Questions tagged [mtg-regenerate]

questions about the Regenerate mechanic of Magic: the Gathering, aka Regeneration. Please also tag [magic-the-gathering].

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
20
votes
4answers
103k views

How does regeneration work in Magic the Gathering?

How does regeneration work? I know that if my creature is destroyed then I can spend X mana then tap my creature and move it out of combat. Is it attackable in any way after that? With spells or ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a 0/0 creature with +1/+1 counters on it (like a Hydra) be regenerated?

Since I fairly new to the Regeneration deal I have a question about regenerating Hydra creatures with +1/+1 counters on them. My friend seems to think that if he Doom Blades, Supreme Verdicts, or any ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

If a single effect would destroy a permanent multiple times, can regeneration replace it?

Nancy controls a Runeclaw Bear enchanted by Hyena Umbra. Hyena Umbra has a regeneration shield, granted by Reknit. Anthony casts Planar Cleansing. This causes two replacement effects to apply. ...
7
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a countered creature be regenerated?

After a creature is countered by a spell such as Counterspell can it regenerate. I was trying to counter my friend's Mortivore, but he said it could regenerate from that. So I need help trying to ...
2
votes
1answer
960 views

Regeneration specifics: activation of the ability in combat

I'm aware of this question about regeneration, which covers almost everything about it, but the focus of that question was on instants such as Shock or Doom Blade. My question is different and wasn't ...
2
votes
1answer
6k views

Regenerate: Tap before regeneration?

I have a creature with the regenerate ability. If I activate this ability I generate some sort of a regenerate shield according to the following rule: 701.12a: The next time [permanent] would be ...
10
votes
1answer
11k views

What does, “It can't be regenerated” mean?

I destroyed my opponent's permanent with Putrefy, an Instant that reads: Destroy target artifact or creature. It can't be regenerated. He returned it to the top of his library with Golgari ...
5
votes
1answer
12k views

Can regenerate save a creature from -X/-X effects?

My opponent has a Rakshasa Deathdealer. What happens when I cast a Bile Blight on that creature? Does regenerate let the creature survive or will the -3/-3 until end of turn from Bile Blight simply ...
7
votes
1answer
2k views

What would happen if I used regeneration on a creature that was the target of Annihilating Fire?

For example, what would happen if a freshly cast Lotleth Troll were to be regenerated in response to Annihilating Fire? My hypothesis is that it depends on whose turn it is. The regeneration being ...