Questions tagged [mtg-legendary-cards]

Questions about handling Legendary cards in light of the Legend Rule in Magic: the Gathering, and questions about the Legend Rule itself.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6 votes
1 answer
891 views

MTG: Yorion, Sky Nomad played into Yorion, Sky Nomad

I've been playing MTG Arena and played a game where my opponent played Yorion, Sky Nomad when another copy was already in game. If I'm correct, he chose to keep the copy which was already in the play ...
eXPRESS's user avatar
  • 355
-2 votes
1 answer
2k views

Is it possible to copy a Legend that is on the battlefield on your side?

Following up on this question: in the current rules a player can't control two Legends of the same name simultaneously. However, suppose I do one of the following: I summon a Clone copying another ...
ManoFromBerlin's user avatar
-2 votes
1 answer
619 views

Is it possible, controlling Vesuvan Doppelganger, to have two legends with the same name in play at the same time?

According to the Legend rule, Legendary Creatures - or simply Legends - can be summoned only if a Legend with the same name as the one a player would like to summon is not already in play. This ...
ManoFromBerlin's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
1k views

Multiple copies of planeswalkers

I thought planeswalkers are legendary permanents and thus subject to the legend rule. While playing on Arena my opponent played three copies of Gideon Blackblade from their hand. Does this card become ...
Christoph Wintersteiger's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
259 views

Lazav and Clever Impersonator

Lazav, the Multifarious is activated to become a copy of Clever Impersonator, with Caged Sun out, so it doesn't die. It is now simply a 1/1 with the name, "Lazav, the Multifarious," Lazav's ability, ...
CollinB's user avatar
  • 2,519
4 votes
2 answers
17k views

What happens when I copy a legendary creature with Rite of Replication?

What happens when you replicate a legendary creature with Rite of Replication?
GOSHEN JIMENEZ's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers
4k views

What happens when Progenitor Mimic copies a legendary creature?

In a recent multiplayer game I played Progenitor Mimic to copy an opponent's Niv-Mizzet, Parun. You may have Progenitor Mimic enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, ...
Lainathiel's user avatar
  • 2,375
5 votes
1 answer
337 views

Spy Kit and Leyline of Singularity

Spy Kit gives a creature the names of all non-legendary creatures. Leyline of Singularity makes all creatures on the battlefield legendary. If I have the Leyline on the battlefield, as well as a ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 18k
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

Can I activate mana abilities before the Legend Rule kicks in?

I have kind of an obscure edge case that has been bothering me, as I am not sure how the rules work. I have Teysa Karlov in my hand. On the battlefield: Teysa Karlov, which doubles death triggers ...
Malco's user avatar
  • 7,702
9 votes
2 answers
15k views

How to deal with Legendary tokens?

Can you have more than one "Legendary Token"? I don't think so, but I have a creature named Tolsimir Wolfblood that allow me to tap it to create a 2/2 Legendary Wolf token named Voja. If you can't ...
Dylan Parris's user avatar
13 votes
1 answer
6k views

How many iterations of the legend rule have there been?

I remember hearing LSV talk about how back in Urza's block people would play Crop Rotation to tutor for a Tolarian Academy just so that with the old legend rule, your opponent could not play the ...
Neil Meyer's user avatar
  • 5,344
4 votes
1 answer
5k views

Does a legendary creature "die" when put into the graveyard due to the Legendary rule? [duplicate]

The Scarab God's text reads: When The Scarab God dies, return it to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step. If I have Mirage Mirror in place and my opponent attempts to exile The ...
Neill's user avatar
  • 659
39 votes
9 answers
24k views

What happens if the legend rule doesn't apply to only one of a pair of legendary creatures with the same name?

Brothers Yamazaki has the ability If there are exactly two permanents named Brothers Yamazaki on the battlefield, the "legend rule" doesn't apply to them. So, say I control two Brothers Yamazaki (...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 81.8k
8 votes
1 answer
19k views

Can I have two similarly-named legendary creatures on the field?

If I have two different Ulamogs, can they both be on the field? They both share Ulamog as part of their name, but their entire names are different. One is Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger, while the ...
The Man's user avatar
  • 3,702
0 votes
1 answer
553 views

Tamiyo's Journal and the Legend Rule

The Legend Rule states: If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners' graveyards. This is ...
Jacob Raccuia's user avatar
8 votes
9 answers
58k views

How to clone a Legendary permanent?

I want to clone Geist of Saint Traft without falling prey to the legend rule and without using Mirror Gallery. Are there any cards that allow you to copy a card's text without copying its name? I was ...
temporary_user_name's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
9k views

Can I activate a Legendary creature's abilities before the Legend rule kicks in?

Say I have a Krenko, Mob Boss on the field. I use Krenko's ability to create X tokens. Then, I play a Progenitor Mimic choosing Krenko. When the Legend Rule takes effect, I sacrifice the original ...
BCessna97's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
906 views

Gods dying and the legends rule

So this came up in a game I was playing today. I had an Athreos, God of Passage with enough devotion that it was a creature, and I cast another (it makes sense, I swear). I chose to sacrifice the ...
Circeus's user avatar
  • 1,835
4 votes
2 answers
4k views

When does the Legend Rule take place?

Say my opponent has Elesh Norn on the table and plays Phyrexian Metamorph as a copy of her. As I understand from her Gatherer-page, all my creatures will now briefly have -4/-4. So my question is ...
zo0x's user avatar
  • 508
5 votes
1 answer
956 views

Do Regenerate and/or Totem Armor counteract the Legend rule?

Can a regeneration shield or a totem armor aura protect a Legendary creature from getting killed by a clone of itself?
cdeszaq's user avatar
  • 1,427