Questions tagged [mtg-legendary-cards]

Questions about handling Legendary cards in light of the Legend Rule in Magic: the Gathering, and questions about the Legend Rule itself.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
1answer
10k views

Can I have two similarly-named legendary creatures on the field?

If I have two different Ulamogs, can they both be on the field? They both share Ulamog as part of their name, but their entire names are different. One is Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger, while the ...
7
votes
9answers
36k views

How to clone a Legendary permanent?

I want to clone Geist of Saint Traft without falling prey to the legend rule and without using Mirror Gallery. Are there any cards that allow you to copy a card's text without copying its name? I was ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

What happens when Progenitor Mimic copies a legendary creature?

In a recent multiplayer game I played Progenitor Mimic to copy an opponent's Niv-Mizzet, Parun. You may have Progenitor Mimic enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, ...
2
votes
1answer
8k views

Can I activate a Legendary creature's abilities before the Legend rule kicks in?

Say I have a Krenko, Mob Boss on the field. I use Krenko's ability to create X tokens. Then, I play a Progenitor Mimic choosing Krenko. When the Legend Rule takes effect, I sacrifice the original ...
-2
votes
1answer
412 views

Is it possible, controlling Vesuvan Doppelganger, to have two legends with the same name in play at the same time?

According to the Legend rule, Legendary Creatures - or simply Legends - can be summoned only if a Legend with the same name as the one a player would like to summon is not already in play. This ...