Questions tagged [mtg-professional-rel]

For questions about Magic: The Gathering's Professional REL (Rules Enforcement Level), its highest REL. Used at Grand Prix Day 2, Pro Tour, and the World Magic Cup.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2 votes
3 answers
210 views

What happens if you cast a modal spell but choose illegal modes?

For example, Izzet Charm is a spell with three modes, one of which is "counter target noncreature spell unless opponent pays {2}". Suppose I cast Grizzly Bears and opponent responds with ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
1 vote
1 answer
162 views

Would illegally moving cards during a game from the sideboard to the hand/library or vice-versa be a Hidden Card Error or a Deck Problem?

Would illegally moving cards during a game from the sideboard to the hand/library or vice-versa be a Hidden Card Error or a Deck Problem? For example... A player is instructed to shuffle their hand ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 674
1 vote
2 answers
417 views

Are costs always paid sequentially?

According to Rule 601.2h... "The player pays the total cost. First, they pay all costs that don’t involve random elements or moving objects from the library to a public zone, in any order. Then ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 674
2 votes
1 answer
171 views

Missed State-Triggered Abilities

Player A controls Emperor Crocodile and some other creatures. The other creatures leave the battlefield, and only Emperor Crocodile remains. The state-triggered ability is not noticed, and some ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 674
2 votes
1 answer
460 views

Choices While Resolving Missed Triggers Which Cannot Be Publicly Verified

According to the IPG, when the opponent of a player who missed a trigger chooses to put it onto the stack, "No player may make choices for the triggered ability involving objects that would not ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 674
1 vote
1 answer
207 views

In what way are cards simultaneously milled by multiple players?

According to Rule 101.4a, "If an effect has each player choose a card in a hidden zone, such as their hand or library, those cards may remain face down as they’re chosen. However, each player ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 674
11 votes
1 answer
1k views

In what category of information are timestamps?

In Magic the Gathering Competitive/Professional REL, there are four categories of information: status, free, derived, and private. Under which category of information do timestamps fall? If ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 674
3 votes
1 answer
1k views

In Magic, are you allowed to reveal what cards you have drafted to stop others from drafting the same colors?

For example, suppose I open a [bomb Boros mythic]. I reveal it, and say "Ok guys I'm drafting Boros" (with the implication that everyone else should avoid fighting me over those colors). Is ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
4 votes
1 answer
610 views

Intentionally Not Announcing Triggered Abilities Until Just Before They Would Be Considered Missed

In Magic the Gathering, the Infraction Procedure Guide details what it means for the announcement of a player's triggered ability to be missed, as a function of what category of effect the triggered ...
user10478's user avatar
  • 674
5 votes
2 answers
682 views

Should I tell opponent they can't draw a card if they try to cantrip when I have a "can't draw more than one card a turn" effect in play?

Say I have Spirit of the Labyrinth in play and opponent plays a Preordain. Spirit stops them from drawing a card, but they might simply have forgotten about it. Or they might think they need to scry 2 ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
14 votes
2 answers
5k views

How does your opponent verify you have not more than 4 of a particular card in your deck?

Inspired by How does your opponent verify that you're able to cast a Companion card? As of time of writing the top-voted answer basically says you don't verify that the opponent can cast a Companion ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
10 votes
1 answer
2k views

Does showing my opponent I have an effective win condition qualify as improperly determining a winner?

This question is focused on the tournament rule, IPG 4.3 Unsporting Conduct — Improperly Determining a Winner. Two players playing the Bant Nexus of Fate combo deck meet each other in a round. This ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
3 votes
1 answer
806 views

Is it permissible to intentionally make an illegal move in order to bluff?

Imagine this situation - Alice's board: a tapped Steel Leaf Champion, Ghor-Clan Rampager in hand (which Bob knows about because of an earlier discard spell) Bob's board: Charming Prince, 8 life It's ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
4 votes
1 answer
552 views

Is declining to win to burn time on the clock punishable?

Continuation of Is refusing to concede in the face of an unstoppable Nexus combo punishable? Alice's board: Jace, the Mind Sculptor @ 5 loyalty, Counterbalance, 8 lands, bunch of counterspells in ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
24 votes
2 answers
9k views

Is refusing to concede in the face of an unstoppable Nexus combo punishable?

Alice's board: 10 lands, Teferi, Hero of Dominaria, Teferi emblem, Tamiyo, Collector of Tales, 2 Wilderness Reclamation, 15 cards left in deck, 15 life, 4 Nexus of Fate in deck Bob's board: nothing (...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
2 votes
1 answer
305 views

Can I bring a visual flow chart for complex magic cards to events?

I was reading the card Chains of Mephistopheles and I found these great flow charts for how it's replacement effect works. Would I be allowed to bring a simple flow chart like that to a sanctioned ...
Max Young's user avatar
  • 822
12 votes
2 answers
4k views

What happens if both players misunderstand the game state until it's too late?

Let's take two players, Alice and Bob. Alice has a Tarmogoyf. She asks Bob what card types are in his graveyard. Bob fans out his graveyard, they do the math, and conclude Alice's Tarmogoyf is 5/6. ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
8 votes
2 answers
321 views

Tapping a creature with summoning sickness in an equivalent play situation

This is a follow-up question to How do I handle a gameplay error when I have an equivalent play available in a tournament?. The answer to that question indicates that even though the play is ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
12 votes
1 answer
2k views

How do I handle a gameplay error when I have an equivalent play available in a tournament?

For example, suppose I have 3 Mountains. I play another Mountain, cast Koth of the Hammer, use the +1, and attempt to attack for four. However the Mountain I target is the one I freshly played (...
Allure's user avatar
  • 13.2k
42 votes
3 answers
10k views

Am I technically allowed to look up cards during a Magic tournament match?

Am I allowed to look up a card during a game, if it's being played with serious Rules Enforcement? Either to read the full card from the Gatherer, or to try to find the exact card I'm vaguely thinking ...
Brondahl's user avatar
  • 1,332
7 votes
1 answer
568 views

Are you required to call a judge if you're not involved in the game?

If you're a spectator to a game at either competitive or professional REL and you see a gamestate error occur, should you call a judge? What happens if you don't call a judge? Is it different if you ...
Sam I am says Reinstate Monica's user avatar