Questions tagged [mtg-commander]

Commander (aka Elder Dragon Highlander or EDH) is a Magic:The Gathering variant which emphasises social interactions, interesting games, and creative deck building. Its primary characteristic is that decks are centered about a Legendary Creature as the Commander. Please also tag these questions with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
2answers
30 views

Activating Golos during another player’s turn

Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's ability can be activated during another players turn, but does doing so allow you to still play the cards if it is not your turn? The ability text says you may play those ...
1
vote
2answers
147 views

What happens when Teysa Karlov is equipped with Helm of the Host?

What happens when you equip Helm of the Host to Teysa Karlov? do the Teysas trigger each other making infinite copies of the death trigger? Because my thinking is that it says when a triggered ability ...
1
vote
0answers
101 views

how is my deck deck list? [closed]

I'm building a Teysa Karlov commander deck. I have a couple of win cons in the deck like revel in riches and pitiless plunderer with Teysa Karlov makes the treasures supper fast. I also have infinite ...
1
vote
1answer
149 views

What cards were never allowed in Commander?

The Commander format has a relatively big ban-list. Which cards were banned upon Commander/EDH becoming a format? Which cards never got the chance to justify their ban on the fields of battle?
1
vote
2answers
322 views

How likely am I to have a key card in my starting hand in Brawl?

I'm playing the Brawl format (a 60-card singleton format), and I really want one specific card in my starting hand. I'm willing to take two mulligans (leaving me with a starting hand of 5 cards after ...
6
votes
2answers
191 views

How does Thought Sponge interact with Yarok, the Desecrated?

Situation I have Yarok, the Desecrated on the battlefield: If a permanent entering the battlefield causes a triggered ability of a permanent you control to trigger, that ability triggers an ...
3
votes
2answers
659 views

Don't the Planeswalkers in Commander 2014 that say they can be your Commander contradict the fact the Commanders have to be legendary creatures?

Ob Nixilis of the Black Oath and the other Commanders in Commander 2014 say they can be your Commander. Doesn't that contradict the rule that Commanders can only be Legendary Creatures?
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Is there a tier list of all precon Commander deck?

C19 is currently being spoiled and I am thinking about buying it. The idea is to buy a group of deck to play with friends. Here is the idea. Lets consider that we are 5 people sitting at a table. This ...
4
votes
1answer
502 views

Do you have to pay the commander tax if you have an Omniscience in play?

If you have an Omniscience in play, will you still have to pay the commander tax or do you get to play your commander completely for free? Or is it the case that Omniscience will only ever make my ...
7
votes
2answers
13k views

Why is Trade Secrets banned in EDH or Commander?

Ban list for commander I don't see any announcement for Trade Secrets. Why has it been banned? Is there any mention of this card from Wizards, a card they made specifically for Commander?
5
votes
1answer
137 views

Golos, Tireless Pilgrim and cards with cycling

If I use Golos, Tireless Pilgrim's activated ability and hit a card with cycling, can I cycle it? And if so I assume I can't do so for free?
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Commander status as hidden information

Inspired by Ivo Beckers' comment on the answer to Is your commander still a "commander" if it gets turned face down? If Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and is returned to your hand, ...
3
votes
1answer
100 views

If Rayami, First of The Fallen is in the command zone, does his ability still activate? [duplicate]

So if Rayami, First of the Fallen is your commander and has yet to be played, does his ability still exile creatures that would normally be destroyed, or does he have to be on the battlefield for that ...
8
votes
1answer
587 views

Is Prismite considered colorless or all colors for the purpose of Brawl/Commander decks?

Me and the person I'm playing with were making Brawl decks. And we got into an argument about if Prismite was colorless or all colors. So which is it?
2
votes
1answer
216 views

MTG: Ixidron vs Morph

I couldn't find the answer to this but what happens if you have a face down morph on the field and someone plays Ixidron? Does my morph creature stay face down or do they get turned up?
4
votes
1answer
149 views

Commander Damage Stacking & Player Control

In Commander/EDH, as far as I understand if a commander does 21 damage to an opponent they lose. I understand separate commanders must be tracked separately in multiplayer. How does this count if for ...
1
vote
1answer
17k views

If I use a colorless commander, can I use colored spells?

This is for Commander play. The General's mana defines what other card you get to use, BUT what happens when you have a colorless General? Can you play any other mana cards (WUBRG), OR are you stuck ...
7
votes
2answers
426 views

How does Octopus Umbra interact with effects that change the base power and toughness of, and counters on, a creature?

Context My friend plays a Commander deck, lead by Tuvasa the Sunlit: Tuvasa the Sunlit gets +1/+1 for each enchantment you control. She's in play and has +2/+2 — not counters — from the two ...
6
votes
2answers
133 views

Sedris and Nicol Bolas, the Ravager

If I unearth Nicol Bolas, the Ravager thanks to Sedris, the Traitor King, then use Nicol Bolas's activated ability to exile it, does it return to the battlefield transformed? Unearth seems to replace ...
0
votes
3answers
181 views

MTG — Search for a sorcery — Green — EDH

I am building an EDH/Commander deck and my commander is mono green... I want a card or a combo that allows me to search my library for a sorcery card (or something similar). Do you guys know ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

What happens when I sacrifice a creature when my Teysa Karlov is on the battlefield?

Let’s say my commander Teysa Karlov is on the battlefield, ready for action. Then, I sacrifice Resolute Watchdog. What happens? Can I give one or two creatures indestructible? The relevant details ...
3
votes
1answer
232 views

When exactly does the commander tax get added?

Does commander tax increase for each time the commander has been cast, or for each time it has been removed from the battlefield? For example, if an opponent would kill my commander but I manage to ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Removing a Commander permanently

So I was thinking of ways to get rid of Commanders other than destroying and exiling them. I found that some cards just plain out remove creatures and other permanents from game entirely. I was ...
0
votes
1answer
146 views

What is the statistically favorable amount of lands for Yennett? [closed]

Recently I have been brewing up Yennett, Cryptic Sovereign, as a commander deck. The deck was going well, with only 3 cards with even mana costs, and those being Lightning Greaves, for protection, ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

How to calculate the power level of a Commander deck?

I've been playing Magic casually for almost half a year now, mostly in the multiplayer Commander format. Regularly, I hear people talk about the power levels of decks. Especially when I'm playing with ...
7
votes
1answer
972 views

Can doublestrike kill a creature with totem armor?

The Battlefield My opponent has a 3/3 creature in play, enchanted with a Mask token from Estrid, the Masked's -1, which grants the creature totem armor: If enchanted permanent would be destroyed, ...
5
votes
1answer
132 views

Cloning Skullbriar

Will a creature that is a copy of Skullbriar, the Walking Grave retain it's counters as it moves to another zone? For instance, if a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of Skullbriar, later gains ...
3
votes
3answers
320 views

Does equipping an equipment go on the stack?

Say we're in a game of MTG Commander/EDH. I already have Lightning Greaves on the battefield from the previous turn. I begin my main phase and I play my commander (Let's say it has no abilities or ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Multiple delayed triggers from Massacre Girl interaction

Recently on my usual EDH playgroup, we had an interaction of which we couldn't tell the outcome for sure. I had a Massacre Girl out on the battlefield, enchanted with Kaya's Ghostform. I then ...
6
votes
1answer
292 views

Does a discarded then cast card with madness count as discarded?

Play goes like this: I have Faith of the Devoted and Anje Falkenrath on the field. I discard an Anje's Ravager via Anje Falkenrath's tap ability. For this creature I pay its madness cost and ...
2
votes
1answer
591 views

Interaction between Ethereal Absolution versus Edgar Markov with Captivating Vampire

Situation An opponent has the commander Edgar Markov: Eminence — Whenever you cast another Vampire spell, if Edgar Markov is in the command zone or on the battlefield, create a 1/1 black Vampire ...
2
votes
1answer
321 views

Is it possible to pick a vehicle as your commander?

I'm making a commander deck, I've never played or deckbuilded in this game mode. I've run across the Parhelion II card and I was wondering if it could be my commander. I know it's not a creature, but ...
8
votes
1answer
938 views

Lethal damage while controlling Sower of Discord?

I recently played a game of commander with a single opponent. When I played Sower of Discord, I selected my opponent and myself. I then swung with Serra Avatar. If damage is taken and the amount is ...
8
votes
3answers
991 views

Can commander tax be proliferated?

Can you proliferate someone's commander tax? For example, after you send your opponent's commander to his/her zone you proliferate the commander tax and make sure it cant be cast again by making it ...
3
votes
4answers
367 views

What are similar black and/or white permanents to Divine Visitation?

For my Commander deck I'm looking for black and/or white permanents that have similar mechanics to Divine Visitation and Teysa Karlov, respectively: If one or more creature tokens would be created ...
10
votes
3answers
11k views

Does devoid make a card's color identity colorless in Commander?

Certain Battle for Zendikar Eldrazi cards have: Devoid (This card has no color.) According to a video by Mark Rosewater, that means regardless of the colored mana required to cast the card, the ...
5
votes
1answer
451 views

Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons and “enters the battlefield” triggers

Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons's second ability reads: Whenever you put one or more -1/-1 counters on a creature, create a 1/1 green Snake creature token with deathtouch. Additionally, there are some ...
2
votes
1answer
275 views

How does Emissary of Grudges work exactly?

I have Emissary of Grudges in my deck and I was wondering if I use it correctly. In exemple: I play Emissary of Grudges and I secretly choose player 2. Player 2's turn. He casts Clone and targets me ...
-1
votes
1answer
448 views

What happens to excess combat damage?

If I attack a target player with a 4/4 flyer and a 2/2 flyer, and the target player uses a single 1/1 flyer to block the 4/4 flyer (and doesn't block the 2/2 flyer), do they only take 2 damage (i.e., ...
9
votes
2answers
38k views

Do commanders “die” if they go to the command zone instead?

If my commander would die and I opt to move it to the command zone instead of the graveyard, does it cause a "when a creature dies" ability trigger? An example would be Fool's Demise. If my opponent ...
0
votes
2answers
731 views

Can a deck with a mono-colored commander have cards with other colors than its commander in it?

The basic rules for building a Commander deck state: All cards must be in the color identity of the commander Then the rules summary continues with: COLOR IDENTITY A card's color identity ...
6
votes
1answer
265 views

Is casting a commander from the command zone considered casting a spell?

For example, say I have God-Pharao's Statue in play: Spells your opponents cast cost {2} more to cast. Would my opponents have to pay the two extra mana when playing their commander from the ...
1
vote
1answer
104 views

Do Dragon Spirits like Kokusho trigger Lathliss's ability?

I have found some really cool Dragon variations to use with Lathliss, Dragon Queen, but I'm not sure if Dragon Spirits like Kokusho, the Evening Star trigger her ability. When searching for Dragon ...
4
votes
2answers
806 views

Can you get infinite turns with this 2 card combo?

Lets say I have imprinted Medomai the Ageless on the Mimic Vat, have at least 3 mana and an opponent wide open for attacks. Do I get unlimited turns?
12
votes
4answers
3k views

Can I use two different cards with the same name in Commander?

I have two cards with the same name but different art and the card descriptions on the bottom. The card in question is Forsaken Sanctuary. It's a white/black land and I'm not sure if I can use both of ...
3
votes
1answer
132 views

Death and revival of land-creatures

I have a question regarding MTG rules and how can be applied. In this case, it's about lands that can become creatures. I was checking this one-mana EDH deck, and I saw that the Commander has this ...
6
votes
2answers
944 views

What does it mean to “control target player”?

I'm looking for a nice Sorin card, for in my commander deck. I found Sorin Markov, which states: -7: You control target player during that player's next turn. What does this mean? Do I command the ...
5
votes
2answers
579 views

What happens when the attacking player dies to damage triggers after killing the blocking creatures in the first combat step of double strike?

We were playing a commander game and the attacking player had a bunch of trample creatures, well call him Andy. The defending player, Bob, blocks with a Zulaport Cutthroat, Cruel Celebrant, Teysa ...
6
votes
2answers
20k views

Can the choice to move a commander to the command-zone be delayed?

903.12. If a commander would be put into the exile zone from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead. If the owner chooses to let a commander go into the graveyard with the ...
3
votes
1answer
547 views

Colorless commander using lands that chose based upon identity?

TLDR Can I use lands that mention "color identity" with a colorless commander while still getting their bonus effects? I apologize if I have missed something that explains this situation, but I am ...