Questions tagged [mtg-joke-cards]

Some Magic: the Gathering expansions and/or promotional cards are printed without the explicit intention to be playable in any formats, like the Un-Sets (Unglued, Unhinged, Unstable), or the Happy Holidays cards. These cards are banned in all Constructed formats, but may be house-ruled to be legal.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4 votes
1 answer
758 views

What happened to the silver border cards? There are none in Unfinity

All the cards in the Unfinity (Un-set) are black border. Some have regular round/oval stamps, some have an acorn stamp and some have no stamp. What do the different stamps means? Here is a close up of ...
James Risner's user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

If you have infinite life, can your life total be set to a specific number?

Earlier in the game an Infinity Elemental was given Lifelink and dealt damage, giving me infinite life. I have a Form of the Dragon in play, so that at my end step my life total becomes 5. Rule 119.5 ...
Purple P's user avatar
  • 581
1 vote
1 answer
238 views

Gleemax targeting

Does Gleemax allow you to choose an invalid target for a spell or ability? If you have it on the field and the other player plays and spell that say choose 2 creatures you control and place a +1/+1 ...
Styxsksu's user avatar
  • 1,217
9 votes
3 answers
1k views

R&D's Secret Lair + Ashnod's Coupon

Ashnod's Coupon has the ability: {T}, Sacrifice Ashnod’s Coupon: Target player gets you target drink. Errata: You pay any costs for the drink. Meanwhile, R&D's Secret Lair says: Play ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 18k
1 vote
1 answer
265 views

Does Phoebe, Head of S.N.E.A.K.'s ability used by a copy make the copy retain the rules text beyond end of turn?

We're playing an Unstable draft. A player cranks a Duplication Device, targeting one of his tokens and copying a Phoebe, Head of S.N.E.A.K. Once the ability resolves, he activates the token's ability ...
anthonyvd's user avatar
  • 153
4 votes
1 answer
463 views

How does stealing a creature's text box work with copies?

Phoebe, Head of S.N.E.A.K. has an ability which says: {2}{U}{B}: Phoebe permanently steals target creature’s text box. (That creature loses all rules text, flavor text, and watermarks. This ...
doppelgreener's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
793 views

Chance Encounter/As Luck Would Have It and reflips/rerolls

I'm making an Uncommander deck based around rolling dice and flipping coins, and I'm planning on including Chance Encounter and As Luck Would Have It as alternate win conditions. Both of them place ...
chif-ii's user avatar
  • 215
-4 votes
1 answer
239 views

When playing with Unstable cards when and by whom the distance metrics is chosen?

I know this question might sound crazy but as defined on card Just Desserts the π is equal to the ratio of (let's suppose unit) circle's circumference to its diameter. But nowhere is specified how the ...
Kostrahb's user avatar
  • 101
4 votes
1 answer
346 views

Spy Kit + Oddly Uneven: How can I determine what should occur?

Suppose a creature is equipped with Spy Kit, and Oddly Uneven gets cast. Then in order to figure out whether the creature is destroyed, I need to determine whether the total number of words in all ...
Micah's user avatar
  • 328
3 votes
1 answer
442 views

What happens if I exile The Grand Calcutron with Do-It-Yourself Seraph?

Let's take a look at The Grand Calcutron and Do-It-Yourself Seraph. As you see from Calcutron's third ability, the "program" is treated like a zone, into which the cards of your hand are moved into. ...
1591jordan's user avatar
9 votes
2 answers
570 views

Unstable set official abbreviation

Unstable release is being listed as UST in magiccards.info https://magiccards.info/ust/en.html wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Magic:_The_Gathering_sets Yet we see it having hashtag ...
Gad D Lord's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
867 views

Interaction between Graveyard Busybody and Over My Dead Bodies

If a player controls Graveyard Busybody and there is an Over My Dead Bodies in play, what happens due to a creature being in both player's graveyards. In particular, could a creature with vigilance ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.3k
5 votes
2 answers
7k views

How do I get rid of Rules Lawyer and win the game?

Rules Lawyer says State-based actions don't apply to you or other permanents you control. https://magiccards.info/rule/704-state-based-actions.html I've seen a bunch of people asking how to kill ...
Thatguy's user avatar
  • 289
8 votes
2 answers
1k views

How does Over My Dead Bodies interact with combat-related abilities of creature cards in my graveyard?

Over My Dead Bodies is an unstable card that has Graveyard creatures fight in a sort of undeath. We also know that whilst they're involved in combat, they're also effectively on the battlefield, at ...
doppelgreener's user avatar
8 votes
1 answer
505 views

In a game that just involves Unstable cards, does it ever actually matter that Just Desserts deals π damage instead of 3?

The Unstable card Just Desserts says Just Desserts deals π damage to target creature. (π is the ratio of a circle’s circumference to its diameter. (It’s a smidgen more than 3.)) And the Unstable ...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 81.8k
2 votes
2 answers
1k views

If I move X from one hand to another using his tap ability, when does he untap?

This is a question I've seen come up in several circles now, including a game I just played. From the Unstable FAQ, we know that we can activate X's tap ability in anyone's hand to move him to anyone ...
doppelgreener's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
355 views

What knowledge do players get when Hangman is sent to another game using Side Quest?

At a un-draft I had the pleasure of sending Hangman to another silver bordered game with Side Quest. We played it with both players having no knowledge about the hidden word and me confirming if the ...
Max Young's user avatar
  • 832
5 votes
3 answers
736 views

What happens if the text of Hardened Scales is changed from "if one or more" to "if zero or more"?

The card More or Less, from Unstable, has the text: Add or subtract 1 or one from a number or number word on target spell or permanent until end of turn. Suppose I use More or Less targeting ...
JustWhie's user avatar
  • 465
4 votes
2 answers
2k views

How does combat damage work with Party Crasher if he is both Attacking and Blocking simultaneously?

In the Unstable set there is a creature named Party Crasher who has the following ability: You can attack with Party Crasher once each combat during each opponent's turn. This leads to some ...
Malco's user avatar
  • 7,702
7 votes
3 answers
765 views

What happens if The Grand Calcutron leaves the battlefield after players hand cards have already become programs?

When The Grand Calcutron enters the battlefield, each player's hand becomes a program (an ordered row of revealed cards). Players can only play the first card of their program. If a card would be put ...
TheThirdMan's user avatar
  • 9,156
2 votes
2 answers
717 views

Can Spike, Tournament Grinder tutor for cards outside of your Sideboard at Launch Night's Draft?

Will tutoring with Spike, Tournament Grinder's ability still have to follow the ruling that anything outside of the game refers to sideboard only? If so, isn't this a useless ability since every card ...
Jason Stadeli's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
1k views

How does Unstable set's "The Grand Calcutron" work with cards that interact with a player's hand?

The upcoming Unstable set features a card called The Grand Calcutron: A particular part of the card seems to make it so that players no longer have hands, along with changing how draws work. When ...
Malco's user avatar
  • 7,702
8 votes
2 answers
5k views

Which cards count as having been banned or restricted for Spike, Tournament Grinder's tutor ability?

In the new unset, Unstable, Spike, Tournament Grinder can tutor for any current or previously banned or restricted card from outside the game. Specifically this ability: ϕϕϕϕ: Choose a card you ...
AncientSwordRage's user avatar
3 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is there any difference between double strike and oubleday ikestray?

The card Atinlay Igpay has the ability oubleday ikestray. Is this functionally different from double strike?
user avatar
5 votes
3 answers
976 views

Gleemax interactions

This deals with Unhinged cards, so competitive REL is useless here. Imagine that I have a Gleemax on the field. It says: You choose all targets for all spells and abilities. Somebody sitting next ...
xornob's user avatar
  • 1,236
0 votes
2 answers
4k views

Blocking with First Strike + Deathtouch

Rule 509.3 says: Third, for each blocking creature, the defending player announces that creature's damage assignment order, which consists of the creatures it's blocking in an order of that player'...
Novarg's user avatar
  • 681
15 votes
7 answers
2k views

Should "standard errata" be applied to silver-bordered cards?

Should players play cards from the Un-Sets as they stand, or should errata be applied to remain consistent with rules and Oracle updates? In the case that the general question is too broad, opinion-...
Rainbolt's user avatar
  • 13.8k
8 votes
6 answers
17k views

What are Riggers and Contraptions in MTG and how do I assmble them? (Steamflogger boss question)

I just saw this card called Steamflogger Boss today, but I've never heard of a Rigger, a Contraption, or an ability called 'assemble' in Magic. Am I missing something? Does this card refer to a very ...
Gordon Gustafson's user avatar