Skip to main content

Questions tagged [mtg-priority]

For questions about the Magic: The Gathering concept of priority. Please also tag [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
27 votes
3 answers

Does priority matter in Magic?

When does priority actually matter in magic? I have been playing Magic since Time Spiral and have never once seen the rules for priority matter. I've never heard a question from a player about a ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 18k
13 votes
5 answers

What are the uses of holding priority?

I've recently learned about holding the priority after playing a spell or ability. I understand this can be used for beneficial effects affecting your own spells, for instance copying your own ...
Ydrasaal's user avatar
  • 1,236
10 votes
2 answers

Is there any way my opponent can prevent me from winning in this situation?

I have Judith, the Scourge Diva and Footlight Fiend in play, and have 1 life; my opponent has Dreadhorde Butcher and 2 life. They swing with the Butcher, I block with the Fiend, and they both die. At ...
Draconis's user avatar
  • 1,047
8 votes
1 answer

When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?

My friend has been playing a sliver commander deck and uses Root Sliver which is a thorn in the side of my control. Lets say I have an instant in my had that can destroy the Root Sliver and a counter ...
Fr33dan's user avatar
  • 2,893
4 votes
1 answer

How does Hive Mind work with Counterspell in a multiplayer game?

I have a Hive Mind in play, it is my turn and I cast Wheel of Fortune (I win if my opponents don't have an answer and at least 2 of the copies resolve) everybody gets a copy, then the person in the ...
Anti Her0's user avatar
  • 193
4 votes
3 answers

Can you give an example why the active player wants to have priority in Beginning of Combat first?

I've read this article published on explaining the combat shortcut which is about (contrary to the normal proceeding) the Not Active Player (NAP) receiving priority prior to the ...
efie's user avatar
  • 143
3 votes
2 answers

Can I kill Lurrus directly after it enters the battlefield, before it's controller gets priority to cast a permanent from their graveyard?

The two following rulings for Lurrus of the Dream-Den apply: You must follow the normal timing permissions and restrictions of the spell you cast from your graveyard. Once you begin to cast the ...
Neill's user avatar
  • 649
3 votes
2 answers

Can I have priority passed back to me during spell resolution, so that I can do more with my own spell?

So, this is a basic question, but I want to make sure I'm getting this right. Suppose I have a Lightning Bolt and a Twincast, and I want to bolt my opponent twice. I know that to do so I can do the ...
Kira's user avatar
  • 391
3 votes
1 answer

Multiple End step events

Let’s say I have Promise of Tomorrow and a couple creatures exiled with it. I cast Eerie Interlude during my main phase and exile all my creatures. Now, what I want to know is if Promise of Tomorrow’s ...
Bytogram's user avatar
3 votes
2 answers

How does casting a spell while casting a spell affect priority?

So, in this question, a process for casting a spell while you're in the middle of casting another spell is described, and the consensus in the answers is that it works, and allows you to cast a second ...
nick012000's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer

MTG Trapjaw Tyrant vs Butcher of Malakir and tokens

I have a question about interaction between Trapjaw Tyrant's enrage ability and Butcher of Malakir's sacrifice ability. I was playing a multiplayer EDH game with friends and one of them had the ...
Ice76's user avatar
  • 207
3 votes
2 answers

Activated effects after combat damage

I am looking for some rules clarification on the sub steps during attacks. Q1a- I am told that Reconnaissance can be used AFTER combat damage has been dealt to an opponent, thus granting your ...
L.P.'s user avatar
  • 1,054
1 vote
3 answers

Casting a creature and hexproofing

If I play Krenko, Mob Boss and retain priority and cast Swiftfoot Boots on Krenko Mob Boss and at the same time my opponent casts Unsummon on Krenko Mob Boss, will my creature be safe or will he be ...
Danidoll99's user avatar
1 vote
1 answer

Rules of MTG Dive Down and spells priority

I'm playing MTGArena and I have one issue with the Dive Down spell. I have a Guttersnipe on battlefield, then my opponent cast Lightning Strike on it. I cast Dive down on Guttersnipe. And then my ...
Albert Dzen's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers

MTG: creature and enchantment triggered to opposite effects

The situation is my Mortus Strider has been enchanted with Unholy Indenture. The creature has when it dies, return it to his owner’s hand The enchantment says When enchanted creature dies, ...
Julio Toboso García's user avatar
0 votes
2 answers

MTG Commander Clarification on Triggered Abilities

I’m playing a 4 person game, and I’m in position #1. I cast: “Jolrael, Mwonvuli Recluse” with the activated ability that states: “whenever you draw your second card each turn, create a 2/2 green ...
Doug Webster's user avatar