Questions tagged [mtg-commander]

Commander (aka Elder Dragon Highlander or EDH) is a Magic:The Gathering variant which emphasises social interactions, interesting games, and creative deck building. Its primary characteristic is that decks are centered about a Legendary Creature as the Commander. Please also tag these questions with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
2answers
303 views

Ivy Lane Denizen similar effects

I feel like I have seen it before but I can't find it, I'm looking for a creature that is pretty similar to Ivy Lane Denizen but in a different color. I know about Cathars' Crusade but this is for ...
1
vote
1answer
483 views

A complicated interaction with Sakashima's Student

I want to be able to do the following chain of events, but am not sure if it's possible. Please help! Setup. At start of turn I have Etrata, The Silencer on the battlefield with Grappling Hook ...
7
votes
2answers
166 views

Can I put Lich's Mirror into play with The Ur-Dragon's ability to save me after drawing out with the same ability?

Let's say I have The Ur-Dragon and a ton of dragons on the field. I attack with enough dragons to draw my remaining library (as per The Ur-Dragon's ability "Whenever one or more dragons you control ...
10
votes
1answer
17k views

How does Fist of Suns work with my Commander?

I am working on a deck that features Progenitus as my Commander and started looking at Fist of Suns. Besides just being good because of the large number of high cost spells in the deck, I was curious ...
1
vote
1answer
784 views

How do dash costs work with commander tax? [duplicate]

If I have the card Zurgo Bellstriker as my commander, and I cast it for its Dash cost, do I have to add commander tax to it? Or does the Dash cost override it? My gut tells me I would still have to ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Do Commanders' abilities work from the command zone? [duplicate]

I have a milling deck that uses Phenax, God of Deception. One of his abilities is: Creatures you control have "{T}: Target player puts the top X cards of their library into their graveyard, where X ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Does Illusory Gains make someone else's Commander my own forever?

If I play my Illusory Gains on my opponent's commander, does their commander become mine indefinitely? I have not played this card and I am unsure as to how playing it on a commander works.
2
votes
1answer
122 views

Can a Palace Guard block for both a player and a planeswalker?

I attacked my friend and his planeswalker, who had a Palace Guard in play. Now can his card block for himself and his planeswalker at the same time? Or would he have to choose which one it blocked ...
6
votes
1answer
107k views

What planeswalker cards can be used as commanders in the Commander format?

Can any Planeswalker be used as a Commander, or just the ones that say "XXXX can be your Commander" on the card? (N.B. This question has nothing to do with the Brawl format.)
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Curse of Opulence give its controller tokens when someone else attacks?

Let's say player A casts Curse of Opulence on player B. Then, player C attacks player B. I claimed that player A and C each create Gold tokens, but my friends agreed that only player C creates a Gold ...
10
votes
4answers
12k views

How can I get rid of indestructible creatures with a Red and White deck?

I am creating a Red-White commander deck using Gisela as my commander. I noticed that my deck is incredibly weak against a deck with any sort of indestructible creature. I know of the board sweeper ...
4
votes
4answers
464 views

How does Words of Waste interact with Varina, Lich Queen?

How does Words of Waste interact with Varina, Lich Queen? Because you have to draw and discard that many cards. so if you draw 3 and discard 3, can you only use 1 mana for Words of Waste, since the ...
4
votes
1answer
255 views

Minds Aglow with X is 100 while Nekusar, the Mindrazer is on the field

An Opponent has Nekusar, the mindrazer out and then casts Minds Aglow (join forces, each player draws that many cards) and pays 100 mana into it. He claims that the damage would be dealt before ...
19
votes
3answers
7k views

Can I use a card with “Add one mana of any color to your mana pool” in any Elder Dragon Highlander (EDH) deck?

I recently tried Elder Dragon Highlander/Commander, and found it to be a ton of fun. I've started customizing one of the pre-cons I got, but I'm a little confused by some of the deck-building ...
1
vote
1answer
747 views

Can I use cards like Gilded Lotus and Spectral Searchlight in a colorless EDH deck? [duplicate]

With cards that let me add mana of any color, can they be used in a colorless commander deck? Some examples being Spectral Searchlight and Gilded Lotus in a Kozilek, the Great Distortion deck. I am ...
1
vote
3answers
950 views

Thaumatic Compass / Spires of Orazca VS creatures with vigilance

Am I still able to target attacking creatures with Spires of Orazca's ability if they are not tapped (if they have Vigilance for example)?
7
votes
2answers
858 views

Can I copy Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger's ability twice with Strionic Resonator and Rings of Brighthearth?

Just made a colorless EDH deck and I am wondering if this would work Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger attacks, triggers the exile 20, then activate the copy triggered ability with Strionic Resonator, ...
2
votes
1answer
647 views

Can I imprint my commander and move it to the command zone?

I would like to know if it is possible, if the following Criteria are met, for me to imprint my commander and return it to the Command Zone: Commander is in my hand Soul Foundry has entered the ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

If Progenitus “dies” to the command zone, can I shuffle my deck?

This is related to another question about using Progenitus as a Commander, but focuses on a more specific interaction. In the Commander format, there is a rule that lets a Commander go to the command ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

How does the Commander 2018 Storm cycle work with Partner commanders?

Commander 2018 includes a cycle of cards that say: When you cast this spell, copy it for each time you've cast your commander from the command zone this game. How does this relate to Partner cards?...
0
votes
1answer
321 views

How would Progenitus affect the game as a commander?

I recently purchased Progenitus with the intent to use it as a commander. However, it has been long enough since I’ve played the commander format that I do not remember how commanders and their ...
7
votes
2answers
878 views

Scarab God VS Meren of Clan Nel Toth

After my opponent chose a target creature card for Meren of Clan Nel Toth, am I able to activate The Scarab God's abilty to prevent the chosen card to return to my opponent's hand/the battlefield? I'm ...
6
votes
1answer
998 views

Can Thrun, the Last Troll be exiled?

So I've been playing commander for quite a while now I've been playing a green stompy deck. I have Thrun, the Last Troll. It says it cannot be countered and it cannot be a target of opponents spells ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens in multiplayer Magic when I'm forced to attack and one opponent has Propaganda?

While playing a multiplayer game of commander I stumbled upon an interesting predicament. One player has a Thantis, the Warweaver out and I am forced to attack. There are three other players and one ...
2
votes
1answer
589 views

Can I target Nicol Bolas, the Ravager/Arisen with its own -4 ability?

Lets say I have transformed Nicol Bolas, the Ravager into Nicol Bolas the Arisen, I activate his -3 to shoot a creature or Planeswalker for 10 and pass the turn, Bolas does not take any damage so on ...
11
votes
2answers
3k views

MTG Graveyard casting with 'X' costs

I play a Goblin Dark-Dwellers and its ability targets a Tempt with Vengeance. From what I read I would assume it would be legal and I may cast it from the graveyard, but I may choose X to be 2 as its ...
5
votes
5answers
4k views

Why so many people use “house rules” in EDH/Commander?

Since I'm an Eternal player (Legacy and sometimes Modern) that has played just few times EDH/Commander I found difficult to understand why often players use a more strict banned list in their matches; ...
3
votes
1answer
386 views

Yidris and Thran Temporal Gateway [duplicate]

If I'm using Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder and I have Thran Temporal Gateway on the field, and I deal combat damage to a player with Yidris. Will using Thran Temporal Gateway's ability allow Yidris' s ...
2
votes
2answers
710 views

The Scarab god and commanders

If I use The Scarab gods activated ability on a commander (regardless of whose commander it is), if the owner of the legendary creature in question sends their commander back to the command zone will ...
7
votes
2answers
14k views

Are you able to take control of another player's Commander?

Recently, I was told by someone in my playgroup that you cannot take control of a player's commander at any point. If an effect would cause you to control another player's commander, either the effect ...
2
votes
3answers
413 views

Does the ability from Sorcerer's Wand deal combat damage?

If I were to equip Virtus the Veiled with Sorcerer's Wand and used the Sorcerers Wand's ability, would that be considered combat damage allowing Virtus's ability to trigger?
12
votes
5answers
7k views

Is there a card that lets you put a card from outside of the game into play?

I played a commander game a while ago where one of my 5 opponents cast a card that let him grab a card that was outside of the game (not even in exile) and put it either in his hand or on the ...
5
votes
1answer
651 views

Is there a white or green card that turns an artifact into a creature?

I'm looking for white or green cards that turn an artifact into a creature indefinitely while retaining their abilities (similar to March of the Machines). Is there a card like that?
3
votes
2answers
755 views

Does paradox engine activate its own ability

keeping in mind Paradox engine ruling does it activate its own ability as its played if not explain please. The obvious answer is no but I've been thinking about it and maybe I'm wrong
4
votes
1answer
483 views

How can I use Sliver Overlord to find non-Slivers?

I have Sliver Overlord as my commander. Is there a combo that will let me search for non-Sliver combo cards using Sliver Overlord? Id like to be able to use Sliver Overlord to find said card/ cards as ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Nekusar and the new damage redirection to planeswalkers

So to be clear, Nekusar, the Mindrazer only hits players with the newest rules change and no longer can hit Planeswalkers?
0
votes
1answer
497 views

Mtg Combo (Commander): Would it work? Rhys, the Redeemed

Turn 1 (of combo starting): Rhys the Redeemed (Equipped: Helm of the Host). Host makes a Rhys copy with haste (at combat so this would be during main phase 2.) Tap Rhys. Make a second Rhys copy. Tap ...
3
votes
2answers
335 views

Do Collective Restraint and Nylea's Presence work together in a non-5-color EDH deck?

Say I have a four-color commander deck that includes blue and green. I have a Collective Restraint on the field and I cast Nylea's Presence on one of my lands. Do my opponents need to pay 5 to ...
4
votes
1answer
417 views

MTG: Balthor the Defiled as a Commander

Balthor the Defiled has an activated ability with the cost "Remove Balthor the Defiled from the game". Excusing that this is now called exile, if Balthor was your commander, could you have Balthor go ...
2
votes
2answers
460 views

How many mono-red damage doubling effects are there?

So I'm making a commander meme deck based around Kumano, Master Yamabushi. I was wondering how many damage doubling effects are there in mono-red. The current ones I can think of are: Furnace of Rath, ...
0
votes
2answers
250 views

Etali and returning casted cards questions

With our EDH group we can't completely figure out what happens in the following cases: After attacking with Etali, Primal Storm and casting some of the exiled cards, some of them for example ...
5
votes
1answer
212 views

Does Barren Glory require its trigger condition to be satisfied when the ability resolves?

I was watching the most recent episode of Commander Clash in which Richard manages to pull of a win with Barren Glory. I believe the win wouldn't actually have worked out if not for MODO rules engine ...
4
votes
1answer
613 views

(Dominaria Spoilers) Can the new buy-a-box-promo card deal damage to Planeswalkers?

Is this the the equivalent of "new lightning bolt" effect due to rule change on planeswalker damage? Let me explain below the question and confusion. The new Buy-a-box promo, Firesong and ...
16
votes
4answers
3k views

Can one draw their commander to the command zone, and would that be a draw?

Let us assume my commander somehow makes it to the top of my library (for example by the effect of Nephalia Academy) and when forced to draw it I instead want to put it in the command zone (for any ...
5
votes
1answer
275 views

Stonehewer Giant questions

Obviously an interesting card. A few rules I'm trying to clarify here, all regarding fetching an equipment as an instant for some other attacking creature. Note Stonehewer Giant is not attacking here....
1
vote
3answers
2k views

Magic: the Gathering, EDH/Commander - Official Rules List?

Where are the official rules for playing EDH/Commander, including the banlist? An EDH-specific rules question recently arose in my play group, and I couldn't find a definitive answer (the question has ...
2
votes
2answers
783 views

How is the CMC of a spell obtained for Vial Smasher?

Suppose I'm running a Vial Smasher the Fierce deck and I cast Blazing Shoal with X = 5. I've read in other answers to different problems that the converted mana cost of Blazing Shoal would be 7 while ...
9
votes
1answer
4k views

Playing Desertion on a commander

I'm not sure how playing Desertion on a commander works. I did a quick search and got even more confused, do the EDH rules overwrite it? Commander Ruling: If Commander would be put into a library, ...
1
vote
1answer
503 views

Is a commander send to the command zone by Release to the Wind subject to the commander tax?

In a Commander game, if my commander would be exiled, I can put it in the command zone instead. And Release to the Wind has the effect Exile target nonland permanent. For as long as that card ...
3
votes
2answers
250 views

Supernatual Stamina + Commander

I've been wondering a seemingly stupid question, can Supernatural Stamina work more than once on a commander card? Instant grants ability to creature, commander is the same creature while changing ...