Questions tagged [mtg-face-down-cards]

For guidance around usage of Magic: The Gathering card effects related to face-down cards, such as through Manifest or Morph effects, for in-game rules or tournament handling expectations. Please also tag with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
14 votes
2 answers
2k views

Commander status as hidden information

Inspired by Ivo Beckers' comment on the answer to Is your commander still a "commander" if it gets turned face down? If Akroma, Angel of Fury is your commander and is returned to your hand, ...
Brian S's user avatar
  • 3,378
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does Humility prevent Manifested creatures from being turned face-up?

Related to Does Humility stop all creatures from being able to morph?: The question specifies morphs, but I wondered if this was true for Manifest as well? As Manifest is not an ability on the card, ...
Soulus101's user avatar
  • 135
9 votes
2 answers
8k views

How can a Morph ability counter split second spells?

Voidmage Apprentice is a creature with Morph that counters target spell when it is turned face up. I've read that it can counter spells with split second. How does it do this? Is it that the ability ...
Luke's user avatar
  • 379
40 votes
2 answers
7k views

Does my opponent need to prove his creature has morph?

I'm playing against an opponent who, for whatever reason, doesn't want to give away more information than they have to. (Perhaps they're trying to limit what is known about their strategy, their ...
Aetherfox's user avatar
  • 4,053
27 votes
2 answers
3k views

Am I required to correct my opponent's assumptions about my morph creatures?

The comprehensive rules state that You must ensure that your face-down spells and permanents can easily be differentiated from each other. You’re not allowed to mix up the cards that represent them ...
Aetherfox's user avatar
  • 4,053
10 votes
2 answers
16k views

Does exiling a morph card face down for the turn bring it back face up?

For example, if I play Akroma, Angel of Fury down for its morph cost, then a Momentary Blink on the face down creature, does it come back into play face up?
3kings's user avatar
  • 203
10 votes
2 answers
3k views

If face down permanents have no abilities, why are they affected by "loses all abilities"?

The Khans of Tarkir Release Notes say: If a face-down creature loses its abilities, it can’t be turned face up [...] This implies that Morph is an ability. However, the community here seems fairly ...
Rainbolt's user avatar
  • 13.7k
7 votes
1 answer
1k views

Does Humility stop all creatures from being able to morph?

This question is related to this one. Does Humility stop all face-down creatures from being able to morph?
Neil Meyer's user avatar
  • 5,374