Questions tagged [mtg-face-down-cards]

For guidance around usage of Magic: The Gathering card effects related to face-down cards, such as through Manifest or Morph effects, for in-game rules or tournament handling expectations. Please also tag with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6
votes
1answer
126 views

Maelstrom Pulse, targeting a face-down creature. Does it destroy other face-down creatures?

The big issue that needs to be addressed is that face-down creatures don't actually have a name. So while Maelstrom Pulse would normally remove most creature tokens just fine, its effect on face-down ...
34
votes
2answers
5k views

Does my opponent need to prove his creature has morph?

I'm playing against an opponent who, for whatever reason, doesn't want to give away more information than they have to. (Perhaps they're trying to limit what is known about their strategy, their ...
2
votes
1answer
118 views

Does Master of the Veil work on Megamorphs?

Assuming I have Master of the Veil face down and Stratus Dancer face up, can I flip Stratus Dancer back over with Master of the Veil? I do not know of Megamorph falls under Morph. Are they completely ...
26
votes
2answers
2k views

Am I required to correct my opponent's assumptions about my morph creatures?

The comprehensive rules state that You must ensure that your face-down spells and permanents can easily be differentiated from each other. You’re not allowed to mix up the cards that represent them ...
5
votes
2answers
770 views

Does a face-down creature with morph retain its damage when it is turned face up?

I have a face-down morph creature that has received 1 point of damage. If my opponent casts Shock or another thing to kill it, can I flip at that point to make the damage disappear or my card still ...
2
votes
1answer
202 views

MTG: Ixidron vs Morph

I couldn't find the answer to this but what happens if you have a face down morph on the field and someone plays Ixidron? Does my morph creature stay face down or do they get turned up?
2
votes
1answer
198 views

Cloning a face-down creature

What happens when you clone a face-down creature, for example with the cards Clone and Sagu Mauler? Does the clone become a 2/2 with no abilities?
6
votes
1answer
356 views

Does Humility stop all creatures from being able to morph?

This question is related to this one. Does Humility stop all face-down creatures from being able to morph?
2
votes
1answer
223 views

What happens if you manifest a Zoetic Cavern?

If I manifest Zoetic Cavern can I use it's morph cost as usual, the reason why I ask is because manifest says you can turn it face-up only if it is a creature card, which it is not, so I was wondering ...
2
votes
1answer
866 views

Can cards turned face-down by Ixidron be turned face up again?

For example, assume that both my opponent and I have a face-up creature with Morph on the battlefield. I cast Ixidron and it enters the battlefield. Can both creatures be turned face-up again later ...
7
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a creature with megamorph block then morph?

Imagine I have a 2/2 creature that can be megamorphed, can I block with it and pay its megamorph cost before damages are done?
5
votes
2answers
6k views

Does turning a card face up cause it to lose any counters it had on it?

If a card is played face down for some reason, like Guardian Shield-Bearer: Megamorph 3G (You may cast this card face down as a 2/2 creature for 3. Turn it face up any time for its megamorph cost ...
7
votes
2answers
4k views

How can a Morph ability counter split second spells?

Voidmage Apprentice is a creature with Morph that counters target spell when it is turned face up. I've read that it can counter spells with split second. How does it do this? Is it that the ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

If I try to kill a face down creature, can my opponent save it by flipping it?

I played a Lightning Bolt during my turn (3 damage to target creature or player) to kill a face down creature. Then, my opponent said he was going to morph the creature which was a 0/5 defender with ...
4
votes
1answer
4k views

What happens when, and can I return face-down non-creature cards to my hand?

Say I manifest an instant or sorcery card which I'd like to use, and I have a card like Temur Sabertooth in play. Can I use Temur Sabertooth's ability to return the card to my hand, and do I have to ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Am I obligated to distinguish between morphs and megamorphs when I'm casting a card face-down?

I cast a card with megamorph and state "I'll pay {3} and morph this." Is this particular method of communication for casting a face-down creature legal? The reason I ask is because morph and megamorph ...
3
votes
1answer
16k views

Do Manifested or Morphed creatures count as tokens?

Does a manifested creature or even a morph creature count as a token? I was told yes, but I was also told that a card can never be considered a token! So I'm asking you guys!
5
votes
1answer
622 views

If I concede with a morph card on the stack, do I have to reveal the card to my opponent?

I understand that if a morph card is on the battlefield at the end of the game, I have to reveal it to my opponent, but what if my opponent responds to me casting the morph with a counterspell. If I ...
6
votes
2answers
11k views

What happens if you manifest a creature card with morph?

If a player manifests a creature card with the morph ability, can that player pay the morph cost to turn it face up? For example, if Anthony casts Formless Nurturing to manifest Abomination of Gudul,...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

Commander status as hidden information

Inspired by Ivo Beckers' comment on the answer to Is your commander still a "commander" if it gets turned face down? If Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and is returned to your hand, ...
10
votes
2answers
10k views

Does exiling a morph card face down for the turn bring it back face up?

For example, if I play Akroma, Angel of Fury down for its morph cost, then a Momentary Blink on the face down creature, does it come back into play face up?
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Does Kill Shot-ing a morph during combat prevent damage?

I just started playing Magic this year, so this might a super-newb question, but here it goes: My opponent declares that he will attack with this 2/2 colorless morph. I declare no blockers because I ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

If face down permanents have no abilities, why are they affected by “loses all abilities”?

The Khans of Tarkir Release Notes say: If a face-down creature loses its abilities, it can’t be turned face up [...] This implies that Morph is an ability. However, the community here seems fairly ...
14
votes
1answer
12k views

Does killing a face-down morph trigger the death triggers printed on the card?

Consider a card like Ashcloud Phoenix (or, for that matter, any card with a death triggers that's turned face down by an Ixidron). When Ashcloud Phoenix dies, return it to the battlefield face down....