Questions tagged [mtg-planeswalkers]

For questions about how Planeswalker cards work. Please also tag with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8
votes
3answers
5k views

Non-Legendary Planeswalkers

If a Planeswalker in Magic the Gathering wasn't Legendary when it was printed (before Dominaria in 2018, e.g. Liliana, Death's Majesty), would you be allowed to have two of that same Planeswalker ...
0
votes
0answers
86 views

Teferi, Time Raveler Interaction [duplicate]

Are you able to cast Counterspells(or other instant speed spells) when both players control a Teferi, Time Raveler and you have used the +1 Ability of yours
5
votes
2answers
877 views

Unpreventable damage to Gideon, the Oathsworn

Gideon, the Oathsworn has a +2 loyalty ability that reads: +2: Until end of turn, Gideon, the Oathsworn becomes a 5/5 white Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that ...
5
votes
2answers
820 views

Is it possible to have the same planeswalker from different editions in a Commander deck? [duplicate]

Is it possible to have the same card but from two different editions in Commander? For example, the planeswalker Jace Beleren.
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I make a planeswalker harder to attack by making it a creature with flying?

So a weird combo popped into my head. If I use Memnarch to turn Nicol Bolas, the Arisen into an artifact, then use March of the Machines to turn him into Artifact Creature Planeswalker and tap Dragon ...
6
votes
1answer
310 views

What happens if I blink a transformed double-faced planeswalker?

If I blink Garruk, the Veil-Cursed with something like Skybind, does he come back and instantly die?
10
votes
2answers
5k views

Does blinking a Planeswalker restore its loyalty?

If I were to use a blink effect on a Planeswalker say after an ultimate (largest cost) Loyalty ability (and providing it still had Loyalty remaining), would its loyalty restore to the noted amount on ...
5
votes
1answer
104k views

What planeswalker cards can be used as commanders in the Commander format?

Can any Planeswalker be used as a Commander, or just the ones that say "XXXX can be your Commander" on the card? (N.B. This question has nothing to do with the Brawl format.)
18
votes
1answer
13k views

Are Planeswalkers “Legendary”?

The new Amonkhet card Lay Bare the Heart says it can remove a non-land, non-legendary card from the opponent's hand. I'm curious if it can hit planeswalkers. I know they suffer from the "legendary ...
8
votes
3answers
17k views

Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?

Many older cards refer to players or opponents, e.g. "deal 3 damage to target player". Can any of these be used on planeswalkers, beyond the fact that you can simply attack them with creatures? For ...
16
votes
2answers
32k views

Is there ANY way to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed?

With the vast richness of magic rules on all the cards and the comp rules, is there any way at all to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed? Typically, per the rules, you can only activate ...
17
votes
2answers
33k views

Does Doubling Season affect planeswalkers?

According to 306.5b, A planeswalker is treated as if its text box included, "This permanent enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to its printed loyalty number." This ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Can cards that say “deal damage to any target” deal damage to a planeswalker?

I have a card that says "whenever Karplusan Hound attacks, attacks, if you control a Chandra planeswalker, this creature deals 2 damage to any target." Does this mean I can target a planeswalker?
9
votes
1answer
13k views

Can I attack both the player and a planeswalker the same turn?

Can I have some creatures attack the planeswalker and other creatures attack the player?
9
votes
3answers
6k views

What happens to loyalty counters on a double faced Planeswalker?

When a double faced planeswalker, like Garruk Relentless transforms into Garruk, the Veil Cursed there is no new loyalty symbol at the bottom of the card. Does his current loyalty carry over or is ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Does excess Planeswalker damage hit the player?

A friend said that excess damage will spill over and hit the player, but I can't find anything to support that. I've seen 306.7: 306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source ...
3
votes
4answers
632 views

What are desirable planeswalker characteristics?

Some planeswalkers, such as Jace, Architect of Thought and Domri Rade have seen a lot of tournament play, while others, such as Gideon, Champion of Justice and Vraska the Unseen are rarely used in ...
2
votes
3answers
2k views

Lifelink attacking a planeswalker

A player told me that attacking a planeswalker with a creature with lifelink doesn't provide lifegain. It sounds strange to me since damage are dealt by the creature (whatever to who, what). This ...
2
votes
1answer
621 views

Killing planeswalker before taking out the player?

So I have heard a few different things and wanted to know for sure. If a player has a planeswalker on the field, do I have to destroy the planeswalker before I can attack the player? If not, what ...