Questions tagged [mtg-commander]

Commander (aka Elder Dragon Highlander or EDH) is a Magic:The Gathering variant which emphasises social interactions, interesting games, and creative deck building. Its primary characteristic is that decks are centered about a Legendary Creature as the Commander. Please also tag these questions with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
1 answer
471 views

Can a triggered ability of a permanent with shroud be targeted? [duplicate]

suppose Karlach, Fury of Avernus (with Lightning Greaves), triggers: untap all attacking creatures. They gain first strike until end of turn. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase in ...
garglblarg's user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
214 views

Can the combo of Smothering Tithe + Faerie Mastermind + Training Grounds be interrupted by removing the Faerie?

My opponent controls Smothering Tithe, Faerie Mastermind, and Training Grounds, and they are activating Faerie Mastermind's ability repeatedly to draw their whole deck I Deadly Rollick'd their Faerie ...
mike56k's user avatar
  • 31
4 votes
1 answer
455 views

When Kardur, Doomscourge is active, do myriad-empowered creatures create tokens and deal damage to the Kardur player upon attacking?

In an EDH game, when an opponent controls Kardur, Doomscourge with its enters-the-battlefield (ETB) ability activated, if I attack another opponent with my creatures that have myriad (courtesy of ...
Gil's user avatar
  • 155
3 votes
1 answer
134 views

Casting Benefits even if spell is countered

Playing Sauron, Lord of the Rings. When cast you amass Orc 5 and return a creature from your graveyard. Since that triggers when cast will you get the two other creatures even if the spell is counted?
Zed's user avatar
  • 31
-1 votes
2 answers
324 views

Constricting sliver interaction with commander creatures

Anyone able to determine (with citations) if the following interaction occurs with Constricting Sliver's effect: Sliver creatures you control have "When this creature enters the battlefield, you ...
Sliverfan42069's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

Why do some MTG cards specify "land and/or Gate"?

I've been toying with building a Maze's End Commander deck for a while now. Digging around for cards for such a deck, I came across Navigation Orb and some other similar cards. Why does these cards ...
ConnieMnemonic's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
667 views

Can you sacrifice Fleshbag Marauder to Ashnod's Altar, when it comes into play, if you have no other creatures?

Can you sacrifice Fleshbag Marauder to Ashnod's Altar, when it comes into play, if you have no other creatures? Would other players still be forced to sacrifice a creature?
Euphorbium's user avatar
9 votes
11 answers
5k views

What makes a good alternative to flipping a coin for 50/50 randomness?

I'm building a coin-flip themed Commander deck, and I realise I'm going to be flipping potentially dozens of coins every turn deeper into a match. What would be a good alternative to flipping an ...
ConnieMnemonic's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
242 views

How would Jon Irenicus, Shattered One work with Blood Pet's ability?

I'm building a Jon Irenicus, Shattered One deck and wanted to know how his ability to give a creature "this creature can't be sacrificed" would work with something like Blood Pet or even ...
David Martinez's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
722 views

Do I get to order the outcome of a voting card on the stack in the way I want?

If I play Cirdan the Shipwright its ETB triggers and everybody votes. If I receive no votes and have Consecrated Sphinx in hand, do I get to order the results of the vote in such a way, that I may put ...
kvltfjord's user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
981 views

Does High Ground let creatures that are not able to block, like Skrelv, Defector Mite, block?

I am thinking of including High Ground in my mono-white deck. The deck has a lot of creatures and tokens that cannot block, like Skrelv, Defector Mite and the tokens created by White Sun's Twilight. ...
WowGeeWhiz's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can I steal a commander and return it to my hand?

I was in a commander game with some friends and I was playing rogues. I popped the saga The Trickster-God's Heist stealing their commander, then I wanted to return that card to my hand with say ...
DD Boi64's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
475 views

Can mana from The Seedcore be used to cast Greven, Predator Captain

I have a copy of Greven, Predator Captain that says his creature type is Human Warrior. I know that he is a Phyrexian in-lore, and the link says his creature type is Phyrexian Human Warrior. Does this ...
WowGeeWhiz's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
848 views

Can Riveteers Overlook go in a red and black Commander deck?

Can I include Riveteers Overlook (or other similar cards) in a Commander deck with a red and black Commander? I know the rules regarding color identity, but Riveteers Overlook specifically names ...
WowGeeWhiz's user avatar
6 votes
3 answers
3k views

Looking to protect enchantment in Mono Black

I recently aquired the Necron precon commander deck. Played it a couple of times, works pretty great out of the box. One of the better cards in the deck is Out of the Tombs. Really gives a great edge ...
Yellow's user avatar
  • 63
5 votes
1 answer
741 views

Can Word of Command be used to cast a sorcery at instant speed?

In a Commander game I cast my commander Chainer, Dementia Master. With Chainer on the stack, my opponent responds by casting Word of Command. In my hand they see Toxic Deluge and target that card ...
Carlos Clements's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
452 views

Does Rith, the Awakener count only permanents I own?

Does Rith, the Awakener count only permanents I own, or should I count my opponents permanents too?
Euphorbium's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
446 views

Why is Magic Online saying I have off color cards even though I don’t?

I’m trying to make a Commander deck using Rona, Sheoldred's Faithful as my Commander but Magic Online won’t let me use it because I have off color cards. I’ve looked through the deck list 5 times ...
Krvz's user avatar
  • 37
6 votes
1 answer
291 views

How are requirements addressed during declaration as attackers?

I'm making a Voltron commander with Khârn the Betrayer at the helm for some flavorful Khorne gameplay. The main objective to to pass the commander, Khârn, around and watch as people are forced ...
Zanius Maximus's user avatar
-3 votes
1 answer
360 views

Does taking somebody's Commander phase that player out?

What does happen to the person if I take their Commander does the person phase out of the game for two turns? Because I thought I read it a couple months ago about that just not sure
Daniel Bartell's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
742 views

If Pitiless Pontiff sacrifices Piru, the Volatile, does it get indestructible?

If Pitiless Pontiff sacrifices Piru, the Volatile, does it get indestructible before getting killed by Piru?
Euphorbium's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
2k views

If a creature would die from an equipment unattaching, does that creature die with the effects of the equipment?

Grafted Wargear states: Equipped creature gets +3/+2 and whenever Grafted Wargear becomes unattached from a creature, sacrifice that creature. If I have Grafted Wargear attached to a 1/1 creature and ...
BeanDragon's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

If Drach’Nyen exiles a commander and it is put into command zone, does it still get bonus power?

If Drach'Nyen exiles a commander and it is put into command zone, does it still get bonus power? I think it is the same as with Mimic vat and it only gives menace then?
Euphorbium's user avatar
4 votes
3 answers
2k views

With the new rulings is It That Betrays able to take an enemy's Commander?

I've been looking it up and back in 2016 it said that you can't because when it goes to the graveyard the player can change it to go to the command zone, and because they change where it goes it can't ...
Daniel Guzman's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
400 views

Does Pyxis of Pandemonium trigger Pact Boon?

Player A has a Pyxis of Pandemonium. Player B has Prosper, Tome-Bound as a commander. Would the second ability of Pyxis trigger Pact Boon on Prosper Tome Bound?
EnglishWolfman 2's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
959 views

How do Faceless One and The Prismatic Piper work?

Faceless One and The Prismatic Piper are both legendary creatures (and in one case also a background) with the following ability: If CARDNAME is your commander, choose a color before the game begins. ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 18k
1 vote
1 answer
2k views

What are the best ways to tutor artifacts in mono red

I've recently built a Jaya Ballard, Task Mage EDH deck, based around stacking Jaya with equipments get the most advantage out of her burn effects. I'm having a hard time finding cards that let me find ...
BeanDragon's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
1k views

When a creature attacks you versus tapped and attacking rules

I have Hissing Miasma on the battlefield and my opponent has Kaalia of the Vast and attacks me and puts a Serra Angel tapped and attacking me off the trigger. Does my opponent lose 1 life for the one ...
user1575528's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
291 views

Sleeper agent and Etrata the silencer

If I play Sleeper Agent, my opponent gains control of it, and I exile it with a hit counter from Etrata, the Silencer, would it count towards the creatures they own with hit counters?
Zack 's user avatar
  • 29
0 votes
1 answer
2k views

How does Myrkul, Lord of Bones interact with Feign Death

Myrkul, Lord of Bones says: Whenever another nontoken creature you control dies, you may exile it. If you do, create a token that's a copy of that card, except it's an enchantment and loses all other ...
TheDragonOfFlame's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer
283 views

MTG: Transform cards & Reanimator effects

I'm building a Shirei, Shizo's Caretaker deck, and I want to include Ecstatic Awakener in it. Would an Awoken Demon (the other side of Ecstatic Awakener) hit the graveyard as Ecstatic Awakener, ...
Ryūō Guillo's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Myrkul + Palisade Giant how does it work?

I was going through my cards as I worked on a Myrkul, Lord of Bones commander deck and saw my Palisade Giant. Does the giant's effect: All damage that would be dealt to you and other permanents you ...
Jesse Davies's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
1k views

Alaundo the Seer removing multiple last time counters at the same time

Suppose that I have 2 or more spells in exile with exactly 1 time counter on each of them. I activate Alaundo the Seer's ability to "remove a time counter from each other card you own in exile&...
kaine's user avatar
  • 391
-1 votes
1 answer
661 views

What blue and/or black options exist for moving +1/+1 counters?

I am making a Szadek, Lord of Secrets deck, and I am looking for cards that can move +1/+1 (or similar) counters from one of my creatures to him. For instance, if I have a bunch of +1/+1 counters on ...
Ethan Flanders's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
4k views

If a commander is phased out, do I still controll it?

If a commander is phased out, do I still control it? For instance, do I get the extra part of Jeska's will, if my commander is in oubliette?
Euphorbium's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
15k views

When exactly do I get to return my Commander to the Command Zone after it goes to the Graveyard?

If my Commander on the field dies, and I send it to the Graveyard, its death becomes a state-based action. My question is, since a Commander has the chance to be returned to the Command Zone from the ...
Lane's user avatar
  • 33
-2 votes
1 answer
870 views

Can a commander sent to the graveyard be brought back by a sorcery or instant card or ability without costing mana? [closed]

Can a commander sent to the graveyard be brought back by a sorcery or instant card or ability without costing mana? I know I can put it in the command-zone. But does that mean I can get it back out of ...
Mike Sterckx's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
3k views

What do we do when we accidentally block an "unblockable" creature?

While playing a game of Commander, I attacked with Ainok Bond-Kin and activated the ability of Rogue's Passage {4}, {T}: Target creature can't be blocked this turn targeting Ainok before the ...
Sammy's user avatar
  • 59
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

How do cost reducers affect costs that include XX?

How does Mass Manipulation work with Hinata, Dawn-Crowned? How does the mana reducing ability interact with the XXUUUU mana cost?
John's user avatar
  • 73
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does Kira negate exploit?

I am making a Kira, Great Glass-Spinner EDH deck and had a quick question. If I run a creature with an exploit ability (for example: Profaner of the Dead) where I have to sacrifice a creature to pull ...
Deus's user avatar
  • 133
5 votes
2 answers
2k views

Ardenn, Intrepid Archaeologist with reconfigure

I was curious what would happen if I tried to attach an equipped with reconfigure (like The Reality Chip) to a creature using the trigger from Ardenn, Intrepid Archaeologist. Would it attach since it ...
Dennis van Opstal's user avatar
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Terror of the peaks with double myriad triggers in EDH

I'm currently brewing an EDH Wulfgar of Icewind Dale Deck. I want to include both Terror of the Peaks and Blade of Selves. Now let's assume the following board state: I have my Wulfgar of Icewind Dale ...
bautista's user avatar
  • 1,165
5 votes
1 answer
583 views

Does Karn Liberated's Ultimate allow you to change your Commander

After reading the answers to this question, a thought popped into my mind: if Karn Liberated's ultimate restarts the game, and declaring one of the Legendary Creatures in your deck as a Commander is a ...
nick012000's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
290 views

How to protect a card from RL damage (scratches, bends, cracks) and still play them?

I playing MTG for 17 years now. At first, I tried to protect my cards with simple thin sleeves and create/modify my deck without even considering the RL price of my cards. Now I play EDH mostly. I ...
Krystian's user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
9k views

Can I produce off-color mana and activate off-color abilities outside my commander's identity?

Can a commander deck use abilities of creatures or spells, and generate mana that are not part of the commander's color identity? For example, if my commander has only black in its color identity, can ...
mtg confused's user avatar
2 votes
3 answers
911 views

Weird Lich and Laboratory Maniac situation, who wins?

In a Commander game I cast Lich + Sudden Substitution and swapped Lich for one of my opponents' creatures, giving him 0 life. My opponent plays Laboratory Maniac and proceeds to make us both draw our ...
Montug's user avatar
  • 37
4 votes
1 answer
546 views

Ancient Greenwarden and Simic Growth Chamber

If I have Ancient Greenwarden on the field and I play Simic Growth Chamber, since Greenwarden's third ability isn't a may it means that Chambers ETB goes on the stack twice. My question is if I can ...
Miguel's user avatar
  • 41
3 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you shoot Terror of the Peaks when it enters with a bunch of dragons, to avoid the damage?

On a recent edh game a player was returning all the dragons from his graveyard to play. One of those dragons was Terror of the Peaks, so other dragons would trigger him. All of them enter at the same ...
Euphorbium's user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

Are there any artifacts that tap for white, blue or black mana?

I'm looking for artifacts similar to the crystals from the Ikoria set (e.g. Indatha Crystal) or the banners (e.g. Abzan Banner), but instead that produce white, blue or black mana. I'm not opposed to ...
Salum's user avatar
  • 79
4 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does this Teshar combo (listed #1 on EDHREC) really work?

In the EDHREC page for Teshar, Ancestor's Apostle, there is a list of combos recommended for him as a commander. The top combo shown features these four cards: Blasting Station Myr Retriever ...
Qami's user avatar
  • 243

1
2 3 4 5 6