Skip to main content

Questions tagged [mtg-double-faced-cards]

for guidance around usage of Magic: The Gathering cards with a face on both sides, such as in-game rules or tournament handling expectations. Please also tag with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
-1 votes
2 answers
429 views

In MTG, what does it mean for a card to be “transformed”?

I have this card I recently got called Aclazotz, Deepest Betrayal. I understand it for the most part, except for the last line: When Aclazotz dies, return it to the battlefield tapped and transformed ...
CrSb0001's user avatar
  • 101
2 votes
1 answer
127 views

Would Westvale Abbey be tutorable with Mausoleum Secrets?

Okay so I understand that the black color indicator makes Ormendahl, Profane Prince black and thus the color identity for commander is black, but I want to make it clear that I'm wondering ...
Timothy Mantor's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
2k views

If I copy a clone of a double-faced card, can the copy transform?

From the rule change in MOM tokens can now transform. A clone of a double-faced card however cannot transform since it isn't doubled-faced. What happens then if I copy the clone? Will the token copy ...
programmer's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can I use the back face of a modal double faced card for abilities while the card is not on the battlefield?

Can I use the back face of a modal double faced card for abilities while the card is not on the battlefield? For example, Valakut Awakening has the land Valakut Stoneforge on the back. Can I discard ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 18k
4 votes
1 answer
738 views

What happens if you clone Harvest Hand and sacrifice the clone?

Harvest Hand reads "When Harvest Hand dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control." If a creature copying Harvest Hand died, it wouldn't be able to transform when the ...
Roco's user avatar
  • 49
9 votes
1 answer
565 views

Enduring Angel and Metamorphic Alteration effects

This is a bit of an edge case: Player 1 has an Enduring Angel on the field Player 2 plays a Delver of Secrets and enchants it with Metamorphic Alteration, copying the Angel Player 2 is reduced to 0 ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.9k
2 votes
1 answer
5k views

MTG: Modal cards and graveyard targeted effects

In regards to modal double-faced cards there are many effects which allow you to "Cheat" in one side or another. If an effect allows you to play a land or cast a spell from among a group of ...
L.P.'s user avatar
  • 1,054
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

Mechanically is there any difference between split and double faced cards?

Are there any differences in the rules (implicitly or explicitly) between how double faced cards are treated (e.g. cast, targeted, etc) and how split cards are treated? The only difference that I came ...
Jonny's user avatar
  • 952
3 votes
2 answers
969 views

How does Golos, Tireless Pilgrim interact with double-faced cards?

From the Ixalan set, we received double faced cards with lands on the back. I believe they count as all types on both sides while not on the field. Therefore: When Golos, Tireless Pilgrim activates ...
David Robie's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

What happens if I blink a transformed double-faced planeswalker?

If I blink Garruk, the Veil-Cursed with something like Skybind, does he come back and instantly die?
David A Lucero's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
184 views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card that is part of a melded creature tries to meld?

We already have a similar question about double faced cards transforming, however, this covers a single card transforming. Meld exiles a pair of cards and returns them "transformed" into a single card....
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.9k
5 votes
1 answer
711 views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card transforms, without exile?

We already have a similar question about double faced cards transforming, however there are two different ways a double face card transforms, exiling and returning transformed is covered by the ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.9k
11 votes
1 answer
3k views

What Happens if I Manifest a Double-Faced Card?

If I put a double-faced card onto the battlefield with Manifest (Put it onto the battlefield face down as a 2/2 creature. Turn it face up any time for its mana cost if it’s a creature card), what ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 18k
9 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can a clone of a double-sided planeswalker transform?

Suppose my opponent has Nicol Bolas, the Ravager on the battlefield, and has not yet transformed it into a Planewalker. I cast Clone, making my own copy of Nicol Bolas. What happens if I activate my ...
Woodrow Barlow's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card transforms?

We are getting Metamorphic Alteration in M19. What if I enchant my Delver of Secrets, copying my opponents Nicol Bolas, the Ravager. Then I pay the cost on my Bolas (previously a Delver) to activate ...
Christopher's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
887 views

Can a card copying a double-sided planeswalker transform? [duplicate]

If I have a Dack's Duplicate copying Jace, Vryn's Prodigy, can it transform into Jace, Telepath Unbound? I imagine it would not — it would be similar to the rules for tokens right, it doesn'...
Anti Her0's user avatar
  • 193
9 votes
1 answer
6k views

Can I transform a token copy of a double-faced card?

If I activate my The Scarab God on Jace, Vryn's Prodigy and then flip the token of Jace, do I still get a Jace, Telepath Unbound? And if so, what zone does Jace, Telepath Unbound go to when he ...
Christopher's user avatar
6 votes
4 answers
2k views

How does the Innistrad "no spells / two or more spells cast last turn" transform trigger work?

On some of the two sided cards the cards ability says "At the beginning of each upkeep, if no spells were cast last turn transform (card name)". Mayor of Avabruck Does "turn" refers to the ...
Lone Wolf's user avatar
  • 329
7 votes
2 answers
736 views

Do you have to sacrifice a transformed creature put into play via Through the Breach?

If I put Thing in the Ice into play via Through the Breach, and it transforms during my turn, do I have to sacrifice Awoken Horror at the beginning of the next end step?
jszaday's user avatar
  • 173
5 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can you transform after declaring blockers, but before dealing damage?

Let's say I attack with Duskwatch Recruiter, a 2/2, and someone blocks with a 1/1 token. After they choose their blockers, could you cast Waxing Moon to transform Duskwatch Recruiter to Krallenhorde ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
597 views

Do abilities interrupt transform effects?

I've recently had a debate with someone on how interrupting works for transform cards. Let's say I have just played an Ulrich of the Krallenhorde, and the opponent has a Scorpion God, as well as ...
Tobias Fizzlewig's user avatar
10 votes
3 answers
12k views

How do I put a double-faced card in my deck?

I was reading recently about double-faced cards. Basically, they are cards that are otherwise typical creature cards, but some condition allows you to flip them over so that they become a new card. ...
Thunderforge's user avatar
  • 8,580
4 votes
1 answer
376 views

Mirage Mirror + Itlimoc, Cradle of the Sun [duplicate]

If I use my Mirage Mirror to copy another player's Itlimoc, Cradle of the Sun, will my copy be this version of the double sided card, or the original front face of the card, Growing Rites of Itlimoc?
Airatome's user avatar
  • 197
6 votes
1 answer
656 views

How does Ixalan drafting work with its double faced cards?

Will Ixalan pack drafting change due to the double-faced cards? If the draft is sealed and not cube, people can see whether you have a double-faced card in your hand, if you are not careful.
endofheartache19's user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
946 views

Mirrorweave on Double Faced Cards

I understand a good number of rules, but there is still one that I can't find the answer to: Let's say I have a Civilized Scholar and Ulrich, Uncontested Alpha in play. I activate Mirrorweave or ...
Andy Malik's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
361 views

Do subtype changes remain after a card is transformed?

Say I have an Olivia, Mobilized for War on the field, who has this ability: Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may discard a card. If you do, put a +1/+1 ...
Tony's user avatar
  • 843
0 votes
1 answer
717 views

Double faced cards multiple transform triggers

Wizards recently changed the ruling for double faced cards: if a DFC has an activated or triggered ability that transforms it, that permanent transforms only if it hasn't since that ability was ...
JonTheMon's user avatar
  • 11.1k
9 votes
1 answer
799 views

Can Body Double copy the back face of a card in the graveyard?

Just wondering, if the Ludevic's Test Subject is in the grave, can Body Double enter play copying the Abomination side?
Dex's user avatar
  • 91
16 votes
2 answers
2k views

Why do double-faced planeswalkers from Origins get exiled before being transformed?

In Magic the Gathering Origins set, there is a cycle of 5 creatures, each that are double-sided and have a planeswalker on the back side. Previously when double-sided cards were used, the cards had a ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 75.3k
2 votes
1 answer
2k views

When do transformed creatures go back to their original forms?

It's not clear to me from reading Double-Faced Card Rules: do transformed creatures revert back to their original type automatically? And if so, when? End of your turn or beginning of your next turn?
neubert's user avatar
  • 2,108
6 votes
1 answer
8k views

What happens when you flicker a double-faced card?

If I were to cast Restoration Angel targeting Ravager of the Fells, What side would Ravager of the Fells be on when he came back into the battlefield?
Sam I am says Reinstate Monica's user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
3k views

How can I used double-faced cards in casual play without checklist cards?

I recently bought a "deck builders" kit that included, among other things, a Dark Ascension booster with Scorned Villager (a double-sided card) in it. It did not include a checklist card for ...
KutuluMike's user avatar
4 votes
1 answer
669 views

Varolz, the Scar-Striped rulings with double-faced/flip cards

Varolz, the Scar-Striped says Each creature card in you graveyard has scavenge. Their scavenge cost is equal to its mana cost. My question is simple: do I get to choose which side I can scavenge?
wesdfgfgd's user avatar
  • 2,884
10 votes
1 answer
13k views

What happens if you use a Clone Effect on a Double Faced Card that's Transformed?

Say someone has Ludevic's Test Subject, which is a 0/3 Defender, and after some mechanics, transforms into a 13/13 Lizard Horror with Trample. Say this someone managed to transform said card into its ...
Ender's user avatar
  • 1,098
18 votes
2 answers
40k views

In EDH/Commander, what is the 'color identity' of a double-faced card?

The official deck construction rules for Commander (nee EDH) at http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php say that 'A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's ...
Steven Stadnicki's user avatar
9 votes
3 answers
7k views

What happens to loyalty counters on a double faced Planeswalker?

When a double faced planeswalker, like Garruk Relentless transforms into Garruk, the Veil Cursed there is no new loyalty symbol at the bottom of the card. Does his current loyalty carry over or is ...
Stephen's user avatar
  • 4,845
22 votes
6 answers
20k views

How do I manage double-faced cards in Innistrad (MTG) tournament play?

I read about the new mechanic in Innistrad, the upcoming MTG edition, called double-faced cards. These cards have two faces, and no standard Magic back. They have actual creatures on both sides. In ...
Demento's user avatar
  • 3,610