A message from our CEO about the future of Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange. Read now.

Questions tagged [mtg-commander]

Commander (aka Elder Dragon Highlander or EDH) is a Magic:The Gathering variant which emphasises social interactions, interesting games, and creative deck building. Its primary characteristic is that decks are centered about a Legendary Creature as the Commander. Please also tag these questions with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
1answer
614 views

(Dominaria Spoilers) Can the new buy-a-box-promo card deal damage to Planeswalkers?

Is this the the equivalent of "new lightning bolt" effect due to rule change on planeswalker damage? Let me explain below the question and confusion. The new Buy-a-box promo, Firesong and ...
16
votes
4answers
4k views

Can one draw their commander to the command zone, and would that be a draw?

Let us assume my commander somehow makes it to the top of my library (for example by the effect of Nephalia Academy) and when forced to draw it I instead want to put it in the command zone (for any ...
5
votes
1answer
292 views

Stonehewer Giant questions

Obviously an interesting card. A few rules I'm trying to clarify here, all regarding fetching an equipment as an instant for some other attacking creature. Note Stonehewer Giant is not attacking here....
1
vote
3answers
3k views

Magic: the Gathering, EDH/Commander - Official Rules List?

Where are the official rules for playing EDH/Commander, including the banlist? An EDH-specific rules question recently arose in my play group, and I couldn't find a definitive answer (the question has ...
2
votes
2answers
837 views

How is the CMC of a spell obtained for Vial Smasher?

Suppose I'm running a Vial Smasher the Fierce deck and I cast Blazing Shoal with X = 5. I've read in other answers to different problems that the converted mana cost of Blazing Shoal would be 7 while ...
9
votes
1answer
4k views

Playing Desertion on a commander

I'm not sure how playing Desertion on a commander works. I did a quick search and got even more confused, do the EDH rules overwrite it? Commander Ruling: If Commander would be put into a library, ...
1
vote
1answer
519 views

Is a commander send to the command zone by Release to the Wind subject to the commander tax?

In a Commander game, if my commander would be exiled, I can put it in the command zone instead. And Release to the Wind has the effect Exile target nonland permanent. For as long as that card ...
3
votes
2answers
258 views

Supernatual Stamina + Commander

I've been wondering a seemingly stupid question, can Supernatural Stamina work more than once on a commander card? Instant grants ability to creature, commander is the same creature while changing ...
10
votes
1answer
6k views

Can I defeat an opponent with their own commander?

I know that if I gain control of my opponent's commander, it won't lose the status of commander. How is the commander damage calculated in this case? Can I do the 21 commander damage with the stolen ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Parallax mechanics

I would play a Brago, King Eternal EDH deck but it is not clear in my mind how does the parallax cards work. I thought that I could remove only a fade counter each turn but googling I read different ...
26
votes
2answers
147k views

How many lands do I need for a Commander deck?

A Commander deck consists of 100 unique cards, of which one is designated as the Commander and must be either a Legendary Creature or an allowed Planeswalker. I'm still very unfamiliar with this ...
4
votes
1answer
499 views

Do permanents reenter the battlefield tapped with Brago, King Eternal?

Let's say I have Brago, King Eternal, and a tapped artifact on the field, and I deal combat damage to the enemy player. Brago's ability reads: Whenever Brago, King Eternal deals combat damage to a ...
4
votes
1answer
862 views

How does Hive Mind work with Counterspell in a multiplayer game?

I have a Hive Mind in play, it is my turn and I cast Wheel of Fortune (I win if my opponents don't have an answer and at least 2 of the copies resolve) everybody gets a copy, then the person in the ...
1
vote
1answer
566 views

Can I sacrifice a treasure for mana not in my commanders colours? [duplicate]

Commander or edh is a format that, amongst other things places restrictions on the colours of the cards you play in the deck. See this faq. A card's color identity is its colour plus the color of ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

In Commander, does color identity prevent me from taking control of a different colored permanent?

In trying out EDH for the first time last night we ran into a confusing issue. I was using Olivia Voldaren as my commander. One opponent activated Ajani Goldmane's 6 point ability to summon a white ...
4
votes
1answer
747 views

Can I include a card in my EDH deck that mentions another color?

Is it possible to run a Repentant Vampire in a Grixis (Red Blue Black) Commander deck? I don't see anything in the official rulings, and the card doesn't have a white mana symbol on it. I'm leaning ...
18
votes
2answers
18k views

In EDH/Commander, what is the 'color identity' of a double-faced card?

The official deck construction rules for Commander (nee EDH) at http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php say that 'A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's ...
7
votes
3answers
689 views

Mirrorweave on Double Faced Cards

I understand a good number of rules, but there is always one that I can't find the answer to: Let's say I have a Civilized Scholar and Ulrich, Uncontested Alpha in play. I activate Mirrorweave or ...
3
votes
2answers
790 views

Can tokens created by planeswalkers do commander damage

I was playing a game with someone and they said they do because planeswalkers can't attack, so the tokens created by them count as commander creatures. Is that true? I can't find any rules that talk ...
17
votes
2answers
21k views

Why is 21 damage from a commander lethal?

In commander, there is the extra rule: 903.14a A player that’s been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same commander over the course of the game loses the game I am wondering as to the origins ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

How does Infinite Reflection work with Commander and commander damage?

Does a Commander which has been turned into a copy of another card still do commander damage (i.e. will 21 damage dealt to a single player from the copy lose the game for that player)? Alternately, ...
1
vote
0answers
62 views

Can you deal commander damage with any players commander? [duplicate]

If I gain control of another players commander, does it still deal commander damage or does that only work with your own commander?
11
votes
2answers
8k views

Commander damage from Mimic Vat token?

I've exiled my commander using Mimic Vat. Do the tokens it creates from it deal commander damage?
6
votes
2answers
15k views

Does non-combat damage affect Commander damage?

Do the effects of a Commander that deal (non-combat) damage, such as Obzedat, Ghost Council, count towards Commander damage? I have not been able to find whether or not it has to be, specifically, ...
1
vote
0answers
137 views

Chandra, Fire of Kaladesh as commander [duplicate]

If I take Chandra, Fire of Kaladesh as commander (edh or tiny), is it still my commander when it's turned to planeswalker face? If so, can it be returned to command zone when it changes zone (hand, ...
3
votes
1answer
285 views

I was the first to lose in a commander game, does Vorinclex ability still happen?

It's a 3-man commander game and I have out Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger, and my opponent had two flyers which dealt me enough damage to the point I was down to 2 life, and then he cast an Ugin, the ...
4
votes
2answers
841 views

Would Rakdos, Lord of Riots allow a free Endless One cast?

I have a commander / EDH deck running Rakdos, Lord of Riots as my commander. (This isn't a tournament legal deck by the way, just for casual play with friends) I've got Endless One in the deck as well....
7
votes
7answers
5k views

How can I deal with indestructible shrouded slivers?

So, here's the thing. My dad plays Slivers for his Commander deck with Sliver Overlord as his commander. When he plays this deck, he always seems to get out Sliver Hivelord and Crystalline Sliver, ...
2
votes
1answer
477 views

Does Psychosis Crawler die in the middle of Days Undoing?

Okay, so I have a commander deck that allows me to draw my entire library and I stumbled upon a strange situation. This is the chain of events I want to happen: Tap Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind with ...
0
votes
1answer
268 views

what happens with commanders and o ring effects? [duplicate]

I know that when a commander is exiled, the owner has the option of putting it in exile or back in the command zone, but what about effects that only remove it as long as a permanent is in play, ...
-7
votes
1answer
215 views

Magic the gathering rules [closed]

If one of the spells I have can make the enemy sacrifice a plainswalker but i choose the plainswalker from the game and I do that to a general is not the general banned from the game forever?
12
votes
1answer
2k views

How does the Commander interact with Banishing Light or Oblivion Ring?

What happens if a commander is sent to the command zone via Banishing Light and then enchantment is destroyed? Can the commander return to the battlefield from the command zone?. I think that ...
6
votes
7answers
7k views

Sacrifice enablers for EDH

I'm building my first EDH deck and have chosen Thraximundar (Grixis) as my general. My deck has a lot of synergy centered around sacrificing creatures. I find it easy to benefit from sacrificing and ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

How is the rarity of cards in official preconstructed Commander decks determined?

As far as I am aware, the rarity of Magic: The Gathering cards is determined by how many times a given card gets printed, relative to other cards in the same set. I believe the standard distribution ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a Colorless commander use cards with the {C} symbol on them?

Hope of Ghirapur has no assigned color, but I want to use it as a general. Can I use cards that are colorless that require Wastes in the deck, for example Deceiver of Form?
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Calculate Mind Funeral efficiency

I was wondering about the formula on how to calculate the average number of cards milled by Mind Funeral. Target opponent reveals cards from the top of his or her library until four land cards ...
8
votes
1answer
2k views

If I'm controlling an opponent's turn, do I get to chose where their commander goes?

While I'm controlling my opponent's turn, and, say, their commander dies in combat... do I get to choose whether or not their commander goes to the command zone? I'm assuming 'yes', as it is at the ...
2
votes
2answers
322 views

Living End/Living Death (EDH)

I have a Mazirek, Kraul Death Priest and Yahenni, Undying Partisan on the battlefield and I cast Living End. Pretend every player has 5 creatures, and there are 4 players (including me). Do the ...
5
votes
1answer
5k views

Can I use Westvale Abbey in a Commander deck that does not use black? [duplicate]

Is it possible for me to use Westvale Abbey in a Commander deck that does not use black? I am making a Blue, Green, and White commander deck, and I would like to add Westvale Abbey. Could I use it?
11
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I use Extort in a deck that isn't both white & black?

One of the creatures I have is color black and has the skill Extort which could be paid in white or black mana. Can I use this card in a commander deck with a mono black commander?
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Do effects that can destroy a Commander and generate a token prevent the Commander from being put in the Command Zone?

If the Commander is turned into a 3/3 monkey, or another type of token creature by a different effect, can it still be put in the Command Zone instead of in the graveyard?
7
votes
2answers
3k views

What does Leovold, Emissary of Trest & Teferi's Puzzle Box do to opponent's hands?

Case 1: Player 1 has Leovold, Emissary of Trest and Teferi's Puzzle Box on the Battlefield. Player 2 starts with his draw phase and has one card in his hand. I think he puts his card on bottom ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

Do I get to fetch a basic land when putting my commander in the command zone for Path to Exile?

Someone told me this a couple of day ago, and I want a second ruling. I was told if your commander gets Path to Exile'd and you choose to put it in the command zone, you don't to search your deck for ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder's cascading reoccur with cascaded spells?

The new Commander 2016 set comes with a deck commanded by Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder, who can apply cascade to cards his player casts. My friend has been playing with Yidris, and it seems insanely ...
0
votes
2answers
2k views

How to combat Cascade in Commander [closed]

recently moved from standard and began playing Commander last weekend using two of the new 2016 sets. Mine is Breed Lethality vs opponent's Entropic Uprising. So far I've lost 5 out of 6 games, and I'...
5
votes
2answers
511 views

In Commander, if a player causes all of my cards to become a color other than the colors of my commander, do I lose the game?

There are some cards in MTG, such as Painter's Servant, which allow you to change color identities of permanents. If I were use this card while the commander isn't in play, all the cards in play ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I suspend Ith, High Arcanist as my commander directly from the command zone?

When Ith, High Arcanist is in command zone, can I use its suspend ability? Does the suspend activity cost increase the second time or is the additional cost is only applied to casting cost?
2
votes
1answer
301 views

Can I disable Sliver Overlord's abilities with Pithing Needle?

I was looking through different cards to try and find something to counteract my dad's Sliver Overlord aside from directly killing or exiling it, and when I initially saw Pithing Needle I got really ...
4
votes
5answers
2k views

What can I do with my late game mana in Commander

I'm building some EDH decks and I keep running into a problem - lots of mana, no spells to cast. Now, this is moderately acceptable, but only because my opponents are often in the same state. It ...
2
votes
2answers
2k views

Exotic Orchard and Command Tower

What colors of mana can Exotic Orchard produce in Commander if my opponent has a Command Tower?