Questions tagged [mtg-commander]

Commander (aka Elder Dragon Highlander or EDH) is a Magic:The Gathering variant which emphasises social interactions, interesting games, and creative deck building. Its primary characteristic is that decks are centered about a Legendary Creature as the Commander. Please also tag these questions with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
12
votes
1answer
10k views

How do Companion cards from Ikoria work in Commander?

Today the Ikoria previews revealed a new mechanic: companion. From Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths Mechanics, you can choose up to one companion card in your sideboard (or in your collection outside the ...
0
votes
2answers
139 views

How does Song of Freyalise chapters 1-2 work?

I have a question about Song of Freyalise. Chapters I and II say: Until your next turn, creatures you control gain '{T}: Add one mana of any color.' According to the wording of this effect, my ...
2
votes
1answer
77 views

Companion commander question

Haven't seen this covered, but can you use a companion card such as Jegantha, the Wellspring as your commander instead of as a companion? The text on the card reads If this card is your chosen ...
2
votes
2answers
90 views

Mutate and replacement effects (Example, Darigaaz Reincarnated) and triggered abilities (ex: Sigil of the New Dawn)

How does mutate exactly work with any replacement effects? For example, lets say I have 2 creatures Mutated on top of Darigaaz Reincarnated, when that creature dies, A. Darigaaz returned with the ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Is there a tier list of all precon Commander decks?

C19 is currently being spoiled and I am thinking about buying it. The idea is to buy a group of deck to play with friends. Here is the idea. Lets consider that we are 5 people sitting at a table. This ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

How does Infinite Reflection work with Commander and commander damage?

Does a Commander which has been turned into a copy of another card still do commander damage (i.e. will 21 damage dealt to a single player from the copy lose the game for that player)? Alternately, ...
1
vote
3answers
158 views

MTG Mirage Mirror copying Medomai the Ageless

Hey guys just a quick question. Last night I played an EDH game and I have a Medomai the Ageless onto the battlefield. It's my opponent's turn and he uses Mirage Mirror to copy Medomai. He used ...
2
votes
1answer
2k views

Mutate and Commander status

So, the new mutate abilty reads : As a mutating creature spell resolves, instead of entering the battlefield, it merges with its target into one creature. Its controller chooses to put the ...
2
votes
1answer
108 views

Does Commander Tax reset?

Example: I cast my commander from my command zone, paying no tax. Commander dies Goes to command zone Summon from command zone, paying tax (2) I bounce my Commander to my hand, play him from hand He ...
5
votes
3answers
672 views

Could I still play cards from the activated ability of Golos while the Epic effect is active?

Spells cast with the keyword Epic, like Eternal Dominion prevent the player from casting other spells for the rest of the game. However, Golos, Tireless Pilgrim says: Exile the top three cards of ...
15
votes
4answers
4k views

How to build a budget-friendly manabase for a 5-color deck?

I am a commander player who operates on a very tight budget. I recently started brewing for a 5-color Jodah chaos deck, but am having trouble building an affordable manabase. I can't afford shocklands,...
6
votes
1answer
243 views

Gisela, the Broken Blade or Bruna, the Fading Light as a Commanders

Gisela, the Broken Blade is a legendary creature that melds with Bruna, the Fading Light to create Brisela, Voice of Nightmares. All three are legendary creatures and as part of the meld action are ...
1
vote
2answers
2k views

Can a deck with a mono-colored commander have cards with other colors than its commander in it?

The basic rules for building a Commander deck state: All cards must be in the color identity of the commander Then the rules summary continues with: COLOR IDENTITY A card's color identity ...
2
votes
1answer
19k views

If I use a colorless commander, can I use colored spells?

In Commander, your General's color identity defines what other cards you get to use, but what happens when you have a colorless General? Can you play any other colors of cards (WUBRG), or are you ...
11
votes
1answer
475 views

Rishkar's Expertise and Jace, Wielder of Mysteries

I have 30 cards in my library. I control a Toothy, Imaginary Friend with 100 +1/+1 counters on it. I cast Rishkar's Expertise (RE) to draw my entire library, and I cast Jace, Wielder of Mysteries ...
7
votes
3answers
14k views

Why is Trade Secrets banned in EDH or Commander?

Ban list for commander I don't see any announcement for Trade Secrets. Why has it been banned? Is there any mention of this card from Wizards, a card they made specifically for Commander?
6
votes
1answer
224 views

How does a Channel ability work with my commander?

How does Channel (the Kamigawa mechanic, not the card) work when your commander has such an ability, such as Arashi, the Sky Asunder? Can I use it from the command zone? Do I pay the tax when I use ...
-1
votes
2answers
212 views

Death triggers and the stack

Now upon exiling a creature with a coin counter from Athreos, Shroud-Veiled with Flicker of Fate, does the triggered ability of Athreos, Shroud-Veiled take over and and stop the rest of the Flicker of ...
29
votes
3answers
160k views

How many lands do I need for a Commander deck?

A Commander deck consists of 100 unique cards, of which one is designated as the Commander and must be either a Legendary Creature or an allowed Planeswalker. I'm still very unfamiliar with this ...
0
votes
0answers
67 views

Is 27 lands good in a Commander deck? [duplicate]

My deck is a ramp deck. It has a lot of creatures under 3 Mana. It is a mono green deck with elves and hydras.
0
votes
1answer
131 views

Buffing an Unblockable? [duplicate]

I have a card that basically says any creature with power or toughness = one is Unblockable, is it possible to buff them after declaring blockers? Thanks ahead of time for the info
2
votes
2answers
260 views

What happens when Teysa Karlov is equipped with Helm of the Host?

What happens when you equip Helm of the Host to Teysa Karlov? Do the Teysas trigger each other making infinite copies of the death trigger? My thinking is that it says: when a triggered ability is ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

Which commanders benefit from being in the Command Zone other than Oloro?

Oloro, Ageless Ascetic, gains its controller 2 life every turn it's in the command zone. Are there ANY other possible commanders that have abilities or benefits of being in the command zone or is he ...
0
votes
2answers
662 views

Activating Golos during another player’s turn

Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's ability can be activated during another players turn, but does doing so allow you to still play the cards if it is not your turn? The ability text says you may play those ...
1
vote
0answers
121 views

how is my deck deck list? [closed]

I'm building a Teysa Karlov commander deck. I have a couple of win cons in the deck like revel in riches and pitiless plunderer with Teysa Karlov makes the treasures supper fast. I also have infinite ...
1
vote
1answer
211 views

What cards were never allowed in Commander?

The Commander format has a relatively big ban-list. Which cards were banned upon Commander/EDH becoming a format? Which cards never got the chance to justify their ban on the fields of battle?
1
vote
2answers
369 views

How likely am I to have a key card in my starting hand in Brawl?

I'm playing the Brawl format (a 60-card singleton format), and I really want one specific card in my starting hand. I'm willing to take two mulligans (leaving me with a starting hand of 5 cards after ...
6
votes
2answers
292 views

How does Thought Sponge interact with Yarok, the Desecrated?

Situation I have Yarok, the Desecrated on the battlefield: If a permanent entering the battlefield causes a triggered ability of a permanent you control to trigger, that ability triggers an ...
3
votes
2answers
708 views

Don't the Planeswalkers in Commander 2014 that say they can be your Commander contradict the fact the Commanders have to be legendary creatures?

Ob Nixilis of the Black Oath and the other Commanders in Commander 2014 say they can be your Commander. Doesn't that contradict the rule that Commanders can only be Legendary Creatures?
4
votes
1answer
701 views

Do you have to pay the commander tax if you have an Omniscience in play?

If you have an Omniscience in play, will you still have to pay the commander tax or do you get to play your commander completely for free? Or is it the case that Omniscience will only ever make my ...
5
votes
1answer
177 views

Golos, Tireless Pilgrim and cards with cycling

If I use Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's activated ability and hit a card with cycling, can I cycle it? And if so I assume I can't do so for free?
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Commander status as hidden information

Inspired by Ivo Beckers' comment on the answer to Is your commander still a "commander" if it gets turned face down? If Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and is returned to your hand, ...
3
votes
1answer
130 views

If Rayami, First of The Fallen is in the command zone, does his ability still activate? [duplicate]

So if Rayami, First of the Fallen is your commander and has yet to be played, does his ability still exile creatures that would normally be destroyed, or does he have to be on the battlefield for that ...
8
votes
1answer
619 views

Is Prismite considered colorless or all colors for the purpose of Brawl/Commander decks?

Me and the person I'm playing with were making Brawl decks. And we got into an argument about if Prismite was colorless or all colors. So which is it?
2
votes
1answer
239 views

MTG: Ixidron vs Morph

I couldn't find the answer to this but what happens if you have a face down morph on the field and someone plays Ixidron? Does my morph creature stay face down or do they get turned up?
4
votes
1answer
376 views

Commander Damage Stacking & Player Control

In Commander/EDH, as far as I understand if a commander does 21 damage to an opponent they lose. I understand separate commanders must be tracked separately in multiplayer. How does this count if for ...
7
votes
2answers
468 views

How does Octopus Umbra interact with effects that change the base power and toughness of, and counters on, a creature?

Context My friend plays a Commander deck, lead by Tuvasa the Sunlit: Tuvasa the Sunlit gets +1/+1 for each enchantment you control. She's in play and has +2/+2 — not counters — from the two ...
6
votes
2answers
142 views

Sedris and Nicol Bolas, the Ravager

If I unearth Nicol Bolas, the Ravager thanks to Sedris, the Traitor King, then use Nicol Bolas's activated ability to exile it, does it return to the battlefield transformed? Unearth seems to replace ...
0
votes
3answers
230 views

MTG — Search for a sorcery — Green — EDH

I am building an EDH/Commander deck and my commander is mono green... I want a card or a combo that allows me to search my library for a sorcery card (or something similar). Do you guys know ...
6
votes
3answers
3k views

What happens when I sacrifice a creature when my Teysa Karlov is on the battlefield?

Let’s say my commander Teysa Karlov is on the battlefield, ready for action. Then, I sacrifice Resolute Watchdog. What happens? Can I give one or two creatures indestructible? The relevant details ...
3
votes
1answer
392 views

When exactly does the commander tax get added?

Does commander tax increase for each time the commander has been cast, or for each time it has been removed from the battlefield? For example, if an opponent would kill my commander but I manage to ...
8
votes
3answers
4k views

Removing a Commander permanently

So I was thinking of ways to get rid of Commanders other than destroying and exiling them. I found that some cards just plain out remove creatures and other permanents from game entirely. I was ...
0
votes
1answer
160 views

What is the statistically favorable amount of lands for Yennett? [closed]

Recently I have been brewing up Yennett, Cryptic Sovereign, as a commander deck. The deck was going well, with only 3 cards with even mana costs, and those being Lightning Greaves, for protection, ...
6
votes
3answers
5k views

How to calculate the power level of a Commander deck?

I've been playing Magic casually for almost half a year now, mostly in the multiplayer Commander format. Regularly, I hear people talk about the power levels of decks. Especially when I'm playing with ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can doublestrike kill a creature with totem armor?

The Battlefield My opponent has a 3/3 creature in play, enchanted with a Mask token from Estrid, the Masked's -1, which grants the creature totem armor: If enchanted permanent would be destroyed, ...
5
votes
1answer
151 views

Cloning Skullbriar

Will a creature that is a copy of Skullbriar, the Walking Grave retain it's counters as it moves to another zone? For instance, if a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of Skullbriar, later gains ...
3
votes
3answers
495 views

Does equipping an equipment go on the stack?

Say we're in a game of MTG Commander/EDH. I already have Lightning Greaves on the battefield from the previous turn. I begin my main phase and I play my commander (Let's say it has no abilities or ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Multiple delayed triggers from Massacre Girl interaction

Recently on my usual EDH playgroup, we had an interaction of which we couldn't tell the outcome for sure. I had a Massacre Girl out on the battlefield, enchanted with Kaya's Ghostform. I then ...
6
votes
1answer
338 views

Does a discarded then cast card with madness count as discarded?

Play goes like this: I have Faith of the Devoted and Anje Falkenrath on the field. I discard an Anje's Ravager via Anje Falkenrath's tap ability. For this creature I pay its madness cost and ...
2
votes
1answer
648 views

Interaction between Ethereal Absolution versus Edgar Markov with Captivating Vampire

Situation An opponent has the commander Edgar Markov: Eminence — Whenever you cast another Vampire spell, if Edgar Markov is in the command zone or on the battlefield, create a 1/1 black Vampire ...

1
2 3 4 5