Questions tagged [mtg-professional-rel]

For questions about Magic: The Gathering's Professional REL (Rules Enforcement Level), its highest REL. Used at Grand Prix Day 2, Pro Tour, and the World Magic Cup.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
42
votes
2answers
8k views

Am I technically allowed to look up cards during a Magic tournament match?

Am I allowed to look up a card during a game, if it's being played with serious Rules Enforcement? Either to read the full card from the Gatherer, or to try to find the exact card I'm vaguely thinking ...
22
votes
2answers
7k views

Is refusing to concede in the face of an unstoppable Nexus combo punishable?

Alice's board: 10 lands, Teferi, Hero of Dominaria, Teferi emblem, Tamiyo, Collector of Tales, 2 Wilderness Reclamation, 15 cards left in deck, 15 life, 4 Nexus of Fate in deck Bob's board: nothing (...
11
votes
2answers
4k views

What happens if both players misunderstand the game state until it's too late?

Let's take two players, Alice and Bob. Alice has a Tarmogoyf. She asks Bob what card types are in his graveyard. Bob fans out his graveyard, they do the math, and conclude Alice's Tarmogoyf is 5/6. ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

How do I handle a gameplay error when I have an equivalent play available in a tournament?

For example, suppose I have 3 Mountains. I play another Mountain, cast Koth of the Hammer, use the +1, and attempt to attack for four. However the Mountain I target is the one I freshly played (...
8
votes
2answers
268 views

Tapping a creature with summoning sickness in an equivalent play situation

This is a follow-up question to How do I handle a gameplay error when I have an equivalent play available in a tournament?. The answer to that question indicates that even though the play is ...
7
votes
1answer
462 views

Are you required to call a judge if you're not involved in the game?

If you're a spectator to a game at either competitive or professional REL and you see a gamestate error occur, should you call a judge? What happens if you don't call a judge? Is it different if you ...
4
votes
1answer
237 views

Is declining to win to burn time on the clock punishable?

Continuation of Is refusing to concede in the face of an unstoppable Nexus combo punishable? Alice's board: Jace, the Mind Sculptor @ 5 loyalty, Counterbalance, 8 lands, bunch of counterspells in ...
2
votes
1answer
230 views

Can I bring a visual flow chart for complex magic cards to events?

I was reading the card Chains of Mephistopheles and I found these great flow charts for how it's replacement effect works. Would I be allowed to bring a simple flow chart like that to a sanctioned ...
1
vote
1answer
220 views

Is it permissible to intentionally make an illegal move in order to bluff?

Imagine this situation - Alice's board: a tapped Steel Leaf Champion, Giant Growth in hand (which Bob knows about because of an earlier discard spell) Bob's board: Charming Prince, 8 life It'...