Questions tagged [mtg-planeswalkers]

For questions about how Planeswalker cards work. Please also tag with [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
19
votes
2answers
40k views

Does Doubling Season affect planeswalkers?

According to 306.5b, A planeswalker is treated as if its text box included, "This permanent enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to its printed loyalty number." This ...
18
votes
1answer
14k views

Are Planeswalkers “Legendary”?

The new Amonkhet card Lay Bare the Heart says it can remove a non-land, non-legendary card from the opponent's hand. I'm curious if it can hit planeswalkers. I know they suffer from the "legendary ...
17
votes
2answers
39k views

Is there ANY way to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed?

With the vast richness of magic rules on all the cards and the comp rules, is there any way at all to activate a planeswalker ability at instant speed? Typically, per the rules, you can only activate ...
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Can I make a planeswalker harder to attack by making it a creature with flying?

So a weird combo popped into my head. If I use Memnarch to turn Nicol Bolas, the Arisen into an artifact, then use March of the Machines to turn him into Artifact Creature Planeswalker and tap Dragon ...
10
votes
4answers
5k views

If a creature planeswalker is dealt damage by a creature with infect, what happens?

If a planeswalker than has been turned into a creature (not a planeswalker that turns itself into a creature with "prevent all damage" like Gideon) takes Infect damage, what happens? I know that ...
10
votes
2answers
7k views

Does blinking a Planeswalker restore its loyalty?

If I were to use a blink effect on a Planeswalker say after an ultimate (largest cost) Loyalty ability (and providing it still had Loyalty remaining), would its loyalty restore to the noted amount on ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

My opponent used Huatli's ability with a creature that had died. Was that allowed?

Recently, I played a match where a player used a card that killed off everyone’s creatures above a certain power, including one of his own. Immediately after that card, when no other card was played ...
9
votes
3answers
6k views

What happens to loyalty counters on a double faced Planeswalker?

When a double faced planeswalker, like Garruk Relentless transforms into Garruk, the Veil Cursed there is no new loyalty symbol at the bottom of the card. Does his current loyalty carry over or is ...
9
votes
1answer
14k views

Can I attack both the player and a planeswalker the same turn?

Can I have some creatures attack the planeswalker and other creatures attack the player?
8
votes
3answers
6k views

Non-Legendary Planeswalkers

If a Planeswalker in Magic the Gathering wasn't Legendary when it was printed (before Dominaria in 2018, e.g. Liliana, Death's Majesty), would you be allowed to have two of that same Planeswalker ...
8
votes
3answers
18k views

Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?

Many older cards refer to players or opponents, e.g. "deal 3 damage to target player". Can any of these be used on planeswalkers, beyond the fact that you can simply attack them with creatures? For ...
7
votes
1answer
115k views

What planeswalker cards can be used as commanders in the Commander format?

Can any Planeswalker be used as a Commander, or just the ones that say "XXXX can be your Commander" on the card? (N.B. This question has nothing to do with the Brawl format.)
7
votes
1answer
829 views

If you have multiple planeswalkers, how many of their loyalty abilities can you use in a single turn?

Let’s say I played Ajani, Caller of the Pride and then played Ajani, Wise Counselor. Would I be able to use Caller of the Pride's -8 ability to give me, say, 20 creatures and then use Wise Counselor'...
7
votes
1answer
3k views

Does excess Planeswalker damage hit the player?

A friend said that excess damage will spill over and hit the player, but I can't find anything to support that. I've seen 306.7: 306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source ...
6
votes
1answer
364 views

What happens if I blink a transformed double-faced planeswalker?

If I blink Garruk, the Veil-Cursed with something like Skybind, does he come back and instantly die?
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Unpreventable damage to Gideon, the Oathsworn

Gideon, the Oathsworn has a +2 loyalty ability that reads: +2: Until end of turn, Gideon, the Oathsworn becomes a 5/5 white Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it possible to have the same planeswalker from different editions in a Commander deck? [duplicate]

Is it possible to have the same card but from two different editions in Commander? For example, the planeswalker Jace Beleren.
4
votes
1answer
106 views

What is the outcome if my board state is as follows, Bludgeon Brawl, Mycosynth Lattice, and any Planeswalker?

If I control any planeswalker, Mycosynth Lattice All permanents are artifacts in addition to their other types. All cards that aren't on the battlefield, spells, and permanents are colorless. and ...
4
votes
1answer
198 views

How long can the spells exiled with Lukka, Coppercoat Outcast be cast?

The question is simple when does a creature exiled by Lukka, Coppercoat Outcast's first ability lose "You may cast this card from exile as long as you control a Lukka planeswalker" ability? ...
3
votes
2answers
717 views

Don't the Planeswalkers in Commander 2014 that say they can be your Commander contradict the fact the Commanders have to be legendary creatures?

Ob Nixilis of the Black Oath and the other Commanders in Commander 2014 say they can be your Commander. Doesn't that contradict the rule that Commanders can only be Legendary Creatures?
3
votes
4answers
649 views

What are desirable planeswalker characteristics?

Some planeswalkers, such as Jace, Architect of Thought and Domri Rade have seen a lot of tournament play, while others, such as Gideon, Champion of Justice and Vraska the Unseen are rarely used in ...
3
votes
1answer
3k views

Can cards that say “deal damage to any target” deal damage to a planeswalker?

I have a card that says "whenever Karplusan Hound attacks, attacks, if you control a Chandra planeswalker, this creature deals 2 damage to any target." Does this mean I can target a planeswalker?
2
votes
3answers
3k views

Lifelink attacking a planeswalker

A player told me that attacking a planeswalker with a creature with lifelink doesn't provide lifegain. It sounds strange to me since damage are dealt by the creature (whatever to who, what). This ...
2
votes
1answer
905 views

Killing planeswalker before taking out the player?

So I have heard a few different things and wanted to know for sure. If a player has a planeswalker on the field, do I have to destroy the planeswalker before I can attack the player? If not, what ...
1
vote
2answers
396 views

Does Oko, Thief of Crowns come in a planeswalker deck, or only as an individual card?

I can't find anything about this on Google, Bing or Stack Exchange. Does Oko, Thief of Crowns come with a planeswalker deck, or separately? By separately, I mean in booster packs and stuff like that.
1
vote
3answers
3k views

Planeswalkers and Summoning Sickness

When I play a planeswalker, I know there is no summoning sickness. So, does that mean that I can increment or decrement its loyalty counter and use its abilities right after I play it since there is ...
0
votes
1answer
75 views

Can No Escape counter planeswalker Sarkhan?

Can No Escape counter the planeswalker Sarkhan the Masterless's ability that created a 4/4 red dragon creature?