Questions tagged [mtg-double-faced-cards]

for guidance around usage of Magic: The Gathering cards with a face on both sides, such as in-game rules or tournament handling expectations. Please also tag with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
18 votes
2 answers
31k views

In EDH/Commander, what is the 'color identity' of a double-faced card?

The official deck construction rules for Commander (nee EDH) at http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php say that 'A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's ...
user avatar
16 votes
2 answers
2k views

Why do double-faced planeswalkers from Origins get exiled before being transformed?

In Magic the Gathering Origins set, there is a cycle of 5 creatures, each that are double-sided and have a planeswalker on the back side. Previously when double-sided cards were used, the cards had a ...
user avatar
  • 69.2k
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card transforms?

We are getting Metamorphic Alteration in M19. What if I enchant my Delver of Secrets, copying my opponents Nicol Bolas, the Ravager. Then I pay the cost on my Bolas (previously a Delver) to activate ...
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
702 views

Can a card copying a double-sided planeswalker transform? [duplicate]

If I have a Dack's Duplicate copying Jace, Vryn's Prodigy, can it transform into Jace, Telepath Unbound? I imagine it would not — it would be similar to the rules for tokens right, it doesn'...
user avatar
  • 193
10 votes
1 answer
10k views

What happens if you use a Clone Effect on a Double Faced Card that's Transformed?

Say someone has Ludevic's Test Subject, which is a 0/3 Defender, and after some mechanics, transforms into a 13/13 Lizard Horror with Trample. Say this someone managed to transform said card into its ...
user avatar
  • 1,098
9 votes
1 answer
3k views

Can a clone of a double-sided planeswalker transform?

Suppose my opponent has Nicol Bolas, the Ravager on the battlefield, and has not yet transformed it into a Planewalker. I cast Clone, making my own copy of Nicol Bolas. What happens if I activate my ...
user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
144 views

What happens if a double-faced card that is copying a different double-faced card that is part of a melded creature tries to meld?

We already have a similar question about double faced cards transforming, however, this covers a single card transforming. Meld exiles a pair of cards and returns them "transformed" into a single card....
user avatar
  • 13k