Questions tagged [mtg-competitive-rel]

For questions about Magic: The Gathering's Competitive REL (Rules Enforcement Level), used at major tournaments and competitive events (for example Pro Tour Qualifiers and Grand Prix Day 1).

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
24
votes
2answers
8k views

Is refusing to concede in the face of an unstoppable Nexus combo punishable?

Alice's board: 10 lands, Teferi, Hero of Dominaria, Teferi emblem, Tamiyo, Collector of Tales, 2 Wilderness Reclamation, 15 cards left in deck, 15 life, 4 Nexus of Fate in deck Bob's board: nothing (...
43
votes
3answers
9k views

Am I technically allowed to look up cards during a Magic tournament match?

Am I allowed to look up a card during a game, if it's being played with serious Rules Enforcement? Either to read the full card from the Gatherer, or to try to find the exact card I'm vaguely thinking ...
23
votes
1answer
4k views

Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?

We are at a Competitive REL tournament. With ten minutes left on the clock in game three, my opponent is at 5000 life. I control two Elite Arcanists. Each of them have Time Stop exiled. I also control ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

When the match time is called, does the current turn end immediately?

In the Magic Tournament Rules, the End-of-Match procedure says: If the match time limit is reached before a winner is determined, the player whose turn it is finishes their turn and five additional ...
15
votes
3answers
3k views

How does your opponent verify that you're able to cast a Companion card?

Normally, in Magic the Gathering, your library is a hidden zone; neither you nor your opponent are allowed to look at the cards in it during a game of Magic: the Gathering unless an effect says that ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How do I handle a gameplay error when I have an equivalent play available in a tournament?

For example, suppose I have 3 Mountains. I play another Mountain, cast Koth of the Hammer, use the +1, and attempt to attack for four. However the Mountain I target is the one I freshly played (...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

When must one communicate denial of a shortcut?

Anthony begins his turn by drawing a card. He then immediately turns his creatures sideways and declares "I attack with Runeclaw Bear and Alpine Grizzly." Anthony's opponent, Nathan, has 6 life. ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

If a player goes to "combat", and then activates an ability, what is the game state?

My question is not a duplicate of When should I activate Man Lands and Keyrunes in order to attack with them?, although anyone answering this question would need to understand at least that much in ...