The Stack Overflow podcast is back! Listen to an interview with our new CEO.

Questions tagged [mtg-commander]

Commander (aka Elder Dragon Highlander or EDH) is a Magic:The Gathering variant which emphasises social interactions, interesting games, and creative deck building. Its primary characteristic is that decks are centered about a Legendary Creature as the Commander. Please also tag these questions with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
19
votes
3answers
6k views

Can I use a card with “Add one mana of any color to your mana pool” in any Elder Dragon Highlander (EDH) deck?

I recently tried Elder Dragon Highlander/Commander, and found it to be a ton of fun. I've started customizing one of the pre-cons I got, but I'm a little confused by some of the deck-building ...
14
votes
1answer
664 views

Can my commander ever not be my commander?

Once and for all: Is there anything that can possibly be done to my commander that would cause it to cease being my commander? All of these questions ask the same thing, but aren't general enough to ...
18
votes
2answers
17k views

In EDH/Commander, what is the 'color identity' of a double-faced card?

The official deck construction rules for Commander (nee EDH) at http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php say that 'A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

How does the Commander interact with Banishing Light or Oblivion Ring?

What happens if a commander is sent to the command zone via Banishing Light and then enchantment is destroyed? Can the commander return to the battlefield from the command zone?. I think that ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

Can I defeat an opponent with their own commander?

I know that if I gain control of my opponent's commander, it won't lose the status of commander. How is the commander damage calculated in this case? Can I do the 21 commander damage with the stolen ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

Can I use two different cards with the same name in Commander?

I have two cards with the same name but different art and the card descriptions on the bottom. The card in question is Forsaken Sanctuary. It's a white/black land and I'm not sure if I can use both of ...
11
votes
1answer
6k views

Flickering a Commander

What happens when a Commander is hit with an effect such as Flicker or Otherworldly Journey, and that Commander's owner chooses to send the Commander to the Command zone instead of exile? Will the ...
10
votes
1answer
16k views

How does Fist of Suns work with my Commander?

I am working on a deck that features Progenitus as my Commander and started looking at Fist of Suns. Besides just being good because of the large number of high cost spells in the deck, I was curious ...
6
votes
1answer
4k views

Is your commander still a “commander” if it gets turned face down? [duplicate]

Does your commander still count as being your commander if it is turned face down? For example, I have my commander on the battlefield and my opponent plays Ixidron. Ixidron then turns my commander ...
13
votes
3answers
12k views

How can I mana ramp in a Commander game without helping my opponents?

I'm working on a Commander deck and I'm looking at ways to ramp my mana that won't aid my opponents. I may eventually use all the listed ramp cards, but, I'd like to keep the restriction for the ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Commander status as hidden information

Inspired by Ivo Beckers' comment on the answer to Is your commander still a "commander" if it gets turned face down? If Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and is returned to your hand, ...
9
votes
2answers
35k views

Do commanders “die” if they go to the command zone instead?

If my commander would die and I opt to move it to the command zone instead of the graveyard, does it cause a "when a creature dies" ability trigger? An example would be Fool's Demise. If my opponent ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Types of EDH mana base

After looking at a number of EDH deck lists I have seen two distinct types of mana bases used by various decks. Some decks use a large number of basic lands, dual lands and utility lands. Other ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Playing Desertion on a commander

I'm not sure how playing Desertion on a commander works. I did a quick search and got even more confused, do the EDH rules overwrite it? Commander Ruling: If Commander would be put into a library, ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

If Progenitus “dies” to the command zone, can I shuffle my deck?

This is related to another question about using Progenitus as a Commander, but focuses on a more specific interaction. In the Commander format, there is a rule that lets a Commander go to the command ...
12
votes
2answers
5k views

Can I Wish for a card outside my Commander's colors?

I have been told that Wishes work differently in Commander than in normal casual Free-For-All (FFA) mtg. Do the comprehensive rules cover how wishes work in Commander? Do the rules for wishes differ ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I use Extort in a deck that isn't both white & black?

One of the creatures I have is color black and has the skill Extort which could be paid in white or black mana. Can I use this card in a commander deck with a mono black commander?
11
votes
2answers
8k views

Commander damage from Mimic Vat token?

I've exiled my commander using Mimic Vat. Do the tokens it creates from it deal commander damage?
5
votes
5answers
4k views

Why so many people use “house rules” in EDH/Commander?

Since I'm an Eternal player (Legacy and sometimes Modern) that has played just few times EDH/Commander I found difficult to understand why often players use a more strict banned list in their matches; ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder's cascading reoccur with cascaded spells?

The new Commander 2016 set comes with a deck commanded by Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder, who can apply cascade to cards his player casts. My friend has been playing with Yidris, and it seems insanely ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Does Illusory Gains make someone else's Commander my own forever?

If I play my Illusory Gains on my opponent's commander, does their commander become mine indefinitely? I have not played this card and I am unsure as to how playing it on a commander works.
3
votes
2answers
3k views

Who wins when everyone takes lethal damage simultaneously?

I am building an edh deck for about 5 dollars and was wondering, If I cast Sickening Dreams dealing more than enough damage to kill my opponent and I at the same time, who wins?
2
votes
1answer
2k views

If a commander becomes a colorless forest, is it still a commander? [duplicate]

In Magic the Gathering, I cast Song of the Dryads on an opponent's commander. It is now a colorless forest land. My opponent has an Angelic Field Marshal on the field which gains power if you control ...
2
votes
1answer
290 views

Can I disable Sliver Overlord's abilities with Pithing Needle?

I was looking through different cards to try and find something to counteract my dad's Sliver Overlord aside from directly killing or exiling it, and when I initially saw Pithing Needle I got really ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Exotic Orchard and Command Tower

What colors of mana can Exotic Orchard produce in Commander if my opponent has a Command Tower?
0
votes
1answer
314 views

How would Progenitus affect the game as a commander?

I recently purchased Progenitus with the intent to use it as a commander. However, it has been long enough since I’ve played the commander format that I do not remember how commanders and their ...