it or is it there somewhere in the rules?