We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Questions tagged [mtg-commander]

Commander (aka Elder Dragon Highlander or EDH) is a Magic:The Gathering variant which emphasises social interactions, interesting games, and creative deck building. Its primary characteristic is that decks are centered about a Legendary Creature as the Commander. Please also tag these questions with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
26
votes
2answers
139k views

How many lands do I need for a Commander deck?

A Commander deck consists of 100 unique cards, of which one is designated as the Commander and must be either a Legendary Creature or an allowed Planeswalker. I'm still very unfamiliar with this ...
19
votes
3answers
7k views

Can I use a card with “Add one mana of any color to your mana pool” in any Elder Dragon Highlander (EDH) deck?

I recently tried Elder Dragon Highlander/Commander, and found it to be a ton of fun. I've started customizing one of the pre-cons I got, but I'm a little confused by some of the deck-building ...
18
votes
2answers
17k views

In EDH/Commander, what is the 'color identity' of a double-faced card?

The official deck construction rules for Commander (nee EDH) at http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php say that 'A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's ...
16
votes
2answers
20k views

Why is 21 damage from a commander lethal?

In commander, there is the extra rule: 903.14a A player that’s been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same commander over the course of the game loses the game I am wondering as to the origins ...
16
votes
4answers
3k views

Can one draw their commander to the command zone, and would that be a draw?

Let us assume my commander somehow makes it to the top of my library (for example by the effect of Nephalia Academy) and when forced to draw it I instead want to put it in the command zone (for any ...
15
votes
4answers
3k views

How to build a budget-friendly manabase for a 5-color deck?

I am a commander player who operates on a very tight budget. I recently started brewing for a 5-color Jodah chaos deck, but am having trouble building an affordable manabase. I can't afford shocklands,...
14
votes
1answer
670 views

Can my commander ever not be my commander?

Once and for all: Is there anything that can possibly be done to my commander that would cause it to cease being my commander? All of these questions ask the same thing, but aren't general enough to ...
14
votes
1answer
20k views

How does poison work in Commander?

In Commander / EDH players have 40 life. In normal magic 10 poison counters results in a player being eliminated. Is it still 10 poison counters in Commander / EDH? In Commander / EDH a player is ...
13
votes
3answers
12k views

How can I mana ramp in a Commander game without helping my opponents?

I'm working on a Commander deck and I'm looking at ways to ramp my mana that won't aid my opponents. I may eventually use all the listed ramp cards, but, I'd like to keep the restriction for the ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

If Progenitus “dies” to the command zone, can I shuffle my deck?

This is related to another question about using Progenitus as a Commander, but focuses on a more specific interaction. In the Commander format, there is a rule that lets a Commander go to the command ...
12
votes
5answers
7k views

Is there a card that lets you put a card from outside of the game into play?

I played a commander game a while ago where one of my 5 opponents cast a card that let him grab a card that was outside of the game (not even in exile) and put it either in his hand or on the ...
12
votes
5answers
5k views

Is it impossible to pay off-color mana costs in EDH?

In Commander, there is a rule that states: During the game, if mana would be added to your mana pool that isn't a color in your commander's color identity, that much colorless mana is added to ...
12
votes
4answers
2k views

Can I use two different cards with the same name in Commander?

I have two cards with the same name but different art and the card descriptions on the bottom. The card in question is Forsaken Sanctuary. It's a white/black land and I'm not sure if I can use both of ...
12
votes
2answers
6k views

Can I Wish for a card outside my Commander's colors?

I have been told that Wishes work differently in Commander than in normal casual Free-For-All (FFA) mtg. Do the comprehensive rules cover how wishes work in Commander? Do the rules for wishes differ ...
12
votes
2answers
6k views

Can Conjurer's Closet be used to keep a stolen Commander?

We had this situation come up in a game last night, and we think we stumbled upon the right answer, but we're not sure. So, Player A's Commander (Sliver Overlord) was stolen by Player B using a ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

How does the Commander interact with Banishing Light or Oblivion Ring?

What happens if a commander is sent to the command zone via Banishing Light and then enchantment is destroyed? Can the commander return to the battlefield from the command zone?. I think that ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

MTG Graveyard casting with 'X' costs

I play a Goblin Dark-Dwellers and its ability targets a Tempt with Vengeance. From what I read I would assume it would be legal and I may cast it from the graveyard, but I may choose X to be 2 as its ...
11
votes
2answers
8k views

Commander damage from Mimic Vat token?

I've exiled my commander using Mimic Vat. Do the tokens it creates from it deal commander damage?
11
votes
2answers
11k views

Can you play 99 relentless rats in commander?

Just a silly question, can you run 99 Relentless Rats in commander? Maybe that and Sphinx of the Chimes and some juicy commander that plays off creature types.
11
votes
1answer
6k views

Flickering a Commander

What happens when a Commander is hit with an effect such as Flicker or Otherworldly Journey, and that Commander's owner chooses to send the Commander to the Command zone instead of exile? Will the ...
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I use Extort in a deck that isn't both white & black?

One of the creatures I have is color black and has the skill Extort which could be paid in white or black mana. Can I use this card in a commander deck with a mono black commander?
10
votes
4answers
12k views

How can I get rid of indestructible creatures with a Red and White deck?

I am creating a Red-White commander deck using Gisela as my commander. I noticed that my deck is incredibly weak against a deck with any sort of indestructible creature. I know of the board sweeper ...
10
votes
2answers
7k views

Can I use Elbrus as my Commander?

Elbrus, the Binding Blade, is a Legendary Artifact - Equipment that transforms into Withengar Unbound, a Black Legendary Demon. Can I use Elbrus/Withengar as a Commander, and if I can, is my deck ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Multiple delayed triggers from Massacre Girl interaction

Recently on my usual EDH playgroup, we had an interaction of which we couldn't tell the outcome for sure. I had a Massacre Girl out on the battlefield, enchanted with Kaya's Ghostform. I then ...
10
votes
1answer
5k views

Can I defeat an opponent with their own commander?

I know that if I gain control of my opponent's commander, it won't lose the status of commander. How is the commander damage calculated in this case? Can I do the 21 commander damage with the stolen ...
10
votes
1answer
16k views

How does Fist of Suns work with my Commander?

I am working on a deck that features Progenitus as my Commander and started looking at Fist of Suns. Besides just being good because of the large number of high cost spells in the deck, I was curious ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Commander status as hidden information

Inspired by Ivo Beckers' comment on the answer to Is your commander still a "commander" if it gets turned face down? If Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and is returned to your hand, ...
9
votes
5answers
15k views

Phage the Untouchable as a Commander?

I was looking through the Black Legends with thoughts of building a mono-black EDH deck, when I came across Phage the Untouchable. Am I right in assuming that if she is cast from the command zone, you ...
9
votes
6answers
2k views

Is the Commander strictly fixed during deck construction?

I expect that the answer to the question in the title is "yes", but I'm not sure where the official rules for Commander deck construction are. Is a chosen Commander a property of the deck, or is it ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

Types of EDH mana base

After looking at a number of EDH deck lists I have seen two distinct types of mana bases used by various decks. Some decks use a large number of basic lands, dual lands and utility lands. Other ...
9
votes
2answers
36k views

Do commanders “die” if they go to the command zone instead?

If my commander would die and I opt to move it to the command zone instead of the graveyard, does it cause a "when a creature dies" ability trigger? An example would be Fool's Demise. If my opponent ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can City of Brass be used to cast Kozilek, the Great Distortion in Commander?

Can City of Brass be used to pay for the colorless component of Kozilek, the Great Distortion's cost if I am playing Commander?
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Curse of Opulence give its controller tokens when someone else attacks?

Let's say player A casts Curse of Opulence on player B. Then, player C attacks player B. I claimed that player A and C each create Gold tokens, but my friends agreed that only player C creates a Gold ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

How does the Commander 2018 Storm cycle work with Partner commanders?

Commander 2018 includes a cycle of cards that say: When you cast this spell, copy it for each time you've cast your commander from the command zone this game. How does this relate to Partner cards?...
9
votes
1answer
4k views

Playing Desertion on a commander

I'm not sure how playing Desertion on a commander works. I did a quick search and got even more confused, do the EDH rules overwrite it? Commander Ruling: If Commander would be put into a library, ...
8
votes
3answers
10k views

Does devoid make a card's color identity colorless in Commander?

Certain Battle for Zendikar Eldrazi cards have: Devoid (This card has no color.) According to a video by Mark Rosewater, that means regardless of the colored mana required to cast the card, the ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Removing a Commander permanently

So I was thinking of ways to get rid of Commanders other than destroying and exiling them. I found that some cards just plain out remove creatures and other permanents from game entirely. I was ...
8
votes
3answers
934 views

Can commander tax be proliferated?

Can you proliferate someone's commander tax? For example, after you send your opponent's commander to his/her zone you proliferate the commander tax and make sure it cant be cast again by making it ...
8
votes
2answers
498 views

Can I activate Multani, Yavimaya's Avatar's ability in response to itself?

I recently played a game of EDH that I think I won, but my opponent was convinced I didn’t. He had a board state that would win if he untapped. I played a Seismic Assault. Seismic Assault has an ...
8
votes
1answer
916 views

Lethal damage while controlling Sower of Discord?

I recently played a game of commander with a single opponent. When I played Sower of Discord, I selected my opponent and myself. I then swung with Serra Avatar. If damage is taken and the amount is ...
8
votes
1answer
613 views

Scion of the Ur-Dragon and Leyline of the Void

Does Leyline of the Void prevent the Scion of the Ur-Dragon's transformation by exiling the dragons?
8
votes
1answer
1k views

If I'm controlling an opponent's turn, do I get to chose where their commander goes?

While I'm controlling my opponent's turn, and, say, their commander dies in combat... do I get to choose whether or not their commander goes to the command zone? I'm assuming 'yes', as it is at the ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

When a general goes to the graveyard in EDH, does his casting counter reset in the command zone?

11) While a Commander is in the command zone, it may be cast. As an additional cost to cast a Commander from the command zone, its owner must pay {2} for each time it was previously cast from the ...
8
votes
1answer
4k views

Is the ability cost of the commander part of the color identity?

Consider the card Rhys the Exiled. Are you allowed to play black (and green) cards in your deck with this commander? Or are you only allowed to play cards that are the same color as the commander's ...
7
votes
3answers
750 views

Void Winnower against Sunforger

Does the use of Sunforger's unattach ability negate the ability of Void Winnower and let me use spells with an even converted mana cost?
7
votes
2answers
874 views

Scarab God VS Meren of Clan Nel Toth

After my opponent chose a target creature card for Meren of Clan Nel Toth, am I able to activate The Scarab God's abilty to prevent the chosen card to return to my opponent's hand/the battlefield? I'm ...
7
votes
7answers
5k views

How can I deal with indestructible shrouded slivers?

So, here's the thing. My dad plays Slivers for his Commander deck with Sliver Overlord as his commander. When he plays this deck, he always seems to get out Sliver Hivelord and Crystalline Sliver, ...
7
votes
2answers
400 views

How does Octopus Umbra interact with effects that change the base power and toughness of, and counters on, a creature?

Context My friend plays a Commander deck, lead by Tuvasa the Sunlit: Tuvasa the Sunlit gets +1/+1 for each enchantment you control. She's in play and has +2/+2 — not counters — from the two ...
7
votes
2answers
164 views

Can I put Lich's Mirror into play with The Ur-Dragon's ability to save me after drawing out with the same ability?

Let's say I have The Ur-Dragon and a ton of dragons on the field. I attack with enough dragons to draw my remaining library (as per The Ur-Dragon's ability "Whenever one or more dragons you control ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

How does Infinite Reflection work with Commander and commander damage?

Does a Commander which has been turned into a copy of another card still do commander damage (i.e. will 21 damage dealt to a single player from the copy lose the game for that player)? Alternately, ...